Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Judge slapping his own face?

Judge slapping his own face? PDF Print
Wednesday, 09 September 2009 14:07

By declaring Ganesan as the rightful speaker, Judge Azahar is in fact making a legal judgment. Is that not a breach of Article 72? How come he has no jurisdiction to hear Sivakumar’s grievances but has jurisdiction to judge Ganesan as legal speaker? Is that not a contradiction of the highest order?

By Kim Quek

A tragic yet hilarious court proceeding took place in the Ipoh high court on Sept 8 when the judge blatantly contradicts himself in dismissing a suit brought by Perak’s Pakatan Rakyat speaker against the state’s Barisan Nasional speaker (yes, two speakers in the Perak assembly).

Judge Azahar Mohamed rejected V Sivakumar’s suit to seek damages from R Ganesan for assault and false imprisonment during the chaotic and violent state assembly sitting on May 7. He said the court had no jurisdiction to hear the case due to Federal Constitution Article 72 stipulating that “the validity of any proceeding in any state assembly cannot be questioned in any court”.

And yet in the same breath he declared that “the decision of the legislative assembly to remove the plaintiff as speaker and to appoint the defendant was conclusive and had been fairly determined by the state assembly on May 7, 2009.”

Now, the crux of the entire contention between the two speakers is: who is on the right side of law in the violent tussle for the speaker’s chair on May 7? By declaring Ganesan as the rightful speaker, Judge Azahar is in fact making a legal judgment. Is that not a breach of Article 72? How come he has no jurisdiction to hear Sivakumar’s grievances but has jurisdiction to judge Ganesan as legal speaker? Is that not a contradiction of the highest order?

Apart from this atrocious double standard applied by the judge, the main flaw of the judgment is the inability to differentiate between assembly proceeding and criminal behaviour. What Sivakumar is seeking is redress for the unlawful physical violence inflicted on him. And Article 72 covers only businesses conducted in the assembly – not unlawful and criminal act. 

Judge Azahar has therefore wrongly used Article 72 to come to his judgment. To make it very clear that this is the case, I will quote in full the relevant clauses in Article 72 (Clauses 1 & 2) and explain the reasons why.

Clause 1: “The validity of any proceedings in the Legislative Assembly of any State shall not be questioned in any court.”

Clause 2: “No body shall be liable to any proceedings in any court in respect of anything said or vote given by him when taking part in proceedings of the Legislative Assembly of any State or of any committee thereof.”

Note the operative words “proceedings” in Clause 1 and “anything said or any vote given” in Clause 2. It is abundantly clear what Article 72 refers to are the speeches and resolutions made in the assembly, not any criminal or unlawful act.

But what happened on May 7 was complete pandemonium and chaos in the assembly hall. There was no chance to conduct any business at all, least of all any resolution passed. In fact the only business done on that day was the address by the Perak Regent Raja Nazrin Shah.

And how was Sivakumar “replaced” by Ganesan during that pandemonium? 

While Sivakumar was sitting in the speaker’s chair, hordes of police personnel entered the assembly hall, allegedly on Ganesan’s order, and physically lifted, carried, dragged and moved speaker Sivakumar into a room where he was forcibly detained until the assembly sitting was over. And as soon as Sivakumar was removed from the hall, police personnel escorted Ganesan into the hall and ushered him to the speaker’s chair, with police personnel making a line to stand guard in front of Ganesan to prevent any assemblymen from reaching the speaker’s chair. 

The entire tragedy-comedy was stage-managed by the police, and it is therefore more appropriate to say that while Sivakumar was elected by the assembly through a reolution, Ganesan was physically planted into the speaker’s chair by the police. And that about sums up what happened on that tragic-hilarious day.

And since Judge Azahar appears to be so respectful of the constitutional principle of separation of power as demonstrated by his professed adherence to Article 72, is it not puzzling that he should have chosen to ignore completely the heinous violation of the doctrine of separation of power when hordes of police personnel invaded the assembly to physically replace one speaker with another? Is it not another shining example of double standard in the Malaysia Boleh tradition?

After the series of judicial decisions that appear to wantonly trample the constitution and the law following the shameful power grab in Perak, the latest low represented by Azahar’s decision makes us wonder how much lower our judiciary can sink into, as many more judicial decisions in the same series are still pending.

Comments (43)Add Comment
written by blackpea, September 09, 2009 14:17:11
I would like to take off my shoe to slap this judge with it too. A real UMNO balls carrier idot hoping to get promotions soon.
agree 382
written by LKO, September 09, 2009 14:17:21
And the judge is also slaping other recent judges' decision including Appeal Court and Federal Court judges too.

1Slap for 1Malaysia
agree 284
written by MAMR, September 09, 2009 14:19:13
In Malaysia 'SEMUA BOLIH' illegal can be legal, and legal can be illegalised, only require the agreement of UMNO/BN.
agree 228
written by budakindia, September 09, 2009 14:25:34
Malaysian judges got quality meh? I bet they need people like Lingam to write down their own judgement! They are just a reader of the judgement! Chit! Podah! smilies/grin.gif
agree 154
written by myke, September 09, 2009 14:30:38
I guest this judge gets most grade 3 for his SPM and he gets to where he is now not because he is that intelligent.
agree 164
written by pakasia, September 09, 2009 14:32:17
Majority of UMNO elected executives are morons.

Police, MACC, Judge, Politician, you just name it!

Thanks to these fools, Malaysia is downed several places on the world competitiveness ranking.
agree 141
written by peter, September 09, 2009 14:32:33
Is that not a contradiction of the highest order?

No, there's on contradiction whatsoever the ruling goes in favour of the umNO-nazi party.

Don't expect anything from umNO judges that we have in our courts.

When the last bastion of justice is gone the country becomes a pariah state. And that what this bolehland run by the umNo-nazi party is.

written by budaktapah, September 09, 2009 14:32:48
now, the 1 million euro question is, what are WE going to do about it?

those bloody morons know that all WE could do are just mumble mumble mumble, and in the end sit quitely and died away.
written by Wisdom above, September 09, 2009 14:33:37
We urgently need a strong two party system so that one party will keep an eye on the other. As things stand now, the present leadership can do anything they like and we can only sit back and watch helplessly.
written by StevenO, September 09, 2009 14:37:51
I like to rub my underwear in the dishonourable judge face!
written by Come clean, September 09, 2009 14:50:09
A bloody judge who doesn't even know how to read law!
written by goldeneye, September 09, 2009 14:50:56
This pariah judge now relies on the clause “The validity of any proceedings in the Legislative Assembly of any State shall not be questioned in any court.” But what about the other pariah judges who chose to ignore this clause when they dismissed Sivakumar's suspension of Zambry and his illegal exco?

Truly a Malaysia Boleh court. We have extraordinary judges with extraordinary abilities to sodomize justice.
written by pinsysu, September 09, 2009 14:59:52
no surprise lah ... he juz READ the pre-prepared so-called judgments ... this is najib's 1FailedMalaysia slowgun ........
written by kingelvis, September 09, 2009 15:05:17
BN stooge
written by ibnuaiz, September 09, 2009 15:10:47
Siapa hakim ni? boleh siapa2 tunjukkan gambar (any picture) hakim ni tak? Apa agama nya? islam?

Mudah-mudahan diberi petunjuk oleh allah....
written by Vera, September 09, 2009 15:20:10
Nothing can be done at the moment but Bagan Pinang voters must take this judgement as a yardstick in the coming by-election. As an interim action, vote for PAS to win in order to send a strong signal to BN that their days are numbered!
written by Bloodhound, September 09, 2009 15:24:37
All those who knowingly and wilfully abuse the judicial and law enforcement system of the country must be put on notice that their wanton transgression of the rule of law of the land will be met with heavy penalties when PR comes into power.

Those who continue to wontonly abuse their authority through mischieveous misinterpretation of the law and wrongful exercise of their authority in law enforcements must be severely dealt with and jail term is a certainty if they refuse to abide by the rule of law of the country. They should in fact be treated as terrorists working against the interest of the country and is a traitor of the highest order.

Let it be made known in no uncertain terms that those who continue to transgressed will not escape severe penalties. The rots must stop before the nation's pillars of democracy collapses.

Make sure they know that when they play with fire, they will definitely get burnt.........no ifs, no buts!
written by StevenMax, September 09, 2009 15:37:58
The Judge was a former Senior DPP. He was one of the Gani boys that prosecuted DSAI way back in 1999.
written by Nice n Simple, September 09, 2009 16:01:57
Slapping his own face in public, that's a really really stupid thing to do.

But slapping his own face in public with raw hard cash stuffed up his (where da sun don shine), now that's really not a bad move at all.
written by joeawk, September 09, 2009 16:02:19
To return the judiciary to credibility, the first thing the new pakatan federal government after the next federal election is to form a royal commission to look into the whole mess which the judiciary is now in.

Not just sack them but jail them if possible.
written by jaz, September 09, 2009 16:09:58
We would award him with a George Bush moment. I'll bring my clogs.
written by verifunny, September 09, 2009 16:16:02
Maybe the judge has the revised copy of the judiciary books.

He might want to seek audience to see the Sultan of Perak and seek his advice since he is a legal expert.

I wonder why the judge is not punished for such a mistake. Isn't this a disgrace for the state of Perak or Malaysia in front of the world?

Aren't the Sultan concern with the bad image cast by the judge especially during the holy month?
written by Taikohtai, September 09, 2009 16:42:49
Some of these judges think that just because they wear a wig, they can dish out judgments in accordance to their master's (read BN) whims and fancies. The Malaysian law today is an ASS and a world record one too (TDM must be damn proud of this record!)
Pakatan must ensure that Malaysia follows international laws and standards. Yes, the High Court in Malaysia should not be the last stop and all defendants must be allowed to appeal to the Commonwealth. Only then can real justice be seen to be prescribed.
written by magickriver, September 09, 2009 17:20:23
Good old Kim Quek! Always on the ball and spot on with his critiques. People keep asking others: now that we know exactly how rotten things are in Bolehland... what are we going to DO about it? True, apart from the occasional by-election and the once-every-4-or-5-years GE, Malaysians really have no democratic space - except what they reclaim for themselves, whether by staging candlelight vigils or urging others to wear black or rallying the masses in the streets of KL to get a taste of tear gas and chemical laced water - not to mention the heart-pounding sensation of jackboots in your face. When Abdullah Badawi proposed Zaki Azmi as the replacement CJ for the correct-correct-correct Ahmad Fairuz, we all knew the reason why. Zaki Azmi, after all, is a hardcore Umno man. Even if he claims he has resigned from the party, it would only be in name. As far as I know, however, Zaki is still an Umno member - so how? Surely, very serious conflicts of interest will occur when a major case involving any opposition party crops up. There was widespread criticism of Zaki Azmi as the new CJ - just as every sensible citizen was against extending Musa Hassan's contract as IGP. But those with unclean hands and unwholesome minds need people like Musa Hassan and Zaki Azmi to maintain their power.

Wear black at public functions, preferably "Anak Bangsa Malaysia" or "NO-2-ISA" T-shirts. Talk to friends and family members about how bad things are in the country and why we desperately need a complete change of government, not just replace a couple of leaders here and there. Whenever there's a forumor rally, do your best to participate, Donate to worthwhile causes, e.g., Anwar4PM or Justice4TeohBengHock fund, subscribe to Mkini, leave enlightening and inspiring comments on blogs (instead of just cursing & swearing & saying "Vatudu?") If you're invited to an official function where Jibby & Rosie are the guests of honour, don't show up - so you never have to shake their hands!

More about your newc Chief Justice which explains why Nizar & Sivakumar will find no justice in the Perak or federal courts. That one bold and honest judge who declared Nizar Jamaluddin the legitimate MB of Perak... I wonder if anything unpleasant happened to him?

http://magickriver.********.co...rrant.html
written by onnetline, September 09, 2009 17:46:06
There are lots of ' slave dogs ' judges who need several tight slaps in the name of true justice !
written by johntyc, September 09, 2009 17:47:58
Hey, there's a kangaroo behind the bench!
written by Mangrovejumper, September 09, 2009 18:18:11
Question for all is:
Was Ganesan allowed to be at the DUN at the first place? He is not an elected representative, nor in any way was he connected to the proceedings of the DUN (media, security, etc.) Can a lay person just walk into an active session to watch?
written by adamckteh, September 09, 2009 18:23:47
This is called chari makan without principles. I would like to see his name delisted from the judges.
written by shamadz72, September 09, 2009 18:29:28
I am willing to bet with anyone that this Judge Azahar will be our Chief Of Justice in a very short period of time, should BN continue to rule this country. They need this kind of donkey to help them rule with tyranny. Any takers wanna bet with me?

written by mikefonz, September 09, 2009 18:50:14
What to do ? Not good in English and limited understanding
of the Law. The quality and standard of the judiciary in Malaysia sucks.
written by Vayu, September 09, 2009 19:17:05
Lucky, some judges did not become doctors. Imagine you go for circumsition but he takes out the whole thing or that you go for a cough and he stiches your mouth to prevent coughing.
written by Stupid me, September 09, 2009 19:39:57
Is he an imitation judge ? Like this also can be a high court judge. Thre is no shortage of judges now. Anyone can be a judge.
written by Ediloh, September 09, 2009 19:55:04
Aiyoh!, This is a kangaroo court 'mah'. Lompat here lompat there, no direction.
Don't know law. One kangaroo judge, more coming.
written by miwaki, September 09, 2009 20:55:38
Incompetent government begets incompetent judges and since this is a third world country,there is nothing you can do about it ! The judge is not the running dog of the BN government,he is just simply incompetent and doesn't know much about law especially our Malaysian Constitution,

Not only he has to be disbarred,the law school he attended has to be scrutinized,who knows its faculty are made up of illiterates !
written by lamakawan, September 09, 2009 21:50:39
Judge Azahar is a monkey judge. He is also a monkey God now. Whatever he says is right. He says, " Head I win, tail you lose. "
He is God. To him there is no such thing that is right or wrong.
To him , he is GOD.
written by Kampong, September 09, 2009 21:57:05
You think this guy know what "utra viles" mean?
written by Vengai, September 09, 2009 22:26:15
The Chief Judge himself admit that he practice bribe during his time as a lawyer.How can we expect a clean Judiciary.I wont say all the Judges are tainted.Some still have the integrity and dignity. IF these Judges who follow the rule of law and never take side on favour of the UBN Regime , they will ask to go on leave just like Judge Gomathy Suppiah in DSAI case.And some even will be preasured so that they resign.But most of the Judges are Umno ass lickers.Its inherited from the Mamak Kerala Kutty Mahatai Firaun legacy.The Judges are mostly junior who being appointed to hear some most serius cases like that constitution crisis.And these Jugdes are "Kelulusan Darjah 6" or may be from UMNO Triad who bought the law cert from Local University.That is why the judgement and verdict they give make them a clown and laughable subject the smart rakyat.Same case but 2 different judgement.If UBN than the court has no juridiction on State Assembly but If Pakatan then the court has juridiction.The perfect place for these Judges is not as a Judge in court.

Even a well respected former old senior judge who talk about rule of law "cair" when the UBN offer contract to the daughter company.( I hope the reader knows who i mean]. Apa lagi hakim muda?
written by rocky, September 09, 2009 23:57:46
what a joke. should we get a cow to judge in the future? Cows are stupid they say but will the cow make the same mistake? Cow better than COWards?
written by Daryl, September 10, 2009 01:11:17
Kangaroo court preside by kangaroo judge giving out kangaroo judgment. Someone please put in a police report or maybe the Chief Justice step in to stop judges making a mockery out of our Judiciary system.
written by goman2k3, September 10, 2009 03:40:54
This is the product that Rais anak Yatim is very proud of, good quality product. Judge Azahar Mohamed , the high court judge do not under english and Art 72. Please excuse him lah. Blame the education not the person and I am sure he is trying his best. Just like the lawyer buruk for the cow head protester. I did not bring the cow head, somebody else so I did no wrong. Ignorant is no excuse ( ignorantia non excusat) in law my friend.
written by Apache3, September 10, 2009 05:09:16
"He said the court had no jurisdiction to hear the case due to Federal Constitution Article 72 stipulating that “the validity of any proceeding in any state assembly cannot be questioned in any court”.

If this was so why was Datuk Seri Nizar VS zambry's case NOT thrown OUT by the presiding judge on this case?
Only one thing... FLIP FLOP Justice being served.

written by Agahdemo, September 10, 2009 09:37:58
Judge Azahar, you are a disgrace to your profession, to your family and to every upright, peace loving Malaysian.

You are a cheap, HP6, can-be-bought judge !!!!!!! smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Xerxes, September 10, 2009 11:20:51
This type of judgement has nothing to do with intelligence. It is principle and integrity. If you have strong principles, you would not succumb to your political masters and practise the separation of powers faithfully and deliver sound judgementsa.

Personal integrity is the highest virtue in a person, more so in a judge. In this position, when you compromise your personal integrity, you have not only betrayed the very foundations of justice, you have also sinned against human kind by twisting the laws to suit the vested interest of certain parties. Sadly, that is what has happened to the judiciary in this country. Tun Suffian must be turning in his grave. His prediction that he would not want to be an tried in a Malaysian court has come true.