Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Shooting the messenger

Shooting the messenger PDF Print
Wednesday, 09 September 2009 00:00

In ancient times, messages were delivered in person by a human envoy. Sometimes, as in war, for example, the messenger was sent from the enemy camp. An easily provoked combatant receiving such an overture could more easily vent anger (or otherwise retaliate) on the deliverer of the unpopular message than on its author, thus literally killing the messenger.

"Shooting the messenger" is a metaphoric phrase used to describe the act of lashing out at the (blameless) bearer of bad news.

In ancient times, messages were delivered in person by a human envoy. Sometimes, as in war, for example, the messenger was sent from the enemy camp. An easily provoked combatant receiving such an overture could more easily vent anger (or otherwise retaliate) on the deliverer of the unpopular message than on its author -- thus literally killing the messenger.

In modern usage, the expression still refers to any kind of punishment meted out to the person bringing bad news, but has taken on an ironic dimension as well.

"Attacking the messenger" is a subdivision of the ad hominem logical fallacy.

The advice "Don't shoot the messenger" was first expressed by Shakespeare in Henry IV, part 2 (1598) and in Anthony and Cleopatra (1606-07). Prior to that, a related sentiment was expressed in Antigone by Sophocles as "No one loves the messenger who brings bad news."

An analogy of the phrase can come from the breaching of an invisible code of conduct in war, where a commanding officer was expected to receive and send back emissaries or diplomatic envoys sent by the enemy unharmed. During the early Warring States period of China, the concept of chivalry and virtue prevented the executions of messengers sent by opposing sides.

A modern version of attacking the messenger can be seen when persons blame the media for presenting bad news about a favoured cause, person, organisation, etc. - Wikipedia

Malaysiakini videos: 12 questioned by MCMC

The Malaysian Communication and Multimedia Commission (MCMC) today (8 Sep) continued its investigations on Malaysiakini by holding a marathon questioning session involving the online daily's 12 staff members.

The eight-hour session began at 10.30am at Malaysiakini's office in Bangsar Utama, Kuala Lumpur, and ended at about 6.30pm.

Among those questioned were Malaysiakini chief executive officer Premesh Chandran, editors, journalists, video team members and one technical staff.

About eight MCMC officers were involved in the questioning process, who split into three teams to record statements from Malaysiakini staff simultaneously.

Except for Chandran and the technical staff, all the others were involved in the process of news gathering, editing and publishing two stories and videos related to the cow-head protest in Shah Alam on Aug 28 and a press conference by Home Minister Hishammuddin Hussein on Sept 2.

They were journalists Rahmah Ghazali, Jimadie Shah Othman, Andrew Ong, cameraperson Amir Abdullah, editors K Kabilan, Nasharuddin Rahman, Fathi Aris Omar, video editors Shufiyan Shukur, Ng Kok Foong and Lydia Azizan.

The investigation by MCMC centres on two video clips published by Malaysiakini - one on the protest and the other on Hishammuddin's press conference - which were deemed offensive.

The videos cited were the 'Temple demo: Residents march with cow's head' and 'Hisham: Don't blame cow-head protesters'. – Malaysiakini, 8 September 2009

READ MORE ON MALAYSIAKINI HERE

Comments (37)Add Comment
written by justice6, September 09, 2009 00:12:15
bn leaders like ppl to carry their balls only.. if you say bad things about them..you are wrong, .... it's like if you report a "rasuah" case, you are wrong...not the person who accept the "rasuah"... try reporting the pdrm taking rasuah and see..they will nail your balls to the dart board...
agree 266
written by pokokmangga, September 09, 2009 00:27:40
Here we go again. Each time they made a BOOBOO, they always blame somebody body else. I am rather sick of their antics and I sincerely hope the rakyat will vote them out at the GE13.
agree 226
written by TaiLow, September 09, 2009 00:28:10
Pete, the mad cow disease spread fast to Jakarta already, you can find lots similarity in both places perhaps we should name seksyen 23 little Jakarta http://www.thejakartapost.com/...treet.html
written by Commonsenses, September 09, 2009 00:28:52
hahahah not the first case nor the last though. Remember the sin chew gal who got arrested under ISA who reported Ahmad Ismail racist comment. Any way was she under police protection. Well in malaysia anything can happened. When a regime is under under pressure, they like any individual can't think properly and made stupid statement.
written by Arowana, September 09, 2009 00:29:49
To Malaysiakini Steven Gan,

Please be very careful like wise say " Ada Nyamuk Dalam Selimut"

Looks like they have infiltrate many others too. Najis and Rais work as mentioned 3 days ago. Warning earlier with Action now !!!
written by Tompios, September 09, 2009 00:34:55
I don't know why this people calling God's name to approve their uncivilized action. Kalau orang Melayu-UMNO buat hal semua benda ditutupi biar kentut busuk juga jadi harum!!
written by Oscar Winner, September 09, 2009 00:39:17
KrisMOOdin, if you don’t want the press conference to be reported or recorded, then don’t hold a press conference lah. What’s the point of the pc? Just issue a press statement. I don't know if the pc was later on TV's prime time news. Will MCMC also investigate the TV stations?? Oops...I just asked a silly question
written by James Loh, September 09, 2009 01:03:08
The action taken by UMNO towards Malaysiakini show that they're outright racist. Furthermore, they'll do anything to topple Pakatan State government. It's time for us to win Negeri Sembilan by-election. Fellow Malaysian, especially Malay, must campaign for Pakatan Rakyat in order to ensure that UMNO will lost with a huge margin in this by-election.
written by patlu, September 09, 2009 03:27:59
We echo what MCCBCHST President Rev. Dr Thomas Philips wrote:

"Thinking Malaysians will rightly raise the question: Which comes first- the act or the video which exposes the act? How do we as a country go about resolving our problems? In this case, stopping the video of the act will not unmake the act. We must surely first prevent the act and the video would not have existed.

Full media statement by MCCBCHST (Malaysian Consultative Council of Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Sikhism & Taoism), visit http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/26576/84/

Pat Lu,
on behalf of Pahlawan Volunteers
written by arazak, September 09, 2009 03:39:05
The stupidity of those people in MCMC is beyond comprehension. Even if they conficate those videos, they have already been uploaded in Youtube and many other websites.

Than again, why do they want to force Malaysiakini to pull back the videos? I though UMNO are proud of the cow head's video and the Hisaputing's pat on the back to the demontrator's video. Does Najis finally wake up one morning and realize that those videos damaged the image of UMNO more than PR?

Whatever it is, it is too late, it has been viewed worldwide. . ., even an Indian friend of mine in Chennai sent an email expressing his shock and anger. He told me if those demonstrators are in India, they and their political masters (meaning UMNO) would have been lynched without mercy!
written by A MI, September 09, 2009 06:28:20
Hisaputing hounoured the moo-protesters are "bijaksana", "waras", "yang sayangkan negara". Whoa He actually wanted to assist them but since they had already done the job........
written by A MI, September 09, 2009 06:35:41
Just curious the fella in yellow shirt claimed shouted claiming that the procession comprised PAS members and that UMNO were there only because "they sayang Islam"

Just how many PAS member were there? Or was it a ploy to SMEAR, mar and discredit PAS?
written by Tom n Jerry, September 09, 2009 06:58:17
Syabas TaiLow;I had always been amused by the *little Zamboanga* in KK where all the illegals(some with Mycards)trading ferociously in Sinsuran;now we have a *little Jakarta* added to our map;it is indeed petrifying or pathetic to find such people in our midst;our beloved nation has turned into a metropolitan hub of extremists certainly not typical of Malaysian culture which advocates tolerance,understanding and compassion in our daily lives and activities!
written by smeagrooo, September 09, 2009 07:07:30
I fear for the safety of Mkini ppl. MCMC has how many floors?

Just stay away from the window!
written by rocky, September 09, 2009 07:34:36
MCMC trying to cover up the cow issues more so when some say stupid things. some of become bodoh macam lembu. will they use ISA now against Malaysiakini to 'protect' them? maybe they should put all cows in ISA, then there will be no cow demos and will save ministers some embarrassment
written by Bloodhound, September 09, 2009 08:10:57
Hey, don't knock it.

If UMNO can get a judge to expunge (completely erased without a trace as if the event had not even happened) details of their disgraceful magical mattress from the Court's records, then, it should not be a problem to demand Malaysiakini.com to delete those damning video evidence of the cow-head and the big cow problem - surely it has to be much easier than getting court's records expunged...........or so they thought!

Stand firm Malaysiakini.com truth is on your side. The honest rakyat who believe in truthful reportings are on your side.
written by penangboi, September 09, 2009 08:18:07
Shooting the messenger is your typical UMNO/BN behaviour. What typical, you ask?

Remember that Sin Chew reporter lady who was detained under ISA for reporting on that Penang super racist calling the Chinese pendatang? The criminal was not charged under ISA but the reporter was.

And more recent we have Semi-Value threatening to sue the 'English newspaper' and the writer who exposed the 'stealing' of ballot papers in a very distant MIC election.

Of course, now Malaysiakini is the other 'shot' messenger in reporting another seditious crime by UMNOputras.

Just like the use of the police, AG, SPR, Royalty, MACC and now MCMC, UMNO/BN are making use/abusing government institutions and everything at their disposal to silence whoever dare to stand in their way.

This is democracy BolehLand-style. Anyone out there still having seconds doubts about kicking this bunch of jokers out come GE13?

Let's start at Bagan Pinang........!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
written by eeyaw, September 09, 2009 08:35:20
Pete, this MCMC don't realise that they are shooting only one of the messengers, that they forgot there is a medium called 'internet' specifically youtube. Hellooo MCMC where have you been or are you just a "bunch of lembu" (in the words of Toyo). smilies/angry.gif
written by jaz, September 09, 2009 08:42:19
Haih. Why must take down? Aiyo, I can't believe this is Malaysia. Doi.. smilies/sad.gif
written by benny loh, September 09, 2009 09:30:58
IT'S MADCOWS2 TURN
written by cheemengwong, September 09, 2009 09:52:36
Dear MCMC....

Prosecution against the prepetrators of the cow's head must be finished first and then only ask Malaysiakini to remove the video. Otherwise, no meaning to enforcement lah! Make sure sedition, illegal demonstration charges stick and they are sent to jail for a long time. Impartiallity also must show mah!

Always wants to catch RPK also cannot one lah. RPK never use any cow's head. He wrote facts with proofs and yet police and authorities never catch any of them. Why lah?

If government continues like that Raayat will be left with Zero trusts.

MCMC not clever!

written by kent chong, September 09, 2009 10:14:10
Now we all seen the act and proof from lens , else BN will say no proof, surat layang only, dont listen baseless claim from Opposition.
*BN wanna continue hide and lie ....shame on you BN!
written by batsman, September 09, 2009 10:30:07
Sounds like the Trojan king in the movie "500" The king killed the Persian messenger and dumped his body into a big hole, yet it was portrayed as a great act of a great king.
written by Davy McChester, September 09, 2009 10:50:39
The end is near ,fear is around. Nation building should be transfered to the people;they have more common sense and less cow sense than the morally corrupt UMNOputras
written by mikewang, September 09, 2009 11:35:16
You forgot to mention.
In old times, when they killed the messenger from the other side, it meant retaliation and war.
written by advocatusdiaboli, September 09, 2009 11:42:33
All the BN machinery is now being used to put Malaysiakini and Malaysia Today out of action before the next GE. This also smacks of really low class politics with a really pungent smell. That is the smell of BN's shit. You can now see how these so called Govt agencies are like dogs on a leash and the way they carry out their duties. We MUST kick BN out completely. BN is evil.
written by miwaki, September 09, 2009 11:49:00
Berani buat tapi tak berani tunjuk ! Ini ada lah barisan nasional yang tak guna kita.
written by Reno, September 09, 2009 13:01:48
If the video is soooo offensive… then how come the home minister supported culprits who were involved…?

Go investigate the home minister laa…

Don’t hate the player… hate the game…!!!
written by pakasia, September 09, 2009 14:38:23
Hishamuhidin and his compatriots are morons and goons of the uncivilized representitive of Malaysia.

MACC,MCMC and PDRM public rating has been ruined with nothing left for the public to respect.

written by Steven Ong, September 09, 2009 15:03:46
News is news. To say otherwise would be lying. In this case MCMC is trying to find a fault to shut down as many online medias that portrays an unfavorable image of the Malays , Muslim and the government. All can be categorized as sensitive issues. Sensitive to a certain special group of people - a wild people?

By its action, it seem that MCMC is saying that lying online is OK as many people would not know about it and only a few who knows cant do much damaged and unrest. Its OK to lie for peace.

In Umno's way its the messengers or speakers who are criminals who incite, and not the rioters and terrorists. They have the rights to be angry and cause damages or even take a life. Instead of preventing a riot or unrest by educating the people about loving and forgiving, Umno choses to take down the truth speakers. Instead of teaching about free speech and rights ,Umno is telling the people to be sensitive and to defend their rights at all cause, or else they may loose it. As long as there are leaders and people who have this ancient mindsets of an eye for an eye, the world shall be blind till the LIGHT comes.
written by Aria, September 09, 2009 16:06:11
We all know who is behind the cow head protest (UMNO). The 12 people charged today and released on bail is due to the impending bi-election in Seremban. Once the bi-election is over this cow head case will be wiped off.
The PKFZ scandal also now has links to Najib. The opposition should use this to nail Najib and win the next bi-elections. The people are ready for change all they need is guidance on what to do. RPK we look for you guidance on how the people can help get more people to vote for the opposition. Also how to look for fraud in this bi-elections. We need to catch BN red handed rigging this bi-elections.
written by Kathy, September 09, 2009 16:06:39
The investigation by MCMC centres on two video clips published by Malaysiakini - one on the protest and the other on Hishammuddin's press conference - which were deemed offensive.

Is the country run by morons who appoint fellow morons to run such agencies as MCMC? The above says it all. The MCMC is investigating M'kini for publishing the two video clips. Let me ask MCMC one question. Did M'kini make up these video clips or are they video clips of actual happenings? Well we know the answer and so does MCMC. If these two video clips are offensive then surely M'kini cannot be guilty. Surely the participants in these two events of which videos were made should be the guilty ones. The 1st video clip was of a demonstration in a public area so that has now become public interest. The 2nd one was of a press conference which is also a public event. Things are getting from bad to worse under BN.
written by Kathy, September 09, 2009 16:21:39
P.S.: Al Jazeera has just shown the infamous video clip of the cow-head demonstration. If the world hasn't already seen it on YouTube they have now seen it on Al Jazeera. So MCMC stop persecuting M'kini.
written by Kathy, September 09, 2009 16:55:13
PPS: So MCMC why don't you ask Al Jazeera to withdraw this news item on the cow-head demo from its website?
written by Caretaker_y, September 09, 2009 20:49:38
Hello
Home Minister, Hishammuddin Hussein, do you still remember when you were Education Minister? What did you expect from both teachers & students and the ministry's staff, to impart truth & morality and nothing but the truth. So what is the big deal now, sending the MCMC goons to disturb honest Malaysian Rakyats who video & reported the truth regarding the Cowheaded mobsters & your initial comments.

When you as the Home Minister do not own-up to the truth(just like the previous bald-headed HMinister who usually rear-out his head & mouth and denied wrong done by the Government & its machineries) then how do you expect the Rakyat to respect & look up to you. Where is our friend now? Hibernating in Kota Tinggi or doing business?

Impeccable character & practice is expected from you as the HM and so is it expected from the PM & his whole team.

Corruption, abuse of power & covering-up of criminal acts by those of you in the corridors of power seems to be the habit 'nowasadays.'

Macam Mana Boleh Dapati Di Hormat Oleh Rakyat Rakyat Malaysia dan Negeri negeri luar Malaysia?
written by Wahyu, September 09, 2009 21:10:20
Hishammuddon ni berani buat sidang akhbar tapi tak nak orang lihat sidang akhbar tu di internet: Menyuruh malaysiakini padamkan video berkenaan.
Bodoh nak mampus!

MalaysiaKini jangan tunduk kpd desakan Umno MCMC!!!!!
kerana mereka boleh minta kali pertama, mereka boleh minta utk kali kedua kelak nanti.
written by Barking out loud, September 12, 2009 18:02:02
Yes, I think Mayhudin was correct it is the leaders who has taught them to be rude like this. It is the leaders who should be blamed not them.

That is why they should not be punished. It is the leaders who should be punished. However, since their leaders are the law it will not be feasible to punish the people who is wrong. We must continue to vote these leaders in to power or else we will no longer have a nation to live in. Long live their leaders.