Huge development planned for Borneo PDF Print
Tuesday, 12 February 2008 01:13

(The Associated Press) - Malaysia's government pledged Monday to lure more than $100 billion of investments to a jungle-clad state on Borneo island -- the latest in a series of heavily publicized economic initiatives ahead of elections expected next month.

Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi launched the Sarawak Corridor of Renewable Energy to attract investments to Sarawak state's industries including oil, gas, timber and fisheries, according to his speech at the launch ceremony in a Sarawak town.

The plan would "begin the transformation of Sarawak into a modern and blessed state," Abdullah said in the speech posted on his official Web site.

The plan envisions Sarawak receiving private investments worth 334 billion ringgit ($103 billion) through 2030 to fund projects in a wide range of sectors, including energy resources such as hydroelectric dams and coal-fired power stations.

Abdullah said the government would allocate a preliminary 5 billion ringgit ($1.5 billion) of state funds for "high-impact projects" in Sarawak, and would come up with a package of incentives to spur private investments.

"The people of Sarawak will certainly feel a big impact," Abdullah said, adding that the plan was expected to generate 1.6 million jobs and slash the state's poverty rate to 1 percent in 2030, down from the current 7.5 percent.

Abdullah did not directly link the plan to Malaysia's general elections, which are likely to be held in March. But political observers have said the government could benefit from public goodwill stemming from a string of recently announced big-budget development initiatives.

Thirteen agreements were signed Monday between Sarawak's government and several companies, including one with global miner Rio Tinto Ltd. to supply power to a planned major aluminum smelter.

Abdullah last month unveiled plans to develop Sabah, another Malaysian state on Borneo, Sabah, by bringing 105 billion ringgit (US$32.5 billion; euro22 billion) in investment over 18 years to its agriculture, tourism and manufacturing sectors. Similar plans have been created for other parts of Malaysia.

Comments (8)Add Comment
written by The dragonheart, February 12, 2008 03:13:47
Podah... BAKUN project was huge enough... what happened to it?
written by geddemtata, February 12, 2008 04:37:32
The people of Sarawak will certainly feel a big impact," Abdullah said, adding that the plan was expected to generate 1.6 million jobs and slash the state's poverty rate to 1 percent in 2030, down from the current 7.5 percent..... WAWASAN 2020 MALAYSIA NEGARA MAJU MACAM MANA 2030 MASIH ADA 1 PERCENT MISKIN....
written by RumahPanjai, February 12, 2008 05:51:02
Who do you think will benefit from this mega project. Another white elephant? Millions of jobs....dream on. Did they ever consider where these workers will be coming from and the social impact as a consequence. Its bad enough as it is...we don't need any more social problems from foreign workers. smilies/angry.gif
written by Debbie, February 12, 2008 06:12:43
so so very angry...no more indigenous people,wild life and rainforest...STUPID STUPID PEOPLE.
written by PRESENT POINT POWER, February 12, 2008 08:00:54
This is BN Stunning Pre Election Score in Sarawak – when PM launched the RM 334bln SCORE (Sarawak Corridor of Renewable Energy
It was an unfair pre-election score for BN and it was indeed a “a government ploy to shore up flagging public support” especially in Sarawak weeks before the general elections.
RM334 billion is a huge amount right up to 2030 and this big development plan
will help generate strong economic growth and revenues that will keep the Taib families, associates & all the cronies well taken care of for generations to come.
More details & pics at
http://powerpresent.********.c...awak.html
written by asguard, February 12, 2008 10:56:40
Hey... where are they going to get the money for this corridor and that corridor... and so more not to say millions but billions... are they nuts.... tell me where are those money coming from? ......
written by malaysianohope, February 12, 2008 12:10:13
Ya lah!

Corridors for the primates including your sil.
written by oknyua, February 12, 2008 15:11:46
Let me tell you one project I had the privilege of studying. This is the 36 million starch factory in Mukah, yes the same place as this corridor.

The SIDC imported big machines, build big factory, hired a lot of locals, I mean it's a 36 million, what can you say?

The day the produce the starch, all the machines got stuck and only industrial quality (low grade) starch was produced. The factory abandoned (RM36 million), and it was until very much later that a W Malaysian engineer got the idea of revilatising the project. I think he got a gov't (tech-loan) of RM5million. I think it is surviving now.

My question: If a simple starch plant can fail, what make them think that a US100 b (RM334 b) project can succeed? I can tell one thing, if these corridor-corridor negatively affect the lives of Iban people there, they would follow a Raja Petra solution: they have the Parang Elang ready. (Raja Petra has the Keris).