Can The Opposition Be Trusted, Asks Najib PDF Print
Tuesday, 12 February 2008 00:58

MELAKA, Feb 12 (Bernama) -- How are the people to trust the opposition if their leaders like Lim Kit Siang and Hadi Awang themselves are avoiding taking a picture together, said Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak.

"This is very unlike Barisan Nasional (BN) leaders. This is not a question of policy, but we in the BN sit at the same table and among us there is no problems," he said when speaking at a "Leaders with the People " gathering here Monday night.

Lim Kit Siang is the advisor to the DAP while Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang is PAS president.

Some 5,000 people from the various communities turned up for the gathering where a dinner was also hosted in conjunction with the Chinese New Year festival.

Najib said the power-sharing concept practised by the BN was what made the coalition so successful and was something that the opposition could not emulate despite their trying.

"When it comes to the general election, it boils down to who you can trust. Can you trust the opposition or will you continue to your place your trust in the BN?," he said, adding that the people should not gamble away their future by looking for alternatives to the BN.

The BN had kept all promises it made to the various races and in fact, today he had approved requests for allocations for three Chinese schools in Melaka made by Melaka Chief Minister Datuk Seri Mohamed Ali Rustam, he said.

"The BN has a proven track record and has set in place long term programmes to bring the country to even greater heights," said Najib.

He said the BN component parties were also championing the cause of their respective races and as such, urged them to be patient while their leaders addressed issues and problems affecting them.

"If the Indians feel they are being left behind, give us some to time, Rome was not built in a day," he added.

Comments (38)Add Comment
written by freedom to speak, February 12, 2008 01:39:14
Oh Dear!

First of all, can we trust BN/UMNO for another term to fulfill their own promises made eons and eons ago?

Second and not least, Can we trust you?
written by caxyz, February 12, 2008 02:29:28
While it's true that the quality of the oppositions are yet untested but it's almost a fact that the ruling party cannot be trusted.
Opposition Boleh.
written by wannabepatriotic, February 12, 2008 02:41:39
You BN fools stick together - thanks nepotism and cronyism. Birds of a feather flock together, and you guys are a bunch of dirty, stinking, corrupted vultures.

WE DON'T TRUST YOU. MANY TO FOLLOW SUIT. Your days are numbered.
written by Beautiful Mind, February 12, 2008 03:04:04
What Najib said is something that we all need to pay attention to. To convince the Malaysians that the Opposition is cut to the job, first and foremost there need to be peace between us all and that we compliment, trust each other and share the same ideas and sing in tune. If we fight among us, what will this show to the rest.

The Opposition may never win this coming election. But there is always hope.

What many of us want is that we will not have Barisan to run the show by themselves. We need to cut their 2/3 majority.

What is happening in our beloved country is that the 2/3 majority Barisan is having makes them cocky for they know that even if they mis-behaved, they can get away with it.

The rakyat is sick of the pompous and cocky Barisan candidates who act big as though they are the untouchables and immune by the law of the land.

Time to move on..and it's time for a change. Any opposition will do as long as it is not Barisan.
written by The dragonheart, February 12, 2008 03:12:12
Najib is the first person i don't trust...

Ask him to take care of national defence... he swindle half billion buying shukoi, and anothe half billion buying 2nd hand submarine, and many others...

Rosmah don't trust him... coz every thim when rosman let him alone, he ends up with another women...

No his girl friends don't trust him... wrong day he will use C4 against them...

KJ don't trust u either

Now Pak lah dont trust u because TDM is supporting you to be the next PM...
written by yipck, February 12, 2008 03:29:36
I am not sure whether the DAP or PAS can be trusted. But one thing I am sure is that BN is not to be trusted.
written by yipck, February 12, 2008 03:30:11
Anyway, I trusted PAP of Singapore more than any party in Malaysia. At least PAP delivers what they promise.
written by Beezee_Beezee, February 12, 2008 03:48:18
Current DPM is trying to compare between the BN/Gormen Vs Opossition?????
What's wrong to all the head of the BN Leader..How would you compare the Gormen against the Oposition...You should compare between UMNOputra Vs MIC Vs Gerakan Vs MCA....If you think within the component party differs in your way of managing the country then don't start propossing that can the Opossition be trusted.

Look at all the High profile cases in the country currently vs the corruption vs the polis vs the CMs leaders in your Gormen..can they be trusted...
Are the evidences not enought to put you guys [Mooron] out of the parliment?

Brother Tepok Dada Tanya Selera....Kalau Paku mengata Dulang...Heh...take a look at the mirror for just 5 minutes of your own self then you can copare with the Opposition.....

Bye Bye BN.....Dig you own graves......
written by mara koman, February 12, 2008 03:57:05

oh dear,, oh dear..

Trust is not a word for you used ,,you najis. So are all the BN Morons..

Ask you self,, Can i be trust. The first person not to put a single hope on you,,Najis. 50 years has passed for the indian. We had 50 years to know whom to trust now., and you are speaking of trust,,,ha
written by lawa88, February 12, 2008 06:56:12
Hey Najis, you and your father are the same.
Your father did a "coup-de-tat" on Tunku, and started May 13.
Not too long ago in Kg Baru stadium, this is the same guy who threatens and tells us Malays to shed Chinese and Indian blood. Hell no! They are my friends you idiot! My Chinese and Indian friends and of course Malay friends have not and will not listen to you anymore!!! Go to hell Najis! Go s-c-re-w another Mongolian girl and use C4 after you are done!!! By the way Rosmah is also screwing around while you were busy.....
I will vote PAS, DAP, PKR or anything else except BN!!!!!!!!
smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif
written by rayfire, February 12, 2008 07:54:28
Emmm, trust has to be earned my dear DPM, have you earned yours??
If you notice the opposition leaders individually ,they are well respected and trusted for who they are, not what they are. The same is not true when it comes to BN. You only have fictitious trust and respect for as long as you are in power, after that it is all gone!
If you people could do that to the mighty leader like TDM, the same will befall you.
Should we trust you and your Be End friends??, NO!
We have better ALTERNATIVES to invest our trust in!
smilies/wink.gif
written by indianputra, February 12, 2008 07:59:19
Damn!! Everytime this guy opens his mouth he is shooting his feet... and we respond to him too.

Hello Najib, WE RAKYAT TRUSTED THE BN THE LAST 50 YEARS and where did it take us?? We are marginalized, corruption by your goons at it's highest level, we have unprofessional police. ACA and Judiciery, the prices of essential goods skyrocketing, lies said by your cabinet everyday and DO YOU THINK WE CAN TRUST YOU????

BN has practically killed Malaysia, it's economy and governance. Get a life dude!!!
written by Bigjoe99, February 12, 2008 08:13:07
IF UMNO thought PAS was a threat this election, they would have gotten out the FRU and started clubbing everyone.

Its not his spin-doctoring that scares me, its his arrogance and stupidity that he think he can fool voters that easily.
written by krepot, February 12, 2008 08:20:01
ANYTHING, BUT BN!
We trusted BN for 50 years and we got jack-shit.
We just want to give PAS/DAP/PKR/Who-ever-else 5 years to show us, what they can do!
Get that into your head Najib!

written by krepot, February 12, 2008 08:24:22
lawa88, that is a low blow picking on Rosmah, the ex-GRO girl like that.....let her be. Dia cari makan je. Najib had his 'fun' too, now talk like holy man smilies/grin.gif
written by asguard, February 12, 2008 08:37:32
The question here is whether to trust opposition... well, I say I rather put my trust in opposition than devils, demons hands... (BN) because they always break their promises more than a thousand times...since independence till now...
written by Jefus, February 12, 2008 08:59:34
This is very unlike Barisan Nasional (BN) leaders. This is not a question of policy, but we in the BN sit at the same table and among us there is no problems," he said when speaking at a "Leaders with the People

many still remember how MPs were reprimanded for speaking up for the Indians recently. (Don't you remember?) And for all those years that your party have ruled the country, are you reduced to making comments about opposition not taking pictures together?

Is there nothing in your achievements that is commendable that you fear and feel insecure of your contenders?

"The BN has a proven track record and has set in place long term programmes to bring the country to even greater heights," said Najib.

How so? Our neighbors have made better progress than us? What track record? As compared to what?

The issue at hand is to put a stop to abuse, arrogance and divisiveness, it is not about the opposition.

True Rome wasn't built in a day,.... but it was burnt down in six days and seven nights.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Great_Fire_of_Rome
written by cble, February 12, 2008 09:05:01
Kita lebih percaya pada janji pembangkang daripada BN atas alasan bahawa BN telah memerintah selama 50 tahun tetapi janji2 yang diberi hanya tingal janji semata
written by Counterpointer, February 12, 2008 09:14:24
The BN has a proven track record

Oh yeah, Najis, Good or Bad?

http://blog.limkitsiang.com/20...ou-decide/

Looks like we have trusted BN enough. It's time we trust somebody else, the opposition, that is.
written by tanahairku2, February 12, 2008 09:29:27
Dear DPM, You still dont get it, do you? Maybe you just refuse to get it. Being the BN whip, all you need to do to be trusted is to do your job. DISCIPLINE those who waved the krises, those who threatened to run amuk with matchets, those who disallowed the use of 'allah', those who confiscated Bibles and other Christian books, those who demolished temples,those who demanded that crosses be removed from schools and those who have amassed millions through corruption. Without disclipining these people, can they be trusted NOT to repeat what they have done?
And while you are at it, you should also apologise for threatening to shed Chinese and Indian blood. These are the more important issues for developing a harmonious environment than giving money to Chinese and Indian schools. And if the Chinese and Indians are taken in by such tactics, then they have really sold their soul and dignity for money.
As for taking pictures together as proof of trust, haven't you learnt that people in the picture can "look like me....., but may not be me." ?
written by alan cheong, February 12, 2008 09:35:57
WE KNOW you CAN'T be trusted.
So, the answer is obvious.
written by devious17, February 12, 2008 09:44:44
najib,you and your cohorts in umno/bn till date have not shown any form of intelligence when it comes to comparing yourselves to the opposition. umno/bn controls the media and what doesthe opposition have? umno/bn leaders has been attacking charactors saying all sorts of gibberish but nothing with facts to prove what they have done for the last 50 years. All that statement of " going to,has planned, in progress" are not concrete facts.

The only hard cold fact,as pointed out by CounterPointer, are those listed in LKS site.That's fact!

you umno/bn joker had your chance and you blew it big time.
written by myke, February 12, 2008 10:00:44
Deputy BN GOONS. Tahi = najis = him
written by technoboy, February 12, 2008 10:05:12
Hello Najib, I would rather trust the opposition than trust a guy like you or anyone of your BN goons. Building RM10 million palace (Dato Z), C4, erasing immigration records, judge fixing, keris waving, temple demolition, siapa buat semua ini, BN or opposition.
written by hiro, February 12, 2008 10:54:11
Najib really gets on my nerves:

Regarding Indian grouses, he said Rome was not built in a day - well, the question is, Mr DPM, you had 30 -40 years to create a just and equitable society that's inclusive, where race does not matter, yet what did BN accomplish?

Haji Awang and Lim Kit siang not taking pictures together - how to trust them? Well, if they take picture together, BN media will have a field day, and they won't get a chance to defend themselves will they?

So quit speaking with forked tongue and tell us something concrete and real for a change, like how will you make Malaysian economy more competitive like right now, instead of another 5 years time, or when are you going to establish the judicial appointment commission, or create an independent ACA, or IPCMC, and when will PKFTZ scandal be resolved? And when will ACA investigate YOU on Scorpion subs deal and Sukhoi jets deal? If you don't have any of these answers, don't ask the rakyat not to trust the opposition, because we find it hard to trust YOU.
written by Umar Rentaka, February 12, 2008 12:27:23
Indian Proverb:
"What will a goat not eat; What will a mad man not say!"
written by mwaalib, February 12, 2008 13:06:04
Let the opposition have the mandate for a term and will never know that the country may be better off.
"This is very unlike Barisan Nasional (BN) leaders. This is not a question of policy, but we in the BN sit at the same table and among us there is no problems,"
Well said and that's why there will never be check and balance because all will be pleasing each other, just the BN way. None brave enough to go against the bad apple! That's how I assess his statement.
written by veseti, February 12, 2008 14:19:59
Najib talks as if he build the twin towers himself single handedly. In truth he only clean up his shits for the past five years. I wonder how long are Mlaysian voters going to remain ignorant. Now is the time
VOTE BN OUT!! smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Lim Lim, February 12, 2008 16:30:16
trusted or not is not the "main bone of contention" now!!but this hav been n remains a fact..all malaysian irregardless of race will not see a better malaysia in future with the corrupted,racist n super-hypocritical umno/BN front consists of people like u,najis!!!!
written by idham, February 12, 2008 16:39:35
rakyat bodo saja tak tahu sapa mu najib!!

written by InEffective, February 12, 2008 19:00:51
Good to see the people rejecting pathetic attempts to seed uncertainty.

What is certain is the ransoming of races,hijacking of nation's wealth and resources, strategic exclusion of all communities of the rakyat, for incumbent politician's self-gain and self-interests.
written by Talisman, February 12, 2008 19:05:57
MY HEART GOES TO BN, BUT MY HEAD GOES TO OPPOSITIONS.

WHAT SO BIG?

I VOTE WITH MY HEAD.

WHAT ABOUT YOU?
written by burn22, February 12, 2008 19:28:05
DPM, have you forgotten ur famous tagline... to bath the keris with chinese blood!
and moreover, you are not qualified to become DPM or PM of malaysia.
written by zanie, February 12, 2008 21:02:13
Najib with so many scandals shrouding..first kisah bercinta dengan bini orang yang kemudian dikahwininya, next ditangkap basah dengan Ziana Zain, lastly dengan Altantuya..orang macam ni kita nak percaya? Ingat tak berapa banyak dia bribe pemuda Keadilan untuk masuk UMNO,ingat tak Roslan Kassim? Najib memang amat tidak layak menjadi PM. Dia penuh dengan najis dan kekotoran. Menjijikkan!
written by suaraorang, February 12, 2008 22:46:34
Writing bad things about him here is NOT going to make any difference. His continued presence in the cabinet is determined by the people of Pekan, not you nor me. Take the battle to Pekan. Find ways to overcome his secret weapon - the postal votes, and we will have a brighter future.
written by Uncorruptible, February 12, 2008 23:17:59
yOU WANT US TO TRUST YOU/BN SOME MORE? You buggers - a DEN OF THIEVES !
written by ahmadbadrul40, February 12, 2008 23:32:25
Does anybody has a tape on Najib with Zaina Zain?
written by Daryl, February 13, 2008 01:37:26
Quote: "This is very unlike Barisan Nasional (BN) leaders. This is not a question of policy, but we in the BN sit at the same table and among us there is no problems," he said when speaking at a "Leaders with the People " gathering here Monday night. : Unquote
Hmm how quick you forget about the "keris" waiving incidence Mr. DPM. Or your the attempt by the goverment to stop any type of demostrations... Mr Policmen you need to separate yourself from politics... As long as the demostration doesn't cause RIOT is actually good for the goverment and rakyat...

Quote: "When it comes to the general election, it boils down to who you can trust. Can you trust the opposition or will you continue to your place your trust in the BN?," he said, adding that the people should not gamble away their future by looking for alternatives to the BN. :Unquote
Mr. DPM I will take my chance and at least it is something new and have a chance for a better future. Maybe the grass is greener on the other side. Sticking with you means another five years of bleak future. If the experiment failed maybe you will attempt to be a better goverment next time for the sack of Malaysia... I LIKE OPTIONS and right now I DON"T HAVE THAT...