Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow Ninth by-election in the Nine State

Ninth by-election in the Nine State PDF Print
Saturday, 05 September 2009 00:00

This is going to be the ninth by-election since the last general election. And it is going to be held in the Nine State (Negeri Sembilan). This is also the ninth month (September) in the year ending with nine (2009). Is this a good omen or a bad omen for the opposition?

First, let’s look at what was.

N31 - Bagan Pinang

2004 General Election

Total registered voters - 10,777

Total votes cast - 8,022

% voter turnout - 74.44%

MOHD FAIZAL BIN RAMLI (BN) - 5,967 (74.38% of votes)

HASSAN BIN ALIAS (PAS) - 1,556

BN majority - 4,411

Spoilt votes - 499

2008 General Election

Total registered voters - 14,192

Total votes cast - 10,911

% voter turnout - 76.88%

AZMAN MOHD NOR (BN) - 6,430 (58.93% of votes)

RAMLI ISMAIL (PAS) - 4,097

BN majority - 2,333

Spoilt votes - 384

And what will we see for the coming by-election in the next month or two?

What will we see this coming by-election? Well, there are many factors to consider. First, of course, would be the candidate. Field the wrong candidate and we shall see a repeat of what happened in the recent by-election in Penang.

Next would be whether PAS can close ranks and unite because it appears like PAS is very badly split down in Negeri Sembilan.

One more factor would be the 5,000 plus postal votes from that state constituency (out of 7,000 postal votes for the Teluk Kemang parliamentary constituency, which Bagan Pinang comes under). That represents about one-third the total number of registered voters. If there is a free and fair election, and if the Election Commission (SPR) does not, as usual, ‘switch’ ballot boxes, then the opposition has a good chance of grabbing that seat. If not, then the fake postal votes would give Barisan Nasional a win with a majority of at least 2,000-3,000 votes.

Note that the number of Malay voters in this constituency is about two-thirds, which means most would come from the postal votes. There are about 10.5% Chinese voters, 19.9% Indian voters, and 3.5% others. This is an ideal breakdown for the opposition, if not for the 5,000 plus postal votes that can be manipulated in Barisan Nasional’s favour.

In 1999, Ruslam Kassim, the opposition candidate from PKR, won the majority of the postal votes in that parliamentary constituency, which the Bagan Pinang state seat comes under. In 2008, Datuk Kamarul Baharin Abbas, the Member of Parliament for Teluk Kemang and PKR’s head for Negeri Sembilan, lost that state constituency by only 2,000 plus votes in spite of the more than 7,000 postal votes.

So, Pakatan Rakyat still has a chance of winning that seat if they can keep those postal votes under control. Then the loss by a majority of 2,000-3,000 may instead be transformed to a win with a 1,500-2,000-vote majority.

That is my prediction if Pakatan Rakyat can address those three main issues above.

One thing to note is that in 2004 Barisan Nasional garnered 74.38% of the total votes cast while in 2008 it garnered only 58.93%. That is a large drop in share of votes. And the Barisan National majority of 2,333 for 2008 (down from 4,411 in 2004) include the more than 5,000 postal votes.

In a fair and free election, that seat is clearly an opposition seat. Come on Pakatan Rakyat. Give us a win with a majority of at least 1,500-1,800 votes. Of course, more would be better -- say 2,200?

Comments (52)Add Comment
written by KingSolomon, September 05, 2009 00:08:38
I am not affiliated to any political party but I will bring at least 20 people from KL to help the opposition to win more votes.
agree 371
written by Umm Adzka, September 05, 2009 00:09:49
I always love it - when RPK came out with predictions (or rather projections) which had materialised in the past.

I have the same concern (and especially it is in N9). How I hope this time his projection will materialise too! it will be much sweeter to win a by-election in Negeri Sembilan
agree 227
written by KingSolomon, September 05, 2009 00:12:15
I may bring along a toy cow to survey voters' reaction.
agree 164
written by Arowana, September 05, 2009 00:14:49
Please be reminded, this is
First two will use all kinds of dirty tricks to save face, third one we will see how he wayang with UMNO, or campaigning for unity or for PAS/PR.
written by justice, September 05, 2009 00:19:03
Since there are about 20% Indian voters there, let's tell them how UMNO-BN defended the cow-head incident in Shah Alam. Tell them how Kugan was murdered and no action was taken! Tell the Chinese voters there how Teoh Beng Hock was murdered and they tried to fool us with a suicide story. Every vote counts!! Let's start working to get rid of the evil!!

agree 411
written by DontPlayGod, September 05, 2009 00:19:57
It looks like in every constitutuency, there has to be postal votes, and these postal votes are not a small figure, sometimes making up to even 25 to 30% of the voters. Perhaps, its about time somebody with the resources and ability(M-T?, Malaysiakini?) add up all the postal votes in all the constituencies and come out with a figure. It may add up to more than a million!

Another question, why are there so many postal votes in nearly all the constitutuencies? Are there that many armed forces personnel? Is there a war going on that these personnnel cannot be released to vote?
agree 179
written by Steven Tan, September 05, 2009 00:29:44
Dear Brothers and Sisters,

I got a strong feeling that this time around that seat is ours..We going to defeat them by atleast 1500 - 1800 votes, as expected by our RPK..

Mudah-mudahan dengan Doa TGNA beserta kerja keras kesemua anggota keluarga Kerajaan Pakatan, kejayaan mutlak akan jadi milik kita bersama.

Hidup PAS!!! HIDUP PKR!!! HIDUP DAP!!! HIDUP KERAJAAN PAKATAN RAKYAT!!! smilies/smiley.gif
agree 192
written by Kapten Ciku, September 05, 2009 00:34:23
The race composition is almost similar to what other area of Malaysia. This will be one seat that could be won if pakatan closed rank. Most of the 35% non Malay votes will go to Pakatan. If PAS could convince and pull the Malay votes to half of the 65%, the seat will for Pakatan to wrest. Do not discount the fact of money being given out by BN. Give the BN a good fight. Some how I think some one is watching from above to ensure that rakyat will always have their say thru by election. Maybe that someone is from Mongolia.

All the best.
written by SamYap, September 05, 2009 00:39:40
My 2 sen worth is this: Would the Indians be able to see the woods for the trees?

Would they also be more visionary? Would they realize that its their chance to show their displeasure over the insults chucked at them by BN?

Or would they instead allow themselves to be swayed by the Kpg Buah Pala issue (which is a debatable issue what with Hindraf playing it up?)?

If they can see beyond all of that and know that this a golden opportunity to sink another nail into BN's coffin, then I should think all is well for Pakatan.
written by Fat Zorro, September 05, 2009 00:45:21
999! Good number. BN, in particular UMNO remains oblivios to all the signs that are foretelling its eventual downfall. Think we may have to thank Altantuya for this unexpected and surprise 9th by election. After all, this coincides with the Hungry Ghost day and month
written by johntyc, September 05, 2009 01:14:40
Wahai pungundi2 pos (terutamanya yang berpakaian seragam warna hijau), anda tunggu apa lagi? Inilah masanya! Jom kita buat pilihan yang tepat demi kebaikan bersama.
written by Daryl, September 05, 2009 02:24:53
Dear RPK

Even is they win it by 5 votes that is still consider a victory since it is a BN seat and also with lots of postal votes. I will talk more than 1000 votes but I will still be very happy with 5.
written by Oscar Winner, September 05, 2009 02:36:08
999 is defenitely a good omen for PR.

999 - for distress call. SOS. The people in Bagan Pinang(BP) are sending out a clear message to PR
999 - "For a long, long time" in Cantonese. It will be PR's win for a long, long time
999 - "dog, dog, dog" in Cantonese and Hokkien -- BP folks' calling UMNO/BN goons dogs
999 - "save, save, save" in Mandarin. BP folks sending out distress calls to save them from the evils

Bye bye BN....
written by wongnoball, September 05, 2009 04:03:01
Lets hope 99.9% turn out to vote and postal vote make it 109.9%....

Then we have every right to Burn All MACC, PDRM, EC, Judiciary UMNO-BN regim ganas kejam bunuh building and infrastructure. Remember Zimbabwe voters turnout was over 90%....and we see Unity Party not working. Lagi mau perpaduan Ummah and Melayu..PAS??
written by Spear Bing, September 05, 2009 05:10:47
Sure enough and true to my prediction and expectation, just when the announcement of the death of the BN Assemblyman was published, the first thought that came to my mind was RPK would probably have the figures and detail information on the Bagan Pinang constituent by the back of his hand!

The background info and empirical performances of past elections are very vital for PR to map out the strategy well in advance.

PAS election machinery and foot soldiers need to move in fast and brainstorm on the tactical preparation as soon as possible, knowing well that this area is a BN controlled constituency.

As RPK has surmised, given the team spirit and the right candidate, PAS /PR can go for another 'kill'.

I am just wondering, instead of RPK's efficient and well glued information, how come the PR election machinery did not come out as fast as RPK's MT.

Do PR think RPK's MT is not a jewel in the crown for PR's future success in their political battle?

CASH is no more the KING. INFORMATION is the newly installed KING of all KINGS.!!
written by Sudahlah tu, September 05, 2009 05:11:24
banyak askar pembantu mamak beralamat di situ ...
tahulah rakyat , bagaimana sistem kezaliman umno bertindak untuk memberi 'laluan khas' untuk mendapat kerusi ADUN .. sama seperti kat Pekan tu.
apa yang paling menjadi sekarang , pendudk di sana akan diberi 'duit raya' serta pembaikan rumah , kuih-kuih raya tajaan betina umno , biasiwa kemasukan tempat pengajian tinggi , basikal , beg sekolah , duit raya untuk yang miskin ... banyak lagi program mesra rakyat ...
anggap aje itu adalah keberkatian Allah di musim bulam yang mulia serta kehadiran Syawal ....
ini adalah salah cara di mana kezaliman umno terpaksa memperuntukan wang rakyat kembali kepada kebaikan hidup rakyat ...
kalau hari - hari biasa itu , manalah nasib rakyat dikenangkan ..
tugas mereka cuma bersendiwara setiap kali PRU diadakan ...
baguslah itu , kita berdoa dan berterima kasih di atas kurniaan Allah.
written by nana tanjung, September 05, 2009 05:20:43
SpearBing,
Should PR/PAS tell you every thing? Furthermore this is RPK's website, not PAS/PR's website. How would you expect them to tell you that fast (even if they really want to tell you)? How do you know that they don't have the info? I'm a Pas worker , so I know every bit of such info is availaible even at the UPU level.

I would have full confidence that this is going to be PAS's seats if not for the postal voters. I'll keep my finger cross.
written by Aduh, September 05, 2009 05:23:25
Dengan pendedahan kemelut yang terlampau banyak berlaku dalam beend, orang berfikiran waras dan ingin kebahagiaan untuk keturunannya, tidak sekali-kali akan mengundi beend. Percayalah. Menyesal dahulu pendapatan, menyesal kemudian tak berguna.
written by shamadz72, September 05, 2009 05:48:11
If PR win this seat, who knows, we might see Pekan parliament seat in our next by-election. smilies/smiley.gif

written by Spear Bing, September 05, 2009 05:56:53
Dear nana tanjung,

I am not underestimating the competent intelligence network of PAS, and that they have already the information at hand about Bagan Pinang constiturency.

But I would have expected you to be more courteous and cordial in your reply and maybe compliment RPK for his diligence in uploading the information.

Having full confidence is not good enough when you confess that the critical factor is the postal voters.

No you can't keep your fingers cross. In this kind of political battle, you could not leave it to chance and luck.

Find out who are this group of postal voters, their addresses and locations,and come out with a series of ceramah campaigns.

Good for you that you have all the detail information. Waste no time. Get your machinery to work asap.

Wish you all the best.

SALAM
written by SOMUCFUN, September 05, 2009 06:12:37
The Oracle has spoken!!! PR will take this one too!
written by maisur, September 05, 2009 07:41:12
this coming election is a foregone conclusion. it is almost impossible for PAS to win the 5000 postal votes. UMNO will do by hook or by crook to win this bellwether election

my prediction is UMNO to win by 2000 majority. if postal voting is done transparently, almost certain PAS will win by 1000 majority, insyaallah
written by Bigjoe99, September 05, 2009 10:11:45
NOT CHEAT?? You have got to be kidding. Najib has shown that he is willing to go any distance to cheat even if he is caught carrying the fake votes himself.. He will still deny it...
written by temenggong, September 05, 2009 11:02:45
Due to postal votes this by-election is not going to be easy. It is going to be a close call with a majority below 100, probably in BN's favour.
written by Kampong, September 05, 2009 11:30:20
Another one bites the dust. Maybe is a sign from above? You know, eat healthy and exercise more.
written by Wisdom above, September 05, 2009 12:13:54
Put a People Parliament 's qualities & a Liberal democrat Pas or PKR candidate to contest. PLEASE "do not put anyone" who behave like Hasan Ali or Zulkifli Nordin-types, or tea-bagged brained politicians to contest ? Any Anak Bangsa Malaysia qualities candidate will sure WIN BIG !
written by Lipanbara, September 05, 2009 12:37:54
In Penang, UMNO said there were phantom voters. With 5,000 postal voters in Bgn Pinang (BP), would UMNO sing the same tune? They considered BP is their stronghold...
written by othman hitam, September 05, 2009 13:41:44
This buy election has big significance on both sides of the political divide...given the slim majority commanded by umno/bn, a PR win may even cause the umno/bn state government to fall....I'd love to see that happens. So PR supporters, let's treat this buy election a DO or DIE battle. We must come out in FULL FORCE to ensure victory
written by Aria, September 05, 2009 13:49:35
Personally I would like a Pakatan man who is an elderly Malay statesman who has got very good credential, education and morals. This will make every Indian, Chinese and Malay person vote for Pakatan. A Pas candidate will be carrying a lot of religious and race baggage, which many Chinese and Indian would not like.
written by Fuminari, September 05, 2009 13:52:58
the devil = 666,turn that around n we hav 999!so good omen or bad omen???
written by disgruntled, September 05, 2009 13:57:18
In the upcoming Bagan pinang by-election, The PR leaders must make sure that they leave no stones unturned against the UMNO candidate, whoever he may be.
The BN must not be given any chance of winning this time around.
The fact that the last winner comes from UMNO does not necessarily mean this time it must go back to UMNO. In fact this by-election can be seen as the most appropriate gauge of the PR's overall support in the peninsula.
1) If the PR lost this time, it would be taken as the PR's strength is concentrated in specific areas, viz. Penang, Selangor, kelantan, to a lesser extent also Kedah and Perak.
2) If the PR candidate wins, then we can safely say the PR's strength in the peninsular is gaining momentum since the last by-election last month, August.
3) this will also mean the BN government will act more aggressive towards the PR states and assemblymen. This means the head will step up his operations to dig into more loopholes in the PR states.
4) PR state leaders beware of the cow's head operations that should be appearing again, maybe in another format next time!!!
written by Angela Ooi, September 05, 2009 14:48:36
With so many unexpected by-elections, it is so very important to get all your family and friends registered and ready to vote.

I am ready and willing to help Pakatan during this by/buy election. Jom in PD guys!!
written by JJ Kuyong, September 05, 2009 15:09:13
19.9% Indian voters, 10.5% Chinese voters. My fellow Indian and Chinese voters, remember what that UMNO done to you: They called you Pendatang and asked you to go back to your respective country of origin. Also those my fellow Malaysian Hindu, remember the insult they done on your religion recently and how the Minister of Home Affairs supported them. For those my brother and sister in Christ, remember how the two Al-Islam Journalists have insulted our religion in our own church recently.

I urge all those Indian, Hindu, Chinese and Christian to give your 100% vote PR. Voting UMNO/BN meaning you are approving their evil act!!!!
written by Oscar Winner, September 05, 2009 15:23:14
PAS, can you make a sacrifice for the sake of the rakyat? Please allow brother Zaid Ibrahim to be fielded. He will definitely win this by-election
written by citizenmy, September 05, 2009 16:01:04
With postal votes...congratulation BN!
written by ibabonma, September 05, 2009 17:02:50
I will be there for sure.

The last time I was at Teluk Kemang was when Roslan Kassim contested as the opposition candidate (that was then) but now he seems to be involved in total golfing and in company of Umno goons. Lan, how much I spent?

Then, I was going round the estates (Hai, YB Gobala!) but I lost out to MIC for they prefer to win the seat for Sotinathan by "pouring toddy and liquor in the estates". Dei, Samy, mana you punya moral?

written by dr.chan, September 05, 2009 17:25:20
Looks like GOD is giving more and more chances for Malaysians to discard the evil regime and help people choose a better goverment.Must Win this BY Election, and more will come ,One by One,a continous success to the PR.I predict more by-elections to come.
GOD SAVE MALAYSIA!!!!!
written by miwaki, September 05, 2009 19:55:26
Maybe the cow which head was severed would come to our help and teach UMNO/BN a lesson that "head" of any animal or human has to be respected and cannot be carried around or thrown away like garbage.

We will teach UMNO/BN a lesson in this by-election.Just wait BN !
written by CPY, September 05, 2009 21:31:35
This is going to be the ninth by-election since the last general election. And it is going to be held in the Nine State (Negeri Sembilan). This is also the ninth month (September) in the year ending with nine (2009). Is this a good omen or a bad omen for the opposition?

9 is a symbol of eternity in chinese. Therefore, in numerological terms, whoever win this seat win the control of the parliament for 13th GE.
written by rosso, September 05, 2009 23:02:36
Dear Sara,
I think you are on the right track. If UMNO feel the slightest fear that its postal votes will not carry the day, it will instruct the SPR to issue a ruling that no buy election is necessary since the deceased could presumably still be able to carry out his responsibilities to the rakyat in absentia - from the grave so to speak. Why not ? Ini Malaysia boleh ! Semua UMNO boleh buat punya. smilies/grin.gif
written by ymmityas, September 06, 2009 02:20:21
BP is a good chance for rakyat to prove a point in cow-head, TBH, Musa extension & PKFZ. But PR should skip Bagan Pinang to walk the talk when they requested BN to do the same in Manek Urai and P.Pasir. If they skip, utusan will say that PR leaders don't have balls to fight. We can't give that to them. I agree with PR skipping this by-election, but you know how the media will spin this..Somehow, PR should walk the talk. Yeah, it is a dilemma. But I hate the "The end justifies the means" culture. That's what causes BN like this today.

So PR wants to risk being called no-balls, or risk a BN wins for them to spin that rakyat agrees to cow-head protest, Musa extension, TBH's suicide? U choose. If a loss by PR, things r much worse! BP is a double-edge sword, PR and rakyat loses more if they lose this one to BN. A BN lost is nothing, what is 8-1 to 7-1?

Total voters for BP is 14,192. 6000 postal votes. U do the calculation for PR's chances. RPK predicted they can score a 500-1500 majority. If BN makes this on the weekend maybe. On weekdays, with 70% turnout, very hard! PR still doesn't have a mechanism to check on postal votes. BP is not an easy place for PR, regardless of the 19.9% Indians.
written by Fuminari, September 06, 2009 03:35:29
the umno dog in SPR refused to go by the rule n kedah,but god hav acted n chose negri sembilan instead.don't u think so???
written by Raizzen, September 06, 2009 07:52:47
No, please no Malay drunkard for the candidate. Pretty please ?
written by Malaysiaku, September 06, 2009 09:19:26
Can you Pakatan Rakyat leaders please pick your man for the election carefully? One who is in good health and clean. Not any tom, dick and harry who will jump ships for a few bucks or collapse and die at the first opportunity?

All in all, you are still better than the corrupted BN so my vote is for you!

All the best in this by-election! Kick BN's butt PR!
written by jeevy, September 06, 2009 19:14:48
PAS is winning by d same majority RPK has predicted or even lesser...
written by Hockchew, September 06, 2009 19:26:00
A Herculean task for PR but I pray PR win !
NS is the next state to fall under PR and all NS ppl knew its near!
written by jeevy, September 07, 2009 17:03:29
Bagan Pinang by elections is a gone case for UMNO...With d Shah Alam cow head episode fully blown up, PAS is definately winning..UMNO in its desperate attempt to shore up its declining popularity is pandering to d malay right and at d same time antagonising right-thinking malays... This will be to its own detriment...We will know for sure come election night at Bagan Pinang, wont we?......
written by Kcc, September 08, 2009 21:08:43
9 - month of September
9 - this is the 9th by-election
9 - for Negri Sembilan

Nice number. Never happened before, will never happen again. So people, come back and vote for PR... for a big win!! BN doesn't deserve even a chance - not after what they have done (and NOT done).