Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow NGOs still want Hisham to quit over cowhead fiasco

NGOs still want Hisham to quit over cowhead fiasco PDF Print
Friday, 04 September 2009 15:59

WE, the undersigned organisations, condemn Home Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein for defending the cow-head protesters and justifying their incitement of violence and hatred. He should now resign or be sacked as home minister as he cannot commit to law and order.

The most important issue in the cow-head incident is the threat of violence against the Shah Alam Hindu community and the Selangor government. The police must investigate not based on the vaguely defined Sedition Act, but on whether the protesters threatened bloodshed if the temple relocation was carried out. The lame excuse that the cow head was brought by unknown persons is completely irrelevant.

Nobody must be allowed to threaten with violence just because they feel "victimised". Anyone who does so must be punished by law. Otherwise, society would sink into anarchy.

By suggesting that "if it can be resolved quickly and can be done with both sides understanding each other ... why would we want to penalise anybody?", Hishammuddin is actually encouraging the threat of violence as a means to negotiate.

A home minister by portfolio and a lawyer by training, Hishammuddin has brought both his office and profession to unprecedented shame with his disregard for the law. Because he has turned the minister of law and order into the minister against law and order, he must resign or be sacked.

The prime minister must now act boldly to keep his 28 Aug 2009 promise that action will be taken against the perpetrators who incited violence. If the police refuse to investigate them and the deputy public prosecutor refuses to charge them for violence, Malaysians will believe that such threats of violence are condoned by the Datuk Seri Najib Razak administration as a political means.

Hishammuddin's justification of the cow-head protest by painting the perpetrators as victims also legitimises and indirectly encourages communal hatred. This can be explosive if it results in retaliating insults across communities, as all can claim to feeling victimised. By sympathising with the perpetrators, Hishammuddin is also tarnishing Malaysia's image by demonstrating that Malaysian ministers legitimise hatred.

This is most unfortunate when over 70 civil society groups representing different ethno-religious communities and sectors have issued a joint Merdeka message calling all Malaysians to delegitimise violence and hatred.

Civil Right Committee, Kuala Lumpur and Selangor Chinese Assembly Hall
People's Parliament
Civil Society Committee, LLG Cultural Development Centre
Centre for Policy Initiatives
Persatuan Kesedaran Komuniti Selangor (Empower)
The Micah Mandate
Writer Alliance for Media Independence
Civil Society Initiative for Parliamentary Reform
Justice for Beng Hock Facebook Group
Centre for Independent Journalism
Suara Rakyat Malaysia
All Women's Action Society Malaysia (Awam)
Image Group
Hindraf
Council of Malaysian Indian Trustee
Persatuan Kebajikan Wawasan Cahaya Selangor
Persatuan Bharatham Negeri Selangor
Malaysia Youth and Student Democratic Movement (Dema)
Editorial board of Horizon e-journal
Pertubuhan Jamaah Islah Malaysia
Sisters in Islam

Comments (33)Add Comment
written by AuntyG, September 04, 2009 16:07:29
haha, just as i predicted earlier.
chicken's head, pig's head, cow's head .... and now, people want the minister's head !!
agree 196
written by KingSolomon, September 04, 2009 16:10:44
The Rakyat want to hear what Najib has to say about this big-mouth idiot. That will determine the fate of UMNO and BN.
agree 170
written by alpha100, September 04, 2009 16:25:25
Did'nt he cause more ruin to Education Ministry when he was the Minister? Now he will ruin the Home Ministry if he stays on! smilies/angry.gif
written by lamakawan, September 04, 2009 16:25:45
We do not want the cow's head. It is the head of Hishamuddin that matters.
Pakatan leaders must file an emergency motion in next sitting of Parliament and demand the ouster of Hishamuddin, the most irresponsible minister!!!!
Pakatan leaders must be firm and responsible. If no action is taken against Hishamuddin it reflects on the inaction and tame leadership of Pakatan. And we shall see what results come the next GE.
Go on Pakatan. Hidup Malaysia today.
written by pinsysu, September 04, 2009 16:30:39
hisham pls hold hand with mukhriz & resign together! go jaga lembu in the padi field!
written by Oscar Winner, September 04, 2009 16:30:44
We want the head of these cows called KrisMOOdin, MOOhiddin and MOOkris. Pls also add to the list Anak Bangsa Malasia Movement calling this idiot to quit
written by IdealWorld, September 04, 2009 16:30:48
Why should one particular race feel threatened by the religious practice of another race? All religions preach good values and we should encourage people to live by these values. Taunting another group and deliberately using the cow's head to upset them is not only despicable, it also shows one's poor upbringing and racist mentality. I think that poor cow deserved some respect as well. smilies/angry.gif
written by KingSolomon, September 04, 2009 16:31:46
Do you know why Kelantan is a peaceful state? Because the govt under Tok Guru who is a peace-loving man.

Do you know why Selangor is full of strife? You just have to know who the former Mentris Besar are. They are Haarun Idrish of the May 1133 fame, Mohd2Taibi of the royal wife fame, Toyol Tempe of the 24M mansion fame, etc. And shah Alam, being the state capital and the seat of govt, is the centre of sin and hatred sown by these shit-stirrers.
written by johanssm, September 04, 2009 16:33:14
Ministers must be responsible for their deeds and actions.
But not in Malaysia, hisapudding can always blame the press and misquoted him.
They or the KDN are now trying to removes the cow head protest videos.
They are trying to deletes evidences.
This is trying to rewrites history !
As for PIG musa reappointment , it is to safeguard Datuk Nazak and rosmoh.
Altantuya's case is not officially over , TBHock's case, to'check" on Raja Petra , makes sure sadfool's anus is still full with sperminal fluid and to ensure Bala will NOT return.

Dont tell me that among the 100000 polis officers and none are better than a musang.
written by educationist, September 04, 2009 16:38:38
Even as we know, the UMNoputras will never hold themselves accountable for any mistakes, civil society must demand that the Home Minister retract his offensive statements.
We must not let him get away scot-free!
written by malethy, September 04, 2009 16:38:55
Though this may not bring about Kerismuddin's resignation or even put a dent to his political career, i think this show of unity and solidarity between the various NGOs standing up for what is RIGHT and JUST regardless of religios beliefes or ideologies, is truly comforting to me and im sure to many other Malaysians. I am but one person, but together as an organisation the voice of reasoning and tolerance will be heard. Awareness will be created and in time change will start to happen. Thank you for being our voice and bringing our Grievances to the masses
written by lonewolf, September 04, 2009 16:41:29
Kerismuddin has only proven himself as 1SuperClown breaking the records of his predecessor.
written by wongnoball, September 04, 2009 16:51:07
Don't ask him to resign lah, we badly need this type of minister until the next general election,
written by joeawk, September 04, 2009 16:54:01
Please add my name to it. He has to go. The deputy Int'l Tarde minister, on whose head, hair does not even want to grow, also has to go.
written by kampongmali, September 04, 2009 16:55:41
Don't pressure him too muchlah.....I am afraid that he will cry..and hisaputing. smilies/wink.gif
written by budakindia, September 04, 2009 17:08:18
Only in Malaysia where criminals can be ministers! Malaysia truly a home for perverts! smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Counterpointer, September 04, 2009 17:28:16

written by Bigdawg, September 04, 2009 18:10:53
Hisapp's mama must have dropped him in the jamban pit when he was a baby !!
written by SamYap, September 04, 2009 18:41:24
I am not sure if everyone realizes this: The UMNO goons are using the oldest trick which is the game of Good Guy and Bad Guy (aka good cop, bad cop). In the run up and during the Permatang Pasir by-election, Mooyuhidin was the baddie. Now Hisapmuddin is the baddie.

So who is the Good guy? No prizes for the winning guess as it is well known its none other than the bapak of 1Malaysia - Najib Razak.

You would no doubt recall that he had quickly said: "let the police investigate and take the necessary action" before his cousin, Hisapmuddin came out swinging for the Cow Head protesters.

So don't fall for the old trick of good guy bad guy. They are all baddies.
written by SiHangChai, September 04, 2009 19:31:45
I support that this bastard minister has done enough damaged to this nation. He is not fit to be Home Minister. Put him to ministries like Menteri Tanah & Parit, Menteri Perdagangan or Menteri Kesihatan. Najib should be better watch out if he still bias and not thinking action against his cousin. Rakyat will make sure you and Rsomah are HISTORY forever.
written by asguard, September 04, 2009 20:52:49
He has got go.... what is point of having a minister that supports party extremist action first before the interest of the nation at stake?
written by yellowkingdom, September 04, 2009 21:03:46
I support the call for His-Shame-No-Ending to be removed, sacked or fired. His behaviour and character has tarnished the Home Ministry.
written by BennyG, September 04, 2009 21:26:16
Hishamuddin has been consistent in converting a lot of fence sitters to PR. PR supporters should continue to support Hishamuddin in pushing the voters to PR. Even the PR trojan horses in BN could not have done a greater damage than Hishamuddin in BN.

Support him to be Home Minister and even Finance Minister so that he could bring the country down and by GE13 the voters will be too hungry and angry to vote BN.
written by bexe, September 04, 2009 21:54:45
I am encouraged by this movement
I hope the Opposition Parties will back this vociferously. They have been too passive about this.
Someone should collect petitions from the people as well.
Kick out the pariah
written by VVijay, September 04, 2009 22:00:08
His father and grand father were respected, dedicated, wise Malaysians. Hishamuddin is a disgrace!
written by Limang, September 04, 2009 23:48:45
Ah, it wasting time. As the saying goes, birds of one feather flock together.

Najis and Kerismuddin are cousins. All the authorities and Muslims and Melayu (i.e. runaways from Indonesia). As Muslims, they are duty bound to support each other. That is why any Muslim can commit any crime in Malaysia, including rape and murder, against non-muslims and still get away with it scoff free, more so if they are associates of the Muslim leaders or doing their bidding, as long as they shout that it is done for the sake of Islam and UMNO. Believe me, you will hear the common annoucement by the Muslim AG that, as always,there is not enough evidence to charge him or any Muslims who do UMNO's bidding or in the name of Islam.

Case in point: Teoh Beng Hock's case and the cow-head protestors - nothing will come out of it. All will be sweot under the carpet and forgotten in time.

We can bark till the cows come home, I bet with you, Kerismuddin will be regards as a Muslim hero, a martyr, a good Muslim, a Muslim patriot, etc. and will eventually become the PM of Malaysia, if UMNO keeps winning all election. Then all you NGOs, you better prepare to migrate or you will all be ISA-ed!

This is Malaysia in the 21 century - LEARN THE HARD TRUTH!

written by SamYap, September 05, 2009 00:16:50
"written by Limang, September 04, 2009 23:48:45
This is Malaysia in the 21 century - LEARN THE HARD TRUTH!"

May I add, that this is the legacy of Tun Razak and Tun Dr.M.
written by Fart Fart Wah, September 05, 2009 00:18:28
We have cow heds and cows without a thinking hed...and this befits a son who insults his father a former PM.

When you come to defend crooks especially when you are the Home Minister..this can only happen in Melayu Boleh land..

And it is justified using Islam as the batu loncatan...

Oh how Islam is being prostituted as RPK says>>>
written by shamadz72, September 05, 2009 05:57:47
Look into the list of organisation endorsing this statement and you will see Jemaah Islamiah Malaysia (JIM), which Jeff Ooi said an extremist Islamic group. So when are you going to apologize Jeff? Come on. It take a bigger person to admit to the mistake and apologize. Don't be like these UMNO guys!

written by Aduh, September 05, 2009 06:03:05
If one or two parties ask you to quit, you may have reasons to ignore them. But if the number is as high as it is, you have no choice. Dont be thick-skinned. What good is it to cling to the minister post when you dont command any respect. On the contrary, you are always being ridiculed and cursed at.
written by borneoman, September 05, 2009 08:55:42
Aduh, always being ridiculed and cursed at.....umno led bn politicians are all immune to all these,its part of their game..words doesnt frightened them a bit unless,maybe, if they are threatened physically.
written by Sutha, September 06, 2009 01:10:49
If Hi-Shame quits, he will have to join the other PONDANS in KL streets at night to earn a living.
written by CBP, September 07, 2009 20:07:46
zzzzzzz anyway, who is fit to be a minister in BN?

I DUN KNOW ABOUT U GUYZ, though i'm in S'pore now but i try to convince every Malaysian i know not to vote BN in the next G.E . So instead writing here, its better to do something, constructive. Another 3 years to come.

Since when BN minister is willing to quit due to bad performance, or even non performing?