Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Home Minister tells cops to charge cow head protesters

Home Minister tells cops to charge cow head protesters PDF Print
Friday, 04 September 2009 12:44

(The Star) PETALING JAYA: Those responsible for bringing a cow’s head to a protest at the Selangor state secretariat building should be charged in court, said Home Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein.

He has ordered the police to proceed with further investigation and take stern action against those responsible.

“Police have identified the individuals involved,” he said in a statement.

Residents of Section 23 in Shah Alam had staged a protest last Friday against the Pakatan Rakyat-led Selangor government’s decision to relocate a 150-year-old temple from Section 19 to their Malay-majority area.

The protest sparked controversy when some of the participants brought along the cow’s head.

Although the residents were angry with the state government and had no intention of hurting the feelings of any other race, Hishammuddin said such actions could not be tolerated because the cow was considered sacred in certain religions.

“The Home Ministry views seriously all issues that could undermine harmony, unity, as well as national security and stability of this multiracial country,” he said.

In an interview with The Star, Hishammuddin said he never justified the unruly action by the protesters.

Adding that he was prepared to mediate between the disputing parties, Hishammuddin said he had called for consultation, not confrontation, as a solution.

In replying to scathing criticisms by some bloggers, he said certain bloggers had made it seem as if he condoned the act of presenting the cow’s head.

“The residents met me in my office and told me that they were not involved in bringing the cow’s head there, and that certain quarters had exploited the situation. While I listened to their explanation, I told them that whoever did it would have to face action.

“But the bloggers made it seem that I fully supported the residents,’’ he said.

Hishammuddin said that the residents seemed to have some grounds for their displeasure due to the inappropriate alienation of the plot for the temple’s relocation.

“I said the Hindu community wanted a temple and they were not particular about its exact location. It could be built in another section.

“I felt there could be a win-win situation for both sides,” he stressed.

The Malaysian Bar Council, in a statement, expressed disappointment at Federal Government leaders who made irresponsible statements including blaming the Selangor government over the issue.

“The fact that this is a Muslim-majority area is immaterial and should not, in and of itself, be permitted to serve as adequate basis for rejecting the establishment of a place of worship of any faith,” said Bar Council president Ragunath Kesavan.

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak had said police and Attorney-General’s Chambers would decide whether the protesters had violated any laws under the Sedition Act.

The Malaysia Hindu Sangam said it will cooperate with the Federal and Selangor state government to resolve the temple issue.

Its president R.S. Mohan Shan said the issue had been unresolved for 25 years.

“We are confident that the Sultan of Selangor will see that justice is done to all his subjects. As this is a state matter, the Selangor Mentri Besar should meet Hindu Sangam and temple leaders immediately,” he said in a statement.

written by Wudan, September 04, 2009 12:54:32
n an interview with The Star, Hishammuddin said he never justified the unruly action by the protesters.

In replying to scathing criticisms by some bloggers, he said certain bloggers had made it seem as if he condoned the act of presenting the cow’s head.
-----------------------------------------------

Errr.......I think it is Muhkriz who said the Home Minister made the right decision in suggesting the protestors should not be penalised.

written by loosecannon, September 04, 2009 12:54:50
Kerismuddin shot himself in the foot again. Serves him right for trying to be Hang Tuah copycat.
written by hellosunshine, September 04, 2009 12:55:49
Well, at least we know that these idiotic umnoputra ministers are consistent. Consistently making stupid remarks and then flip flopping to cover up their guffaws with another stupid remark. Shows what level of IQ they possess. How low can you go? smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by technoboy, September 04, 2009 12:57:15
1Malaysia BOLEH, so if no charges are brought against the group of racists, I supposed inciting hatred is also part of their birth right like what Kerisham did by kissing the keris with emotional desire to soak it with Chinese blood. UMNO/BN is doomed, it will never win back any hearts of the non-Malays and with Unity Minister like Koh TK, it is an added INSULT how these running dogs can prostitute around for UMNO without any shame.
written by mansel, September 04, 2009 12:59:52
whoa whoa whoa.. wait a min.. how come can change tune all of a sudden ? dont tell me now you realise how stupid you are and were.. you are still not fit to be a home minister, same for the IGP and AG, all of you must go peacefully or we will use people's power in the next GE to oust you... we can be quiet now but when GE comes.. see who will run.. also please bring along the other mamak who doesnt even realise that he is somewhat has indian blood in him.. shame on all of you..

written by DreamLady, September 04, 2009 13:01:10
At long last, the word of appropriate statement from the home minister is forth coming. In the first place, what took him so long to say something that should be appeasing to the ears??? It must be the overwhelming public outcry over the stupid remark he made!!!
written by Spear Bing, September 04, 2009 13:01:43
The main actors in the cow-head protest were seen spitting at the cow head, stepping their legs on the cow-head and were heard uttering highly sensitive remarks like "spilled in blood"

Aren't this actions seditious? Need the A-G or IGP to qualify the interpretation of sedition?

Still assume the man in the street is naive and country pumpkin?
written by Oscar Winner, September 04, 2009 13:06:48
Agree with hellosunshine.

Idiotic ministers who are consistently being inconsistent
written by onnetline, September 04, 2009 13:09:25
Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak had said police and Attorney-General’s Chambers would decide whether the protesters had violated any laws under the Sedition Act.

Surely they have not !

Because they are approved ' ketuanan ' racist and not punishable ......... like your yourself, right ? ? ?
written by astroace, September 04, 2009 13:10:00
Dear Home Minister,

You may be destined to become the Home Minister of Malaysia and it is your duty to do things right for all Malaysians irrespective of race or religion.

What had happened during the demonstrations last Friday is very wrong. If they had demonstrated without the cow's head and calling for bloodshed is still acceptable. But what they had done is very dangerous for the peace and harmony of our country.

"Liao Fan Four Lessons" teach us that if a leader decides not to take any actions against the wrong doer, he is in fact causing more harm than good to his people because they would not learn from that mistake and may cause a bigger problem later on.

Please do the right thing and charge them in court.

Thank you
written by zanie, September 04, 2009 13:10:14
He senses the intense attack, now changes tune! S t u p i d minister!
written by Flex65, September 04, 2009 13:49:00
Sometime I wonder how stupid our leaders are. We have one promoting 1Malaysia and then we have temples cannot be built in muslim majority area. More than 60% of the population are Malays and therefore the country itself is a Muslim majority area. Unless we have racial zoning if not how to have area that are not muslim majority. If we want zoning then forget about 1Malaysia. We cannot support both.
written by tuahjebat, September 04, 2009 14:34:26
I, Hisamuddin due to my stupidity am asking Gani Patail to sentence the cow guilty as charged.
written by adan, September 04, 2009 14:57:09
Welcome HOME MINISTER'S call to charge the protesters.It is the right thing to do. It will be higly interesting to find out whether they are likely to be punished or allowed to get away scot-free in accordance with our ' very own system of rule of law.'
written by mikewang, September 04, 2009 15:08:49
One week has passed.
Still no arrests.

1Malaysia, many liars.
written by tmxolp, September 04, 2009 15:34:08
MP Shah Alam Khalid Samat already identified at least 4 Ketua Cawangan/ Bahagian UMNO involved in this cow head protest .
Now i'd like to c what is the outcome of " investigation" n "appropriate actions" taken on these UMNO party members involved .
written by miwaki, September 04, 2009 15:46:42
Since we are 1Malaysia,Hisap-putin can spin as much as his heart desires.We malaysians know that Hisap-putin is bluffing through his *******.Jangan cakap bohong,nanti dilahir tanpa lidah !
written by Bloodhound, September 04, 2009 17:17:50
"...Mukhriz backs Hishammuddin, says charging protestors will lead to unrest....."

Now, let's see how this stupid Mukhriz spins this flip-flop decision by the brainless Hishamuddin! Most likely, he will be quiet as a church mouse after his big gaff.

As always, empty vessels makes the most noise.
written by NasiKandar, September 04, 2009 18:28:50
One of the most stupid & lowest IQ minister our country have ever have.Make sure this stupid a*se will disappear on the next GE
written by Sabahfan, September 04, 2009 19:54:53
Kerishangpuddding..... says.. charged those who brought along a cows head...

OOOPSS will that also means CHARGE THE GIRL who brought along a guitar to the demo... haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah
written by Ghifarix, September 04, 2009 21:27:51
Why charge them, detain them under the law they prefer "ISA", this is UMNO's law an unjust law it is-for unjust people, UMNO people the Munafiqeen. Banish them to a cow farm let them make their bed on cow dung lest they taste of its sweet milk. Making fitnah bulan RAMADAN
written by ron46, September 04, 2009 23:17:36
How to take action?? The cow is in Shah Alam, it must have committed suicide
written by born2reign, September 05, 2009 11:20:57
Should the Muslims seek the permission of the other faiths before erecting their mosques? Why the double standards?

In fact, all religious buildings should be approved in the development plans together with schools, parks, housing and commercial. Then everyone can decide whether to buy any properties in that area. In addition there should be laws concerning the no. of parking bays and the max. noise pollution levels so that everyone's sensitivities are maintained.

I really wonder if Nabi Mohammad actually called for prayers as loudly as today, and what are the types of speakers or horns he used. In some laws, Islam insist must follow the original text, in others Islam allows "modifications" to the black letter law.