Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Let’s stamp out racism

Let’s stamp out racism PDF Print
Thursday, 03 September 2009 10:51

By Azmi Sharom (The Star)

Not only must we condemn the cow-head protest in Shah Alam last week but we must look into ourselves and make sure we don’t think and speak like racists.

THE cow-head protest in Shah Alam last week left me feeling utterly disgusted. The men who organised and participated in that foul act are nothing but rank racists, and by cloaking their activities in a veil of piousness they show themselves to be even more despicable.

Yes, I was furious, but sadly I was not surprised. How can I be and how can anyone else be? We have allowed racists to have their way for so many years now.

Their appalling words and actions get progressively bolder and it just builds and builds until we have these men feeling they have the right to insult another religion in the most vile and brutal manner.

In the light of how Malay and Islamic supremacist thinking and expression have caught hold in the last few years, this sickening behaviour is simply a natural progression.

It happened because we allowed it to happen. Those bigoted thugs did what they did because we did not stamp down on the racists among us hard.

We allowed racist politicians to spout their garbage about “immigrant races”; we allowed them to tell our brothers and sisters to “go back to where you belong”; we allowed them to wave weapons of war; and we allowed them to ask for the weapons to be bathed in blood.

It’s too late for any politician to condemn something now when all the other acts of bigotry that have been brewing in the past few years were not even protested against because they suited their political needs.

It is too late to be making pleas of unity on National Day when not enough has been done before.

Let’s look at something recent. Two books that attacked the Mentri Besar of Selangor and Opposition Leader Anwar Ibrahim are blatantly racist.

They claim that Selangor is for Malays only. They claim that the Pakatan Rakyat state government threatens Malays because they hire non-Malay staff.

In other words, the government must only hire Malays so that only Malays get benefits from the government. This is racism pure and simple. But because it suits the ruling party, as these books attack Pakatan, nothing is said.

Racism is racism, be it some vile words published in some cheap self-published drivel, or a bleeding cow head stomped and spat upon. Racism is racism and it must be fought.

When it is not fought, when it is not faced down every single time, then those without the courage to fight it are merely accomplices who, through their cowardice or selfishness, support it.

And how should we fight it? The law that should be used is the Penal Code. The Sedition Act is a blunderbuss of a law and could be used against genuine dissent as well. Let us not look to that archaic leaving of the British.

Use the provisions in the Penal Code that make incitement an offence. Charge these people under the Penal Code and lock them away.

But that is for the authorities to do, if they so choose to. We, the people, must look into ourselves and make sure we don’t think and speak like racists. We must be even more careful that we do not infect our children.

We should speak out against racism and we should tell our political leaders that if they do not fight racism then they are supporting racism and we will not support them.

We must make sure that what happened in Shah Alam faces utter and complete public contempt. Only in that way can we ensure it is not repeated.

written by ONGJJJ, September 03, 2009 11:03:53
Finally, a decent article published in the STAR after all these years. I agree with you totally. We must stamp out racism & bigotry. However, we must also extend grace to the culprits for we are better men.
written by gycgocnt, September 03, 2009 11:04:31
It's very simple step to kick out Racism in this country:

a) Kick out UMNO which ideology building on the foundation of Divide and Rules policy.

b) Burn Utusan, Berita Harian paper which pursuit of certain race is superior than certain race.

c) Boycott all BN component parties, which have No Idea of defend minority in this country.
written by chrisyong, September 03, 2009 12:02:14
My sister (Chinese)met with an accident. A young Malay boy knocked into her car at T junction. She took him to doctor and then hospital to make sure he is attended to. She then went to make police report. The first question police officer asked, what race is the injured, she replied Malay and she has sent her to hospital. He then said, you are kind to do that. He then went for buka puasa and asked her to return to police station after that. Knowing that she was already in trauma having met an accident and someone has injured. Haha, let's break racism. We are all nice people and respect each other as human beings........we are not into race except the AUTHORITY AT ANY LEVEL AND DEPARTMENT.
written by onnetline, September 03, 2009 12:10:16
How can these 50 Muslim protesters still carry the ' haram ' racist mentality which is against the teachings of Islam ? ? ? ?

And of course, our racist Home Moron, Kerismuddin says their unIslamic ' mentality ' is not wrong.

UMNNO is pure racist rubbish ! !
written by MSIABOLEH, September 03, 2009 13:02:36
I salute you, Azmi Sharom. You speak with such clarity and straight to the point. I totally agree with you that racism must be fought. Let us fight for a brighter future for Malaysia.
written by asguard, September 03, 2009 13:51:27
Racism can be stopped if UMNO is death as party no longer function as one entity!
written by freerpk, September 03, 2009 14:27:05
Racism can only be erased if everyone has a sense of Justice. Justice is where you fight & correct something that is morally wrong and it does not matter what the race of the fellow who has been wronged is. For example, The people held under ISA has been wronged so one should fight against the ISA, it doesn't matter what race that person is, comprendo??
written by BurnTan, September 03, 2009 14:28:49
The majority racist rakyat support the racist political parties to form a racist government to uphold and promote racism (that way will ensure the supporting racist rakyat will continue give them support and to create more racist supporters).

The only way to end this, is to create more unracist rakyat and this have to be done by competing with the rulling authority who own all kind of mass media and formal education system that trying to create more racist rakyat.
written by pinsysu, September 03, 2009 14:42:38
now this woke me up from my after lunch power nap! one little star providing some guiding light ... i must be dreaming ... dun wake me up as yet.
written by Ocassey, September 03, 2009 15:05:54
If daddy can get away with 513 so the son will and can,too on a bigger scale that will dwarf dad's, what with cousin krissy in total control of the important government machineries.
written by truthbespoken, September 03, 2009 15:38:45
Malaysia need the Anti-Discrimination Act urgently! The day the government-of-the-day enacts the Act will be the day Malaysians begin to believe in the sincerity of the government!
written by Vivarium, September 03, 2009 16:22:40
Never let the group of 50 lesser Muslims' act of bigotry and racism tarnish the image of the larger muslim population in Malaysia. Whoever organised the demonstration is the true enemy of Islam and Malaysian population. Whoever is condoning and justifying the action is the mastermind and thefore our enemy.
All these link to Hishamuddin !!!
written by hellosunshine, September 03, 2009 16:35:08
Unfortunately, we had allowed the umnoputras to play up their racist and religious supremacy crap all these years and it would take one or two generations to eradicate racism in our society but not if the umnoputras continue their racism bringing their children along like in the Shah Alam cow head protest.
written by Taiping60, September 03, 2009 18:11:35
To stop racism, the first step is to ban race base or religion base political parties. So parties like UMNO, MCA, MIC and PAS got to go and replace by multi-racial parties. If you look back, most of the racist issues were initiate by these race base parties.
written by Agahdemo, September 03, 2009 18:35:04
Dear Azmi Sharom, I have been a loyal follower of your publications in STAR...

Thank you for being truthful, speaking from your heart and most of all, you are just and fair in your comments.

I am happy to know that there are people like you in Malaysia. How i wish there are more of you. Thank you once again....God bless you.
written by Jit Dharma, September 03, 2009 21:40:37
Brother Azmi, I have to say that the antics of UMNO/BN
look like the antics of Moe, Larry and Curly of the
beloved Three Stooges.Not as funny but similarly chaotic
and these days they can't seem to get anything right.
written by jaz, September 04, 2009 09:52:38
Not only must we condemn the cow-head protest in Shah Alam last week but we must look into ourselves and make sure we don’t think and speak like racists.

I believe the original quote is somewhere in the lines of:
To fight monsters, we must look into ourselves and make sure we won't turn into monsters...

I think I read it in one of the Lemony Snicket books.
written by hanisma, September 04, 2009 11:38:24
Azmi, just can't believe that Star would publish your article! Just as the Malay saying goes 'Si Luncai (the 50 Umno goons) terjun dengan labu-labunya! Biarkan! Biarkan!