Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Bullshit! What 52nd Anniversary of Malaysia's Merdeka?

Bullshit! What 52nd Anniversary of Malaysia's Merdeka? PDF Print
Tuesday, 01 September 2009 00:08

Today, no cheong hei article. Today, very short. Today, I want to ask just one thing. Yesterday we celebrated Malaysia's 52nd Anniversary of Merdeka? Bullshit! Malaysia was formed only in 1963, not 1957. What 52nd Anniversary? That's what you get when you learn maths in Bahasa Melayu.

Comments (61)Add Comment
written by Fist of Asia, September 01, 2009 00:11:11
16 days to the biggest party in Malaysia, its' birthday!
KL, JB, Ipoh, Penang, Kuching, Labuan everyone from everywhere come lets make that the one that matters.
agree 209
written by JJ Kuyong, September 01, 2009 00:17:35
Yes RPK, its misleading especially to those younger generation. Malaysia was only existed on the 16 September, 2003. Those who participated the 31st August as Malaysia Merdeka are either they are ignorance or stupid or they knew it but celebrated it just to please UMNO/BN. It is impossible to say that all those leaders in BN component parties ignorance as they are fairly to say an educated person, thus, they are under the category of damn stupid leaders .Hello, are you angry, i am only saying the truth ma!
agree 128
written by JJ Kuyong, September 01, 2009 00:18:50
Oops its misquoted...should be 16 Sept 1963!....Sorry.
written by storm62, September 01, 2009 00:18:57
hi hi hi...don't see much flags being raised this year...sorry guys i didn't celebrate at all....Merdeka from who???

people of Malaysia....if Japan can do it, so can we???
agree 281
written by psbc48, September 01, 2009 00:20:04
That's what you get when you learn maths in Bahasa Melayu.

Ha Ha Ha, Pete, now the Pro B. Malayu for maths and science NGOs will wake up from slumber again. Hope they don't take the cue from the Sect23 residents.I bet they will not look for a cow this time. Lol
written by Oscar Winner, September 01, 2009 00:34:45
When you are forced to learn maths in Bahasa Melayu, you are also forced to accept Malaysia's Merdeka on 31st Aug. When the rakyat are forced to learn science in BM, there are some people who will later become "cow-head" protesters
written by Fart Fart Wah, September 01, 2009 01:00:00
2009 minus..subtract..tolak..take away..kurang..1963== 52.
Einstein Maths =relative Maths....Merdeka= 1957.relative to 1963 Malaysia..
..it took relatively six years later to get Malaysia formed...
MALAYSIA BOLEH...We got free from the Brits...we are free to form our own State..
it took 9 months to produce an angsawan...it took almost 20 years to get a Russian into space....relative my dear RPK...relative>>>my dear Watson
written by kksam, September 01, 2009 01:13:15
celebrated BLACK MERDEKA, the only year in my 27 years of life that is so dull and lifeless, almost no flags being raised.
written by arazak, September 01, 2009 01:22:56
What merdeka?

Being constantly threatened with ISA when demanding your rights you call merdeka?
Being helplessly not being able to do anything when the regime and their cronies keep stealing the peoples’ money and plundering the nation’s wealth you call merdeka?
Being guarded by the police who are in turn being managed by thugs and triads you call merdeka? And. . .

Being forced to see Big Fat Mama everyday on prime time news you call merdeka?

Tell me. . .what merdeka?
agree 201
written by Oscar Winner, September 01, 2009 01:35:07
Yes, I didn't celebrate it, eeither. I'm not alone. Many MT readers are not alone either. Nobody called to wish Happy Merdeka Day, no emails/SMSes to wish me Happy Merdeka Day, no one I met since yesterday till the last person I met at 11pm just now wished me Happy Merdeka Day. Of course I didn't bother to call, text, email or open my mouth to wish any soul Happy Merdeka Day, either. Every one at home never mentioned about merdeka. I was lucky, I only saw one passenger car fly the flag. Some told me they didn't see any. Merdeka? Well, it's just another day.......
written by box, September 01, 2009 01:54:00
We should all fly the Malaysian flag on the 16th September instead......
written by Mama Juwie, September 01, 2009 02:14:37
What is the use of reminding us about what UMNO-BN had done to emancipate the people of Tanah Melayu from their colonial master 52 years ago when the same party is now restricting most of the values that should have come with the Independence?

The citizens are not chess pawns; we are living humans. To treat Malaysians like school children is the biggest mistake of UMNO-BN, and the Rakyat now has passed through the archaic mind barrier to think that "Hey, maybe what UMNO-BN is doing right now is not right" and to actually have the guts to vote for a non-BN representative.

BN should move from the same old "Merdeka-therefore-grateful-to-BN" approach and rally on real agendas like eliminating poverty, corruption and improving education.
written by bakas, September 01, 2009 02:45:41
You mean all this while we have been duped by the government? Gasp....!!!! Silly me..
written by Ulan Benson, September 01, 2009 02:50:12
How to celebrate when we think of AltanC4, Kugan, TeohBH, Perak, IGPtriad, MACCmurder, PKFZ, Kangaroo Courts, SODOMEE, MAIKA and the POOR COW that 'committed suicide' in front 50 racists UM-No in Shah Alam??? when we think of all these shits by BNs, how to sleep?

Without BNs, hari-hari pun MERDEKA!
agree 137
written by gwc, September 01, 2009 03:20:02
once maths in BM, later maths in english, then mother tounge, then english, then BM, no no....i thk english...no no no cannot la, use mother tounge, tak boleh la must use BM...ok ok... 2009-1963=52. YEAH, bingo. I got the answer correct. Got an "A" in maths
written by PresleyP, September 01, 2009 03:59:46
Merdeka celebration is just a gesture.

To me, the country probably free from British Empire. But into the hand of the UMNO. We are not free and we are not MERDEKA yet !!!

We probably were free for a few years, then since Mahathir took over and turn this country into a colony of UMNO, we are now colony of UMNO.

Until the day the government really work for us then only we can call MERDEKA; Until the day when there is justice then only we can call MERDEKA;
Until the day when UMNO is destroy then only we can declare MERDEKA.

written by Badaksumbu, September 01, 2009 04:56:11
Can be very iratating, Sabahans & Sarawakians knew it very well-Malaysia wasn't Merdeka in 1957
it's obvious they are people here who can't count a simple arithmatic, shame!
written by Aria, September 01, 2009 05:49:18
Malaysia is one of the most racist countries in the world. Every year that goes by Malaysia is being torn apart further by racism. The main reason for racism in Malaysia is because the government is using race to instil hate and fear in the rakyat in order to stay in power. Twenty years ago when I was much younger, people were not as racist or showed such religious fanaticism as they do now. Not only is Malaysia being ripped off by corruption, it is also being torn apart by racism and religion. The government is the main catalyst form all our problems and our PM the biggest hypocrite goes about saying 1 Malaysia.
written by hanisma, September 01, 2009 06:51:12
Even the strip 'Senyum Kambing' (could it be from one of the MSM?) wasn't sure if Malaysia's Merdeka was already in its 52nd year! A mockery of its own paper and to the BN government!
written by ngiuchap, September 01, 2009 07:50:13
Sabah is the only State that declares 16 September as a public holiday to commemorate Malaysia Day! And to learn what 1Malaysia means, the PM said "come to Sabah!"
written by sorosapril, September 01, 2009 08:59:09
YES, RPK, you are right, Malaysia should celebrate its national day on 16th September NOT 31st August.

for people in Sabah and Sarawak, they are being short changed and have the feeling of being colonised by Peninsular Malaysia.

Sabah and Sarawak should be on equal term with Peninsular Malaysia, so Malaysia is made up of 3 States only NOT the numbers of states as what every one in BN thinks so.
written by JJ Kuyong, September 01, 2009 09:12:11
Agreed, you are definitely right!. Malaya, Sabah and Sarawak are the pillar and foundation of Malaysia, without Sabah and Sarawak NO MALAYSIA!. We in Sabah and Sarawak are being short changed and colonized by Malaya (Semenajung Malaysia). If leaders from Sabah and Sarawak are offended by this statement, then let open-up a public debate...!
written by Tompios, September 01, 2009 09:13:20
You are right RPK!! Thank you for highlighted this matter. Malaysia's birthday is 16 September 1963. Bodoh punya UMNO's Math! Tidak tau sejarah!
written by Wisdom above, September 01, 2009 09:15:54
Thanks for the clarifications ! Malaysia only existed on the 16 September, 1963!
I will only fly my Flag on 16-9-2009 for MALAYSIA DAY ! Yahoo...
written by pinsysu, September 01, 2009 09:17:00
so ytd was the 52nd anniversary of Malaya independent day aka the 1st 1BlackMalaysia Day. come Sept 16, let's all celebrate the 46th anniversary of Malaysia's birthday! pls let's all wear yellow, red & green on Sept 16!
written by Navigator, September 01, 2009 09:24:49
Apart from a few UMNO supporters showing flags on their cars, no one seems interested in celebrating Merdeka. It is a sign of anger and frustration. Only the UMNO publicity drive on NGEO is noticed. A one sided show.
written by best4rakyat, September 01, 2009 09:26:43
why can't change after 52 years....just like one always believe some men or women without wearing helmets still get "no-head crash" and protected in accident!? Do you see the wisdom of that? Very "hard-head" and typical one! smilies/shocked.gif
written by Kuku Burung, September 01, 2009 09:27:46
Maths in Bahasa Melayu: 1957? Atau 1963? Lebih kurang saja; tak jauh sangat.
written by tmf, September 01, 2009 09:34:09
And UMNO Baru exists since 1946.
written by hellosunshine, September 01, 2009 09:44:03
Let's all look forward to our 2nd Merdeka after GE13. I am so looking forward to this day in history when the 2nd colonizer (after the Brits), BeEnd, is dumped by the rakyat and PR goes after the pirates who had looted and plundered the country.
written by sltemp, September 01, 2009 09:45:08
52 years after granted independence, the government is still shouting "Merdeka!" as if it only happened yesterday. Instead of being caught in a time-warp in yesteryears, we should have moved forward and look towards our future.

52 years and Najib is still talking about "repair the bridges and tear down the divisive walls." In fact, bridges were in better shape and few walls if any existed when independence was achieved. It is since independence that the rot started, especially in the recent decade or so.

We have gotten our independence and there is no need to harp on it year after year. UMNO, MCA and MIC in the BN government are just trying to claim glory by portraying themselves as the ones who achieved independence for the country, a lousy show to just to hang on to power.

BN may have achieved much in the past. But what will BN be able to achieve in the future? By harping on Malay superiority, UMNO has created divisiveness and strife among the different races. MCA, MIC and other component parties in BN have not done anything to prevent UMNO. The people has gotten wise to BN's antics and showing them the door out.

Our strength lies in the unity of people from all races. By breaking this unity, Malaysia is doomed to fail. UMNO can hang to power for a while but in the end, even this is lost when Malaysia disintegrate into anarchy and chaos.

Constant reminders of Merdeka and to fly the flag won't make people any more patriotic. Patriotism is a strong emotion that comes from the heart. The government is representative of the country. When many people are unhappy and dissatisfied with the BN government, they are in no mood to celebrate.
written by Davy McChester, September 01, 2009 10:09:27
This is how much respect accorded to the people of Sabah and Sarawak. They are are being taken for granted, sometimes belittled,their heritage of being a true cosmopolitan entities severely dented with the onslaught of UMNOputras dream of complete hegemony.Ask the natives the freedom they had enjoyed before being part of Malaysia and before 1968.The intermingling and intermarriages of the peoples of Sabah and Sarawak were the envy of all West Malaysians until the party across the South China sea called UMNO set permanent foot ,brought along with it ,its disruptive divide and rule policies. They spoiled what would have been the most natural melting pot states of Malaysia,which did not require any social engineering mandates. UMNO simply could not see anything that was working fine and benefiting all irrespective of race or religion. It is time for these two states to boot out instigators who are against the natural process of nation building
written by BennyG, September 01, 2009 10:29:27
Thanks, RPK for highlighting this fact.

Why don't PR call for a celebration for Malaysia on 16 September?

If anyone is to be blamed, the Chief Ministers of Sabah & Sarawak especially the previous ones whom allowed UMNO to continue to declare that Malaysia's formation is on 31st August 1957.
written by Abajawi, September 01, 2009 10:54:34
Not knowing how to count has nothing to do with learning math in Bahasa Melayu. I object to this unfair insinuation. Many leading Malaysian scientists and engineers who are now serving in malaysia went through the BM-medium and did well overseas, although I am not going to name them. Not knowing how old Malaysia is has only to do with political leanings. Najib and his cohorts (mahayuddin, hishamuddin etc. etc.) never studied maths or any subject in BM -- in fact Najib never studied in Malaysia at all. He was one of the elite sons of Malaysia's elite fathers who did *all* his study in England -- land of your mother, RPK. So pls pls do not associate "stupidity" with Bahasa Melayu. Thanks, RPK for allowing this to be posted.
written by lokenpal, September 01, 2009 11:23:33
I think RPK is pissed as he is not in 'merdeka' mood, since he is in hiding. Unfortunately!!

Teaching in BM does not mean we cannot excel in Math and Science. Need solid bilingual teachers!!
written by manila, September 01, 2009 11:33:47
The celebration of August 31st is an agreed arrangement between the founding Leaders of Malaysia. The reason is very simple. Sabah and Sarawak was declare As Independent Country by British Government effective 31st August 1963. This deal was made to ensure 4 Independent Country will form a Federation of Malaysia which consist of Persekutuan Tanah Melayu, Sabah, Sarawak and Singapore. Since all is an Independent Country that is why each Members of the Federation can always get out whenever the term of the federation is not favorable to them.

The threat from Philippines and Indonesia that they want Sarawak and Sabah was engineered by the Persekutuan Tanah Melayu which later call themselves Federal Government to instill fear to Sabahan and Sarawakian that the peace and security only can be sustain if they stay with Malaysia.

Sabah and Sarawak did not gain Independent through Federation of Malaysia but before formation of Federation of Malaysia.

Unfortunately, to ensure the new generation will never find the truth ---- they make the number 52nd and keep telling everyone that Sabah and Sarawak "Merdeka" through Malaysia. Besides that, the short sighted leaders from both "country" was "bought" by federal leaders to cohort with them to amend the Constitution of Malaysia and turn this two "country" status to merely a "States"

What a convenient Lies ..... every parliament members since 1963 to today is guilty for this heinous crime and injustice!

Does PR MP members will strive to reinstates the status of Sabah and Sarawak? .... I dont think so ..... because Peninsular Malaysia could not survive without Sabah and Sarawak.

There will be time when a real people peace revolution will be declare by the people for their right! Then maybe, only then the right will be reinstate back to the right place.
written by Mapel101, September 01, 2009 12:06:40
Dear Pete.

Sabahan people especially the younger generation nowadays are now confused with 31st August as Malaysia's Independence Day.

My thought? WTH? Malaysia was form on the 16th September 1963 which on that exact that is a Public Holiday for the Sabahan as in TYT's Birthday. And that was what? 6 years after Malaya independence from the British Empire.How is that Malaysia are free from the British for 52 years?

I'd say to the Govt. Read back history and do the Maths properly la. Don't just suka hati tukar history. Without Sabah & Sarawak, there is no MALAYSIA! Haiya, Don't confuse the people especially the East Malaysians further.

written by Mapel101, September 01, 2009 12:07:47
Whoops correction, "that" = date smilies/grin.gif
written by Steven Ong, September 01, 2009 13:18:49
What Merdeka? Freed from the British and into the hands of Umno.
From the lion's mouth into the aligator's mouth.

The need is to explain the meaning of independence and freedom, justices and fairness to all Malaysians. To make all understand. No use to explain and explain and explain , but does not understand. Very urgent - PM Najib Tun Razak ,please implement now before its too late.
written by sorosapril, September 01, 2009 13:56:04
Abajawi quoted USA issue and equated this with Malaysia.

sadly I wonder he sees the different between USA and Malaysia or not, USA never change the names since day one as and when others joined them until the last one from Hawaii, while Malaysia is only known as Federation of Malaysia from 16th September 1963, before that what was it called????

so how can you equate the two?
written by DanDan, September 01, 2009 13:57:30
Dear Pete

You are very right to say the word "BULLSHIT!. Malaysia was not formed in 1957, so where got 52 years, so was UMNO that was already dead and gone. There is only a UMNO Baru that's very much junior to DAP or MCA or MIC.
written by DanDan, September 01, 2009 14:10:53
Abajawi, you reasoning is right as far as the America is concerned. Their country United States of America or USA name never change as they kept adding in more states into their country. Ours was not the United States of Malaya but MALAYA, and several years later Malaysia was borned. Of course we can still celebrate Merdeka as Malayans and a Malaysia Day on 16th September. I believe the Sarawakians and Sabahans would love to celebrate on the 16th of September.
written by Running Sardines, September 01, 2009 14:31:59
The reason Malaysia formation on 16 Sept 1963 was not 'recognised' is because Malayan Union was doing Sabah and Sarawak a BIG favour for allowing them to join. That is the same mentality of the BeEnd politicians in West Malaysia even until today towards Sabah and Sarawak. And yet we talked so much about equality, breaking down race barriers and what not. Funny thing is, 1Malaysia has long existed in Sabah and Sarawak and has survived until today. And I guessed Najib coined the phrase 1Malaysia after visiting Sabah and saw a shopping mall named 1Borneo.

written by oneofthesedays, September 01, 2009 14:35:23
As long as UMNO/BN is in power there's no Merdeka, we only get MerDICKa. smilies/angry.gif
written by miwaki, September 01, 2009 15:11:19
Hidup banyak susah,kira-kira pun tak erti tapi boleh jadi menteri dan perdana menteri.Sendiri punya negara pun tak tau bila dia merdeka ?
written by mamak, September 01, 2009 15:56:37
Malaysia-Today on Twitter -> http://twitter.com/m2dayorg
written by KetamPadang, September 01, 2009 17:50:02
Malaya Merdeka 52 Years ? That correct 52 years 'merdeka' from the British Colony, maybe.

Malaysia Merdeka 52 Years ? No, does not make sense because no Unindependent Malaysia before that.

Malayasia = 52 Years (31 August 2009)
Malaysia = 46 Years (16 September 2009)

Government politicians ever since and the Government has been telling everybody that Sabah and Sarawak joined Malaysia. They are telling that Malaya is Malaysia and that Sabah and Sarawak join Malaysia.

Maybe the Government as well celebrate Malaysia Day on 16 September each year and Malaya Independence Day on 31 August.
written by archie, September 01, 2009 21:07:08
@Abajawi

In the case of USA, other new states JOINED an existing federation.

The various states of Malaya, Singapore, Sabah, and Sarawak together FORMED a new federation.

What the fuss about a date? If your birthday is 16th September 1963, would it be okay to say your birthday is 31st August 1957?

written by Sabahfan, September 01, 2009 23:01:49
I RATHER WE DID NOT GAIN INDEPENDENCE FROM THE BRITISH BECAUSE IF WE COMPARED THE BRITISH GOVT WITG UMNO REGIME GOVERNMENT, THEN THE BRITISH IS 100 TIME BETTER

SO WHAT I DEMAND NOW IS A FULL INDEPENDENCE FROM THE UMNO REGIME.. THAT WILL SOLVE THE WORLD'S PROBLEM
written by Sabahfan, September 01, 2009 23:04:18
I WANT MERDEKA FROM THE UMNO MALAYS... OTHERWISE I NEVER FOLLOW ANY MEREDEKA CELEBRATION UNTIL WE ARE FREE TO LIVE, AND NOT ENSLAVED BY THE UMNO REGIME
written by Abajawi, September 01, 2009 23:45:01
We are just celebrating the 52nd anniversary of the "shouts" of merdeka by the Tunku. What's wrong with that? So we changed the name of Malaya to Malaysia by adding "SI" -- why be so picky? We have more important things to worry about. The date is trivial. The christians celebrate Christmas on the supposed birthday of Jesus Christ. Was Jesus born of 25th Dec? There is dispute even here. So what is a date? (BTW, who cares if my comments receive "lowly rated"?)
written by lord, September 02, 2009 09:17:41
yeah if we want to keep harping on this date bullshit I also would like to question the name Malaysia. This country should be called Tanah Melayu like the Germany called their land Deutchland. Tanah Melayu is a malay word. What word is Malaysia? Malay(sia) is English and since we learn Maths in Bahasa Melayu it should be Tanah Melayu, right? prffftt!
written by archie, September 02, 2009 11:01:01
@Abajawi

Jesus was born more than 2,000 years ago. It's impossible to determine precisely the date of his birth.

Malaya achieved independence on 31st August 1957 and Malaysia was formed on 16th September 1963. They are the actual dates.

Do you call a 46-year-old man a 52-year-old man? You said the date is trivial but many people in Sabah and Sarawak think otherwise.

@lord

I think the name of the new nation has been agreed on at the time of negotiation by the then leaders of Malaya, Singapore, North Borneo (Sabah) and Sarawak.
written by anon, September 03, 2009 00:04:51
What 52nd Anniversary? That's what you get when you learn maths in Bahasa Melayu.
======================================================= ==========================

LOL That is a good one Pete. How true.
written by jaz, September 03, 2009 15:44:22
I would have counted it out for you, but I've only 10 fingers and 10 toes.