Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow Voters Drawing the Line

Voters Drawing the Line PDF Print
Monday, 31 August 2009 12:17

The surprise was not that Rohaizat Othman successfully hoodwinked UMNO leaders to secure the nomination rather how easily those senior leaders were taken in by this shyster. Now that their candidate has been thrashed, those UMNO leaders were belatedly bemoaning the fact that their chosen man had been less than truthful to them. That is the quality of UMNO top leadership, folks!

M. Bakri Musa

In the heyday of UMNO the joke was that the party could field a dog as an election candidate and it would still win. The party leaders must still harbor that delusion for in the recent Permatang Pasir state by-election they fielded a disbarred lawyer. This time however, voters wisely drew the line at the dog.

The surprise was not that Rohaizat Othman successfully hoodwinked UMNO leaders to secure the nomination rather how easily those senior leaders were taken in by this shyster. Now that their candidate has been thrashed, those UMNO leaders were belatedly bemoaning the fact that their chosen man had been less than truthful to them. That is the quality of UMNO top leadership, folks!

Even after the sordid details of the man’s sleazy professional past and checkered personal life had surfaced, UMNO leaders still vigorously defended their choice. They had the nerve to suggest that those critics were trying to smear the UMNO candidate. Those UMNO leaders obviously did not realize that their man was already soiled.

Reflection on Muhyyuddin

Consider UMNO Deputy President Muhyyuddin Yassin’s comments. He went to great lengths defending the integrity of his party’s standard bearer. He likened the Bar Council’s sanctions as nothing more than a traffic violation! I recognize that traffic in Malaysia is terrible, but really! I wonder what it would take to be branded a crook and thus be disqualified by Muhyyuddin’s reckoning. I am making a huge assumption here, that is, the man has some standards.

A commentator in the mainstream media reported that Muhyyuddin was apparently livid on hearing the details of Rohaizat. Only his severe poker face belied his anger, so she claimed. If Muhyyuddin was truly angry he sure did not reveal it in his actions; he was ‘gung ho’ right to the end. That commentary revealed more about the writer – ‘sucking up’ to Muhyyuddin so early on. She should try a better excuse next time.

It is a recent tradition with UMNO that its deputy leader be in charge of by-elections. This Permatang Pasir election was the first to be under the direct leadership of Muhyyuddin. Hence his comments and actions bear scrutiny.

Muhyyuddin’s decision to continue with Rohaizat’s candidacy despite all the revealed blemishes says volumes on the judgment as well as ethical standards of Muhyyuddin. Not to scare readers, this character is also Deputy Prime Minister, and going by our recent history, he could very well be Prime Minister one day.

If a two-bit disbarred country lawyer could easily dupe Muhyyuddin, imagine him as Prime Minister negotiating with his counterpart across the causeway on selling our precious fresh water, or his participating in crucial international treaty conferences! That is a scary thought.

The brief Permatang Pasir election campaign revealed more than we ever wished to know about this crooked lawyer and his equally slimy personal life. While Rohaizat was disbarred by the Bar Council, he could still practice in the Sharia court. This is the same court that recently sentenced a young mother to be whipped for drinking beer. That should tell us something of the ‘Islamic’ (at least the Malaysian variety) standard of ethics.

To me, the Permatang Pasir campaign revealed more about UMNO, specifically its culture and top leaders. What has been revealed should scare all Malaysians who are concerned with our nation’s future.

Muhyyuddin’s ethical blind spot was disturbing enough. More reprehensible was his performance during the campaign. He fell into the predictable pattern of past ambitious UMNO leaders-in-waiting. There he was, freely and irresponsibly playing up the race card, eerily reminding me of Najib’s and Hishammuddin’s brandishing of their kerises. Aspiring UMNO leaders like Muhyyuddin have this primitive urge to display their chauvinistic manhood during tough election campaigns. That is their culture.

Unfortunately, as the party still garnered over a third of the votes (presumably Malay votes), UMNO leaders will continue with their bigotry. Now they are blaming non-Malay (specifically Chinese) voters for abandoning Barisan.

UMNO of The Future

To be sure there were a few – very few, in fact only two – UMNO leaders who spoke out against Rohaizat, and did so early. Mahathir wondered out loud whether a liar could be a people’s representative. Tengku Razaleigh was much more forceful, “… UMNO is projecting the image that it lives by a different moral code from the rest of Malaysia.”

Either that, or this is the best we can do,” he continued. Indeed!

Alas, both Mahathir and the Tengku represent UMNO’s past. To gauge UMNO’s future, look at the leaders of its Youth and Puteri wings. They not only endorsed Rohaizat but aggressively campaigned for him. I would like to ask UMNO Youth leader Khairy Jamaluddin specifically whether he feels that a disbarred lawyer and a man who lied about his wife is a worthy representative of UMNO.

The situation with UMNO Puteri is even more interesting. I wonder how those pretty young girls in their distinctive pink baju kurong feel about campaigning for a man who took a second wife secretly, and then lied about it publicly. The Puteris’ stand-by-your-man stance may be praiseworthy in other circumstances but not when your man is a cheat and a crook. Instead of campaigning for him, Puteri members should be contacting the second wife to see whether her man had been providing for her.

The Permatang Pasir by-election could have been a splendid opportunity for UMNO to shine if only their leaders had been smarter and pursued a radically different tack. Imagine if upon knowing the sordid details of Rohaizat, UMNO leaders publicly admitted their mistake and demanded their candidate withdraw on pain of being expelled from the party.

Yes that would give PAS a walk-over, but that would not have changed the end results. Besides, UMNO had done this a few months earlier in the Penanti by-election. Think however, the message the party and its senior leaders would have sent to their members and Malaysians generally, and the impact that would have on all. UMNO would have won a great moral victory. As it is, UMNO lost the election as well as the moral high ground. The party had set a new low on what is acceptable.

Judging from the post-election comments by UMNO leaders, from Najib Razak and Muhyyuddin on down, UMNO has yet to learn this pertinent lesson from this latest debacle. The party still harbors the delusion that even its flawed candidates could still win.

The next time around expect UMNO to reach even lower to a new bottom in their search for talent. I must admit it would be difficult to find someone more unworthy than a disbarred lawyer. Trust me however, UMNO will find one.

written by wongnoball, August 31, 2009 12:40:02
Surat Layng is saying now Najis-Rosmah-Hisapmuddin Blames Kentut-din ala (winds of change) & Jamban Hamidi & Khairy for Loss. The top Racist UMNO kejam guys in line wants to maintain their distance from their MALU showing. How else can Najis avoid being the shortest serving PM in history other than UNDERMINING those who may replace him within UMNO??....Time to see them Racist UMNO Murderers fight each other to DEATH....

Thank yo for the Black Merdeka.....My BLACK rubbish bag was flying high!!
agree 108
written by hellosunshine, August 31, 2009 12:47:59
'UMNO leaders publicly admitted their mistake and demanded their candidate withdraw on pain of being expelled from the party'
Aiyo MBM, why take the trouble to teach them the art of war? Let them keep on arrogantly shooting themselves in the foot and putting the bloody foot in their big fat mouths lah.
written by JJ Kuyong, August 31, 2009 12:57:17
Its a bleak future for UMNO and BN. After witnessing UMNO/BN thrashing in all the by-election (except Batang Ai in Sarawak), mood of changes are sweeping in Sabah that UMNO/BN is irrelevant and we want change. We only can achieve change by replacing the current Government.The current Government is insensitive to the feeling of the non-malay and non-Muslim, and also the feeling of we in Sabah, the PTI remain unresolved despite many promises. The various Sabah Based Parties i.e. PBS, UPKO, LDP miserably failed us Sabahan. You just go to Kg.Air, Sinsuran, Segama in Kota Kinabalu, you can see by yourself how the PTI move freely, and if you go further out of Kota Kinabalu, you will see the PTI colonies!
written by jayenjr, August 31, 2009 12:59:06
"That commentary revealed more about the writer – ‘sucking up’ to Muhyyuddin so early on. She should try a better excuse next time."
-------------------------------------------------------------------

Why am I not surprised? Most MSM reporters are moulded like that. Apa mau buat le.....cari makan...

P/S - BTW - was that MSM reporter someone by the name of Joceline Teh? Why not - look at the way she & Wong Chun Wai still continues to suck up to their political masters.
written by uxzee, August 31, 2009 13:11:49
UMNO has a big pool of negative talents among its members and also a strong pool of idiotic talents among its leadership. Can you imagine getting Muhyiddin, Hishamudin, KJ etc to campaign for a by-election - this itself will drive the voters away. Will UMNO dare allow Najib to campaign - I guess they are scared of the ghost of Altantuya. So what choice is there ?
written by Vengai, August 31, 2009 14:46:08
Yes,
That is what My CM who is known as Crab in our state use to say. According to a DAP rep who is three time as state Asseblymen., a few years ago that Ketam CM told the State Assembly that the UBN will win any election just like that. He also said that even a cocunut contest using UBN symbol against opposition, the cocunut will win the seat.So ego and sarcastic he was then.

But now Ketam CM said during recent state assembly meeting that the UBN state Reps have to be very careful otherwise will lose the seat to opposition any time because the voters now are smart.Trend of voting in this country has changed.

Further more the Ketam CM is kecut already because he was found guilty by the party he represent for money politics. But what a shame a corrupted leaders is still appointed as CM.
written by cheemengwong, August 31, 2009 15:37:05
The past comprises of Mahathir, Razaleigh etc will tell us about what happens in UMNO and they will tell the truth!

The present leadership are in denial and will live a life of a lie!

The future comprise of people who want to believe all is well and good but they will never check the fact or the truth for it is too painful. If the truth comes out, they would be devastated and what would the future hold?
written by Davy McChester, August 31, 2009 16:12:55
There is no doubt PKR did indeed win the last general election considering the disadvantage and bias MSM and many dishonesty in postal votes.UMNO is in its death throes and hastening its demise by not being able to identify what is right and wrong.This condition is common and happens whenever a long ruling party turns around telling its people that they should be grateful to them ,rather than thanking the people for keeping them in office.One can see the arrogance displayed by UMNO and its lap dog coalition parties.
written by StevenMax, August 31, 2009 16:17:59
I can't help but have to say this repeatedly. "The whole fish is rotten when the fish head is "rotten". Who is being hoodwinked??? YAB Najib, you make wonderful speeches BUT your actions DOES NOT MATCH your words. You claim "1Malaysia" but your agents/goons the DPM, Rais Yatim, Utusan Malaysia, UMNO ministers are doing things that BLATANTLY CONTRADICT your words. Do they dare to do all these without yopur approval? We are adults and not some 3 year old kid. Even a 3 year old kid would hold the promises of their parents against their parents. Unless and until the day you arrest all these agents/goons of yours, we the voters will never vote for you or BN. Don't insult our intelligence.
written by Taiping60, August 31, 2009 17:09:40
The problem with the politic practise by BN component parties, when their top leader endorse something, everyone support it eventhough it was wrong.

I wonder how such parties will progress. So how does it reflects on the rest of the leaders? Obviously negative. It is like everyone else "tidak ada otak".
written by educationist, August 31, 2009 17:30:56
Excuse me, please, the UMNOputras have no morals to talk of!
the DPM is unfit to hold that high post, he's a racist!
written by jason, August 31, 2009 17:44:31
"The next time around expect UMNO to reach even lower to a new bottom in their search for talent. I must admit it would be difficult to find someone more unworthy than a disbarred lawyer. Trust me however, UMNO will find one."

Yep, the next time they will field THE sodomee extraordinaire!!!. smilies/grin.gif
written by asguard, August 31, 2009 19:40:05
As everyone knows... that UMNO is party of thieves and crook they would mot hesitate to put another crooks whom they are comfortable with..!
written by budakindia, August 31, 2009 22:31:38
Next GE, we shall draw a bigger line! smilies/grin.gif
written by verifunny, September 01, 2009 00:33:21
I would love to see people continue to vote down Umnono/The-End.

Just hope that what had happened in Japan will be a reality in Malaysia soon.

New Slogan - "Change for the sake of changing" / "Give others a chance to manage the country"

written by mikewang, September 01, 2009 06:48:52
Muhyyuddin Yassin will not be the next PM.
The RAHMAN prophesy ends with an N, viz. Najib.
written by rpremkumar2u, September 01, 2009 17:06:03
Interestingly correct to the core RPK. This was a close call for MurmurDin. Take away his money in his hold you are then left with a scheming and conniving rat.
written by BurnTan, September 01, 2009 17:39:30
Really can't blame them much..... quality candidate won't join UMNO in the first place, so where to search for worthy candidate?
written by Aria, September 01, 2009 17:54:32
UMNO fielded a scum bag and still managed to get so many votes. This is because the media such as the TV and radio are all the time talking about how wonderful our government is. All lies off cause, but not everyone is knowledgeable enough to pick up the lies. Therefore, there will be a large percentage of voters that will be brain washed. Pakatan better set up a radio station in Thailand and broad cast into Malaysia if they want more votes.
written by freerpk, September 02, 2009 13:52:02
Yes, Bee End better learn from their Japanese counterpart in their recent election... how a party that has been going on strong for eons can come to its heels one day.
written by Ben, September 02, 2009 16:05:03
While others are trying to achieve greater heights of success for the glory of their nation, Malaysia is scraping a bigger bottom to find more disbarred lawyers and its ilk. Please repent.
written by iMac, September 02, 2009 21:40:09
Just observe the people around Muhyuddin, his inner circle...... do a check on those guys and see what they really are.. I shudder if he becomes the PM.