Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Selangor govt 'failed to talk to the people'

Selangor govt 'failed to talk to the people' PDF Print
Monday, 31 August 2009 10:47

(NST) PUTRAJAYA: The demonstration against the construction of a Hindu temple in Shah Alam, which has threatened to drive a wedge between the Muslim and Hindu communities, could have been averted if only the Selangor government had engaged the people in its agenda.

Saddened that the issue had escalated following the protesters' use of a cow head, Barisan Nasional leaders felt that the state should not be bulldozing through its plan.

Rather, it should conduct dialogues with the rakyat, especially when it concerned sensitive matters.

Selangor Federal Action Committee chairman Datuk Noh Omar said he recently had a session with the disgruntled Muslim community who had objected to the proposed relocation of Sri Mahamariamman Temple in Section 19 to their predominantly Muslim neighbourhood.

Noh, who is also Selangor Umno deputy chief, said he had urged the group to take up their case using legal channels, after they expressed their disappointment that neither the state government nor their elected representatives had bothered to hear them out.

"When I met them, things were still under control, although they were riled up and angry.

"They were just hoping that somebody in authority would take time to discuss the matter with them and not sideline them altogether.

"These people respect the principles of religious freedom and are not against the construction of any temple, they just felt that the location was unsuitable," he said, adding that the group submitted a memorandum signed by 400 people to appeal their case to the prime minister (Datuk Seri Najib Razak) through him during the meeting.

People's Progressive Party president Datuk M. Kayveas said the Selangor government must take full responsibility for the incident, which he said deeply hurt Hindus in the country.

He said as the state's administrators, the onus was on them to prevent such a huge threat to unity when protesters were driven to use the head of a cow, an animal sacred to the Hindus.

"Now you have allowed this to happen, what would the different races do in future when they object to the construction of other houses of worship?

"Even if they say they didn't mean to disrespect Hindus and merely wanted to imply that the attitude of the state government was akin to an animal, using the sacred cow is not tolerable," Kayveas said.

Wanita MCA chief Datin Paduka Chew Mei Fun said the state government should have intervened fast to prevent the issue from escalating.

"If they had taken the right approaches like sitting down to iron out the problems, this could have been avoided.

"Everybody can express their views but they need to respect each other.

"There are bound to be disagreements and disapproval in a multi-racial country like ours but it all boils down to how well you manage a crisis to avert massive repercussions," she said.

Sementa assemblyman Datuk Abdul Rahman Palil said the issue arose due to the failure of the state government in getting the opinions of the residents.

"What happened now is that the state government made a decision without discussing the matter first with the residents from various aspects, in terms of safety and the community's needs and preferences.

"We respect other religions but religious sensitivities must be taken into account," he said, adding that the Special Committee for Places of Worship other than Islam in Selangor should not be chaired by politicians to prevent biased decisions from being made.

written by msiaman, August 31, 2009 10:54:20
After fanning racial issue to the manifestation of the incident, now everyone come out to talk about Selangor Government to take the blame? Blame the police for inaction. When candlelight vigil and peaceful walks, Police can come out to bloody people who are no threat to anyone. Now the bunch of village idiots threatening violence but police unable to act!

Don;t think the rakyat are all fools!
agree 147
written by Ulan Benson, August 31, 2009 11:00:26
After reading what all these BNs idiots have said, I will work very very hard and convince all Malaysian that I know...VOTE BNs out!.

Kayeas-the Pariah, MCA Chew-the bitch and all the UM-NO warlords are thinking that the State Government is responsible for this cow head incident?

You vote MCA then you have voted UM-NO.
written by Proarte, August 31, 2009 11:03:36
What are the reasons for the objection of having a Hindu temple in a Muslim majority area?

There are numerous mosques in non-Muslim majority areas throughout Malaysia and there is no problem. Non-Muslims tolerate the azan prayers through loudspeakers even in the early hours of the morning and do not reagrd it as a 'desecration'.

Muslims insult and desecrate Islam when they behave like the intolerant Shah Alam Malays. 'Ketuanan Islam' and 'Ketuanan Melayu' tak boleh dipakai lagi. When will Malays learn that it is an Evil?

1Malaysia kan?
written by Sudahlah tu, August 31, 2009 11:04:43
binatang dosa kat Summit inilah yang mengapi-apikan kes tersebut. rakyat harus kenal binatang ini dan tabiatnya selama ini yang kuat berasuah dan berkandang dengan maksiat haram ....
Kerajaan PR Selangor diberi cabaran dan hasutan oleh kezaliman umno, tamak bn serta semua anjing jalanan umno di badan berkanun yang bertualiah yang sepatutnya berkhidmat dengan Kerajaan PR demi perpaduan dan kemajuan negeri Selangor.
Tetapi , haruslah rakyat tahu terlebih dahulu yang anjing jalanan umno ini adalah satu skandal umno dalam memberi kedudukan kepada ahlinya yang rela menjadi anjing jalanan umno sahaja. Ini bermakna , semua ketua anjing jalanan umno dalam semua sistem pentadbiran kerajaan Selangor adalah sebenarnya diberi 'laluan khas' untuk berduduk di kerusi tinggi.mereka ini sebenarnya tidak layak menjadi ketua.
Skandal besar ini di restui oleh golongan elit yang tamak dan malas ...
Walauapapun yang kezaliman umno dan tamak golongan elit hendak melakukan terhadap kerajaan PR ,rakyat akan tetap bersatu dan mengenali apa itu kebebasan serta kemartabatan maruah bangsa.
sikap bodoh golongan elit yang tamak akan berakhir juga bersama sumpah rahman ..
rakyat cuma tunggu Suruhan Allah untuk menghukum semua binatang yang bersyaitan.
written by Sudahlah tu, August 31, 2009 11:05:58
tauke steven corner , jangan tipu lagi ...
rasuah serta semua kekayaan haram awak akan Tuhan awak hapuskan ..
written by borneoman, August 31, 2009 11:07:02
NST) PUTRAJAYA:
part of it is your fault because you have misguided your readers for 52 years just because your owner,umno told you to do so.say what ever you like because we are not that stupid.
People's Progressive Party president Datuk M. Kayveas ,
as for you moron ,nobody need advises from ball polisher like yourself.
Wanita MCA chief Datin Paduka Chew Mei Fun,
you seem to enjoy being sodomized by your umno masters when you could hardly polish their balls.
dont blameme for my comments because it is something learned from your prestigious moron newspaper NST!
written by Sudahlah tu, August 31, 2009 11:07:24
kakak chew , dosa awak sudah cukup mengkhianati bangsa sendiri ..
tengok cermin dahulu sebelum cakap ...
semasa awak berasuah . tidakkah teringat perpaduan rakyat Malaysia ??
written by Urangsabah, August 31, 2009 11:18:10
NST again good article.....Utusan/NST/UMNO.....you should now begin you campaign to start more Kampong Baru...Segregate all the races, business, School.....based on Selangor Federal Action Committee chairman Datuk Noh Omar who is also Selangor Umno deputy chief, not sure if he talk to KJ.....

After all that is wht he wants....PM your speech remain that a speech- because it clear Selangor Federal Action Committee chairman Datuk Noh Omar who is also Selangor Umno deputy chief do not understand the meaning at all..
written by Richfyf, August 31, 2009 11:19:03
Selangor govt 'failed to talk to the people'.
Hidraf would not have demonstrated if the Govt delivered.
TBH would not have died if the Govt delivered.
PKZ would not have happen if the Govt delivered.
ISA Demo would not happen if the Govt delivered.
University graduates would be able to speak english if the Govt delivered.
NEP 30% bumi stakes would have been achieved if the Govt delivered.
UMNO would not have lost so many times in by ellection if if the Govt delivered.
So compared to what the Selangor fail to do... which is fail to talk is just like emmmm in the words of DPM a parking offence.
While UMNO have failed not only to deliver but have even failed to be HONEST to the people!!!
written by seethinkact, August 31, 2009 11:26:45
The Minister in question seems to be very good at playing these dangerous games. They say "baling batu, sembunyi tangan". Congratulations to you Sir for stirring up sentiments. Did you speak to the whole community including Hindus or heard views from just one side? Its easy to stir up sentiments but try putting it out yourself after this Sir!
written by ellyna, August 31, 2009 11:30:27
Sandiwara by UMNO to create create animosity between the Hindus and Muslims. I'll bet Khir toyol is behind this. We the rakyat, are crystal clear on the current going ons. We will not be confused by your attempts. Our objective: VOTE BN OUT!!!
written by Liberian, August 31, 2009 11:33:56
What to talk? It was not the residents who protested but outsiders confirm by bias PDRM of the BN Government. The whole sendiwara was directed by Khir Toyo and UMNO youth.
written by cocomomo, August 31, 2009 11:36:45
if the PM does NOT act immediately against elements whether within or outside BN that ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR creating racial and religious issues to divide the rakyat, the bn should expect to be reduced to a tiny minority party in the next GE.
written by Jan, August 31, 2009 11:41:25
Muslims can build beautiful mosques practically anywhere using taxpayers' money no non muslims ever complained. But when Hindus want to build a small Hindu temple using their own money and at a site chosen not by them but the state govt some of these muslims protested and even dragged a sacred cow's head as if to add salt to their wounds. I thought all Muslims are fair, compassionate and that the federal constitution allowed its citizens to practise any religion they liked. Apparently this is not so, majority rules it seem and the minorities feel bullied, threatened and have their rights taken away. And if we don't like it here we can get out of their country after all we are just pendatangs they said.
While all these things are happening right under their noses these leaders have the temerity to talk about mutual understanding, racial unity and other crap. You almost never believe the govt is still wondering why non malays are no longer voting for them.
written by Urangsabah, August 31, 2009 11:43:38
Datuk M. Kayveas & Wanita MCA chief Datin Paduka Chew Mei Fun, it ok for UMNO to pull you nose just like the kaaarabu? These 2 UMNOed leaders seem to agree that its ok for the Kaarabau Head incidence...If it MCA & PPP, no issue cause they just demolish the temple & end of story..
written by Jan, August 31, 2009 11:59:49
General Elections 2004 marks a watershed year. That's when BN won a HUGE mandate to rule the country. The win is so big it got into their heads and they started to act with impunity waving kerises threateningly and telling minorities they can get out and they don't need their votes etc etc. That kind of behavior degenerated to what it is today, the Cow Head Hindu Temple Protest. This incident is potentially explosive and it seems the police is not doing anything about it but saw fit to bring their full force against candle-light vigilers.
These people still have not learned even after 308 and even after 7 by-election defeats. BeeNd in particular AMNO is fast becoming irrelevant with their kind of thuggish behavior. I just cannot understand parties like MCA or MIC and Gerakan can still go on supporting such a racist big brother and adopting such thuggish policies.
written by wood, August 31, 2009 12:00:57
When things go wrong, then start blaming others!!!! smilies/grin.gif
What rubbish is this? It takes courage to accept responsibility for what one does ! So please stop the blame game ! Go look at oneself and learn to be tolerant !

No Man is an Island !
written by Jit Dharma, August 31, 2009 12:01:38
Kayveas is a political prostitute. Chew May Fun, go suck UMNO's nuts. These strange comments coming after this most provocative and racist action are like fingers pointing straight at the scoundrels behind this protest. The BN/UMNO is definitely behind this.Hishamuddin and Musa have warned everyone under the sun except behind this despicable and barbarous act.Their silence is deafening and I'll bet this is really about the BN loss in Penang and the Rakyats continued rejection of their racist antics. We will not be fooled. EVERYONE is blaming BN/UMNO. So you fool no one. One Malaysia? Who do they think they are kidding.
written by Jan, August 31, 2009 12:09:28
There must be something wrong with this Kayveas. He and his party were told to shaft it and their support is not needed by a particular AMNO leader yet he still stick around saying less than clever things trying to justify the action of bigots stepping over a sacred cow head and his religion.
written by zanie, August 31, 2009 12:21:40
Know why they want Selangor desperately? UMNO and the gangs has run out of cash! Selangor, Penang and Perak have been their cash flow for years..now they're cutting off from their steady millions! Without the money UMNO and BN won't survive because their very existence until today depends on cash flow from corruptions practice. Pakatan Rakyat has deny them their privileges..it's like letting the toyol without blood supply for a year! They are terribly hungry and extremely desperate!
written by Umm Adzka, August 31, 2009 13:04:39
Ntah, teruk betul le BR ni.. kena le consult rakyat macam YB Khir Toyo.. see how huge his mansion is? itu le pertanda pemimpin yg rajin berdialogue dengan rakyat smilies/smiley.gif
(rakyat senang hati, bagi je dia karuk harta rakyat sebanyak mana boleh)
written by mirrorman, August 31, 2009 14:58:10
When the Nazis came for the communists,
I remained silent;
I was not a communist.

When they locked up the social democrats,
I remained silent;
I was not a social democrat.

When they came for the trade unionists,
I did not speak out;
I was not a trade unionist.

When they came for the Jews,
I remained silent;
I wasn't a Jew.

When they came for me,
there was no one left to speak out.

So are we going to walk the talk, or wait till there's no one to speak out. Forget about BN, and for fried meehoon, you are nothing, nothing you said meant anything to us, BN can eat their own shit.
written by onnetline, August 31, 2009 15:03:13
UMNO and the 50 racist lembus must be held responsible for this racial outrage !
written by wahyu9, August 31, 2009 15:30:37
Shoo! Go away. Nothing to see.

Have been telling all the kelings and china-kui not to vote for these BN guys and did they listen?
"We must be grateful for they gave us visa to visit China"
"We must be grateful for they gave us permission to build temples"

Can I forget the sms I got even last election? "For the sake of our children and to have Indian representation, vote BN"

Mistakes must be paid for. Often with great sufferings, humiliation and even blood.

Pay now my keling brothers. Pay now, you kelings, apeks, pendatangs, kaffirs, kaffir-harbis, dimmis. Pay.
----

Sorry. Can't vent out my anger any other way.
written by hellosunshine, August 31, 2009 16:01:53
After reading all the umno, ppp and mca idiots putting the blame solely on the PR Selangor gomen and without even chastising or condemning the 50 extremists carrying the sacred cow's head and uttering seditious words pf bloodshed, I am totally convinced all these animals are all working together to stir up racial and religious animosity amongst the rakyat.
written by Dr.bern, August 31, 2009 16:05:32
BN you have already had chance to solve the problem years ago.What have you done? Please don't interfere if the Selangor state gov't want to solve the problem once for all.The more BN leaders talk, the more stupid and ridiculous words coming out.This really insulted our knowledge.Thank you YB Khalid Samad for your prompt explanation.
written by mikewang, August 31, 2009 16:27:46
72 hours already passed.
Still not charging those hooligans for sedition?

written by Fuminari, August 31, 2009 20:59:39
that moronic organiser claimed that he did not know who brought the cow head,can u believe it ??these pieces of sh.it are so ignorant still living in halucination that the people are blind n stupid.
itu semua kaki umno daripada puak nor omar samseng dan pencuri indon k.toyol lah!!obvious.
written by budakindia, August 31, 2009 22:58:45
You think you can getaway with the cowhead? smilies/angry.gif