Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Residents deny cow head role

Residents deny cow head role PDF Print
Sunday, 30 August 2009 10:55

(NST) SHAH ALAM: The Section 23 Residents' Association Action Committee is not involved in the cow head incident, said its chairman Ahmad Mahyuddin Abdul Manaf.

He denied claims that the committee placed the head of a cow outside the state secretariat building here in protest against the relocation of a temple.

"Many people thought the committee was responsible but I do not know who the perpetrators are. I am shocked over what happened.

"The cow's head could have been placed there by a resident who was upset with the way the state government was handling the temple relocation matter."

He acknowledged that the two men shown carrying the cow's head in a picture published in a news web portal were Section 23 residents but said it was taken when they were removing the head, as instructed by the police.

Ahmad Mahyuddin said the committee's mission was to convey the residents' dissatisfaction, not to stir up racial sentiments.

"I am disappointed as this incident has tarnished the image of the committee."

On Friday, a group of 50 people protested against the relocation of the Sri Maha Mariamman temple in Section 19 to Section 23.

The demonstrators had marched from a nearby mosque after Friday prayers and placed the head of a cow, a sacred animal to Hindus, outside the state secretariat building here.

In Kuala Lumpur, Information, Communications and Culture Minister Datuk Seri Dr Rais Yatim said he regretted the action of the demonstrators.

"They should have known better than to resort to such action. We must respect the cultures and religions of other communities."

Deputy International Trade and Industry Minister Datuk Mukhriz Mahathir said such "extreme actions" could cause unease among the people.

"I hope everyone will remain calm and not do anything that can upset racial harmony in Malaysia," he said after handing over Hari Raya Aidilfitri aid to some 50 orphans and needy students in Kampung Keriang Menya-bung here.

Umno Youth chief Khairy Jamaluddin said the demonstrators had committed a disrespectful act.

"This is not acceptable in Islam, a religion that upholds moderation and respect for other's beliefs," he wrote in his blog yesterday.

"Those who organised and were involved in the demonstration should consider how they would feel if a proposal to build a mosque in a non-Malay area led to non-Malays burning the Al-Quran.

"Would the Malays not rise in anger? If the answer is yes, then isn't the parading of a severed head of a cow just as insulting?"

Home Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein said he regretted the incident.

"What happened was insensitive and I hope that it will not adversely affect the country's racial harmony."

Shah Alam district police chief Assistant Commissioner Nor Azam Jamaluddin said the action would be investigated under Section 27 (5) of the Police Act for unlawful assembly and the 1948 Sedition Act as it involved racial sentiments.

Nor Azam said at a press conference that police could not take drastic action at the time of the protest as it would have worsened the situation.

"If we had taken action, it would have sparked more anger. It was not suitable to take action at the time. We have proof and witnesses and will take action against those involved.

"The witnesses include not only the public but also police officers who were there. We will also investigate the participation of certain parties."

Menteri Besar Tan Sri Abdul Khalid Ibrahim said such an act of religious intolerance was appalling and a step back in promoting efforts for mutual respect among the various races and religions.

"The state calls on the police to act without fear or favour and conduct a fair investigation into the incident, including the threats issued by the demonstrators against state leaders," said Khalid in a statement.

He added that a directive had been issued to the Shah Alam city council to hold an open discussion on Sept 5 for Section 23 residents, which would be attended by the council's officials and Selangor Economic Development Corporation representatives.

The meeting would not only allow those affected to express their views but also provide the state an opportunity to present facts and reasons surrounding its decision to relocate the current temple in Section 19 to Section 23, Khalid said.

The Section 19 temple is about 150 years old and located in a plantation, which the Selangor Economic Development Corporation decided to develop into a housing estate.

Initially, the temple was to be relocated to an industrial area in Section 22 but it was decided to move it to Section 23 to make it more accessible to devotees.

Representatives from several non-governmental organisations, who had gathered at the Shah Alam district police station yesterday to lodge reports on the incident, expressed regret over the treatment of the Hindus' sacred symbol. However, they urged all to remain calm.

The chairman of the Section 19 Sri Maha Mariamman temple committee, R. Selvakumaran, said the temple management was ready to participate in a dialogue to resolve the matter as they had fought to have the temple relocated for more than 20 years.

The Coalition of Malaysian Indian Non-governmental Organisations secretary Gunaraj George hoped such an incident would not happen again.

While the coalition members were upset with the police for failing to stop the demonstration, he said they were confident the force would take action against those responsible.

Comments (39)Add Comment
written by burmen, August 30, 2009 11:02:51
It is absolutely illogical that other than mosques & suraus, places of worship of other faiths must not be built in muslim majority areas. The "noises" from these "other places of worship" disrupts the religious activities of the muslim....so they say.

By that logic, how is it that there are huge mosques with generous car park spaces over acres of prime land in non-muslim populated areas? I know of at least a place where it is 100% non-muslim surroundings that have such a mosque. Now then, how is it that the calls for prayers five times a day including one in the very early hours in the morning does not effect the "daily activities" of the non-muslims?

Are these holligans above the Sedition Act?

This is the problem that will always arise if the BN Govt. continues to promote ketuanan melayu or ketuanan islam.

Nothing short of arrest, charged, convited and sent to Sungai Buloh shall appease the Hindu residents of Section 23 in Shah Alam. They have been greatly insulted by the "cow-head show" and the presence of the ball-less police.
agree 171
written by loosecannon, August 30, 2009 11:05:09
Ya right you bigot. Who would believe you anyway? You are damn lucky that others are not like you or there would be bloodshed by now. Now that you are cornered, you try to lie your way out. Shame on you and your kind. You are a disgrace to the country and fellow Malaysians.
written by mikewang, August 30, 2009 11:20:07
Who is the hooligan who rested his foot on the cow's head while making his inflamatory speech ?

Those cowards, now faced with sedition charges, are trying to shift the blame to others.
Typical UMNO mentality.
agree 141
written by Francis, August 30, 2009 11:20:32
Is it a camouflage to say that the immage is that during the removal of the cow head.

Cowards! stand up to your action. Do not lie. Why has not the police taken any action till date. What for the AG to give instructions is it? Hisham don't you have any backbone? You do not qualify to be the Home Minister of Malaysia.

written by Ulan Benson, August 30, 2009 11:21:03
When their stupid plan to embarass the State Government backfires, they return to the standard practise. "Gua tak tahu macam mana datang itu kepala lembu? Even the photos (photos and videos) cannot make them stop lying."

Camry Hee's hotel keychain? Kugan's self-inflicted injury? Sounds like me, look like me but it is not me...All these bastards have the balls to shout and scream but ran away like cowards when the truth is out with photos and videos evidences!
written by born2reign, August 30, 2009 11:22:43
Didn't Teresa Kok go to ISA because Toyol accused her of complaining about the Puchong mosque?

Hail UMNO!
written by mikewang, August 30, 2009 11:23:27
Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein, don't just regret the incident.

You are in charge of Home Ministry.
Get the police to place those hooligans under arrest and charge them with sedition.
written by Wudan, August 30, 2009 11:27:44
Deputy International Trade and Industry Minister Datuk Mukhriz Mahathir said such "extreme actions" could cause unease among the people.

Umno Youth chief Khairy Jamaluddin said the demonstrators had committed a disrespectful act.
---------------------------------------------------------

Dear Khairy and Mukhriz,

Your Pemuda EXCO for 2008-2011, En. Sohaimi Shahadan was there too.

http://jilfityan.********.com/2009/08/umno-nak-nafi-terlibat-dengan-perarakan.html
written by Davy McChester, August 30, 2009 11:29:55
A classic diversionary tactic of UMNO using its foot soldiers to create the problem and justify clamp down of all political opponents under ISA .This tactic has worked before there is no reason why it would not be used now. His father did it,named it NOC,as though something nice for Malaysia;and later the other Dr.Evil did it in the nineties. This maybe their last desperate attempt to hoodwink the people. Manipulation and abuse of religion to sustain political control is immoral. About time UMNOputras give up their evil schemes for the sake of Malaysia's survival in the 21st century
written by Richfyf, August 30, 2009 11:33:39
Emmm they are another "HERO" helping to remove a dead animal head after Friday's prayer. The same logic that the Permatang Pasir Candidate was a hero for paying back the money and get disbarred for his partners action. UTUSAN already said that the resident were victims of neglect by the state government.

I guess they are trying to spin so hard that all their spin now seems to be more and more unbelievable
written by Wudan, August 30, 2009 11:37:29
En. Sohaimi Shahadan http://i300.photobucket.com/al...z/sama.jpg
written by arazak, August 30, 2009 11:41:15
This guy is lying through his teeth. What were they doing stepping on the cow's head than? Still denying their role!

They say they are Muslims, yet still lying in the month of Ramadhan!
written by apa jadi, August 30, 2009 11:42:19
Berani menunjuk persaan, tak berani mengaku. Bila orang atas "marah", kecut dan melayu (sorry in Javanese) pulak...hehehe....
written by merchant222, August 30, 2009 11:44:20
This is a group of TERRORISTS and it is an insult to the Malays and Islam.
Now this terrorist leader is lying through his arse-hole. The video and pictures are all in the net to show what they did.

The other guy in blue shirt (Ibrahim???) made the worst statement about "bloodshed" and now has his mouth glued up and has disappeared. "Public and Police there" will be the witnesses. Phooi! are you sure??? Just rely on the videos and the reporters that was giving coverage

We are all angry!
written by yellowkingdom, August 30, 2009 11:44:21
In Kuala Lumpur, Information, Communications and Culture Minister Datuk Seri Dr Rais Yatim said he regretted the action of the demonstrators.

"They should have known better than to resort to such action. We must respect the cultures and religions of other communities."

(Rais, go learn how to treat ppl with respect before calling others to do so. Your despicable act of shaming a journalist with your mocking and sniggering is contemptous. "Cakap tak serupa bikin" .Watch here :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pyL3zR-TOPI&eurl=http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/25948/84/&feature=player_embedded#t=134)

(Khairy, they learnt it from ur monkey antics during former State Secretary COndoleeza Roce's visit to Malaysia. Now these bigots have taken it a notch higher.)

"This is not acceptable in Islam, a religion that upholds moderation and respect for other's beliefs," he wrote in his blog yesterday.
"Those who organised and were involved in the demonstration should consider how they would feel if a proposal to build a mosque in a non-Malay area led to non-Malays burning the Al-Quran.

(What makes u a saint to preach to this mob. Think first before u act the next time.)

Home Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein said he regretted the incident.

"What happened was insensitive and I hope that it will not adversely affect the country's racial harmony."

(Enough of regrets from all ministers and authorities, "ACT!". Don't hope TAKE ACTION!

Shah Alam district police chief Assistant Commissioner Nor Azam Jamaluddin said the action would be investigated under Section 27 (5) of the Police Act for unlawful assembly and the 1948 Sedition Act as it involved racial sentiments.

Nor Azam said at a press conference that police could not take drastic action at the time of the protest as it would have worsened the situation.

"If we had taken action, it would have sparked more anger. It was not suitable to take action at the time. We have proof and witnesses and will take action against those involved.

"The witnesses include not only the public but also police officers who were there. We will also investigate the participation of certain parties."

(Enough of the bla, bla, bla.... What investigations? Police were standing by watching it all happen without lifting a finger. Yes, it will spark more tension. You can beat up peaceful demonstration like candli-light vigils and non-violent marches. But when faced with a mob of hooligans, "the situation did not permmit". SILLY EXCUSE! Any arrests , so far?)
written by lamakawan, August 30, 2009 11:57:05
These samseng from UMNO will continue to deny whatever things they do or say.
This is their mode of operation.
When you catch a thief, he will not say, " Yes, I am the thief. "
So is this situation here and everywhere when you see UMNO agitators on the prowl!!!
This Kersmuddin will not do anything here because he is working for his master, who is " the head ", the mastermind, up there !!!!
written by Remo, August 30, 2009 12:04:51
Hishamuddin why no action?
Don't just regeret.
Where is your ISA/
Take action now.
written by onnetline, August 30, 2009 12:11:28
These 50 protesters what type of Muslims are these in accordance to Islam ?And the police ' dungus ' who watch and did nothing what are they too
written by talk2stop, August 30, 2009 12:23:44
Now how are you going to resolve the issue? Build or not to build the temple? If you are not going to build the Indian temple, are you going to remove a mosque and a Chinese temple? It is now come to "you do you doom you don't you doom."
Some how you soon realise Malaysia is good in reaching such a predicatment position. Others got so damn much to learn from Malaysia.
written by Wudan, August 30, 2009 12:26:55
Pemuda Selangor dan Wilayah Persekutuan pun ada di situ.

Can you spot the fat fella and the tall fella?

http://www.pemudaumno.org.my/modules.php?name=News&file=article&sid=8293
http://shw.minaq-jinggo.fotopages.com/20971407.html
written by Wudan, August 30, 2009 12:29:23
http://www.pemudaumno.org.my/m...e&sid=8293

http://shw.minaq-jinggo.fotopages.com/20971407.html
written by glock17, August 30, 2009 12:37:44
wow this pahlawans from section 23 must be truly brave and heroic in thier own turf. i hope they can bring their extreme blind ethno religous nationalism heroism to a greater height...example by demonstating with the same carcass head infront of the India parliament in New Delhi....it will be the greatest scene when the Indian security commandoes teach them an unforgettable lesson. Air Asia can sponsore this pahlawans free to New Delhi....capati and tea tarik provided free...one way ticket!!!
written by borneoman, August 30, 2009 12:42:27
you started it all by kissing your short crooked rusty metal and see what happen now? you are one of those responsible for all that happened.
written by HeeHaw, August 30, 2009 12:45:21
Lying during Ramadhan, eh?
written by wongnoball, August 30, 2009 12:46:31
That is because thanks to Internet and U-tube....we are going after those Berani main Hasut regim kejam ganas Bunuh UMNO sponsored malays.

Keep showing their face, we will track them down a give them a lesson of life....only way out is to tell with SD WHO Instructed you to do that Racist Bigots Act.........Better be quick...we Ninja Mat Kilau like to Nip it in the Bud.....we will disrupt disrupt all EVIL UMNO plans.....Wear Black Merdeka 09...fly black plastic for Islam Munafik Plastic UMNO Kejam Bunuh!1
written by babakl, August 30, 2009 12:51:01
heh, kata sokong ISA. dah berani masuk kemunting kah. Now wants to lie but if so do it proprely. What was show in the vedio was they paraded the head and challenging for blood sounds familier. Wanting to soak someones blood with his kriss.What it did not show was they are removing it but instead parading it to the SS BUILDING and did the most stupid act.
written by rocky, August 30, 2009 13:03:00
http://www.themalaysianinsider...relocation

40% is not enough to start a temple. if that is the case, there should be no temples and churches etc in peninsular Malaysia. Sabah and Sarawak is a different story.
written by Lipanbara, August 30, 2009 13:05:39
52 years old Malaysia does not deserve this act. These 50 people do not represents million of muslims in the country, who favour peace and harmony. So I do hope Hindus would be able to guess the malicious agenda of UMNO in this incident
written by rocky, August 30, 2009 13:09:47
http://www.themalaysianinsider...relocation
written by Siapabohong, August 30, 2009 13:33:45
Really a mystery!!!!
First this fella said 'bloodshed' and now 'a mystery'???????
Even Malaysiakini has taken off that report about 'bloodshed'!
written by nothing less, August 30, 2009 13:42:57
Yesterday said " pantang undur", biar darah mengalir kami tak kan berganjak sedikit pun" pi rah. UMNO make sure all this fellow inside lokap. Because when the Indians start, then u will hard time explaning ur actions to the people. U Chinese fellows just relax n continue throwing ur money to umno as long as u get ur end if the bargain!!!
written by Wudan, August 30, 2009 13:43:25
Ketua Pewaris juga ada.

http://shw.minaq-jinggo.fotopages.com/20971408.html

http://shw.minaq-jinggo.fotopages.com/19981475.html
written by Wudan, August 30, 2009 13:59:32
NST) SHAH ALAM: The Section 23 Residents' Association Action Committee is not involved in the cow head incident, said its chairman Ahmad Mahyuddin Abdul Manaf.

He denied claims that the committee placed the head of a cow outside the state secretariat building here in protest against the relocation of a temple.

"Many people thought the committee was responsible but I do not know who the perpetrators are. I am shocked over what happened.
---------------------------------------------------------

En Ahmad Mayyuddin, look at the picture, maybe it can help you to recall who brought the Kepala Lembu. http://1.bp.********.com/_zGAo...00-h/7.jpg
written by zanie, August 30, 2009 14:00:55
A mystery? You mean the head just fell from the sky? This is Ayah Pin's magical sky kingdom caught in action!! No doubt...
written by zackzeni, August 30, 2009 14:17:03
Classified info from SB has identifed the culprit was the cow itself. This was an act of suicide because the cow supposed to jump from the 14th floor of SPRM office. Further autopsy from Dr. XX confirmed this finding. DNA from the cow family originated from Toyo farm was 99.99% identical.
written by Wudan, August 30, 2009 14:26:59
Ralat : Ketua Pewaris should read 'Timbalan Pengerusi PEWARIS ~ Rahimudin Mat Harun

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jm8v_AAMPUk
written by ianketam, August 30, 2009 14:49:54
Dear Malaysians, These is the Reality of MALAY UMNO.folk.always separate and always differentiate.between the MALAY UMNO and any local Malaysian Malay.a huge mental gap.I always HATES MALAY UMNO.so much since 1998.Let us UNITE as ONE MALAYSIA.to kick out the homosapiens MALAY UMNO.(one the most racists "THINGS" ever created by Almighty in history world )
by PRU 13 ( Year 2013 ) just 4 years to go soon.

HAPPY INDEPENDECE DAY
Long Live Bangsa ku.
Long Live Malaysia ku.

sincerely by
Rustam Affendi Abu Rahim ( of Bukit Beruntung, Selangor )
KPT - 721224-08-5737
Sekolah Alam Shah, Cheras 1985 - 1989
Uni Utara Malaysia, 1990 - 1997
MK Land Holdings Berhad, June 2000 - present
written by Tan Tan, August 30, 2009 14:53:22
All of you non-Malays out there, go and register as voter and vote.

Look at the current situation here, Msia are going backward and we cannot sit around anymore and think it is not our problem.

If such racial tension keep going on, one day or another, we end up like Indonesia, where is the anti chinese movement which rich chinese can run away and left the poor chinese (which is majority of us) here to suffer.

Anyway, I am sure someone is trying to slam PAS or PR over its inabilities to control the creepy Islamic movement to scare non Malays vote away.

Use your brain and think who is the real culprit!
written by nphew, August 30, 2009 16:00:50
You can always tell if a protest is genuine by their banners. Usually genuine protesters carry DIY posters (use of markers and cardboard, a photocopy of what they want to say). What we see here is about 50 protesters with giant size banners, who is paying for all this? Definitely someone with a sinister motive and rich. Whoever you are, hope you burn in HELL!