Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Separating the Cow from the Bull

Separating the Cow from the Bull PDF Print
Saturday, 29 August 2009 15:45

By G. Krishnan

Whatever happens, let’s be sure to remain vigilant and not allow the nascent culture of civil discourse and the struggle for more open free speech and a free press be damaged by some who may exploit this incident for some larger political design.

It’s comforting, reassuring and eye-opening indeed to see the outpouring of the public’s outrage and condemnation of the despicable demonstration against the proposed Hindu temple in Shah Alam. As I came across the countless comments from Malaysians of all faiths, it occurred to me that we’ve – despite some of the evil in our midst – indeed come a long way.

Of course one might say: but of course the public should be condemning the display of hate and debauchery exhibited by what amounts to a bus-load of vile hate-mongers. Sure, but not too long ago, we probably would not have had the courage to speak as freely and openly about such incidents. And by the way, lest there is any confusion, I’m by no means impressed nor am I commending the BN politicians or the authorities who were seemingly offended and are calling for an investigation of the actions of these people who perpetrated the despicable public demonstration.

Instead, it is the vast cross-section of the public response that is impressive – and rightly so. The actions of the demonstrators crossed all lines of decency and civility. And while I want to affirm, as I imagine all fair-minded Malaysians would, their right to free speech and to publicly express their dissatisfaction with one or another matter, this incident is a fine illustration of the political infantilism and immaturity that clearly still prevails in segments of our population.

However, as so many non-Hindus have already roundly and rightly condemned the demonstrators’ actions and for the tact they took, we should also be careful not to overreact. And I don’t mean just that we should call for calm and not incite further provocation and such. That is self-evident.

What I mean is that we should be careful that this incident doesn’t become a catalyst for the suppression of free speech. These people had a right to express their displeasure about some matter. Their distasteful methods we can condemn but I nonetheless fear the prospect that this episode may be politically exploited and send the struggle for democratic reform tumbling backwards.

Read more at: IMAGINE...

written by FFT, August 29, 2009 16:01:09
1Malaysia under 1Lembu!

written by 80srocker, August 29, 2009 16:06:09
Boy oh boy is GUANO (UMNO) desperate now. Neanderthal mentality begets Neanderthal followers.

Yes, like the writer said, we have to be vigilant not let this escalate into another race riot a la May 13, 1969. GUANO is banking on that to make themselves relevant again. So are MCA and MIC.
written by 80srocker, August 29, 2009 16:08:08
FFT, after seeing your picture, I suggest a new name for Najib:

"NAJIS LEMBU" smilies/grin.gif
written by wongnoball, August 29, 2009 17:16:46
I like this Internet aga of U-Tube....just keep posting their Pictures.....one by one we Obliterate or give lesson. No need to counter protest, show anger, burn suarau, koran...because that is what Regim Evil Murderer UMNO wants to see happen to Invoke ISA....Like Mei 13 after Losing election after election.....trying to make people angry with Alcohol, place of worship, racist acts of murders.....

Thank you for posting their Face u-tube.....we will take care of them........ Media trying to cover up the Fear of these Racist Goons each time one of them is given a proper lesson. Let these UMNO MILITANTS spread their message of fear among themselves. Its more effective....Go On Zamban Hamidi give them Commando training , hold M16...etc....We will make sure when that happens....Malaysia will CEASE to exist in its current Form of 12 states....
written by carribeanking7, August 29, 2009 17:33:34
The police inaction on cow-head protesters antics in section 23 Shah Alam near the disputed Hindu temple site in Shah Alam has left a bad taste in the mouth and angered many citizens be they Muslim or Non-Muslim.

I applaud the manner in which my fellow citizens remained calm, not retaliating in a similarly seditious manner and roundly condemning the act.

These protestors did it in a premeditated manner, complete with loud hailers, banners and prior planning to incite hate in a seditious manner.

They should be charged under section 3(1), those acts defined as having a seditious tendency include:

3(1)(d) - to raise discontent or disaffection amongst the subjects of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong or of the Ruler of any State or amongst the inhabitants of Malaysia or of any State;

3(1)(e) - to promote feelings of ill-will and hostility between different races or classes of the population of Malaysia;

This is exactly what the seditions act is for,I dislike the act but in cases like this it should be used .They should be charged under sedition or Nazri Aziz the defacto law minister should resign like Zaid Ibrahim if he has honor that is.

Usually Bigots whatever their race are in the minority,issue here is not the race of the perpetrators or the victim.
If a non muslim did similar things against Muslims I would be just as angry.
The point is what they did is criminal and should be arrested and charged under the seditions act, to show that such actions are not acceptable, otherwise various groups may start doing similar things.
If they are not charged , there should be a call for Nazri the defacto law minister to step down, together with the Attorney General, even after Najib asked IGP to take action, the police have the cheek to say they cannot take action because no police report was lodged, Nik Nadzmi lodged the police report this morning, I care a damn if they were Malays , Chinese , Indian or Eskimo, you break the law- you face the consequences.

Isnt that what the Home Minister has been parotting at this while ? Or are we going to see the usual hemmm ...haw ...flip flop statements ?

written by storm62, August 29, 2009 17:50:07
these 49 umno melayus and 1 children does NOT represent ALL the GOD fearing Muslims in Malaysia...they are paid to provoke by everybody knows who in Selangor....to all my Indian friends, please keep cool and do NOT react to this cheap skate low down cowardly act by stepping on a dead cow's head!!!

to hell with melayu umno!!!
written by NSTPravda, August 29, 2009 20:29:20
We PDRM dare not get into a bullfight with our sponsors the UMNO cowboys lah. So they can bullshut all over the place and we have to cow tow to them. So semua-nya OK!
smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by Anti Relon, August 29, 2009 22:44:42
The problem is going world-wide. Thanks to the prime minister.
There are rumours in London (from reliable source) that Najib ordered the High Commissioner to turn part of the Embassy in London into a large prayer room. It appears that he went to Malaysia Hall and found the prayer room too small and wanted a large place. So he ordered part of the Embassy be turned into a prayer hall. Of course no one at the embassy reacted and acted like sheep and now set to adhere to the order. Eev the Malay Muslims are shocked, except one or two who are having orgasm at the idea.
Is the reason that Najib ordered the part of the embassy turned into a large prayer room to atone for his misdeeds. Or does he want to prove he is a better Muslim?
Goddbye 1Malaysia. Welcome ManyMalaysia.
written by freerpk, August 30, 2009 08:48:56
And I thought it is illegal to demonstrate in Malaysia??? I thought the govt says it is not a Malaysian culture to demonstrate, ugh???? Sure or not????
How come no riot police or water cannons??? I think Malaysian "laws" very confusing lah. First they have ISA which says can put in prison anybody, then sometimes demonstration is Okay, sometimes not okay...maybe the police should give us a list of demnstrations that are okay to attend smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif