Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow 1,000 residents act to bar sale of alcohol

1,000 residents act to bar sale of alcohol PDF Print
Saturday, 29 August 2009 12:19

(The Star) SHAH ALAM: More than 1,000 residents of Taman TTDI Jaya here have signed a petition against the sale of alcoholic drinks in their housing area.

The residents and delegates of the Al-Itisam mosque also headed to a mini market and two convenience stores here after Friday prayers to hand over a memorandum protesting the sale of alcohol.

Mosque committee member Yusof Mustapha said they had sent the petition to the state to voice their concern over the issue of more young Muslims consuming alcohol.

“I have seen it with my own eyes.

“It is worrying. We must do something to stop it, especially in the holy month of Ramadan,” he told reporters during the protest here yesterday.

Yusof said he had questioned a few boys who were drinking in a field in front of his house and were told that they had bought the drinks from nearby shops.

“We hope the shops will heed our advice to stop selling alcohol in view of the fact that 90% of the 3,000-odd population here are Muslims.”

“We are not against the sale of alcohol.

“It’s okay to sell it in places with fewer Muslims such as in Petaling Jaya,” he said.

Comments (42)Add Comment
written by shamadz72, August 29, 2009 12:22:25
Apa ke bodohnya dia orang ni. Gunakan lah kuasa pengguna kamu tu. Anjurkan boikot, suruh semua orang kat kawasan tu jangan beli barang dari kedai itu sampai tuan kedai tu berhenti dari jual arak kat kawasan itu. Itu pun nak kena bagi tau ke? Bodoh punya orang UMNO!

written by ez24get, August 29, 2009 12:27:48
So Hassan Ali is working internally with UMNO and Khir Toyo to destabilise the Pakatan Government in Selangor? Is he so longing to sit in the Mentri Besar post that he will topple his friends in the Pakatan?
written by sorosapril, August 29, 2009 12:28:52
why is that every time a non-muslim has to give way to muslim when islam always teaches people to be forgiving and acceptance of others.

what is wrong in selling alcohol when there are people who want to buy.

it is a joke when the muslims fail to teach and uphold their own believe, they want others to help them to control their youth.

i think it is about time the muslims do a self reflection and see what is wrong with their religion and solve it themselves instead of banning something which other people need.

it is just like what is the problem that i eat pork in a food court, just because muslim can not eat pork so the whole food court can not sell pork, what about other people /religion rights? why other have to give way to muslims, why can't they co-exist?

why is there no such problem in Singapore while Malaysia has so much problem on this type of issue and yet Malaysia politicians try to claim they have done a great job?

the conclusion i can draw is the way islamic religion is being taught in Singapore is a better way than those being taught in Malaysia, we are producing some crazy and mislead bunch of people and regressing.

should go and learn from Singapore Malay how they handle situation like what Malaysians are facing now.
disagree 24
written by shamadz72, August 29, 2009 12:30:27
If there is no independent candidate willing to stand against Hassan Ali in the next election, I (as a a member of PAS with a lifetime membership) is willing to volunteer. We in PAS don't need this kind of leader. Same with his stooges Roslan SMS.

written by SiHangChai, August 29, 2009 12:32:31
I also would like to organise a petition event to bar the selling of fruits/food such as grapes, rice, cocount, yeast, barli and others as these are ingredients to make alcohol. I would also would like JAIS to take action, and charge especially residents of TTDI Shah Alam for consuming these alcohol ingredients. We should also ban the preparation of bubur labuk in the compound of holy places as the preparation process is the same as process to making rice wine.
disagree 17
written by onnetline, August 29, 2009 12:36:29
We are all but brief settlers or a speck of dust on this earth ........ nothing spectacular !

And it is not a given right to impose unjust ruling on one another ........... even if we are the majority.

Look deep into your faith or God's teachings on these things, please.
written by Wisdom above, August 29, 2009 12:40:35
Mosque committee member Yusof Mustapha, should have just detain them & hand over the few boys to the POLICE for further action, since you have witnessed the offense committed! ..."Yusof said he had questioned a few boys who were drinking in a field in front of his house " ..
written by mikefonz, August 29, 2009 12:45:29
"Yusof said he had questioned a few boys who were drinking in a field in front of his house and were told that they had bought the drinks from nearby shops."

Hey.. why the double standard here? Catch them and charged them so that the boys will be fined, jail and be whip 6 times like Khatika.

Stupid man. If the cow dun wanna drink you can't force it to drink.

written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, August 29, 2009 12:46:21
This is getting ridiculous with groups of people protesting economic activities that they deem against their religious practice. We are Malaysians who have lived with respect with each other's beliefs. Let's continue down that path.

As long as store owners are not selling illegal products, the market forces must determine what is sold and bought, not protests.

If this is tolerated, then what will happen if a group of Hindu and Buddhist believers protest against selling of beef? We'll have a slew of protests of who can eat or drink what and who can or cannot sell them. Intolerance will brew and there will be no end.

The differences in religious practices overlap with each other and tolerance is what has made Malaysia great. We practice it to who we believe and to ourselves with no compulsion on others.

Where is the love?

Why protest on alcohol? Why not on cigarettes? After all, in our modern day times, such are the vices in society. Government income comes from their producers. And where has the Government been spending the money?

http://proud2bmalaysian.******...plode-mca/
written by Jun Jan, August 29, 2009 12:49:03
Mosque committee member Yusof Mustapha said they had sent the petition to the state to voice their concern over the issue of more young Muslims consuming alcohol.
---------
i think that you are too naive to think that these 'young muslims' are so handicapped that they cant get it in PJ which is only like what..side by side with TTDI? maybe get from Sri Hartamas?

Completely stuuupid.
written by Milo, August 29, 2009 12:52:36
The next in line is to ban Pubs in Selangor, then followed by the banning of pork in Muslim majority area? There is no end to extreme stupidity when come to certain religious people.
written by hellosunshine, August 29, 2009 12:52:40
Why don't PR arrange for all sane Malaysians to march peacefully and counter these extremists? It's a march for peace and harmony and to show these extremists off that the majority of Malaysians are not mad and suka mengamok. We need positive advertisements after a slew of free bad advertisements all over the world from these extremists wanting to ban beer in Selangor, wanting to whip a woman for drinking beer, wanting to ban MLTR and now this in TTDI. Are Malay Muslims so weak and easily corrupted? Oops! Sorry on the last word. smilies/tongue.gif
written by Richfyf, August 29, 2009 12:56:29
Maybe they should make a lawatan sambil belajar to China to see how the 120 million Chinese muslim can practise Islam in China for more then a thousand years!!!
written by Jun Jan, August 29, 2009 12:58:01
Oh these Young Muslims can buy from PJ then drink at the Chinese or indian area and then it will solve your residential problem cos you dont 'see' then drinking anymore. Oh, by the way, if it so happen that the chinese were to say that they then saw young muslims consuming alchohol in their area, then you can organise another protest ala mob style and start placing pigs head in front of MPPJ building again. Ya ya ya...

smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
Being faithful to your religion is not faithful unless you start with your mind. Buddha started his quest for enlightenment facing temptation from every angle but he prevailed in the end. I think the same thing can be said about prophet Muhammad & Jesus.
written by lobster, August 29, 2009 13:00:28
guys, please. They are voicing up their concern in a civilized manner. If we can't even allow memorandums and petitions, are we any different than those crazy FRU?

I may not agree with them, but I have the utmost respect to these people for voicing up their opinion peacefully.
written by cabearth, August 29, 2009 13:02:34

written by ez24get, August 29, 2009 12:27:48
So Hassan Ali is working internally with UMNO and Khir Toyo to destabilise the Pakatan Government in Selangor? Is he so longing to sit in the Mentri Besar post that he will topple his friends in the Pakatan?

Errr dude. TTDI is in KL and not Selangor. Hasan Ali has no power there although he lives there.

written by one box, August 29, 2009 13:03:06
these are concerned parents who don't meddle with other people's business but just protecting their kids.

They don't resort to violent.
They don't snatch the beers away.
They provide

What's more important:
punch line -->
They don't slug a cow's head and preach in the name of god !
written by cabearth, August 29, 2009 13:03:43

written by sorosapril, August 29, 2009 12:28:52
why is that every time a non-muslim has to give way to muslim when islam always teaches people to be forgiving and acceptance of others.

what is wrong in selling alcohol when there are people who want to buy.

Will you sit there 24-7 ensuring that no minors buy liqour from these stores? If not, then quit becoming part of the problem.
written by cabearth, August 29, 2009 13:05:07
written by SiHangChai, August 29, 2009 12:32:31
I also would like to organise a petition event to bar the selling of fruits/food such as grapes, rice, cocount, yeast, barli and others as these are ingredients to make alcohol.

Go ahead, but a moth is still called a moth before it blooms into a butterfly. While you're at it why don't u organized the ban of fertilizers and plastics because these are important components of making bombs.
written by ron46, August 29, 2009 13:05:14
Dont blame others when you cant teach your own kids.
written by fireduck, August 29, 2009 13:20:44
Yeah, sounds like failure at the home front. Sounds like poor parenting. Sounds like neglect by their parents. Are we barking up the wrong tree?
written by cabearth, August 29, 2009 13:21:33

Oh these Young Muslims can buy from PJ then drink at the Chinese or indian area and then it will solve your residential problem cos you dont 'see' then drinking anymore. Oh, by the way, if it so happen that the chinese were to say that they then saw young muslims consuming alchohol in their area, then you can organise another protest ala mob style and start placing pigs head in front of MPPJ building again. Ya ya ya...

We'll cross the birdge when we reach it
written by borneoman, August 29, 2009 13:53:02
these bunch of umno muslim trouble seekers will soon meet their match
written by St Low, August 29, 2009 14:05:49
TTDI Jaya is in Shah Alam. This is TTDI Jaya, not Taman Tun Dr Ismail which is in KL.
written by mikewang, August 29, 2009 14:14:08
Shame on you, parents of TTDI who signed the petition.

Children are a gift from God.
You are supposed to inculcate character and values in them.
Don't blame society for your own failure.
written by truthbespoken, August 29, 2009 14:22:15
Aah, so we now all see that the drinking and smoking issues are all still coming out from Hasan Ali's Selangor's territories. If this Hasan Ali is not smoked soon, the Selangor PR Government will be! The link is there for anyone to see.
written by Areyaar, August 29, 2009 14:27:42
Mosque committee member Yusof Mustapha said...“I have seen it with my own eyes.

"Yusof said he had questioned a few boys who were drinking in a field in front of his house and were told that they had bought the drinks from nearby shops."

So Yusof Mustapha, why is it that you ONLY questioned the boys? As a mosque committee member, you should have known better; why did you not immediately call agama people to arrest the boys and have them fined RM5,000/- each and sentenced for caning as in the case of Kartika????????????????????????????????????????????

Instead of calling the rest of the mosque committee or JAKIM (or whatever is the body looking after Islamic affairs in your area), to catch the boys and have them punished, you chose to walk away and do something like writing a petition!!!! Were you scared of the boys? Were you sympathetic because they were boys and not girls like Kartika?

So you think just stopping the sale of alcohol in your area is going to make those boys and others like them stop drinking?? Don't be so naive. You very well know that all they have to do is to go elsewhere where they can buy alcohol. You know you should have called the religious authorities to catch the boys and have them fined and caned, but you did not.

Don't you think the mufti of Perak and even the organisation of syariah lawyers and Muslim NGO's will agree that you should have done more?

Somehow this petition thing smells of strategy at the hands of mystery movers and shakers. The more this issue plays up, the more questions it raises.
written by aliseman, August 29, 2009 14:33:02
To the residents of TTDI Jaya, you get my support for doing the right thing to save the children and youth.
written by Sutha, August 29, 2009 15:31:23
Hello TTDI Jaya Residents,

Just educate your children to know what is good and what isn't and why?

If there is a ban, are your children so STUPID that they do not know where to get or how to get, if they are underaged? If after a ban, you children still gets stock, does that not prove that you are just as stupid as your off-springs?

Please la, EDUCATION STARTS AT HOME. I
written by MsLim, August 29, 2009 16:17:33
How come when BN was running the Selangor State no such protests? Or have the shops started selling liquor only after the State fell to the opposition? Just food for thought.
written by akcc81, August 29, 2009 19:06:47

As much as I agree that the sale of alcohol should be limited to those who've reached the age of accountability, I do not agree that banning the sale of alcohol in certain areas is ever going to make any difference unless one's heart is convicted from within never to consume alcohol. Otherwise, as the saying goes, "if there's a will, there's a way", one can always find ways to purchase alcohol.

Another thing that puzzles me is that why is UMNO so supportive of PAS in the issue of banning the sale of alcohol in a Muslim-majority area, when for 50 years UMNO couldn't care less while it was in control of Selangor. Why a sudden display of hypocrisy, hiding behind the name of religion with the holier-than-thou attitude??

I urge all fair-minded Malaysians not to be bought into the issue that's being blown out of proportion by UMNO. They could've banned alcohol for the past 50 years but they allowed it. UMNO simply has no right to comment on the ban or sale of alcohol in the state of Selangor. PAS, please do not let UMNO use you guys as their pawns. You should be smarter than them.
written by defendermalaysia, August 29, 2009 19:34:18
It proves 1 thing that Muslim faith is so fragile. It is so easily influence by surrounding condition or atmosphere. It is so fragile that by looking at female clothing, then it will make them commit sinful act. They are not allow to listen rock music, even looking at TV, and many others which is considered haram. If we compare with other religion, it is more a less some of the same but if these deciples keep their faith inside their heart, then any outside influence will not ditter their faith. Have a thought.
written by James Loh, August 29, 2009 22:21:47
There are different ways the state government can do:
1. Random audit if the business are selling liquor to minor or Muslim.
2. The residence can boycott the business.
written by defendermalaysia, August 30, 2009 00:03:15
We encourage that the 1000 TDI resident petition the BN govt to ban all kinds of sinful activity in whole Malaysia. We should ban all liquor, ban gambling, ban toto, magnum,ban genting,ban KTV, ban disco and so on. All these are sinful activites even to other religion. If BN govt for the past 50 years did not ban these activity so who are you now to ask the PR govt to ban these sales of acohol in TDDi? Let us ask BN to start at the states which they rule.
For your info the BN govt recently approve another extra gambling raw for each week for Magnam. The approval for football betting is still baking in the oven.
so you see on the contarary, the BN govt is still encouraging gambling by approving more license.
written by mikewang, August 30, 2009 08:20:56
Ok.. if you still don't see the point.

Replace the word "beer/alcohol/cigarettes" with the word "internet" and "intoxication of a minor" with "pornography" and let me see how many of you will support a segment of the population to impose its will on the other.

Prohibition of alcohol by minors must begin with parents.
Fine or punish parents with community work if their kids are seen consuming alcohol or lighting up a cigarette.
I am sure many will support such a move.
written by anon, August 30, 2009 10:41:14
More than 1,000 residents of Taman TTDI Jaya here have signed a petition against the sale of alcoholic drinks in their housing area.
====================
These are weak 'muslims' - can't refrain from temptation.
--------------------
“It is worrying. We must do something to stop it, especially in the holy month of Ramadan,” he told reporters during the protest here yesterday.
====================
ramadan is indeed a holy month but to these people. it is a month of ethnic cleansing too.

Btw, is Nik Aziz living in that place now? Name change of course.
written by chiongguo, August 30, 2009 10:48:18
Yusof said he had questioned a few boys who were drinking in a field in front of his house and were told that they had bought the drinks from nearby shops.

“We hope the shops will heed our advice to stop selling alcohol in view of the fact that 90% of the 3,000-odd population here are Muslims.”

“We are not against the sale of alcohol.

“It’s okay to sell it in places with fewer Muslims such as in Petaling Jaya,” he said.

Yusof, do you think this will solve the problem of teenage addiction ? Many youths also sniff glue. Will you also call for a ban of glue ? What you need is not a ban but good long term social programs that target the youth. If you ban it, as history had shown, it will only make what was banned more enticing. Look what happened to adam and eve ? As it was said, "forbidden fruits taste the sweetest."

cabearth wrote :

Will you sit there 24-7 ensuring that no minors buy liqour from these stores? If not, then quit becoming part of the problem

It is against the law to sell liquour to children. The problem is enforcement and education not accessibility.

Banning alcohol is a simplistic solution and this solution is like a multi-headed hydra. It will spawn many other problems. If your kids are having problem it is not what is out there but what is in your own home. The problem lies there and it is so much easier to blame it on what is out there and then you don't have to take responsibility.

When you do not know the problem, whatever solution you propose will be a problem.

written by Hanuman, August 30, 2009 13:55:55
U ALLOW THIS AND SOON MALAYSIA WILL BE TURNED INTO AN ISLAMIC STATE WITH SYARIAH LAWS TO BE OBSERVED BY ALL......MUSLIMS AND NON MUSLIMS! THINK CAREFULLY! u GIVE AN INCH THEY WILL DEMAND A MILE...........
written by letsbefair, August 30, 2009 16:31:35
The more you ban these and forbid that, the more rebellous the people gets. This is human nature. Always curious and always looking for thrills.

I believe to reduce social ills the public should be educated using logic rather than ancient dogmatic teachings. That way people will do it voluntarily instead of through fear and naivity.

After all anything consume in excess is always detrimental. Try eating beef or lots of shelled fish in large quantities everyday without fail and see what happen.

It is known that drinking red wine in moderation is actually beneficial to the heart.
written by letsbefair, August 30, 2009 16:40:58
By the way how come only Selangor bear the religious brunt. How come other states like Johore, Pahang, Perak, NS, Perlis, Terengganu, Malacca and East Malaysia is so quiet? Are people in BN-run state so religious? That is they do not have any problem with following ancient dogmatic laws in their everyday lives?
written by oneofthesedays, August 31, 2009 10:43:26
How long before this Taliban wannabe/UMNO tool Hasan Ali is sacked?

PR must act now!
written by billyong, September 01, 2009 23:02:32
Even as a Malaysian of Chinese descent, I really abhor the way the typical Chinese do business with no regards for the law so long as they make the few extra bucks. They deserve to be whacked so that they may be a bit more careful the next time they want to dispose their beer and related products. Now, if Hasan Ali wants to ban beer and other arak2 in Selangor, then he must as well ban Coke and Pepsi for they also contain alcohol albeit amount smaller than those found in beer. But still alcohol is alcohol. Check this article out in the IslamOnline website: http://www.islamonline.net/ser...9503545260