Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow AS PROMISED, CHIEF MINISTER SIR!

AS PROMISED, CHIEF MINISTER SIR! PDF Print
Friday, 28 August 2009 08:54

By Zorro Unmasked

I thought this was the opportunity to take our proposal one-on-one with Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng. I proposed that all the states ruled by Pakatan Rakyat should declare on billboards the state’s anti-ISA stand.

Our decision to leave for home after lunch took a turn when Fauzi alerted us to a Press Conference called by Penang’s Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng. I was particularly eager to attend the PC as I heard that the successful Permatang Pasir candidate, Mohd. Salleh Man would be given the thumbs up during the morning’s Executive Councillors meeting, to be the President of the Penang Islamic Religious Council (MAIPP). State Religious Affairs Committee chairman Abdul Malik Abul Kassim has been tasked to seek the King's and Governor's consent for Mohd Salleh's appointment as MAIPP president.The post is currently held by UMNO's Permatang Berangan assemblyman Shahbudin Yahya, whose term ends in December.

I wanted to particularly congratulate YB Salleh Man as I missed the celebration the night before after he was declared the state assemblyman for Permatang Pasir. Over the last eight days we had developed a close affinity through following him in his campaign and ceremahs. I congratulated him in anticipation of his being an exco member and that important MAIPP portfolio

Being at this Press Conference afforded me the opportunity that I had waited long for. Pete (RPK) and I agreed that the oppressive stance taken by the police did not allow for the impact we intended the anti-ISA candlelight vigils would have. We decided on a new strategy and Pete immediately called a few state leaders. The response was somewhat lukewarm.

I thought this was the opportunity to take our proposal one-on-one with Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng. I proposed that all the states ruled by Pakatan Rakyat should declare on billboards the state’s anti-ISA stand. I told him that I had commissioned Penang Blogger Daniel Yong HERE to design such billboards that each PR state could be responsible to put up at strategic entrances to their state. I noticed Deputy Chief Minister I YB Mansor Othman nodding affirmatively. I could not catch the reaction of Deputy Chief Minister II, Prof. Ramasamy as we sat on the same side of the conference table. What was the reaction of the Chief Minister. “Show me the design” he said. “Tomorrow, Sir, I will get it for you”, I promised.

Here they are Sir, for the consideration of your Executive Council.

Read more at: http://zorro-zorro-unmasked.blogspot.com/2009/08/as-promised-chief-minister-sir.html

written by Democrats, August 28, 2009 09:13:27
We should also have a billboard that says, "1MALAYSIA....apa itu?!%$#@&!"
written by eeyaw, August 28, 2009 09:25:23
Uncle Zorro what a brilliant idea. My choice is the first billboard. Over to you Mr Lim don't disappoint us!
written by asguard, August 28, 2009 09:44:58
Put a billboard that says 1malaysia thieves, crooks and cronies first, people last.. at every location...that people can see and read...!
written by apa jadi, August 28, 2009 10:07:15
LGE sounded skeptical. LGE could have better phrased his reply this way:"Good idea, show us the design if you have already one".
written by fireduck, August 28, 2009 10:36:27
We must remember that Guan Eng wears many hats. On a personal basis, he is definitely against it, having been on the receiving end before. As DAP Sec-Gen and Pakatan leader, definitely. No doubts about that.

As Chief Minister of Penang, I'm sure he wishes the best for all Penangnites, but he has to take a less aggressive approach... he does not want to imperil the livelihood of the people of the state unnecessarily, as the federal govt is still holding up state allocated funds and holding the Penangnites hostage in that sense.

We just need to understand and be patient, and give Guan Eng the benefit of the doubt in matters/decisions that outwardly appear to be ambivalent or wavering. Hang with him and hang tough, my Penang bros and sis.
written by Badaksumbu, August 28, 2009 10:58:09
Yes erecting bill boards! I agree its good idea.
written by Siapabohong, August 28, 2009 11:11:04
Good idea Mr.Zorro and I would like to see that appear at all the strategic locations in all PR's states. However as 'fireduck' has mentioned, the CM and MBs of PR's states wears many hats. Better for them to find out the move will not back fire, meaning don't let any hole for that 'regime' to take any legal action or manipulate the situation to their favour as what we have seen many times previously. They are just very good to do such thing and you can't imagine it!
written by Kingsley, August 28, 2009 11:32:37
Great idea man!
Penangites should sponsor this.
Supported by the Penang State Government.
Don't use State funds otherwise folks such as Kg Pala will think Pg State got lots of $$$.
written by magickriver, August 28, 2009 13:55:26
The word "draconian" has been greatly overused. It's also offensive to those of us of the dragon lineage. Not all dragons are mean and ill-tempered, indeed the ancient ones are known to be extremely noble, wise and essential to the maintenance of cosmic equilibrium! smilies/wink.gif

May I suggest the billboards read:

THIS STATE DOES NOT SUPPORT THE CRUEL AND UNJUST INTERNAL SECURITY ACT
written by Wisdom above, August 28, 2009 15:38:49
" This State Government does not support the Cruel and Inhumane Internal Security Act ! "
written by mikewang, August 28, 2009 16:16:24
If the state has no spare cash for those billboards, I suggest that the people of Malaysia contribute to those billboards through a collection on this blog.

Anyway, it's a great idea.
Penang Leads !!
written by Logger123, August 28, 2009 16:21:37
Tunku kicked out Singapore because LKY started talking in Malay in Parliament. Both UMNO and PAS MP's started to pay attention to LKY's speeches and this frighten Tunku and Co.

So do it right. Put these billboards up in Malay. Then see the impact. Position it from the perspective of the reader, i.e., what's in it for me? So the implication of ISA has to be spelled out in very simple terms, such as, "ISA: Kerajaan (& Croni) boleh buang kamu kedalam lokap tanpa sebarang alasan. 50 (or whatever number) Muslimin merana kerana kekejaman ISA oleh kerajaan zalim. etc etc." See how a personal phrase will this will reverbate with the rakyat.

smilies/smiley.gif
written by scorpion, August 28, 2009 16:27:56
I think it can be only displayed for couple of hours before local council tears it down. Remember the stone in Perak.

Our local council has joined the gangster team
written by lamakawan, August 28, 2009 23:23:21
Zorro, your idea is great.
But.... you must not use the Penang state logo or emblem in any way to express it. This will be taken by the federal government as saying the Penang state government is anti federal !!!
We want to and must have good relations with the federal government so that we can work together for the good of Penang and all Penangites!!!
Remember, we still need funds and allocations channeled from the central government for the state's development!!! Bearing in mind we are also sending all our citizens' taxes , and all state revenue collections, to the federal governement!!!