Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Raid on magazine slammed

Raid on magazine slammed PDF Print
Wednesday, 26 August 2009 17:37

(The Straits Times) - MEDIA rights campaigners on Wednesday condemned the seizure of hundreds of copies of a new political cartoon magazine and a raid on its offices, saying it was an assault on free speech.

Home ministry officials on Tuesday confiscated 408 copies of the inaugural issue of 'Gedung Kartun' shortly after the bi-weekly magazine hit the newsstands, the editor and a ministry official told AFP.

Zainal Abidin Othman, the home ministry's chief enforcement officer in central Selangor state, said the magazine was confiscated because it has not yet received an official permit under Malaysia's strict media licensing scheme.

However, editor Zulkiflee Anwar Ulhaque disputed that claim and said the seizure of the inaugural edition - which had a caricature of Prime Minister Najib Razak on the front cover - was politically motivated.

'Our permit was approved two weeks ago. We were told of the decision verbally and given the permit serial number, we are just waiting for the official letter,' he told AFP.

The caricature linked the premier to the sensational 2006 murder of a Mongolian model who was the lover of his former adviser - a case in which Mr Najib has repeatedly denied any involvement or knowledge.

The publication also carried cartoons on the recent mysterious death of a political aide to an opposition legislator, as well as a crackdown on a massive rally against controversial internal security laws.

'This is politically motivated... I don't think (Najib) practises what he preaches when he said media should be given more freedom,' Mr Zulkiflee said.

Media watchdogs Centre for Independent Journalism and Writers Alliance for Media Independence condemned the move, saying it showed the government was using licensing laws to 'arbitrarily' curb freedom of expression.

'The confiscation smacks of harassment and censorship of discussion of current issues,' the groups said in a joint statement.

Reporters Without Borders ranks Malaysia 132 out of 173 on its global press freedom index, and says the government-linked mainstream media are 'often compelled to ignore or to play down the many events organised by the opposition.'

written by billykbk, August 26, 2009 17:42:01
Who asked you ppl to trust Najib Mongolia? Do you trust a devil?

If you so happen to be beside Najis, you will see his shadow with a long hair and slender bodyline. Try to observe.

written by mypanida, August 26, 2009 17:51:21
Ya, the capital of Mongolia is Kuala Lumpur.

The Prime Minister is Najib Altantuya.

His tagline is C4, don't leave home without it !!!
written by Fuminari, August 26, 2009 18:58:27
the comic says,'berani kerana bena!'.
written by Fuminari, August 26, 2009 19:28:01
the comic says,' berani kerana benar!'.
the be end government says,' benar,kerana tangkap!'.
written by malgal, August 26, 2009 20:02:34
if the man has no connections with mongolia, he would laugh it off - hahahaha! try louder ...HAHAHA.
written by MyBUDAK, August 26, 2009 21:33:07
can ask the editor to publish online anot..?
i belip whole world wanted to see..
i dun mind paying a token... smilies/wink.gif
written by TruthSayer, August 26, 2009 22:21:50
"can ask the editor to publish online anot..?
i belip whole world wanted to see..
i dun mind paying a token... smilies/wink.gif "

I agree
maybe publish online as a paying site
Many many will want to subscribe!!
written by verifunny, August 26, 2009 22:36:49
It's the 7th month of Lunar calendar.

She is back for the murderers.

Her aura of injustice is too strong that she will only RIP when the murderers are punished.
written by smeagrooo, August 27, 2009 00:04:40
they shld hv published caricatures of the opposition n make fun of them first. Once BN no take action on this then go all out to ridicule them in the next edition.
written by amoker, August 27, 2009 00:29:33
i agree. Najib is a cartoon.
written by smeagrooo, August 27, 2009 02:49:01
Najib just want to be a carTun.
written by rpremkumar2u, August 27, 2009 10:01:27
Nah!Cheap, you have no sense of humor man. Or did your Flower lady get upset again?
written by abdras, August 27, 2009 10:08:05
OK then, let's have the magazine posted on the internet for all Malaysians to
see and we don't mind donating to the publisher for the privilege. Let see whether
they can raid and confiscate the magazine on the internet.