Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Let’s look at reality

Let’s look at reality PDF Print
Wednesday, 26 August 2009 16:42

There are some very upset people in Malaysia who feel that Islam is being challenged or that non-Muslims, plus some Muslims, do not respect Islam and whatnot. These are people who always think that if you disagree with them then you are insulting Islam and/or need to go and learn more about Islam. Let’s look at reality -- and then let’s argue till the cows come home.

The entertainment industry is said to be the largest industry in the world. That actually took me by surprise because I had initially thought that the arms industry was the largest. So it appears that making love is more profitable than making war after all.

Now, when I say ‘entertainment’, I am talking about more than just movies and music. Theme parks, holiday resorts, tour packages, casinos, discos (which serves as the market for designer drugs), night clubs, cabarets, bars, pubs, prostitution, and all those other activities which allow you to ‘let your hair down’, relax, enjoy yourself, have a good time, and so on, come under the classification of ‘entertainment industry’.

Just list down all those things banned in Saudi Arabia, home to Islam’s two Holy Cities, and that would come under the category of entertainment. The Saudi ulamak reluctantly allowed TV to be introduced into the Kingdom (after much pressure from the ruling elite) but only for religious programs and news, not for entertainment purposes. In that sense, anything that Saudi has banned can be regarded as un-Islamic, according to the strict Saudi interpretation (who argue that that is true Islam). And this would include everything under the entertainment industry category.

For that matter, general elections are also ‘banned’ in Saudi Arabia. Would, therefore, elections be regarded as un-Islamic since there was no such thing during the time of the Prophet Muhammad as well as during the Islamic Empire headed by the Caliphs -- until the collapse of the Ottoman Empire less than 100 years ago? And since PAS participates in this ‘Christian’-created Westminster system of parliament and general elections can PAS be considered as being involved in un-Islamic activities?

Yes, that is certainly food for thought is it not?

Going by the standards set by Saudi Arabia, the country regarded as the home of the Prophet Muhammad and the centre for Islam, it seems like only the Jews observe true Islamic teachings. And is it not also ironical that some of the best entertainers in the world (actors, actresses, singers, etc.) are Jews? This certainly represents a contradiction of sorts.

So, what, therefore, would make one a true Muslim? Would the banning of beer and the punishing of Muslims who drink beer be the proper Islamic thing to do, as many seem to think so? Or do we need to do more than that if we really want to become a true Muslim? This is the dilemma faced by Muslims and which was the point of my previous article: Go all the way or no way (http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/26055/84/).

Some Muslims think I am defending the sale of beer and oppose the ban and punishment of those who drink beer. This is not the point at all. The point I am making is we appear to be preoccupied with a mosquito bite when the patient is suffering from terminal cancer and just had a massive heart attack on top of that. Why worry about something not life threatening when the patient is about to die? Forget about the itch on the finger when the toes have been eaten away by gangrene.

I have written about this issue so many times and I am sure by now many, Muslims in particular, are quite tired of reading about the same thing. But how can I stop harping on this same issue when we have people who still fail to grasp what the real issue is?

Below are extracts of two reports concerning the liquor industry and the problem it represents to Malaysia. What I want to stress is that the liquor industry is a huge industry and Malaysia ranks among the top ten in the world. And do you know how much tax the government earns from this (plus of course from tobacco and cigarettes which are equally haram according to many Muslim scholars)?

Okay, what happens to these taxes earned? It goes into the government coffers -- and we are talking about a huge amount of money here.

Next question: what does the government do with this money? It is used, of course. The government pays the salary of one million civil servants (more than 90% who are Muslims). The government builds roads, schools, hospitals and whatnot (which are used by all Malaysians, more than half who are Muslims).

So, how far are the Muslims prepared to go? Do they really want to be true Muslims? Do they really want to see sin and vices eradicated? Are they prepared to totally ban all forms of entertainment (liquor, beer and cigarettes being just part of it) that go against Islamic teachings? Are Muslims prepared to do what Saudi Arabia is doing to keep the country ‘pure’? And this would include a ban on interest-bearing loans and credit cards.

It is embarrassing when Muslims scream and shout about the issue of beer (or about the issue of a group called MLTR that sing tame love songs no different from Malaysia’s own Muslim singers such as Sharifah Aini, Sudirman, Siti Nurhaliza, etc. -- who they do not ask to also be banned). And when we express opinions that contradict theirs they scream about how we are insulting Islam, have no respect for Islam, should go and learn more about Islam, and whatnot.

Understand one thing, when we argue about a minor issue (and beer is a minor issue) while we tolerate the much larger problem we look like hypocrites.

The day one million Malay-Muslim civil servants throw in their resignation letters and refuse to continue working for the Malaysian government until the government stops earning tax money from haram activities would be the day I join my fellow Muslims in demanding that all forms of haram activities be banned.

Why are we so uptight about what others do? They want to drink then that is their business. It is between them and God. But if we earn a salary from taxes earned from haram activities then that would become our business. That would be when we should start getting upset.

But somehow that does not upset Muslims. They are not concerned that all these haram activities earn big money for the country and which goes to pay their salaries and develop the country with facilities that they also enjoy. They are not concerned that they are ‘partners’ in haram money. They are only concerned about what others do.

The Malay proverb about being able to see a germ across the ocean but not being able to see an elephant in front of your face rings true here.

That is the point in my whole argument.

Executive summary

No increase in excise duty leads to a better performance for alcoholic drinks

Alcoholic drinks in Malaysia posted stronger volume growth in 2008 as a result of the government’s decision not to increase any excise duties on alcoholic drinks for the year. Coupled with the rising affluence of consumers, alcoholic drinks thus saw stronger volume growth in 2008, when consumers who in the past turned to contraband as a cheaper alternative started to switch back to duty-paid products. Moreover, the increased number of female drinkers in Malaysia as a result of the rising number of women in the workforce also contributed to the stronger volume growth for alcoholic drinks in Malaysia.

Cocktail concoctions enjoy rising popularity among consumers

White spirits, namely vodka and gin, enjoyed strong volume growth in 2008. This was largely boosted by the rising consumption of cocktail concoctions in Malaysia towards the end of the review period, with consumers viewing them as a sophisticated drink and consuming them largely in on-trade channels during social gatherings. Cocktails are also largely favoured by female drinkers, who view them as being easier to drink rather than consuming the neat shots directly. New drinkers, mainly youths, also see cocktails as an interesting drink and a cheaper alternative than shots at on-trade channels.

Multinational players dominate

Unsurprisingly, Guinness Anchor Bhd and Carlsberg Brewery Malaysia Sdn Bhd were the top two players in Malaysia, with their dominance in beer, the best-selling alcoholic drink in Malaysia, as the key contributory reason. Domestic players remain largely present as distributors for key multinational brands in Malaysia, with those companies involved in manufacturing just present in “other spirits” such as ad-mix rum. Marketing and promotional campaigns run in both on-trade and off-trade channels were still constantly engaged in by players during 2008 as a means to expand their consumer base and reinforce awareness among consumers.

Supermarkets/hypermarkets command the largest distribution share

In 2008, supermarkets/hypermarkets were still the main off-trade channel for alcoholic drinks in Malaysia. This is mainly because of the convenience of one-stop shopping, particularly in relation to hypermarkets. In addition, several key supermarket and hypermarket chains engaged in a price war during 2008 that allowed consumers to enjoy bargains on their favourite alcoholic drinks easily. Independent food stores were the second most important off-trade channel for the sale of local spirits such as ad-mix gin, largely due to these outlets’ proliferation in rural areas and the consumer profile for these drinks remaining largely those on low incomes.

Positive outlook for alcoholic drinks

Over the forecast period, growth in alcoholic drinks is expected to be positive as it is still largely viewed as a drink for consumers during social gatherings and as a stress reliever after a hard day at work. However, government movements in terms of excise duties remain key to the fate of alcoholic drinks in the forecast period, as any increases are likely to dampen consumer demand for duty-paid alcoholic drinks, as they are unwilling to fork out extra for their usual drinks. With still red wine continuing to earn a reputation as a drink that is beneficial to the health in Malaysia; it will thus be the fastest-growing alcoholic drink in the forecast period, with still white wine following closely behind.

Alcohol consumption and prevalence

Malaysia, though a small country, is the tenth largest consumer of alcohol in the world. Each year Malaysians spend over US$500million on alcohol. Whilst the per capita consumption is 7 litres, those who do drink alcohol consume heavily. Among the drinking population, the Malaysian Indians who make up about 8 per cent of the population are by far the heaviest drinkers with an annual consumption of absolute alcohol exceeding 14 litres. Beer consumption in Malaysia at 11 litres per capita is comparable to that of European countries known for their high consumption. The easy availability of alcoholic drinks in coffee shops, supermarkets, sundry shops and plantations together with aggressive advertising and promotions are driving Malaysians to drink. The average age for alcohol dependence is 22 years.

There are two main breweries, which are located in or near the capital city of Kuala Lumpur. Guinness Anchor Berhad is a joint venture between Guinness and Asia Pacific Breweries of Singapore, itself a joint venture with Heineken and a local soft drinks company. Carlsberg controls the largest shares of Carlsberg Brewery Malaysia Berhad.

We have an active local spirits industry, which produces approximately US$43.4 million (RM180million) worth of samsu, the generic name for cheap spirits, per year. These drinks average 38 per cent alcohol and are widely available illegally from outlets such as sundry shops and private residences. The smallest bottle of samsu costs as little as US$0.36 (RM1.50).

In Malaysia, the biggest victims of alcohol are the poor, particularly the rural Indian labourers who work in rubber and oil palm estates. Here alcohol is a major cause of poverty. They drink samsu, (a locally distilled potent spirit) and toddy (which was introduced by the British during colonial times) Of the estimated 200,000 drinkers, 75 per cent are samsu drinkers.

The rural Indians in Malaysia look upon samsu as a scourge besieging the community, which has been worsening over the decades. They spend about US$5.5million (RM20million) a year on samsu. These drinks are packaged in small bottles of between 140-175ml and sold for as little as US$0.40–$0.80 (RM1.50 – 3.00) At such incredibly low prices, it is obvious that these potent drinks are packaged specially to appeal to the poor. A regular drinker can down six bottles a day, which works out to RM9.00 (US$2.50) or about three-quarters of his daily pay. In a month he can spend about RM300 (US$80) on samsu, which is about how much he earns.

Institute of Alcohol Studies 2006

Comments (51)Add Comment
written by Kathy, August 26, 2009 16:53:32
RPK, the only way these people can come round to your argument and point of view is when their blinkers are removed which, I fear, may be never. Or maybe they do agree with you secretly but, for political reasons, are not allowed to do so. Whatever, your eloquence and logic which enlighten us will be lost on them.
agree 127
written by Flex65, August 26, 2009 17:00:05
The answer is they want to do it, in fact love to do it but can't. So if I can't have it I make sure that nobody can.
agree 156
written by Bosan, August 26, 2009 17:08:53
And they should ban sports also, 'cause if we pay to watch them play, that's call entertainment also. So how huh? Then there will be no Lee Chong Wei, Nicol David, or Amri Yahya.
written by non conformist, August 26, 2009 17:17:00
Mark 7
15 There is nothing from without a man, that entering into him can defile him: but the things which come out of him, those are they that defile the man.
16 If any man have ears to hear, let him hear.
17 And when he was entered into the house from the people, his disciples asked him concerning the parable.
18 And he saith unto them, Are ye so without understanding also? Do ye not perceive, that whatsoever thing from without entereth into the man, it cannot defile him;
19 Because it entereth not into his heart, but into the belly, and goeth out into the draught, purging all meats?
20 And he said, That which cometh out of the man, that defileth the man.
21 For from within, out of the heart of men, proceed evil thoughts, adulteries, fornications, murders,
22 Thefts, covetousness, wickedness, deceit, lasciviousness, an evil eye, blasphemy, pride, foolishness:
23 All these evil things come from within, and defile the man.
written by lembu susu, August 26, 2009 17:20:48
I think every articles you wrote must be translated into Bahasa Malaysia for the benefit of those who are more proficient in BM. This is because most of those who are narrow minded are not proficient in English adn may not be able to follow what you wrote.
Thank you for each point you wrote worth the attention of every Malaysians!
Kudos!
agree 160
written by Susanna, August 26, 2009 17:22:44
Religion is a personal choice. It is his/her relationship with God. It is a matter between him/her and God. In Malaysia many people want to play God. Especially those people whose lips only serve God but whose lives another matter altogether. They play defending God to score points politically. If they think God needs defending then their God is surely but a small god. It is a shame when Muslims start to compare with other Muslims, the 'holier than thou' attitude. If God can be so merciful, why la, people are so petty and ridiculous over the smallest of things! If they think they score points with God, sorry la.. if normal human being cannot buy it, you think God can? kekekek...
written by hellosunshine, August 26, 2009 17:22:59
RPK, I shudder to imagine our beloved country without any form of entertainment. It's like being bombed back to the dark ages where the only entertainment is between the bed sheets. Make love, not war! smilies/grin.gif
written by SocratesI, August 26, 2009 17:23:25

None so blind as those who won't see, none so deaf as those who won't hear, and none so DUMB as those who would not speak out against EVIL !! Looks like most of the Muslims in Malaysia are very comfortably living the good life on haram money, and think they are good Muslims just because they follow the skin deep rituals of being a "good" Muslim !
written by defendermalaysia, August 26, 2009 17:24:43
So now we know actually haram money and corruption money is not haram after all in Malaysia and maybe for this reason PAS is not actually fighting against haram money or corruption but prefer to fight for a ban on bigger haram like beer issue, woman issue, woman clothing issue. Any logic?. Pas should answer this question.
written by SamSan, August 26, 2009 17:24:47
PAS's Hassan Ali and AMENO Youth under KJ are going to orgainze a mass street rally to close down Genting Gambling casino, close down Anchor and Carlsberg brewery, close down 3D, 4D, Sports Toto and other gaming outlets which are bigger haram than anyone person drinking beer. After that they will demand that all banks that charge usury and credit cards be closed down. Malaysia Boleh!
written by eeyaw, August 26, 2009 17:28:19
Pete, these people practice quasi Islam. Period!
written by jason, August 26, 2009 17:40:05
One funny thought came to me. The Ringgit we handle everyday, I believe pass through the hands of pork sellers (chinese being pork eaters). Would the Islamic authority one day consider these 'Ringgit' as haram/non halal?. Or would they create a new halal Ringgit?.
written by sorosapril, August 26, 2009 17:56:58
I remember in one of your article, you were saying TDM said more than 90% of the taxes paid to the government are from non-muslim or something to that effect, and all these money from the non-muslims are used to pay the government servants salaries and development of the country if there is any.

just like I said previously that could we say all muslims are hypocrite? then all Malay are hypocrite because Malay is forced to be Muslims.
written by cheemengwong, August 26, 2009 19:20:26
Hypocrites .....munafiqs in our midst. Sadly they are the leaders an policy makers. Sad
written by educationist, August 26, 2009 19:25:44
Head on! -my dear RPK.
But reality is not what those hypocrites want to see!
They want us to see only their slanted bias view of reality.
They still have not learnt that in this age and time, they can claim till the sun rises in the west that it is the sun that goes round the earth, it will be the fools and imbeciles that will agree with them!
written by cheemengwong, August 26, 2009 19:35:20
HYPOCRITES....

NIV
"Woe to you, teachers of the law and Pharisees, you hypocrites! You are like whitewashed tombs, which look beautiful on the outside but on the inside are full of dead men's bones and everything unclean.

NAS©
"Woe to you, scribes and Pharisees, hypocrites! For you are like whitewashed tombs which on the outside appear beautiful, but inside they are full of dead men's bones and all uncleanness.

ISV©
"How terrible it will be for you, scribes and Pharisees, you hypocrites! You are like whitewashed tombs that look beautiful on the outside but inside are full of dead people's bones and every kind of impurity.

GWT©
"How horrible it will be for you, scribes and Pharisees! You hypocrites! You are like whitewashed graves that look beautiful on the outside but inside are full of dead people's bones and every kind of impurity.

KJV
Woe unto you, scribes and Pharisees, hypocrites! for ye are like unto whited sepulchres, which indeed appear beautiful outward, but are within full of dead men's bones, and of all uncleanness.

Something Jesus said about HYPOCRITES... I don't know if it fits our present day hypocrites...
written by malgal, August 26, 2009 19:52:19
in the bible, that is akin to seeing the speck in a brother's eye and missing the plank in yours.

written by Qcumber, August 26, 2009 20:00:13
we appear to be preoccupied with a mosquito bite when the patient is suffering from terminal cancer and just had a massive heart attack on top of that. Why worry about something not life threatening when the patient is about to die?

This is because we dunno how to handle terminal cancer and massive heart attack. We must do something if not ppl will say we are not working. Mosquito bite also can lah.

written by Admiral Tojo, August 26, 2009 20:31:16
So the benchmark for being a Muslim (those who are at peace) is to follow the Arabs. That is why the hypocrisy and contradictions and the general confusion of all those who claim that they are Muslims.

In Quran, the book that they claim they follow but not understand, the advise is NOT to follow the disbelieving Arabs, for if you do, you will suffer the consequences of your own actions and be in turmoil. No need for words here, just look all around the World and see, those who are in turmoil and conflicts are mainly those who are Arab wannabes.

Many still do not understand and refuse to understand, as they have the fear of someone telling them that they have been conned big time and that their livesavings are worthless.

Islam is not the Arab religion and this argued and elucidated in Quran. IT is your choice.

I follow the Quran, enjoy my beer in moderation, try not to lie, try not to be corrupt, respect women as equal, savour life without being carefree and generally try to be a decent human being, and at most times I am at peace (a muslim). Oh I also do not bodek the Creator. Try telling this to that Harunsainy fellow and see whether he comprehends. I bet he would not.

written by bugisman, August 26, 2009 20:38:36
Guiness Achor Berhad. 30% malay equity for listed company.
let's find out who are the directors & shareholders.
http://www.gab.com.my/about/board.asp
who's DATO’ JAFFAR INDOT?
written by Admiral Tojo, August 26, 2009 20:42:39
Oh I forgot, go to mentalbondageinthenameofgod.*********.com for the arguments supporting my clear statements that the Arab Religion is not Islam as per Quran, as above.

written by A MI, August 26, 2009 20:43:44
Dear RPK
Did you know that during the Haj female pilgrims have been warned not to venture out alone in Mekah lest they be kidnapped and taken to some harem or be made a slave of sorts?
written by bugisman, August 26, 2009 20:44:07
Carlsberg Brewery Malaysia Berhad. 30% malay equity too.
hypocrites...
written by Beezee_Beezee, August 26, 2009 21:21:55
This is fantastic...No one man could write such an entertaining reality of Malaysian Muslim Behaviour. Thanks to you RPK. May Allah Blesses you and your famliy always...Insyallah.
To share more on entertaiment in Sport...Howmany Datuk(s), Dato(s), Datuk Seri and Tan seri that Play game of Golf that Don't Bet? Not mentioning those Ministers...you can see them settling their bets at the Golf Terrace... More to that they even play Ginramy after that for hours in the club house.......What have we become Malaysian Muslim?......
written by ST ALI, August 26, 2009 21:24:51
why all the fuss now. for years even b4 merdeka, malaysia never had this problem. why now? just becos of a bunch of morons, we r getting deeper n deeper into animosity. These morons who claim to be "holier than thou" r indeed a major problem for malaysia. If muslims r not allowed to eat pork, just stay away from it. if muslims r not allowed to drink alcohol, simple just stay away from it. just because one is not allowed to do something, it doesnt mean it shud be taken away and the others being deprived. grow up lah u morons. what next, one cannot sell pork in any shop becos the air will be filled with pork aroma and muslims cannot breathe that air. so where muslims walk by .......
this country has been beautiful more more than 500 years. dont let morons kill it. if by your faith you cannot overcome your so called faith restrictions, then there cud be something wrong. for that matter, too much of anything is definitely not good for anyone. let commonsense prevail and faith to lead on not morons. for a better malaysia
written by mansel, August 26, 2009 21:31:35
im a getting a kick out of this article becos im drinkin beer and reading it.. its always so entertaining reading RPK's article with or without beer! you da man RPK!
oh and im having drinkin session with my good MALAYsian friend's this weekend.. sure one helluva party that would be

Salute!
written by ST ALI, August 26, 2009 21:35:48
the way the so called "holier than thou" cows are going about is totally self centered. u r in this world, u r to face the trials & tribulations to live your life. there must be limitations and controls but not total ban just to please one segment of people. this is not heaven. drinking is pleasure dont make it a torture. there are more important issues to solve than to harp on peanuts.
written by talk2stop, August 26, 2009 21:41:35
The reality is that Malays and Malay culture are dying. They are becoming more like Arabs. Malays are about to extinct. That's reality.
written by PRman, August 26, 2009 22:54:48
I believe everyone should be given the chance to practise what they like/enjoy. Going to heaven or hell is one's choice, not to be intervened by those busy body!
written by OVERLORD, August 26, 2009 23:03:15
Yeah, Pas should focus more on how look at the bigger picture rather than focusing on a minuscule problems......What the can't seem to grasp is the fact that the ultimate responsibility lies with the believers and followers.Preachers and Imams are there just for guidance..The ultimate testimony on how good a Christian or Muslim comes on the day of Judgment....Man on earth are not fit to play that role....

Besides that, Malaysia is vastly different from the Saudi Arabia which PAS so desperately wants to emulate.... The local composition of various race and ethnicity provides for a very complex system of give and take, less that of a totalitarian regime which strives to implement their religious beliefs and understanding unto others...

Lastly,a heavy handed approach wouldn't make one more pious or religious....the best way for PAS to get their message across is still predominantly based on the grassroots level which has been done for centuries. The path an individual takes is totally up to his/her responsibility.
written by Vayu, August 26, 2009 23:28:42
Respectful behaviour invites respect. Disrespectful behaviour invites disrespect. This simple principle is lost on many people. They think that just identifying with one religion self-declared as the best alone would do. It is like saying that one is a lawyer just by dressing like a lawyer, with little knowledge as to how to practice law.
written by Oyster, August 26, 2009 23:33:14
how banning this-that-or-the-other exemplifies the virtue of a religion is beyond m. takde kerja lain ke?
written by Daryl, August 27, 2009 00:03:29
What is new in UMNO led Federal Government? At one point they need to know that going to Mecca is not going to clean your sins just like going to churdh every Sunday or mosque every Friday. If I am not mistaken going to Mecca is for you to follow the foot steps of Prophet Muhammad and learned the hardship he went through. The trip suppose to make you get ready to become a better person not cleanse you off your sins. A better person maybe you stop stealing if you were stealing before or not commit aldutery if you were doing it before. You get my point but I believe the trip to Mecca is one most misundertood trip by our politcians and civil servants as well.
written by Davy McChester, August 27, 2009 00:16:46
Dear RPK: If only 10% of the leaders of Malaysia had 50% of your brains,Malaysia would have been a greater country,surpassing all its neigbours. Sadly,we from being somewhere on the top ,now drifting to the bottom. All because of this hypocritical bickering who can serve God better. Everything is woven like a mosai and if you can find the starting and ending points you broaden your thoughts:everything is intermiggled ,you take one away,you will have to give up some you like. It is hard for shallow minds to comprehend this mosai.

Solution:

To make everything conducive as close to the real desert environment initiate satu lagi projek terbesar kesulurhoh Malaysia ,menjadikan Semenjung Malaysia into a vast desert with oasis ,palm trees,and ,not forgetting the ugly beast ,the favorite camel, try artificially to create sand storms so that everyone can cover themselves from head to foot. Think,dress up and live 100 % Arab style. Forget about all your culture ,force upon the population complete Arabization Make sure there is None of the great Satan's fast food outlets: Kentucky Fried Chicken, McDonald , Pizza Hut, etc. Keep an eye on the Chinese and Indians blokes for they may decide to turn the "dates" into alcohol drink. Better still ,make up a God edict and get rid of the haram blokes,Indian and Chinese,just like how the Jews were thrown out. All in the name of God. Hatred is a curse to humanity. You will be better off,by relaxing with a BEER among all your friends. Between the two,looking to the East is better than looking to the Middle East. The East has a better and higher standard of living ,more invention in modern times,more freedom for women,work harder,more peace.The Middle East ,said the great man Tunku Abdul Rahman,Bapa Malaysia, is always bickering & squabbling.

written by DontPlayGod, August 27, 2009 01:10:40
When PAS takes over the Federal Government, and starts banning alcoholic drinks, gaming outlets, entertainment outlets which present concerts featuring rock bands and singers, then that will be the day Malaysia will head for doom, like most, if not all Islamic nations. In Taliban Afghanistan, they banned all forms of entertainment, viz. TV, songs and music,(all types), movies, and even women are not allowed to attend schools or work in factories/firms. In Iraq, after the fall of Saddham, the Sunnis and Shiites are killing one another almost on a daily basis. In Sudan, women caught wearing trousers are whipped(which means all our immigration and policewomen should be whipped). etc. etc.

As RPK rightly puts it, if you want to implement Islamic laws, go all the way, and don't single out one tiny, weeny, mini item and talk big on that.

PAS is UMNO/BN's best friend. At the way things are going with PAS' Islamic policies, don't be surprised the non-Muslim votes may swing back to UMNO/BN in the next G.E. So to PR, please remove PAS from the Pakatan. Let PAS go to UMNO. Then PR will have a much better chance of winning the next G.E.
written by kustana, August 27, 2009 01:14:50
Muslim cannot drinks alcohol but can sell !
Not believe ? Then go and check if any Muslim directors
in the duty free companies nation-wide especialy KLIA and Langkawi
that selling BEERs and LIQUORs ! Really confused , right !
written by temanmu, August 27, 2009 03:29:11
If they want to drink, take drugs, smoke, gamble it is their business.It become our business if they don't pay us for the privilege of allowing them to carry on these activities!
written by macho, August 27, 2009 09:19:12
Dont worry there will be no baning of entertainment. Otherwise where is the money going to come from. Once you have taste the good life that money brings there is no turning back. Nothing to do with religion or race. Just human personal selfishness and greed. There is no denying this, the rest are just politicians talking and no actions will come out of it. So sleep easy tonite. smilies/grin.gif
written by quietguy, August 27, 2009 09:25:04
RPK, let's be honest now. Let's say that one day Pakatan Rakyat manage to form the Federal Government. And then let's say PAS proposes the dual-pronged move of 1) removing all taxes from production and sales of liquor and tobacco products; and 2) imposing restrictions to all Muslims working in businesses involving handling of alcohol. When DAP et al then go up in arms condemning PAS for the move, who would you support?
written by batsman, August 27, 2009 10:36:46
Actually war, murder, rape, supporting and supplying arms to rebellions in neighbouring countries and using C4 is actually entertaining for some people. So it is just a matter of classification which is entertainment industry and which is arms industry.
written by born2reign, August 27, 2009 11:50:44
These Muslims just sleep with prostitutes and drink liquour and ecstacy, then go to Mecca, go round and round, they forget all their sins.

Come home, continue to sleep around, have 2nd wives in secret, abort their own flesh and blood, take bribes, after 3 years go to Mecca, and go round and round to forget their sins.

Normal lah! What a laughing stock!
written by Muryadi, August 27, 2009 11:53:25
Kemenangan di Permatang Pasir petanda positif buat Islam

Tahniah sekali lagi kepada YB Ustaz Mohd Salleh Man, ADUN Permatang Pasir yang semalam diumumkan oleh Ketua Menteri Pulau Pinang, bahawa namanya akan diangkat oleh kerajaan negeri sebagai calon Yang Dipertua Majlis Agama Islam Pulau Pinang menggantikan ADUN Umno dari Permatang Berangan yang akan tamat tempohnya Disember ini.

Semoga banyak perancangan dan kerja-kerja memartabatkan Islam dapat dilaksanakan oleh Ustaz dan rakan-rakan dari PAS Pulau Pinang nanti insyallah.

Saya tertarik dengan laporan akhbar The Star hari ini berhubung pengumuman Lim Guan Eng itu yang turut memaklumkan bahawa kejayaan Ustaz Salleh dalam PRK itu turut datang dari dua kawasan majoriti Cina iaitu di Permatang Pauh dan Kampung Cross Street dimana dilaporkan yang undi calon PAS meningkat di kedua-dua tempat ini.

Bagi saya ini membuktikan yang masyarakat bukan Islam sudah mula menerima PAS dan segala propaganda bahawa PAS kononnya mahu memaksa cara hidup dan peraturan Islam ke atas kehidupan masyarakat bukan Islam adalah tidak berasas sama-sekali. Bagi kami di Selangor, ini suatu petanda yang melegakan bahawa usaha kami untuk membawa peraturan Islam ke atas masyarakat Islam di Selangor khasnya dalam kerja-kerja amar makruf nahi mungkar sudah difahami.

Semoga ini membuka jalan kepada PAS bagi bergerak ke arah melahirkan suatu jenerasi masyarakat Islam yang berkualiti menurut perhitungan al Quran dan Sunnah. Selain itu ia juga memberi peluang kepada PAS untuk membuktikan keadilan dan keindahan Islam kepada kawan-kawan kita masyarakat yang bukan Islam.

http://n32.********.com/
written by BurnTan, August 27, 2009 13:20:58
How come God need human assistant on discipline and punishing another human?
written by Raja Petra, August 27, 2009 16:44:11
Dear Muryadi, I, RPK, who is jahil, would welcome some guidance and enlightenment from you. Islam says it is haram to consume, serve, sell, own, keep, and profit from arak. Am I right or am I misguided in my view? All are equally forbidden. So, if one must not do ALL the above-mentioned, how can we punish only those who consume but not punish those who do the rest - serve, sell, own, keep, and profit from arak? And how can we 'eat' money earned from taxing arak (like what the govt is doing)?

Your guidance and enlightenment please, Muryadi!
written by jalapeno, August 27, 2009 17:27:53
I am not trying to offend Islam but I don't understand why some Muslims are so busy body about what other Muslims do??? Some Hindus and Buddhists do not eat cow, but if they do, other Hindus or Buddhists would not throw them in jail, they would just let God take care of his sins. Shariah Law, on the other hand, is acting on behalf of God. Before God makes his move, the people's law already condemn this person to eternity. WHY?
written by wass, August 27, 2009 19:17:20
DearRPK,

Congratulations! You have hammered the nail on the head! You have said it! But are those busybodies and hly peopel listening to your lecture? I just wonder!May I make my comments on certain issues??

1. Beer-drinking: If A wants to drink and B does not want to drink beer , then what is the problem? Why deprive others the pleasure of beer-drinking? Is this a democratic nation?

2. Singing and dancing: If A does not like to sing or dance why should he grudge B who likes to sing and dance? So, what is the problem? Is this a democratic nation?

3. Gambling: If A does not gamble and B likes to gamble, why prevent B the desire to gamble? So, what is the problem? Is this a democratic nation?

4. Bar and night-clubs: If A does not visit bars and night-clubs and does not like to work there, and B likes to, why deprive him ? So, what is the problem. Is this a democratic nation?

5. Jobs: If A does not like to work in outlets that sell beer,sell lottery tickets, 4 D, blackjack, and B likes to do, why deprive B the chance to work there? So, what is the problem? Is this a democartic nation?

6. Durians and apples: If A likes to eat durians and B likes apples, why should A bother what B eats? If A likes
to marry a local girl( durian ) while B likes to marry a white lady( apple ), what is the problem?

7. Trivial issues vs big issues: Why are you fond ofstirring up trivial issues like beer-drinking, smoking, gambling, khalwat, and ignore the big issues liek kidnappingt of children, snatch-thieves, robberies, staeling taxpayers' money, going on study tours using taxpayers' money, crime, transport system ( traffic jams ), national economy ( many nations are in recession means ), corruption, judge-fixing, case-fixing, landscam,University education .

Look at the BIG issues and solve them. Help the poor! Help the helpless! Why spend time peeping?

Who killed Teoh Beng Hock? Will the killer/killers stand up? Do not be a coward?
Do not think his life is cheap?

I saluet RPK for giving a good elcture!

S.H. Huang
written by Muryadi, August 27, 2009 21:05:59
http://www.tubeislam.com/video...TV-channel

written by CBP, August 27, 2009 23:46:39
dont let me have the chance to become very rich or powerful 1 day. i will destroy Malaysia, ****ing sick country and people.
written by Sabahfan, August 27, 2009 23:58:43
Sorry rpk, and the rest of U

It is a fact that islam and syariah laws are foreign to the malaysian soil, they are the pendatang laws.....

so these two should be banned from malaysia....
written by safetyknob, August 28, 2009 14:25:49
Fully agree with the article. Had experienced finishing 60 big bottles of Carls in a day with just 3 other fellows.