Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Lame duck candidate could have contributed to defeat

Lame duck candidate could have contributed to defeat PDF Print
Wednesday, 26 August 2009 10:27

By Zubaidah Abu Bakar (NST)

PERMATANG Pasir was a test for Umno of whether it has really regained Malay ground as it seemed to have in Manik Urai.

For very obvious reasons, it seems that this remains a perception. How much longer will be so remains very much in the party's hands.

Permatang Pasir seems to have been a wasted opportunity for Umno to have sustained the momentum from Manik Urai.

The party's vetting process of candidates is flawed, allowing its candidate to be attacked by the Opposition from day one.

Umno could have fielded a more credible candidate to represent Barisan Nasional and keep the momentum alive in yesterday's by-election.

Instead, it decided to allow disbarred lawyer Rohaizat Othman to contest as the Barisan Nasional candidate against Pas' Mohd Salleh Man, despite the issue of his disbarment having been raised the day he was named the BN candidate.

There was ample time to get a replacement before nomination a few days later to avoid giving ammunition to the opposition.

So bad was the attack on Rohaizat by Pas and its allies in Pakatan Rakyat that the BN machinery had to switch to damage control mode almost as soon as the Election Commission announced the candidates on nomination day.

Details of his disbarment -- misconduct involving a client's funds amounting to RM161,000 -- were revealed. The attacks on him were unstoppable. Even his private life was not spared.

Umno leaders had a tough time convincing voters of the suitability of its BN candidate, trying to prove his trustworthiness until the eleventh hour, instead of addressing pertinent issues affecting the voters.

Still, the win for Pas was widely expected as the state seat is within Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim's Permatang Pauh parliamentary stronghold.

But Umno, with the might of the Barisan Nasional machinery, could have put up a strong fight, slashing into the margin of victory.

With the majority lowered by only about 900 votes since the last general election which saw Pas winning by 5,433 votes, there is nothing much Umno could shout about.

There is no moral victory here.

Whatever achievement was made in Manik Urai can no longer be a barometer to show that Umno and BN is on a rebound.

Chinese votes also remained strong for Pakatan Rakyat in Permatang Pasir, contrary to claims by the MCA and Gerakan throughout the campaigning period.

In Kampung Cross Street where nearly 80 per cent voters are Chinese, BN only managed 300 votes to Pas' 942 votes. In Permatang Pauh polling area, only 354 votes went to BN compared to 875 that Pas had obtained while in Sama Gagah, Pas secured 1,397 votes to BN's 594 votes.

Permatang Pasir should be a lesson to be learnt. The candidate's background became a huge liability that the situation has been likened by many to "serving the seat on a platter" to Pas.

Even a candidate suffering from perception problem is enough to suffer rejection of voters in by-elections, what more one who is tainted and lacking in credibility. Umno has just got to learn from past mistakes and re-look its screening process.

written by chrisyong, August 26, 2009 10:38:08
The DPM really believed in the wind of change so he hand picked a typical UMNO character man and so he believes. No naive and brainless to be TOP politician. Can't imagine if he become PM by the choice of UMNO members. Mind you, definitely not the Malaysian choice! There are people like Zaid Ibrahim, Tengku Razaleigh, Anwar, LGE and many more who ARE SHINING as leaders..........the DPM talks nonsence and moves like a dinasaur, totally not relevant and out of the world.
written by DreamLady, August 26, 2009 10:38:17
Credible candidate from UMNO??? Rohaizat was chosen from among all the rotten apples in the basket. It does not matter which apple you pick, each of them is rotten to the core!!!!
written by gx27, August 26, 2009 10:42:49
Permatang Pasir voters voted wisely.

they rejected a wakil rakyat candidate who can even manage his own house and a convicted thief.
whats more when he is from UMNO.

there is no reason why the voters should vote for you rohaizat.
buy a mirror and look at yourself.

to elect a person with CBT to be their wakil rakyat is an insult to the intelligence of people in PP.
written by asguard, August 26, 2009 10:45:22
To barang naik...please continued your screw up spinning tales over and over..anytime, anywhere see ...whether you will be able to get...my foot, my ass! To those kaki bodek or kaki ampu..spinning for glory of UMNO / BN ...you fellas will be replaced once PR takes over... I will or shall requested that you fellas to sack form your posts!
written by Democrats, August 26, 2009 10:47:01
Zubaidah,

Don't blame the lame duck candidate. Blame the lame party. Blame the lame DPM.

Why not change your headline to "Lame duck candidtate of lame duck party nominated by lame duck DPM caused the defeat"

or if you still really want to suck up to UMNO and BN and maintain your delusional ways, you could change your headline to "Bar Council caused BN to lose by election." Blame others....never yourself.
written by zanie, August 26, 2009 10:49:52
That includes your very Party President himself! Don't you know that he is the most tainted of all? With the murder allegations,corruptions involving hundreds of millions in the submarine and helicopters deal, using government machinery for own purposes, what more could you ask?

Sack your very boss himself, he's the father of all the bad image you have! smilies/grin.gif
written by truthbespoken, August 26, 2009 10:57:43
Zubaidah, you failed again in tipping the scale with your spinning in UMNO's favour just before the by-election. Now you got the cheek to say "the win for Pas was widely expected". The bad side of your conscience must have worked overtime on you. You are unfit for the noble profession!
written by Counterpointer, August 26, 2009 11:11:48
Ha Ha, that's a lame duck journalist talking above. Lame duck journalists like Zoobaidah who speak thru her ar.se could also have caused the defeat. People just cannot tahan her spins anymore and the results are pretty clear; nobody buys the shit served by NST anymore, except maybe those NUTS who voted for BN.

Even a candidate suffering from perception problem is enough to suffer rejection of voters in elections, what more one who is tainted and lacking in credibility.

Now, now Zoobaidah, don't speak about your big boss Najis in the openly like that if you really want to look after your shit... I mean, rice bowl.
written by Counterpointer, August 26, 2009 11:13:13
openly open. sorry.
written by Mama Juwie, August 26, 2009 11:33:48
Zubaidah, why are you telling us the obvious?
written by krising1, August 26, 2009 11:50:18
There is something you can learn here Zubaidah. You spin doctors give UMNO a false sense of feel good factor when actually on the ground they are losing support all the time. Even Najib appears to be a weak leader with the other warlords having a different agenda. No different from Pak Lah in his effectiveness madam. You better recognize that before you lose your job as a UMNO spin doctor in NST.
written by thor, August 26, 2009 12:16:41
How come earlier u did not write that this was a lame duck candidate?

Didn't u congratulate Brutie on Be End, Ameno's loss? He is so accustomed and happy for such losses at Manik Urai. Maybe, things would be different (win margin, I mean) if Tun Apanama and Ahmad the Madcow were invited to compaign?

Try to minimise on yr "lame duck" articles also ok? Do more things that are productive ok?
written by mikewang, August 26, 2009 12:48:29
The reduced majority of some 900 votes is the slimy effort of SPR to hold the by election on a Tuesday.
Nothing to do with perceived gain of support for UMNO.
written by mikewang, August 26, 2009 12:54:43
I am also saddened by the fact that some 25~30% of the Chinese still gave their votes to UMNO and the disgraced lawyer.
PR should do a thorough study on this.
written by Spear Bing, August 27, 2009 01:23:58

Zubaidah - the flip-flop journalist from NST!

You are lucky MT allows your article to be published here. Otherwise your spinning tactical commentary should be washed down to the drain.

Your journalistic skills will continue to be blunt and stunted as long as you remain in NST.
written by Daryl, August 27, 2009 01:24:38
cik Zubaidah
LOL
Excuse excuse..... why don't go write another love letter about your UMNO this and that. Oh don't forget to blame the Chinese or I should say Malaysian. Please take the race out of this discussion because it is about Malaysian coming to a realization that we need a change. No matter who vote for who is not important but majority want change.... and in a democratic system that is very important.
written by Lipanbara, August 27, 2009 12:43:45
Umno could have fielded a more credible candidate to represent Barisan Nasional and keep the momentum alive in yesterday's by-election.
Couple of days ago mainstream media said he is a HERO and opposition is doing character assassination. Now aren't you doing character assassination of Rohaizat as well, albeit after the defeat..poor soul!