Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow Okay, what about this then?

Okay, what about this then? PDF Print
Wednesday, 26 August 2009 00:00

Stay tuned for the next episode in this series of articles when we publish documents to show how the MACC, PDRM, and AG’s Chambers ‘buried’ cases in spite of overwhelming evidence of crimes having been committed.

Poison pen letter fit for trash bin, says MACC's lawyer

The Malay Mail, 25 August 2009

POLICE investigations into the “mystery letter” that caused the Teoh Beng Hock death inquest to be adjourned last week have concluded that four out of five allegations in the letter cannot be proven.

Counsel Tan Hock Chuan, appointed by the Attorney-General’s Chambers to assist in the inquest, told the hearing yesterday that allegations not proven or supported in the unsigned letter dated Aug 5, said to be from Malaysian Anti Corruption Commission officers, are:

● That MACC’s Selangor deputy director (Hishamuddin Hashim) had instructed MACC officers involved in the case to not include him;

● The MACC Selangor deputy director had his own style of questioning.

● The MACC Selangor deputy director had given his DNA swab in his own room and not in a meeting room like the other MACC officers.

● That the same deputy director had instructed his officers to wipe off fingerprint marks from a window on the 14th floor. Tan said the only part of the letter that could be proven was that the MACC Selangor deputy director had not clocked out on the morning of July 16.

“Parties can question him later when he is called up. But the coroner should take note of the CCTV video evidence, which showed him leaving the building at 6.26am on July 16.”

Tan has no plan to bring up other contents of the letter, which he said were not related to the inquest.

On allegations that the deputy director had given his DNA sample in a separate room, Tan said Dr Seah Lay Hong of the Malaysian Chemistry Department refuted it as she was present when the samples of all officers involved were taken.

Tan said fresh samples had been taken from 12 individuals, including the MACC Selangor deputy director, which was witnessed by Dr Seah — and they were exact matches with the DNA samples taken earlier.

He said the swab tests taken from the 12 people, including the MACC Selangor deputy director, did not match with that of the unknown male contributor found on Teoh.

Dr Seah in her testimony earlier said she conducted a swab test on Teoh’s belt and the DNA profile derived from the swab taken at the tear region of the belt consisted of a mixture of male DNA types belonging to Teoh, one unknown male individual and at least another unknown male contributor.

Gobind Singh Deo, who is holding the watching brief for Teoh’s family, said the explanation should come from the investigation officer, not from Tan.

“I have the right to cross-examine the investigating officer, who must give evidence on this and the inquest should not make any conclusion. Some things we can say are true. But Dr Prashant (pathologist from the University Malaya Medical Centre) had said there is evidence of disturbance at the window. This letter contains very damning information,” Gobind said.

Deputy public prosecutor Datuk Abdul Razak Musa, who is holding a watching brief for MACC, said MACC’s stand was that the mystery letter is a poison letter and it should not be entertained.

“In the past, such poison letters were put into the trash immediately,” Razak said.

Tan said the letter should not be marked as an exhibit but be kept in the court file. Coroner Azmil Muntapha Abas later decided that the letter would not be marked as an exhibit.

“In due course, I think when witnesses are questioned and there is evidence to show that the letter is relevant to the case, it would then be marked. For now, it will not be marked,” Azmil said.

The MACC regards unsigned or anonymous letters as ‘poison pen’ letters fit for the dustbin. I was expecting them to say that and was waiting for this statement. And they have said exactly what I had thought and hoped they would say because this allows me to raise an issue that I have been harping on for more than two years since early 2007.

The issue I am talking about is the 12 Statutory Declarations that Malaysia Today published in 2007 and which, recently, we rehashed. These are not poison pen letters or surat layang. These are legal documents, sworn statements signed by 12 people, six whom are police officers. If they signed false Statutory Declarations they can be arrested and charged in court and if convicted can be sent to jail for quite a long time. False Affidavits or SDs is no small matter. It is considered a serious crime.

If the MACC is concerned with only legal documents and does not wish to layan (entertain) unsigned or anonymous letters, then why have they not looked into these 12 SDs? And, I repeat, six were signed by police officers.

Instead of looking into what these six police officers said in their signed SDs, the police are taking disciplinary action against them. Some have been arrested and charge for ‘abuse of power’. The government views these SDs as an abuse of power. What crap!

How do you expect the MACC officers to put their names to that ‘anonymous’ letter when those who did put their names, not only to a letter but to a Statutory Declaration, got into trouble. SDs are more than just letters. SDs are stronger. And they put their names to the SDs. And now they are in trouble.

Okay, the MACC does not want to layan anonymous letters. Never mind. Let us then publish some signed documents. These are not unsigned. These are not anonymous. These are signed declarations. These are exchanges of letters between government officers, Ministers included. Let us see what the MACC does about these. What excuses are they going to now offer for doing nothing?

Stay tuned for the next episode in this series of articles when we will publish documents to show how the MACC, PDRM, and AG’s Chambers ‘buried’ cases in spite of overwhelming evidence of crimes having been committed.

The MACC (PDRM and AG as well) is full of shit. And we are going to prove it.

Comments (36)Add Comment
written by Ulan Benson, August 26, 2009 00:10:11
MACC, PDRM and AG are all sharing the same underwear...like brothers!

Unless we have a new government, I don't believe there will be justice in Malaysia. Everything is rotten to the core now. Please save Malaysia!
agree 402
written by Spear Bing, August 26, 2009 00:37:14
For how long can MACC, PDRM, AG and the UMNO government continue to choose to take the path of being audio-visual impaired, pretending to be abysmally and atrociously ignorant of this state of affairs as revealed by RPK?

TRUTH and JUSTICE will be duly served in eternity. With the simultaneity and ubiquity of blogsites and alternative news channel via cyberspace, this crooks will never get away from the radar screen. The forces of evolution will see to it.

SALAM RPK.
agree 137
written by advocatusdiaboli, August 26, 2009 00:38:08
heehehhee..this is getting more and more juicier. Keep it coming RPK Sir. Whack these traitors of our nation out of shape.
agree 119
written by budakindia, August 26, 2009 00:39:28
They gleefully found Kartika guilty of drinking beer in the public! Now they are trying to reverse it without her appeal! There goes the whole of Malaysian judiciary into the garbage bin! I guess it wouldn't hurt if you pee in it too! smilies/grin.gif Hahahahaha!
agree 117
written by storm62, August 26, 2009 00:55:59
Who can we trust in Malaysia?

A) MACC
B) PDRM
C) AG
D) UMNO
E) None of the above.

those who got the answer wrong deserve a tight slap.
agree 272
written by Jan, August 26, 2009 01:31:52
There's no way you can change their way of operating because they are covering for each other. If any of them fall all of them will fall. And that will mean big trouble for them and their political masters. So they will go on denying, lying, cheating, covering and even murdering if necessary to achieve their objective.
written by 1351, August 26, 2009 02:27:42
They have painted themselves into a corner "budakindia".

UMNO and the Syariah judges are cautiously trying to find some wriggle room for they didn't expect Kartika not to appeal. If she had done so, 'they' would have pardoned her and omitted the six strokes of rotan.

My personal opinion - 'they' won't carry out the caning part of the sentencing solely because UMNO and the religious authorities can well fill 10 truck loads of Muslims imbued with alcohol any given day.

Imagine, all Malay drinkers to be subjected to the same justice that befell Kartika ! Is this secular M'sia as proclaim in the Constitution or M'sia, as governed by Syariah ? And do you think the late Yamtuan of Negri didn't have champagne over his annual X'mas party, for I'm sure Tunku Imran would have plenty to complain about.

No thanks to heavy duties imposed, drinking in M'sia is an expensive affair. Two bloody pints of Stellar Atois(on tap) set me back RM$40 before tax last evening. Last time I was in Melbourne, I bought a six pack at a 7 Eleven for less than Aust$8.

I would give UMNO and the mullah's credit if 'they' were to address the problem of rampaging youths, high on dope.

Ganja is relatively cheap in M'sia, coupled with synthetics in the form of tablets, drugs are easy to procure in most major locales. Funny how we don't hear 'them' addressing real issues at hand !

Regards budakindia and all.
written by Steven Tan, August 26, 2009 02:52:08
Guys, just imagine how will be the situation of those who wrote the "Mystery Letter" if he or she signed his or her name on that letter? The situation is UNIMAGINABLE. Atleast Tan Beng Hock "flying" from 14th floor but for the mystery letter writer, I think he or she will be made to "fly" from the roof of Plaza Wasalam without wearing the Superman's outfit aspecially without the red superman's underwear worn outside the pants

Seriously speaking, that person will definitely going to lose his job, lose his future and very high chance to lose his life, probably will be end up in prison, next door to the 6 police officers mentioned by RPK... That's how bad our corrupted system is..
written by educationist, August 26, 2009 03:14:32
Yes, please RPK!
Strike those UMNOputra institutions hard!
Strike a blow for Beng Hock!
Strike one for every rakyat who has been sickened by their unprofessionalism and abuse of power!
Strike one for Malaysia!!
written by Ben, August 26, 2009 03:38:45
Indeed, the pen is mightier than the sword! Boss, you have proven time and time again and yet they denied the truth you have dispensed without fear or favour. Let all Malaysians hold on to these truths and stick them belligerents to the wall as reminders, in the hope that future law enforcement will uphold their pledge to serve with diligence, honesty and integrity.
written by temanmu, August 26, 2009 04:11:52
The ultimate blame goes to the PM who retains the services of the 3 cardinals of sin!

Maybe those 3 have the PM by his balls (literally & figuratively)

Malaysian Justice is a laughing stock ... no credibility at all!
written by Badrol, August 26, 2009 07:26:20
Yes RPK, publish all the letters. Who cares about the OSA. Strip the MACC naked and fcuk them.
written by macho, August 26, 2009 07:46:31
RPK, there is nothng to proof here. They are full of shit. That is given. The problem is those die hard supporter do not believe it with or without proof. Nevertheless you should continue to highlight the crimes that this so called govt commit. The truth will finally prevail.
written by bexe, August 26, 2009 07:56:04
In a police state, there is no distinction between the those who make the law and those who enforce the law. As in this instance, the lines are blurred. This way the dictator and his cronies can do almost anything he wants to do in the name of the law and the police. Their disregard for separation of powers will put the fear into the people so soon people will be too intimidated even to question their actions. There is a clear sign that our beloved country is slipping into this horrible state.
written by temenggong, August 26, 2009 08:04:42
I'm sure the originators of the 'mystery letter' will now produce new irrefutable evidence to back their earlier allegations.
written by cruzeiro, August 26, 2009 09:37:22
Ha ha - this will be good!
Look forward to what's in store for MACC ...Can almost imagine the bargers scurrying like cockroaches to do some damage control.
written by malgal, August 26, 2009 09:54:44
heads they win, tails also they win!!!!

time to pluck them end to end, no?
written by Rozlan, August 26, 2009 11:20:43
Those law enforcement buggers will not entertained any poison letter that go against UMNo.Got it????
written by Rock, August 26, 2009 11:23:06
As analogy, lallang burns well when it grows to the fullest and blooms flower. Once it burns new and fresh springs will grow...hope to see this soon in Malaysia. Be patient, if Hong Kong can do it why not us.
written by batsman, August 26, 2009 13:15:03
Surat Layang has more credibility that AG, IGP and MACC combined, don;t even mention the PM yet. This is the sorry state that Malaysia has been reduced to.
written by AlwaysFair, August 26, 2009 13:20:14
Dear RPK, thank God for people like you who fight for truth and don't compromise or we will all sink into their "SHIT" and still reamin ignorant.
written by Taiping60, August 26, 2009 13:27:08
It getting more and more absurb by days. I think it is best, the top and the department heads of all MACC should resign. Let appoint those whom we believe are honest and uncorruptable to take those positions. From there, they should remove all those officers who were corrupted or inefficient. And...make MACC independent. Only then, we have some hope
written by cilimalaysia, August 26, 2009 13:28:53
a few days ago u challenge the govermento. they don't care abot it. abot te undergron purchase. now bot evidence of crimes. screw them deeply, mesti kena.
written by Reno, August 26, 2009 13:32:34
That's it Pete... Bring the noise...!!!
written by Fairminded, August 26, 2009 13:37:51
I am looking forward to next GE. Only with a change of government can we clean up the rot. The present government, after 50 years plus, is like a gangrenous leg which had to be amputated to save the patient - Malaysia. So PAS,PKR and DAP, do not disappoint us by destroying yourselves over petty issues like arbatoire resettling, beer selling etc which can be easily and amicably settled by discussions. All of us should not fall for the racial card being played by UMNO to the full.
written by Jit Dharma, August 26, 2009 13:41:00
Bombs away, Bro. RPK. There's a revolution going on and you're
all invited.
written by miwaki, August 26, 2009 15:27:49
Our stupid,incompetent and play fool government has no answer to RPK's statement because our government is indide RPK's pocket.The whole bunch of ministers which includes the PM become small kids when faced with RPK. 1 Malaysia my foot when RPK can kick your ass as and when he feel like it !
written by gogsard, August 26, 2009 15:45:55
Yes RPK, go screw them good and proper !!
written by clarity, August 26, 2009 20:02:06
Excellent! excellent! I am looking forward to your next episode. Will our MPs' please help to get answers from MACC and what have you. Let's see how they will wriggle out of this.
written by bknight, August 26, 2009 21:02:35
i once relate the way how a scandinavian country address the issue of legal prosecution on prostitution to an uncle i very much respected, i said " that particular country, goes after the buyer not the seller of sex that solve the problem". and i ask him then "why cant we do the same for drugs here in malaysia ? " and the answer is

"my dear, most of the addicts are malays, if you enact that law, most of them have to be hang" .

i am totally flabbergasted. are we doing them a favour or are we pushing them deeper into hell ??

i love my country..i want to see malaysian of all race succeed..but we cannot go on doing this ..it is sad..
written by joeawk, August 26, 2009 22:26:14
Just cannot be polite to the chief of police, macc n atty's office. They are mother ****er. They ****ed the very woman who gave birth to them.

Malaysians must remember their evil deeds and seek them out when they are out of office. Spit at them.

They are lucky because we are not as low down as them, or we could have made life miserable for their family members.

written by DontPlayGod, August 26, 2009 23:49:52
From what we have read of articles in M-T, the UMNO Government will only take action on those cases that will eliminate dissent from whichever party it may come from, cases that involve politicians who are a thorn in UMNO/BN's sides, and cases that may bring down some UMNO politicians. Even the ISA is used to remove critics of UMNO and bring down opposition politicians who have been very vocal against UMNO.

This shows that the A-G, the PDRM, MACC, and even the judiciary are the extensions and arms of UMNO.
written by DontPlayGod, August 26, 2009 23:51:06
I forgot to mention that even the MSM's like Berita Harian, Utusan Malaysia, The Star are also extensions/branches of UMNO.
written by binkah1, August 27, 2009 09:15:08
Dear najib, where are you at this hour when our nation continue to burn?? do something for God sake!!
written by lamakawan, August 27, 2009 09:31:29
The MACC lawyer has to speak the same language as the other departments, viz. PDRM, AG, and the rest of the UMNO controlled media.
Why speak the same language?
Because they are all under the same master, the mastermind of all crooks!!
Their master was one day pictured in Paris with a beautiful Asian girl dining together with a couple of their clique!!!