Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow What will the result be?

What will the result be? PDF Print
Tuesday, 25 August 2009 17:29

What do you think we shall see in the next few hours when the result of the Permatang Pasir by-election is announced? Insert your forecast in the comments section below.

Some in Umno give PAS a mere few hundred-vote majority.

Others in Umno say PAS will win with a majority of about 2,000 votes.

PAS expects to win with a majority of 2,500 votes.

The Chinese betting syndicate are placing odds of 3,500 votes in favour of PAS.

Yesterday, RPK forecasted a majority of 4,000 votes for PAS (http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/26041/1/).

Comments (46)Add Comment
written by Badaksumbu, August 25, 2009 17:35:46
In that case Badaksumbu gives 4500 to PAS la! majority
written by JJays, August 25, 2009 17:35:48
My prediction! PAS will win by 3,500 maj.
written by shamadz72, August 25, 2009 17:37:19
I target PAS to win with reduce majority of 1,800 votes.

I expect whatever the result going to be, UMNO will always spin it as if it is a win for them. I won't be surprised if UMNO dude going to congratulate each other for managing to get a 2nd place for the consecutive 7 times. That is the level UMNO has been reduced to be smilies/smiley.gif

written by billykbk, August 25, 2009 17:37:21
The result will be: BN trounced in Permatang Pasir. Majority 5,800 votes. Why more? Because they threw Teoh Beng Hock out of the MACC's building's window. Teoh's ghost haunting them. Don't believe?
written by boeytahan, August 25, 2009 17:37:31
If the betting syndicate dares to predict 3500, then I'll another 10% towards their safety line. My prediction is around 4000 votes in favour of PAS.
written by SocratesI, August 25, 2009 17:41:03

I am more for 5,000 majority for PAS. With such a colourful and dishonest record, the BN candidate is a distinct liability to his Utterly Moronic Nazi Organization, who have obviously no good men to offer for election ! What a bankrupt party UMNO is !!
written by MAMR, August 25, 2009 17:41:36
Whatever the result is as long as PR win,it is a win.The most important thing is RAKYAT are NOT DECEIVED by all the propaganda as spread by UMNO/BN.By doing that will send a very clear message that UMNO/BN STILL need to have a proper bath to clean all the dirtiness done by them
written by Argus Eye, August 25, 2009 17:42:14
PAS to win by 4250
written by hellosunshine, August 25, 2009 17:42:23
PAS will win with an increased majority even tho PAS' own 'leaders' had consciously attempted to sabo their own party for reasons best known to themselves and BN. The non Malays will still vote PAS. smilies/wink.gif
written by Raizzen, August 25, 2009 17:43:02
What with Khairy forecasting his own 3000 something phantom voters and all. Am more on the conservatives side of the fan - A few hundreds majority.
written by C360, August 25, 2009 17:43:49
5000 margin in favor of PAS
written by anakkbatas, August 25, 2009 17:47:56
My prediction is 3888.........?
written by justinlian, August 25, 2009 17:51:31
I think the margin should be around 4500.
written by peaceguy08, August 25, 2009 17:53:46
Choose the gamblers' prediction - they are right more often than not - 3500 in favour of PAS.
written by Kampong, August 25, 2009 17:58:11
BN is already at the bottom, it can't be worse even if it loses, but PR will have great difficulty should it lose.

PKR has a lot of closet UMNO members, DAP has some frogs ready to back stab, and PAS candidates seem to have a penchant for artery clogging food and not enough exercise. It will be a long struggle ahead any way you slice it.
written by justice6, August 25, 2009 17:58:53
hmm.. I think bn will "buat kuda", so bn will win this round by 250 votes...
written by billykbk, August 25, 2009 18:01:32
PAS leading 700over against 300over
written by shissun, August 25, 2009 18:03:32
I wish B-END to lose its deposit, got less than 1/8 of the total votes, but can or not? Just wish only like I always wish for a fair and just Malaysia nation. Won't happen in my lifetime but it will happen!
written by me_in, August 25, 2009 18:03:49

PAS will win by a moajority of 2785 votes.
Why dont someone aponsor a little prize for the nearest forecast.
written by shissun, August 25, 2009 18:06:35
Not fun to bet because it happens in PR area. I will bet big if it happens in BN area. How about Zambry's Pangkor seat, wish he is drop dead suddenly tonight. Then I will bet really BIG for PR victory.
written by slash n burn, August 25, 2009 18:08:28
PAS, 2800 majority
written by rajven72, August 25, 2009 18:09:28
PAS will WIN by 5500 vote.
written by miwaki, August 25, 2009 18:13:40
PAS win with 5000 majority,UMNO/BN proposes Najib to be sacked for the lost.
written by billykbk, August 25, 2009 18:13:56
PAS leading 800over majority
written by Wisdom above, August 25, 2009 18:15:38
Pas win by 5,172- vote majority !
written by Bosan, August 25, 2009 18:17:47
I'll go for Pas with 6000 majority. Sounds crazy? It could happen.
written by mountainking, August 25, 2009 18:23:31
let's look at % of vote instead of majority votes due to lower turnout crowd on a working day.

i am confident that PAS can get 68% of total vote. If you insist of majority votes

68% of 14,832 = 10085 (PAS)
32% of 14,832 = 4747 (UMNO, loser)

5338 majority. if this time round PAS can get 68%, i think it's even better than last round.

And another issue, PAS please don't behave like UMNO when you have power. what is this hassan ali doing in selangor and PAS youth leader calling for protest of MLTR. Please don't forget that this country is multi-religious country with many muslims and non-muslims want to watch concert.

Do not protest for nothing.
written by hiiijack, August 25, 2009 18:23:57
PAS 5,000 and above.
written by ngiuchap, August 25, 2009 18:24:28
PAS wins by 4,450 votes majority
written by eeyaw, August 25, 2009 18:25:19
Pete, I wager PAS to get 10,000 while umno 7,000 for a majority of 3,000.
written by agadam magadam, August 25, 2009 18:29:57
PAS will win by approx 4,500 to 4,800 votes majority...

anilnetto's blog is giving live coverage...

If by now, the BN dogs have left for KL, with their tails between the legs, then we know the approx results with the majority..
if they leave for KL later, smaller the margin.... Have they left already..??

Tak malu - BN... Waiting to hear RPK's comment on the elections, later...
written by bknight, August 25, 2009 18:41:30
it exceed 4000 majority votes by now..
so let's see if will breach the 5000 mark

Pete..are u the unknown math genius that we should have all this while ?? smilies/tongue.gif
written by Raja Petra, August 25, 2009 18:44:05
I predicted a 15,000 voter turnout. Actual turnout is only 14,832. Sheesh...I was off by 168 votes. Damn!
written by banjarbp, August 25, 2009 18:44:13
PAS will win by more that 1 vote ....hehehe. Mahfuz only wants to win with ONE vote.
written by cpk, August 25, 2009 18:50:56
PAS won by 2800-3000 votes. Congrats.....
written by wongnoball, August 25, 2009 19:00:26
4 3 2 1.....to PAS....Ka BOOM time to Start Obliterating UMNO-BN.

Actually I am awaiting Muntahdin and Najis Victory Dance and SPIN for me to Taruh!!

Meanwhile Wear Blacka nd Fly a BLACK FLAG on 31 August 2009......Malaysia IS IN H1N1 PANDEMIC CHAOS......remember the USJ 12 School teacher death, the LIES and Attempt to cover up is SHOCKING. They care not for your Life or Well Being. UMNO kejam ideology is to manage your anger......Show them on 31 August in Black all over Malaysia...then we start REVOLUTION!!
written by rajafarouk, August 25, 2009 20:24:01
Pas will win by 3000 votes...easy.
written by penangite, August 25, 2009 20:57:16
Mainstream and alternative media which reported that PAS won with reduced 900 majority are not comparing apple with apple. Out of total number of voters (20,350), the number who came out in 2008 are 16,803, the majority then was 5,433 and therefore then percentage won was 32.33%. The number who came out in 2009 are 14,876, with a majority of 4551 and therefore the percentage of victory is 30.59%. The actual drop, therefore, is ONLY 1.74%, hardly even 2% drop.

Why are the reporters nowadays so damn lazy to calculate a bit more. Sigh....
written by chaimah, August 25, 2009 21:16:20
Congratulations to PAS for big win but before we get too excited let's ponder what all this means. Two big questions need to be asked?

1) The opposition put up a candidate that was disbarred and a host of other accusations hurled at him, yet he still managed to get almost 35% of the votes. How did he managed to get so many votes? Does it mean it does not matter what sort of candidate a party puts up, the people will vote for the party not the person. So moral of the story, if you want to become a politician all you have to do is go a constituent and put yourself up as a candidate for the strong party in that constituency and you will have a damn good
chance of winning.

2) Why did BN put up such a dubious candidate.? Would they have done better with a cleaner candidate, I doubt it. What does this imply? I think the answer is just like the above. The moral of the story - you can still win even if you are not clean.

It is so obvious that people vote for the party, you can put up a Monkey as a candidate and the Monkey will win if the Mokey represents the right party.

People vote for the Party's policies and promises, if PKR can get this right they will win hands down in next GE
written by Ben, August 25, 2009 21:52:09
Boss, your predictions damn cun already 1.12% error is also within scientific or military AQL tolerance level. Congratulations! Yea, yea, we win again!
written by Mirage, August 25, 2009 22:09:42
"Si Beh Chun" - Damm Accurate
written by gPanadam, August 25, 2009 23:29:07
I am surprise none of the BN's MPs die!? What is the use of having by-election when we do not gain an additional voice either in the state or Federal level? May be I shud include in my daily prayer for some BN MPs to die... So at least by-election would really tilt the dacing!
written by magickriver, August 26, 2009 00:50:58
Very happy for Salleh Man, PAS and Pakatan Rakyat. BUT... are Umno supporters so desperate they will actually give 5,000 votes to a discredited candidate? Sad and shocking state of affairs, don't you agree, when you consider that there are entities like Rocky Bru who will spin for Jibby just for a few extra bucks...
written by Badaksumbu, August 26, 2009 01:26:31
See Badaksumbu's prediction 1st entry on top that PAS majority is 4500?