Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Press Statement by the Kg Buah Pala Residents Association

Press Statement by the Kg Buah Pala Residents Association PDF Print
Tuesday, 25 August 2009 11:05

By Tharmaraj, Assistant secretary, KBP Rsidents Association

Lim Guan Eng has stated that he has washed his hands off this issue. But we live here, we have to find a solution for our problems with or without the State Government’s help. It is most unfortunate for a Chief Executive of a State Government to take this negative stand against its rakyat.

Nevertheless we will proceed.

We have decided we will talk to whoever will help us to resolve this issue. This includes the Koperasi to whom the land has been sold by the State Government. We will propose to them that they should consider sharing the land with us so we can retain a Heritage village, even though a smaller one. We are hopeful that the Koperasi will want to talk to us and to resolve this matter amicably, something that the Developer and the State Government has not been able to do up to now. We will be doing this on our very own initiative without the assistance of any political party.

We are reasonable people and we do not seek the double storey houses worth RM500,000 that Lim Guan Eng and his supporters have been talking about. Their objective in doing this is to turn public opinion away from us by making us look like a greedy set of people. What we seek is only to retain our land and our way of life. If we can negotiate a portion of the land from the Koperasi, we will build it up into a Heritage Village.

If we are able to get the Koperasi to agree to sell a portion of the land through our negotiation at a price that is reasonable and which is within the State Governments budget to buy and build on, the State Government should not now start to give some reason and deny us this opportunity again.

We are hopeful that the State Government will work along with us on this solution if it comes to pass. We hope that the State Government will not give any more reasons like bad precedents or that the villagers are being too greedy or arrogant and other such reasons. Here is an opportunity we are creating for the State Government to show to the multiracial society of Penang its sincerity in wanting to take care of the interests of all its citizens.

Comments (42)Add Comment
written by shamadz72, August 25, 2009 11:15:38
The day you guys go and see Muhyiddin and actively campaigning for BN is tghe day we are no longer interested with your greedy agenda. Go and fly kite. I can't wait to see the bulldozer start its work. Good riddance!

agree 242
written by mansel, August 25, 2009 11:16:55
Thamaraj, go and ask Semi Bulu to help you, he said he can give millions what.. so what happen now ? you greedy farker, how much did MIC give you to betray KBP poor people and blame PR gov for it ?
All KBP people should kick this fella and check his bank account!
agree 190
written by magen, August 25, 2009 11:18:05
Hey association I am INDIAN also, why ask state Goverment go ans askyour Big Brother Samy Vellu, He is behind this misery, you greedy Cowboys
agree 176
written by rpremkumar2u, August 25, 2009 11:24:22
Tharmaraj, you got another residence right?
written by Ulan Benson, August 25, 2009 11:24:40
You said you are in good hand with Moohideen, so we wish you all the best la... smilies/grin.gif

How do help you when you 'snake here and there?'
agree 150
written by johanssm, August 25, 2009 11:31:53
what types of compensation do you really wants? 10 million?
Go and beg from bn who stole your land.
Maybe they will gives you 10 million.
agree 128
written by Arowana, August 25, 2009 11:34:24
Still want to ask State Government to pay for so called "their land"?? WTF !!!
written by smalluncle, August 25, 2009 11:42:04
Hello, penduduk Buah Kepala, Istana Zak ada manyak bilik, sila pindah sana cepat cepat.

(compliment from Moo Hee Din) smilies/shocked.gif
written by krising1, August 25, 2009 11:42:12
Sorry you guys. You are on your own now. I do not like the way you all treated LGE and Prof Ramasamy. They have paid attention to your problems as they promised. They even found a solution which you all rejected. That was a good time to wash off their hands. You have lost all sympathy from the the right thinking people. Now you go and see Moo-Hee-Din, Samy Velu, the BN/MIC spin doctor Baradhan and all the NGOs who are supporting you. Let us see who can give you a better deal.
agree 174
written by wildbil, August 25, 2009 11:43:13
Hi Tharmaraj,

What actually you want?

Your first paragraph stated you do not want the state govt to help.

But you last paragraph you want the state govt. to pay for the land.

Make up your mind lah.
agree 147
written by temenggong, August 25, 2009 11:47:52
It's an excellent initiative by the villagers to negotiate directly with the koperasi without any involvement by any political parties.
written by gwc, August 25, 2009 11:49:53
who is the one that sold your heritage land in the first place? Koh Sue Koon UMNO BN and seconded by MIC samy vellu. Now you turn to them for help; surely they will put up a good wayang to please u all. Then at the end u will kiss n lick their ass. Where is ur pride and principle KBP people???????
written by shamadz72, August 25, 2009 11:50:51
Temenggong,

Yes. It is a good initiative to negotiate directly with the Koperasi, but be prepared of going out empty handed. smilies/smiley.gif

written by farah, August 25, 2009 11:58:05
WHAT 'HERITATE' ARE YOU PEOPLE ARE TALKING ABOUT? KEEPING A COWBOY TOWN OWN BY INDIANS.

THINK ABOUT IT...PLEASE MAKE USE OF YOUR STUBORN HEADS TOGETHER WITH YOUR HEADSTONG BY MEANS OF EDUCATING YOUR CHILDREN, GET THEM OUT OF COWBOY TOWN, MAKE THEM TO LEAD DECENT LIFE TOGETHER WITH REST OF OTHER RACES WHOM HAS LONG MUCH AWAKEN!
written by joseph81, August 25, 2009 12:03:58
you are neither here nor there, a man cannot worship two gods as our god is a jealous god. Whatever happen to you guys you deserved it as your action had said it all
written by utuhganal, August 25, 2009 12:09:45
To the residents of KBP

Be reasonable. This whole episode did not start after March 8, 2008.

The deal to develop KBP were concluded well before the last GE when Penang was under the clutches of Gerakan/BN. It is just unfortunate that PR are burdened with the task of cleansing the sins of Koh Soh Koon and company.

PR have done their best to help. If PR holds the Federal kitty, then you residents of KBP can demand even a million ringgit compensation each. Such amounts are peanuts to the federal government. What's there to moan if BN could just close both eyes to the inflated cost of military, health and other related equipments.

Penang state government is not rich and LGE is trying his best to manage. You all should support him and not be greedy like 'anjing dengan bayang-bayang'. Sudahnya gigit jari.
written by avj, August 25, 2009 12:22:14
Isn't UMNO Bahru helpful,beleaguered Kampong Buah Palah villagers? After today they wouldn't even let you come near them.
written by Sunnysoul5, August 25, 2009 12:33:19
KBPRA going to ask Penang state government to buy back part of the land for the residents who will be legally evicted through court order?

It is more than the previous proposal of RM500,000 house as a compensation.

Malaysians are watching the turn of the event, and may emulate thereafter if KBPRA is successful in getting state government to buy an expensive land for them.

written by mikewang, August 25, 2009 12:37:25
Dear Tharmaraj, Assistant secretary, KBP Rsidents Association.

Pardon me from wondering why an assistant secretary is issuing press statements.
Shouldn't that role be played by your president, vice president and/or secretary?
Do you have the authority to speak for the association?

If you want to negotiate with the owner of the land, go ahead.
I wish you good luck!

However, do not expect the rest of the people in Penang to go along with your proposal that the Penang State Government allocates some money to pay for the land you squatters want to share with the current owners since we can clearly see the partisan move your association took to publicly slap the face of the state government by going to the party which sold out you people in the first place in the course of a by election.
My tax money is not for back stabbers of a cause I dearly support.
written by borneoman, August 25, 2009 12:58:00
If we are able to get the Koperasi to agree to sell a portion of the land through our negotiation at a price,
why "IF"?go ,get your former cm to help you lah .....dont waste lge precious time,millions more penengites need his help.
written by Hello Keithy, August 25, 2009 13:06:11
There are good rakyat and there are bad lousy greedy rakyat. The Penang govt. has chosen to ignore and neglect the bad lousy greedy rakyat like the Kg. Buah Pala residents who are opportunists and running dogs. The people know the truth, so stop acting.
written by Kampong, August 25, 2009 13:40:57
Remember how these same people talked down to LGE when a deal was offered? They had press conferences and press statements, and they personally attack LGE. But the greed as most Penangites have accutely noticed, had turned the public opinion against them overnight. Talk about shooting oneself in the foot, really.

The greed and stupidity and back stabbing these people have demonstrated prove that they will feel very at home with MIC.
written by goldeneye, August 25, 2009 13:41:30
Hey Thamaraj, and the BN lapdog Sugumaran. You've abused, bad mouthed, and threatened the state govt so often when LGE and Ramasamy were trying their best to help you. After they negotiated double storey terrace houses for you, you greedy lot rejected it. Now they've rightly washed their hands and you want them to buy land for you. Why should the state govt use taxpayers' money to help you unappreciative villagers who used PR as a punching bag? Sugumaran said he will go and ask Umno for help. Go lah! Don't disturb the state govt anymore. You people have played politics, now you realize the people who can really help you are not the political opportunists like Hindraf, MIC and MMSP but the PR govt. Go and get help from those people who used you. Podah!
written by fairnessforall, August 25, 2009 13:46:15
Who cares what you think. You KBP folks have proven to be greedy selfish people and you now blame LGE for your predicament. You claim you are not greedy and yet when you were offered a RM500,000 double storey house, when you now live in huts, you were all still not satisfied and instead demanded for RM3.5 million a person. Are you people out of your mind. When you squattered so many years on the land and live free there, now you claim the land belongs to you. Proof it. So far it has all been talk but no evidence. If the land belonged to you all, why did you pay TOL to the BN goverment. So blame yourself for being stupid, greedy and selfish people. Now you will get nothing. You dug your own grave so you have to lie in it.
written by ganbing, August 25, 2009 13:52:37
Keep dreaming, KBP villagers who rejected the terrace house offer; you think the Koperasi want to share their land with you and have cows running all over their luxury condo? When the state govt was twisting their arm they had no choice but now they will show you the stick. So now you admit you are squatters and you want to buy the land with taxpayers' money. So thick skinned aar?

What heritage village? All I see are dilapidated wooden and zinc shacks which can be found in any Malaysian shantytown. Go ask the gutless but rich Waytha to help you. He led you down the garden path so he must help. He's sitting on millions collected for Hindraf.
written by fairnessforall, August 25, 2009 13:54:00
Why should the state goverment use the limited funds they have for you greedy people. There are more deserving causes. Since you went to Moo hee deen, ask the Federal goverment to give you the money, since they have stolen everything from the rakyat.
written by apa jadi, August 25, 2009 14:09:27
Kg. Buah Pala villages, you all remind me of the fisherman and his 3 wishes.

Btw, what happens to Suku maran? Shouldn't the chairman be giving the statement? Why the assistant secretary giving the statement?
written by Taikohtai, August 25, 2009 14:48:02
Dei Thambi,

Still groggy from drinking too much cheap toddy and samsu ah? You think Najis gives a damn about your pathetic demands ah? You think you got many many members that you can give Najis a win ah? You are thinking with your small dickiehead lah. BN screwed you buggers before and now you are going back to them for more screwing.....
written by johntyc, August 25, 2009 18:53:03
Yeah.. go back to your bully!
written by ultraman, August 25, 2009 20:23:43
Thamaraj,
Why come back to asl :GE to buy the land?
You saw Najib.
You bring your problem to Muhydin.
You negotiate with UMNO.
But you don't have balls to see Kooh Su Koon for help.
NOW YOU KNOW WHAT I SAY?
SERVE YOU RIGHT!!!
written by ganbing, August 25, 2009 20:55:20
The arrogance of this Thamaraj is beyond belief. He wants the state govt to buy part of the land for them and he says he is giving the state govt the opportunity to "show its sincerity" as if he is doing the state govt a favour by letting them help the villagers. No apologies for all the previous abuses on LGE and asking him to resign and go back to Melaka. Thamaraj, just go to hell or better still go and beg the Penang Umno warlords for help. I'm sure Ahmad Ismail will be all ears to help you. Fark off and don't bother the state govt anymore.

written by Wakeupmsia, August 25, 2009 23:43:54
You are asking for the impossible. Heritage land? Cmon. the World Heritage determines and decide, not for you to propose. It was very unfair to attack LGE, Ramasamy and the State. They tried their best. Their Best was taken for granted. Now, you approach the SAME EVIL, AMNO who took away the land, not YOUR LAND though. Good luck to you, Good bye to "Hindraf".

p/s : Used to support Hindraf 5 though I'm not an Indian nor Hindu but Hindraf has changed into "Hindrance" Very sorry, no more support for you. My humbliest apologies.

written by TwilightYears, August 26, 2009 10:06:03
At the initial stage I have given my wholehearted support to the residents of Kg Buah Pala. Though by law they have to vacate the land which they have squatted for many years - the land that have supported them to enable them to live an enriched life - they deserve something better when the land is returned to its owner. But after the Hindraf chief came into the picture to make it so political and that the residents have been barking at the wrong tree in seeking to put the entire blame to the Chief Minister of Penang, I have set aside my support that come to the conclusion that not only are the ambitious political animals like Hindraf chief, but also the residents are opportunist and their greed was so great that they would not take any compromise. This is indeed sad.

And now that they have lost their case in the court they are crawling back to the power (BN) whose leaders (one of them - the former chief minister from Gerakan) have grapped their land. This indicate the extend the residents would go to get millions out of the deal. And did Hindraf chief make any noise??? To many such action as going back to the snake (Gerakan chief) that bite you, you are pictured as double-headed.

I am from Penang, and would never in my life be able to afford a terraced double-storey. And this is given for free. The court should rule that the residents who have been squatting for years on this land be made to pay monthly subscription to the present owner and to the State Government for having allowed them to make profits out of the land.... for free.

So ungrateful fools. The residents are no better than the previous govt that rob from the poor. Morally, an ungrateful scum deserves no better than the lowest and the dirtiest animal - the pigs.
written by carribeanking7, August 26, 2009 11:47:23
Above is an ill conceived badly written letter by Tharmaraj.It has no specific addressee and an exercise in syiok sendiri while contradicting certain points, honestly its terrible- sorry to say that nothing personal.
Very glaring is how the letter begins chastising the state govt and at the end hoping it will help that too after chastising the state govt
and again hoping it will chip in to buy a small portion of the land what was he thinking when he wrote that ?
Yes its a good initiative by villagers to negotiate directly, but poorly conceived.

I volunteer to help draft a proposed appeal letter addressed to Thomas Chan of Nusmetro and hope someone can pass it to the residents representative to use,
(or modify to their needs) but whoever signs must also show proof that they are indeed the legitimate representative of the residents to the developer.
lets face it after adjudication by the courts on Aug 18, Nusmetro holds the trump card and can legally do not owe the villagers anything
the only thing that can be done now is to appeal to Nusmetro.
It must be humble, from the heart without rigid demands and appeal to Nusmetro's good conscience on a humanitarian basis.
An appeal letter must be written not a press statement- huge difference between the two.
The appeal letter written should not be made public, unless of course Nusmetro is heartless and refuses to give any form of compensation at all.

Sources tell me that PSM has also backed off and will come in only if the villagers ask, too much posturing from various party's
is making matters worse for the villagers, going to UMNO will not help either, except provide fodder for RTM 1 to snicker about
and the Federal Govt is unlikely to give original trust deed even if it exists somewhere in the shelves of Arkib Negara collecting dust, because of obvious links with Nusmetro.One must know when and how to posture , negotiate and appeal- The time for posturing and negotiating has passed, now the
only option left is appeal.

written by Rozlan, August 26, 2009 14:54:19
State govt offerred a double storey house worth 600K you reject.What else you want? So keep on la making press statements,ift hat could helped you
written by roadbarra, August 26, 2009 16:54:32
You give this people an inch and they want a yard.
written by Susanna, August 26, 2009 17:11:15
When people throw away a good deal negotiated on their behalf by the present governemnt when their land was sold off by previous government, instead of venting their fury on those who caused them the problem, they try pushed and demanded so much from those trying to help them! In the end, get nothing. And that to me is the right medicine for those who are greedy. They expect a bungalow huh?
written by born2reign, August 27, 2009 23:27:40
Kg Pala residents, you are fast losing your value for Semi Value and BN. You are only useful to BN if you can turn the Penang voters to vote against LGE. Now by your own greed, you shot yourself in your own foot. You are squatters, you who never purchased the land you reside on your whole entire life, were offered a house for free (of course some of you exagerated that the house could be built in Indonesia since it was not stated in the contract) and yet it was not enough for you.

Do you really think that Semi Value will be so concern with you once you lose your mileage to shoot LGE and turn voters against him? Look what happened to traitors like the Chinese Hee, I tell you, Chinese hate traitors. Really really hate traitors. Chinese are not as wishy washy as Indians who can change camp anytime, nor are they as forgiving and indebted as the Malays. I tell you, Chinese really hate traitors.

You are on your own. Enjoy the sex with Semi Value. Wham Bang thank you ma'm
written by gx27, August 27, 2009 23:29:27
you dun want the house, give it to me. i want.
you can stay in hell then.