Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Kartika makes police report over her caning confusion

Kartika makes police report over her caning confusion PDF Print
Monday, 24 August 2009 19:29

(Bernama) - Part-time model Kartika Sari Dewi Shukarno, who was sentenced by the Kuantan Syariah Court to receive caning for drinking beer at a public place, today lodged a police report on the "confusion" over her sentencing.

She made the report at the Kuala Kangsar district police headquarters at 12.30pm to state that she had not run away from the sentence.

The confusion arose while she was being taken to Kajang Prison in Selangor today to be remanded for a week before receiving the sentence, but was released 30 minutes later by officers from the Pahang Religious Affairs Department (Jaip).

Her father, Shukarno Abdul Muttalib, said three Jaip officers took Kartika from the family home here but sent her back half an hour later, saying the sentence could not yet be carried out.

Met by reporters at the house, Shukarno said he was told that the action was taken after the Jaip officers received an order from the higher-ups to release Kartika.

Shukarno said he did not understand what was happening and feared that the authorities might accuse his daughter of running away from being sentenced for her offence.

He said because of that, he advised Kartika to make the police report.

On July 18, Kartika, 32, was fined RM5,000 and ordered to receive six strokes of the cane by the Kuantan Syariah High Court for drinking beer at a hotel in Cherating last year.

She shocked the public by saying that she wanted the sentence to be speeded up as a lesson for herself and others.

Yesterday, Women, Family and Community Development Minister Datuk Seri Shahrizat Abdul Jalil advised Kartika to apply for a judicial review of her case or make an appeal against the caning sentence.

Amnesty International had earlier condemned the caning sentence on Kartika as it could jeopardise Malaysia's reputation as a moderate Muslim country.

written by hamid, August 24, 2009 19:51:13
Islam is peace loving, tolerant and perfect religion! But smilies/shocked.gif
written by PeacefulMalaysia, August 24, 2009 19:53:33
I wonder when will they can all the female ROLAYTIES who drink beer .
The Negri and Perak Royalty are known to do it.
So what is all this fuss about.
Grow up my MUSLIM friends.
Remember ONLY ALLAH can punish you.
written by PeacefulMalaysia, August 24, 2009 19:57:05
This is all a mockery.
Why dont you whip the MUSLIM who flock the 4D, Big Sweep and ToTO outlets
Grow up my fellow MULIMS
ONLY ALLAH can punish you
NOT UMNO
written by PeacefulMalaysia, August 24, 2009 20:33:22
Hamid, I agree Islam is a peace loving.
written by hamid, August 24, 2009 21:42:23
written by PeacefulMalaysia, August 24, 2009 20:33:22

Hamid, I agree Islam is a peace loving.

But Islam is peace loving and tolerant religion ! smilies/wink.gif PeacefulMalaysia Do you get what i mean ?!
written by ohie, August 24, 2009 21:49:16
Something is really wrong with PAS, I just read that PAS selangor is asking to BAN concert of Michael Learns to Rock...is this what PAS all about? Malaysians,what do you think?
written by temanmu, August 24, 2009 21:54:35
UMNO brand of Islam ...

but Toto and prostitution allowed! (Malay-owned businesses but Chinese face!)
written by sydput, August 24, 2009 23:04:37
kampung judge thought issue is too insignificant, but it reverberated around the world and put him, malaysia, syariah system and kartika on the spotlight. it is on bbc, cnn, you name it.
written by sydput, August 24, 2009 23:10:44
my only wish is for religious people to leave the others in peace. you go your way and we go ours. don't bother us as it is none of your business to do so. spend your time peacefully in the mosque, but please tone down the speakers as there were none 1500 years ago, and it should not be used today.
written by concernedinmalaysia, August 24, 2009 23:24:00
I know for a fact that the Concorde Hotel in Shah Alam is owned by the Selangor Sutlan and another Malay Datuk. They sell Beer, wine, and Liquor from their hotel.

It is a sin to consume, supply, or even handle alcohol as a Muslim, are they going to cane the Sultan???

Wonder how many Muslims own other shops that sell Alcohol?
written by SiHangChai, August 25, 2009 00:01:45
Again, there are political mushrooming in the sentencing. Id she is scheduled to be canned, then canned. Infact when the wohever authorities said the canning to be done after puasa month is all BULLSHIT. Ramadan month is the nest month to clean our sin and all our mistakes. If we commit any wrongdoing, then we should be punished accordingly, and any punishment received during this holy month is the best in cleansing our sins.

Again, it is about someone stupid and intentionally trying to protect the nation's face from international news about the punishment. Common on, UMNO, let the religion authority do their job, and this includes punishing those UMNO leaders who drunk and owe liqour outlets.
written by yellowkingdom, August 25, 2009 00:55:09
This lady, Kartika Sari Dewi Shukarno,has gumption. She raised the stakes for the authorities to punish her with a public caning to serve as a deterrent to others.

The religious authorities blinked first. They have taken her from her home, then sent her back prolonging her agony and stress. No one should be subjected to such humiliation and mental torture. Are they or are they not going to serve the caning?

She has suffered enough for her misdemeanor. She has admitted to it, saved the court's time and accepted the punishment. Just mete out the punishment and let Kartika carry on with her life.

Why did Datuk Seri Shahrizat Abdul Jalil advised Kartika to apply for a judicial review of her case or make an appeal against the caning sentence? Does she feel the punishment does not fit the crime? Then speak up for the poor soul. Why hide behind the veil of sympathy and paying lip service only? You are after all the Women, Family and Community Development Minister.

written by safetyknob, August 25, 2009 01:00:39
What do you recommend when the head of religion of a state & his sons are heavily into orgies with prostitutes, pressuring women for sex & getting intoxicated with drugs & alcohol?
written by Apache3, August 25, 2009 02:36:43
Ah yes... not forgetting those DANGDUT outlets owned by muslims?
written by Sutha, August 25, 2009 04:03:37
It is about time for her to cane both the Bangang Judge and the Bangsat Prosecutor.
written by samyraj, August 25, 2009 06:55:12
This is realy a stupid thing by caning a women for drinking beer. What about all those muslim that drinking beer. What about Azlan Shah, he is kaki botol. Are you cane him. You can't because he is the Sultan. There are a lot of muslim are drinking, from top senior govt. officers, politicians and down to normal people. That's their own choice and why are making that as law. If you cane that lady, go head find other people as well. Sure in one day you can millions of muslims thar are drink.Go and nail them ratehr then this women.
written by ekt tan, August 25, 2009 07:41:17
Drinking is haram, corruption is haram, gambling is haram. So please cane every corrupt UMNO members and cronies, shut down the Genting Casino, no more empat numbor ekor, no more welfare lottery and close all racing tracks. For those Muslims who chooses to indulge themselves Thailand and Singapore will always welcome them with open arms. All country exit points must stop selling alcohol, KLIA, Penang Airport, Changlong, Rantau Panjang to be included.