Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Resignations 'half-expected'

Resignations 'half-expected' PDF Print
Monday, 24 August 2009 11:07

(NST) BUKIT MERTAJAM: Parti Keadilan Rakyat Lunas assemblyman Mohd Radzhi Salleh's decision to quit and become an independent is no surprise to the party, PKR de-facto leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim said yesterday.

Anwar said Radzhi had been riddled with disciplinary problems and was also under investigation for making excessive claims.

"Even Kedah Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Azizan Abdul Razak warned him to control his expenditure."

Asked why PKR faced problems with its assemblymen, Anwar admitted that the party had shortcomings in its vetting process for last year's general election.

Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein says PKR doesn’t treat its members equally.

"We definitely have to improve and ensure our candidates are thoroughly vetted in future elections.

"Before the March 8 elections, we were rushing and evidently there were flaws in our selection process."

Umno vice-president Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein said PKR's policies had never been consistent and the party also failed to give equal treatment to its members.

Asked to comment on allegations Barisan Nasional and Umno caused the resignations, Hishmmuddin said: "Tell me who was the person who talked about this issue of jumping parties. Who was is that gave a deadline that the Federal Government would fall. This is all their political games."

Hishammuddin said it was best Radzhi himself explain why he quit.

In Kuala Lumpur, PKR information chief Tian Chua said the party "half-expected" the move by Radzhi.

He claimed that the first-term Lunas assemblyman was being queried by the party for under-performing as an elected representative and as an exco member. He said PKR had also issued Radzhi a show-cause letter.

Chua also confirmed Padang Serai PKR acting division chief Jamaluddin Abu Hassan's resignation but doubted its 200 members quit en masse.

Tian Chua says PKR issued a show-cause letter to Radzhi Mohd Salleh.

written by billykbk, August 24, 2009 11:14:55
This is not an obstacle, but only a thread along the path. Don't stumble PKR!
written by lamakawan, August 24, 2009 11:33:44
This is now a necessity for PKR leaders. A comprehensive filtering system is required for prospective candidates for the next general elections.
We cannot vote for PKR candidates if its leaders are not committed to vetting its candidates.
The very reason that we voters are against BN is because we had had enough of dirty play by them. And if PR cannot get reputable candidates, you are no better.
written by asguard, August 24, 2009 11:55:13
Do tightly selection process like PAS candidates..they are good examples never influenced by money politics! PKR... the public have still faith in you fellas...but not UMNO anymore ...they are too evil and corrupted till bottom core of the party... its like a canser which has no cure! Whatever msm media spins the story about PKR .... don't worry the public still will support you fellas...but with one condition dropped all those tainted with umno disease (money politicians) and have clean set of people whom is willing to give their best interested in serve to public in coming 13th election!
written by Wisdom above, August 24, 2009 12:00:16
MACC has a case against Mohd Radzhi Salleh's decision to quit ?
"Tuntutan perbelanjaan" beliau yand tidak munasabah & "Masalah perkahwinannya,prestasi kerja beliau " di Thailand were the factors leading him to abandon his VOTERs' confidence in him ?
written by ladasiber, August 24, 2009 12:26:46
Nevertheless, is he PR friendly or otherwise?
written by Remo, August 24, 2009 12:55:37
Anwar got to be responsible for this because he is the one who selected the candidate.The voters become the suckers. Can this Mohd Radzhi vacate his seat?Try another by election as an independent candidate.
written by AlwaysFair, August 24, 2009 13:21:35
Buying over candidates won't win voters hearts and are making them instead disgusted at being betrayed. What BN is doing is only a temporary shot-in-the-arm euphoria but their acts of corruption will become more and more unacceptable to the people in the long run. Nobody likes to be cheated!!
written by eskay, August 24, 2009 14:08:59
Isn't it good for PR to clear out some useless garbage at the early stage? and let's see if BN will be so desperate that they don't mind to turn themselves into a garbage collector?
written by miwaki, August 24, 2009 16:02:07
This Lunas chap should join UMNO and not PKR.I believe he joins the wrong party and now he finally made up his mind.We wish you all the best Mr Lunas !

By the way,Lunas is famous for its "fried ducks",I'm lovin it.
written by Ken Liew, August 24, 2009 16:13:36
it is Obvious, that when any of the Politician kena Case.... all they have to do is lompat to BN.. then case will be close....

Is BN a Criminal gang, lead by a CRIME MINISTER??

Agree for YES, Disagree for NO!
written by SiHangChai, August 24, 2009 16:18:35
This Lunas reps have only balls of a snake. He is so desparate for money and power and my god, 4 wives. A very gatal type he seems to be. Good for him to quit PKR, but quit as a reps also if he truly have balls of a jantan. Other wise, go and play with the UMNO leaders hanging balls. People elected you as a reps yet you betrayed them by woring with UMNO for your own goodselves.
written by mob1900, August 24, 2009 16:28:14
written by amoker, August 24, 2009 17:22:54
All the dirty fella are going UMNO way. good for them
written by Sembahyanglahkamu, August 24, 2009 21:41:45

KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK PR ....
GET RID OF THOSE ASSEMBLYMAN THAT STILL HAS THE UMNO MENTALITY IN THEM...
COME GE13 BN/UMNO WILL BECOMES "HARI INI DALAM SEJARAH"

written by macakmy, August 25, 2009 00:38:40
Dear eskay,
Though it is good that PR is getting rid of the garbages, it was major PKR fcuk up as a good vetting would have prevented this from happening in the first place. I felt sick when I learned that this man has actually been known as a good-for-nothing even before he was fielded as the candidate. This speaks badly for PKR and shows a lackadaisical attitude towards giving the people the best person to represent them. PKR better start showing some respect to the people and stop behaving like ex-ameno rejects.