PAS Strongman Mustapa Ali's Elder Brother Embraces Umno PDF Print
Sunday, 10 February 2008 18:39

(Bernama) -- The elder brother of Terengganu PAS commissioner Datuk Mustapa Ali has joined Umno, saying he was disillusioned with the so-called Islamic struggle said to be pursued by the Islamist party.

Zakaria Ali, 63, from Alur Tuman, together with 20 of his friends handed Umno membership forms to Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Idris Jusoh here last night.

Speaking to reporters, Zakaria, 63, said he had never been a member of any political party before but was an ardent PAS supporter.

The retired teacher said he and his friends decided to embrace Umno because they felt PAS had strayed from its founding principles to pursue the Islamic cause and was incapable of caring for the people's welfare.

Asked why it took him so long to join Umno, Zakaria said he had been following developments in PAS since 1969, hoping that the party would mend its ways, but was sorely disappointed, hence his decision to embrace Umno.

Asked whether his PAS strongman younger brother Mustapa knew of his decision to crossover to Umno, Zakaria said they were not close and rarely interacted with each other.

written by bayan, February 10, 2008 18:56:04
Go to Papa umno . Terjun lah luncai dengan labu labunya . He will be very happy if BN win and the price of oil increased and as usual barang naik . Sorry cikgu Pa don't be offended .
written by raven1958, February 10, 2008 18:57:34
Sounds like he was bought over....but still no guarantee brother will vote for brother.......
written by nanakassim, February 10, 2008 19:52:59
"...he and his friends decided to embrace Umno..."

Embracing Umno is equivalent to embracing Hadari, a religion of which the High Priest is the PM. I guess that makes this elder brother a murtad..........???
written by The dragonheart, February 10, 2008 20:01:41
If Zakaria Ali and 20 of his friends thinks that the corrupted UMNO are better than good for him...
written by Rozlan, February 10, 2008 20:06:56
Good timing to earn some money...Please observed his statement"The retired teacher said he and his friends decided to embrace Umno because they felt PAS had strayed from its founding principles to pursue the Islamic cause and was incapable of caring for the people's welfare.

Asked why it took him so long to join Umno, Zakaria said he had been following developments in PAS since 1969, hoping that the party would mend its ways, but was sorely disappointed, hence his decision to embrace Umno.

something wrong with his statement ain't it?? smilies/grin.gif
written by Flex Tan, February 10, 2008 20:37:36
UMNO SPICED IT UP IMMEDIATELY AFTER HIS NEWS (ON TV3 % RTM) WITH AN ADVERT "PELANGANG BIJAK, DUIT DAPAT"..... SERIOUS. I AM NOT JOKING.
written by educationist, February 10, 2008 21:05:21
Not to worry, there'll be lot's of news of all sorts of defections to the BN component parties in the mainstream media in the coming days. Let's just keep the objective of denying BN that 2/3 majority in mind!!
written by indianputra, February 10, 2008 21:25:10
The elder brother of Terengganu PAS commissioner Datuk Mustapa Ali has joined Umno, saying he was disillusioned with the so-called Islamic struggle said to be pursued by the Islamist party.
----------------------------------------------------------------
JOKE OF THE DAY!!!! As though UMNO is in any position to assist in the islamic Struggle..

Incik, just tell us how much UMNO did pay you for this move.. That we understand!!
written by thegodfather, February 10, 2008 22:11:01
Money talks. Money is bigger than brotherhood, religion and loyalty.
written by zanie, February 10, 2008 22:16:07
"WHAT DO THEY GET FROM PAS SINCE 1969?????? "
Not a contract worth hundred of thousands RM of course but a peace of mind. You know you supported the truth; you know PAS can't promise you wealth but PAS leads you to Islam;as a muslim that's the ultimate goal. You won't live forever in this world; you live to fulfill your obligation;that is to worship and follow Allah.That's what PAS tells you to, and it leads the way. UMNO gives you money of course,but it's their responsibility since they hold the government of the day and got access to the people's fund. But UMNO never promise you islamic law to be implemented thus it swayed from the truth. As a muslim it is compulsory to object this, by any means possible. In Malaysian context, by not voting it!
written by shamsulnizam, February 11, 2008 00:24:46
The retired teacher said he and his friends decided to embrace Umno because they felt PAS had strayed from its founding principles to pursue the Islamic cause and was incapable of caring for the people's welfare.

Does he think the money he get from BN is clean?? That's haram money. You will find that the money will be easily vanished... You will not going to be rich with that money...Insaflahhhhh.....