Future of Chinese schools assured PDF Print
Sunday, 10 February 2008 18:31

KOTA BARU: The future of Chinese schools in the country will continue to be protected by the Barisan Nasional government, Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak said yesterday.

Speaking at the launch of the state-level Chinese New Year open house, Najib assured the Chinese community of the continued existence of the Chinese school system.

He said the government understood the need and priorities of the Chinese community and one of them is the importance of their children’s education needs.

Najib later presented RM1.3 million as a special donation to 17 Chinese schools, including a private secondary school, Sekolah Menengah Chung Hwa, which received RM500,000.

The rest, comprising 14 primary schools and two secondary schools, received RM50,000 each.

The donation was a special BN allocation for Chinese schools.

Among those present were his wife Datin Seri Rosmah Mansor, Culture, Arts and Heritage Minister Datuk Seri Dr Rais Yatim, Transport Minister Datuk Seri Chan Kong Choy, Deputy Finance Minister Datuk Awang Adek Hussin, Higher Education Minister Datuk Mustapa Mohamed, and Kelantan BN Liaison Committee chairman Datuk Seri Annuar Musa.

About 5,000 people turned up for the event which was held at Dataran Lembah Sirih near here.

The crowd was entertained with a repertoire of songs from Mawi and Faizal of Akademi Fantasia fame and a lion dance performance by the Kun Seng Keng Association of Muar, Johor. - New Straits Times

written by Bennyloh, February 10, 2008 18:42:22
Simple tasks...this pre-election apology acts, to the Indians first,
http://malaysiancartoons.*****...akini.html
written by InEffective, February 10, 2008 19:53:50
malleable assurances conditional to your behavior and their pleasure.

guaranteed by who ? - politicians.
written by Bill Gates, February 10, 2008 19:54:44
Correct,Correct,Correct,.... semua boleh kau tim punya during GE ... after that umno mudah lupa ..

Give opposition a chance to teach umno a lesson
written by Angela Ooi, February 10, 2008 20:24:13
Everyday is 'goodies' day before elections. I pray that this coming elections willforever be 'coming'
written by educationist, February 10, 2008 20:56:07
Even a PM can renege on his promises, supposedly for national interests. This is the election season so all the sweet words will be there. After the elections, we shall hear another tune. But, yes, while the going is good, why not accept whatever goodies are offered. However , remember that if the BN has been sincere there shall be no need to dish out goodies just before the elections. At the moment the chinese primary schools are part of our education system and they ought to have been given adequate allocations yearly as per the national schools. So, vote wisely to send BN a correct message!!
written by PakPandir, February 10, 2008 21:26:35
The future is guaranteed. Of course, we know.
Education Minister keluarkan KERIS ... that is the guarantee.
written by InEffective, February 10, 2008 21:28:57
what is worrisome is the nation's high ranking official stating that you need to be protected.

After 50 years if you cannot protect the rakyat, even another 50 years will not be enough.

Clearly the rakyat better choose leadership that can indeed protect them.
written by devious17, February 10, 2008 21:35:29
smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif Oooi! that assurance is as stale as yeast on rats ass!! smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif

Go ahead and vote umno/bn folks and more schools will be closed just like the one in Damansara and excuses after excuses when the people asks the umno/bn gomen to honour their "assurances" from previous two elections.

Go ahead and vote umno/bn once again smilies/grin.gif

With the waving of a crooked kitchen knife in assemblies, NEP for "ALL" , clowns in the judiciary, embezelment of funds in the PKNZ, sending dentinst to the space for an inconclusive "test" , King of Klang mat deros.....you get the point, do you think this assurance is reassuring? smilies/shocked.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by ahmadbadrul40, February 10, 2008 21:50:48
We need 10000 more chinese schools and the BN can't give us. Please vote for DAP.
written by aiyomanaboleh, February 10, 2008 23:03:58
Can't even provide a mandarin teacher in a sekolah kebangsaan school, want to talk about setting up more chinese schools.

written by varvoom, February 10, 2008 23:05:48
bloodly, murdering thieves,giving little money that you have stole from the rakyat.
those money are not yours to give in the 1st place, it's ours!
written by qitaro, February 11, 2008 01:59:41
The true meaning of "empty promises" = "promises made before the general election".

Open your eyes folks! Don't kena tipu again!
written by burn22, February 11, 2008 15:33:51
schools??? you think schools will make non-bumis happy??? what a fool you're DPM!
im more on fairness and equality to all malaysians.
after 50yrs merdeka, we are still being treated like a pariah!