Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow Justice may be delayed, but it can never be denied

Justice may be delayed, but it can never be denied PDF Print
Friday, 21 August 2009 16:43

Such is the fate of the whistleblower. So, who dares come forward to reveal the truth while at the same time revealing their identity? And that is why the MACC officer chose to send a ‘surat layang’ or ‘flying letter’ about the goings-on in the MACC and the corrupt acts of the head of the Selangor MACC.

More than 13 years ago, a judge wrote a ‘surat layang’ or ‘flying letter’ very similar to the anonymous letter from an unknown MACC officer that surfaced a couple of days ago. This judge’s name is Justice Dato’ Syed Ahmad Idid Bin Syed Abdullah.

(You can read more about the man here but unfortunately it is in Bahasa Malaysia: http://ms.wikipedia.org/wiki/Syed_Ahmad_Idid)

Anyway, the bottom line is, this brave man exposed the corruption and abuse power in the Judiciary but decided to do so anonymously by way of ‘surat layang’ or ‘flying letter’. However, instead of investigating the corrupt judges mentioned in that ‘surat layang’, they investigated the writer of the letter.

They searched high and low for this judge (it could only have been a judge who wrote that letter since so much ‘intimate’ details that only a judge would know were in that letter). Dato’ Ramli Yusuff (now himself in trouble) was put in charge of the case and eventually he managed to trace the letter to Justice Syed Idid. Justice Syed Idid had in fact camouflaged his writing by using ‘bazaar’ language but the police still managed to trace the letter to his desk. They confiscated his computer and proved that the letter had been written on his machine.

On 1 July 1996, Justice Syed Idid was forced to resign. Nothing happened to those judges he accused. More than a decade later, the ‘Lingam Tapes’ surfaced to support what Justice Syed Idid had written in that letter. But, still, no action was taken against those corrupt judges, until today.

Can you see the dilemma that government officers or whistleblowers face? If you point a finger at those who walk in the corridors of power or serve those who walk in the corridors of power it is you who will get into trouble, not those people you accuse.

Malaysia Today has thus far published 12 Statutory Declarations, six by police officers and another six by civilians. The civilians are all Chinese. The six police officers have since all been hauled in by Tatatertib (the Police Disciplinary Board) and would probably be ‘retired’ from the force for the crime of ‘misconduct’. Some may even be charged and sent to jail for various imaginary ‘crimes’. And some of those six Chinese civilians have had to leave the country because there are bullets with their names on them.

That is the fate of the 12 whistleblowers that have fingered the IGP as the ‘Don’ behind the Chinese Mafia that controls the pan-Malaysian drugs, prostitution, gambling and loan shark syndicate.

In my case last year, I too signed a Statutory Declaration. And I signed it in the Kuala Lumpur High Court. I also got my lawyer to write officially to the prosecutors in the Altantuya murder trial with a copy of this SD attached to that letter. This was no ‘surat layang’ or ‘flying letter’. This was a legal document signed in the High Court and officially handed over to the government through my lawyer.

Even before they could establish whether what I had declared in that SD is false or not, the very next day the IGP and AG announced that I had signed a false SD and that action would be taken against me. Bukit Aman then hauled me in so that ‘my statement could be recorded’. In short, it was an interrogation session.

I challenged the police to charge me for the crime of signing a false declaration, as what the IGP and AG had publicly announced. They would then have to prove I had committed such a crime by rebutting my SD with the truth. I never denied signing the SD. My name and signature are on the SD. I even got my lawyer to officially send them a copy. So the issue of whether I did or did not sign the SD does not arise. It is whether what I signed is a lie or not.

But how do they prove what I had signed is false unless they rebut what I signed with the truth? This means the court would have to ‘revisit’ the Altantuya murder trial. In short, we would get a second bite of the cherry, which is what we actually wanted.

Realising I had laid a trap and that they had unwittingly walked into it, they dropped the ‘false declaration’ charge and instead charged me for ‘criminal defamation’. In a criminal defamation charge it does not matter whether what I signed is true or false. The truth of the matter is not material to the charge. They only need to prove that I did sign the SD and that is enough to send me to jail. And I never denied I had signed the SD. So that means I am going to jail for certain.

But they can’t charge me for criminal defamation. This is because Rosmah Mansor does not work for the government. She was, at that time, just the wife of the Deputy Prime Minister and this is not a government post. In fact, even the Prime Minister’s wife is not a government post like the First Lady of the United States.

So the charge is defective because the crime of criminal defamation does not apply to Rosmah Mansor. It does not even apply to the husband and wife Lt. Kol. team who the law would classify as ‘on a frolic of their own’. But I was still charged for three counts of criminal defamation anyway and I was made to face those three charges in court in spite of the charges being defective plus mala fide to boot.

Two weeks later, P.I. Bala also signed a Statutory Declaration and we all know what happened to him. They kidnapped his family and forced him to go to the police station. The next day he signed a second SD to retract everything he said the day before and thereafter he disappeared.

Such is the fate of the whistleblower. So, who dares come forward to reveal the truth while at the same time revealing their identity? And that is why the MACC officer chose to send a ‘surat layang’ or ‘flying letter’ about the goings-on in the MACC and the corrupt acts of the head of the Selangor MACC.

Nevertheless, in the Justice Syed Idid case, it took more than ten years for the truth to finally surface in the form of the Lingam Tapes. More than ten years later Justice Syed Idid was proven correct although his career had to suffer when he was forced to resign in 1996. It may also take many years for the truth of what I signed in my SD plus what the MACC officer said in his ‘flying letter’ to be proven true as well. However, finally, the truth does surface and no one can escape the truth.

Today, the people behind the death of Teoh Beng Hock may walk free. But one day the truth will surface, whenever that may be, just like in the Justice Syed Idid affair.

Justice may be delayed, but it can never be denied.

Comments (37)Add Comment
written by NSTPravda, August 21, 2009 16:57:51
Justice may be delayed, but it can never be denied Ah! But never is a long time, on the way a lot of innocent rakyats may be harmed by the Indon Cur, his dog Hish, dumbass MyUrine and C4Nasib Rozak. Lots more than MACC and PDRM will be tarnished... Nevertheless the remnant brave souls hidden in the labyrinth of MACC is a good start and these heroes deserve our staunchest support... kill rasuah sayang eh?
agree 251
written by Come clean, August 21, 2009 17:01:55
I say amen to what your article, RPK! And all Malaysians salute you!
agree 193
written by Trueandfair, August 21, 2009 17:07:03
In Malaysia, ALL "surat layang" are treated with the highest degree of credibility since history has repeatly shown that the majority of such letters end up being the truth or at the very least, the culprits named did indeed commit some crime of sorts This is only possible when the whole system of Government and civil service are corrupt to the core
agree 146
written by Counterpointer, August 21, 2009 17:09:35
agree 378
written by malgal, August 21, 2009 17:10:24
Never forgetting we all have to face the ultimate judge when we leave this world.
Meanwhile back on the ranch, what the surat layang has done much to restore the flagging spirit and eroding faith in the system. The few good men have stood up (and out) for integrity. Bless them. There is yet light at the end of the tunnel.
written by tmf, August 21, 2009 17:14:02
Sebagai manusia, tak boleh bagitu, tak boleh bagitu...
Bangkitlah wahai sobat ku,bangkitlah untuk menyelamatkan Malaysia.
written by hellosunshine, August 21, 2009 17:19:19
It really takes a great person to dare come forward and be the whistleblower on all the abuses and corruption by the powers that be. These kind of Malaysians are indeed rare and not only deserve our respect and admiration but also our law makers' assurance and pledge to do their utmost to protect them. What say you PR MPs and BN MPs with conscience? The rakyat is waiting for your assurances and pledge to protect the whistleblowers or potential whistleblowers waiting to blow the lid off the corrupt officials.
written by Sutha, August 21, 2009 17:20:06
These corrupted bastards ought to be taught the right lessons( of lifetime).

This can happen only if Pakatan Rakyat comes to power and reopen the cases.

I know the UMNO (united morons' national org) e-troopers here will disagree.
written by Kathy, August 21, 2009 17:25:03
They can shoot so many messengers but they can't shoot all of them. The truth will out sooner or later. Reminds me of the wise saying of cutting some skin off one part of the body to patch another. There is so much you can cut, but when every bit has been cut you're left exposed. That day may be just round the corner
written by apa jadi, August 21, 2009 17:34:30
Justice Delayed. That's what those walking the corridor of power care. They still walk free after the final truth emerge. Afterall they have enjoyed that few extra years of good life in politics.

What we want is JUSTICE NOW!
written by dkkl, August 21, 2009 17:37:02
Since they are the top arsehole, you can touch them. The only way is we need a good sniper like in the movie called 'The Shooter' to clean them up. Then only justice will prevail... otherwise, they will be on the walk again... collaborate with MACC & the police... corruption will re-surface again and again.
written by AuntyG, August 21, 2009 17:38:43
To those b*stards who caused TBH death ... justice will not be denied, bcos at his funeral, he had a "red hearse". Red is the colour of vengence, so be afraid, be very afraid .....
written by educationist, August 21, 2009 17:50:04
With the publishing of the letter detailing accusations against the TP of MACC selangor, I hope that the one day for justice to Beng Hock will come sooner rather than later.
The MACC must be brought to account.
Justice for Beng Hock!
written by malsia1206, August 21, 2009 17:54:19
Malaysian laws work like this - the whistleblowers are the BAD guys. And bad guys must be eliminated because they all expose the evil-doing and coruupt practices of the Government. The persons named in the complaint are all the GOOD guys. And the good guys must be protected at all costs because the Government may fall if their evil and corrption are revealed for public knowledge. This is how it works in Malaysia. Welcome to this beautiful country. 2 systems, 2 laws.
written by Admiral Tojo, August 21, 2009 17:54:48
Pete, don't use big words like Mala Fide. They will charge you for sedition, like in Karpal's case. Anyway, the tactic to take now is as they say, hit and snipe, take potshots and keep on chipping at their foundation, until the ultimate collapse of the current system. We will have to do what the vietcong did against the mighty forces of the US i.e. gorilla warfare. The only difference being, in this War, it is the RAKYAT against EVIL.

written by eeyaw, August 21, 2009 17:59:02
I coin the political system under the present government as a quasi democratic state with a communist system. As Rakyat we cannot beat them but they can do whatever they like including license to kill. The only way to liberate Malaysia from this aberration is the vote them out. For Pete sake & our sake remember what you need to do come GE13. smilies/angry.gif
written by biggun129, August 21, 2009 18:13:40
You see Pete, there are many brave men in our Country, we are also as Brave as you, the difference is you Roar in loudness in the Sky, whereas we only roar in Silent,we just cannot roar as what you did, you are not only Brave infront of All men, but also in Detention! And the authorities knew, they just cannot stopped you from doing what you think deem fit,and morever they need you to speak out, if we are brave enough to speak up like you, we will be death, not you, they want to keep you alive, you are their Assets, and if they allow everyone to act like you, you will not be 'The King of the Bloggers' and may be I will be 'Emperor of the world of Bloggers',and I always dream of that, may be, may be, may be one day when I migrate to the 'Kingdom of Apes', than I dare to speak aloud, because they dont understand what I am talking!
written by mob1900, August 21, 2009 18:33:11

"Fat chance!"
- Toyolman
written by SotPlug, August 21, 2009 18:40:49
If only Malaysians can defend justice as 'ferociously' as they had defended their religion, race and so-called special rights...
written by shamadz72, August 21, 2009 19:13:49
That is why I proposed PR state government to follow Penang state government action of giving rewards to whistleblower involving government dealing or corruption, where the rewards can probably range from RM10k up to RM500k (or state pension), depend on the severity of the case exposed and the greater risk taken by the whistleblower. This will ensure that the whistleblower and its family welfare is taken care of by the state in case they lose their job for exposing the wrong doing.

The bottom line is, most people will think of the welfare of their 'periuk nasi' and their family first. That is human nature. So if they know that they have nothing to lose by exposing the wrong doing, then only you will start seeing people coming up openly and that is the time when shit started to hit the fan and you guess is as good as mine, whose shit is that smilies/smiley.gif

written by Aria, August 21, 2009 19:30:14
As long as you are in the corridors of power in Malaysia you are untouchable by law, even if the truth surfaces.
This can only be changed if the judiciary is independent. Independence of the judiciary or the press will never happen under this government.
So lets not worry about PKR not capable of ruling because BN is destroying this country. Anyone who still supports BN are blinded by BN propaganda and scare tactics.
written by Jilo, August 21, 2009 19:41:31
Underground is the only way to topple these people.
written by mowadoha, August 21, 2009 21:03:29
written by verifunny, August 21, 2009 23:37:24
I fully agree with RPK.

What were done became the truth. When the truth reveals, the bad guys would have to pay for the price.

The mystery letter is a good example of God's work. Honest people can't stand the dishonest ones anymore.....
written by Just Gan, August 21, 2009 23:40:10
Pete - Here is a strategy which we can use to achieve better results and responses from the actions of the brave whistleblowers.

The best way is for more whistleblowers to come forward to reveal the truth. It will be easy for the PDRM/MACC/UMNO thugs to deal with one whistleblower. But if there are many, say 10 in Teoh's case, it will be a different matter. It would be impossible for the UMNO thugs and their police/MACC pariah dogs to track and put down the whistleblowers if there are one or two anonymous letters coming out every week or, better still, every other day. Furthermore, when they are many letters, there would be greater credibility accorded to those letters even if they are anonymous. The Rakyat, including die-hard but decent UMNO supporters, themselves will be inclined to trust the contents of the anonymous letters if there are numerous, each one supporting another or revealing additional information. The whistleblowers do not have to work in cohort or know each other to reveal the truth anonymously. They should just act on their own. Let us therefore encourage more whistleblowers to come forward to reveal the truth. They should be anonymous. We can start a fund (I am ready to contribute) to support them and their families in case they are found and unjustly penalised by the rogue UMNO govt and its police and MACC pariah dogs for telling the truth. Instead of a group of say 5 people collectively writing one anonymous letter, they should write 5 separate anonymous letters and release them every other day. This strategy will work and will be effective . They will keep the issues alive. They will hit the headlines at least on the Web .
written by Vengai, August 22, 2009 04:27:18
Bro Pete.
Not only the whisleblower but the overall Rakyat is not safe under these regime except the Najis ass licking umnoputras.Even Mp and public elected oppostion law makers is not protected in this country.They constitution is raped and ransaked by the Ruling Barisan Najis. The day will come when they will be rewarded handsomely by the Rakyat in PRU 13.
written by nesen, August 22, 2009 06:36:06
And not forgetting other notable whiste-blowers like
the ex Pengarah of ACA still in Court fighting for his pension
the ex Pengarah of Bomba who accused his boss over the misuse of Department facilities for his son's wedding who got 'retired'
the University lecturer who refused to 'adjust' her students' exam marks and is now unemployed...
written by wongnoball, August 22, 2009 06:43:39
It is time to continue to disrupt the Terror Cells of Regim Kejam Ganas Bunuh UMNO-BN.....

Make Headlines and send FEAR Back.....media will have to report otherwise like H1n1 and dengue and foot and mouth Pandemic....it goes out of control....

Villian today, Hero Tomorrow....Mat Kilau1!!

"In a separate development, DCP Khalid said police had yet to make any arrests in relation to the damage of a four-wheel drive vehicle belonged to the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) branch in Klang during a Molotov cocktail attack on Thursday.

He said police were still investigating the case.
written by freerpk, August 22, 2009 08:34:43
That is why the question the govt should ask itself is why do the public trust the surat layang layang rather than official statement by the govt???? It is because the public knows that at the end of the day the govt always lies to cover up its own deficiencies rather than face the truth. Why do you think that after decades of money down the drain the PKFZ is still far from a solution.
written by Oyster, August 22, 2009 09:16:50
I know that this sounds pessimistic but what RPK and and commentators are saying without saying is, What ever shit you hurl at the fan, the fan can clean itself, meanwhile everyone else get's covered in shit.This is a fact of life in malaysia. If we were in Thailand or Indonesia the govt would really know what facing the wrath of the people is about.
It's at times like these when i really can't help thinking that we, the people of malaysia have braought all this crap on ourselves. We may not have voted for the Govt. but we allow them to shit on our heads.
written by TwilightYears, August 22, 2009 10:25:14
The Truth shall be revealed and will be revealed otherwise the Almighty is not also known as The Just. The Almighty may have HIS reason for the delay in the "revelation", but truth is truth. There is no way to hide it. And when the truth prevails, the consequence of such depicable act will be known and the impact will be greater, for the good of the country. The individual who has escaped by way of death will have to suffer in their graves. Such is the fear the Almighty impose on the hearts of the believers. For the hypocrites, I fear for their death much more than when they are alive.

Wa la hau la wa la quwata illah billah
written by sorosapril, August 22, 2009 11:51:50
even after 10 years with the lingam tape, nothing is done to those judges mentioned in Syed Idid's letter, so for the current case, nothing will happen as well.

This is Malaysia, that is why they even used a committed person to be a candidate, so what?
written by miwaki, August 22, 2009 14:58:47
The funny thing is all these people are still believeing that they will end up in heaven ! No way buddies,hell is where you people belong.Tok Guru is right about you people.
written by PresleyP, August 22, 2009 23:13:12
That is part of their technique.

First, spent a few months trying to investigate the authenticity of the letter, like the Lingam Case until everything cools down. Then another case come out and divert everybody's attention and so on.

Even for Lingam's case, like RPK said, nothing has been done eventhough it is classified as most important issue in a country, the Judiciary cannot act on its own. That means no justice in this country. And the main culprit behind the Lingam case (Mahathieve) is still walking freely in the Corridor of Power. And still talking nonsense and stirring up racial tensions.

Kugan case, after all the huh-hahs, before it cools down, then TBH case surfaced. I am sure pretty soon another case will take over the headline in the newspaper again, either intentionally or unintentionally.

Such is the state of this country, that was once one of the most potential country, one of the Asia 4 Tiger, now is probably called Asia Circus Tiger. It is sad but true.

Well, the only way will be to vote PR into power. It will be like changing the car with a new engine. Yeah, some of you are not sure about the efficiency of PR government. But, whether rightly or wrongly, having 2 strong parties in a country will be a healthy sign. That is how most of the Western Countries are so efficient, having 2 strong parties for check and balance. Recently, a Minister in Germany got into trouble for driving the government car (car for her use due to her position) for personal trip. Yet, our DPM can fly around in army helicopter for UMNO campaining without problem.

written by kanokporn, August 23, 2009 13:11:03
dear pete, it is always wonderful to read your articles but i have to beg to differ on the issue of justice may be delayed but denied. i have lost my cases in the ct of appeal and federal ct without even looking into the merits of my case. i have lost my job, got divorced, made bankrupt, retired now and struggling to find a job although very qualified. who can i go to while i am still alive? who will remember me or resurrect my cases when i am dead? the public complaints bureau, the judiciary complaints bureau,the bar council, suhakom, you, god, pkr ??????????????, i am only alive when i am alive and unlike muslims no heaven only hell on earth for me and children
written by kanokporn, August 23, 2009 13:17:08
and the malaysian judiciary and all the lawyers (wolves in sheeps clothing)in the bar council are used to prevent the truth from prevailing. before at least we had the jury which has been removed as the malaysian public are incapable to arriving at the truth. i really hope that we bring the jury system back instead of relying on corrupt govt controlled judgges and magistrates to arrive at the truth
written by kanokporn, August 23, 2009 13:19:29
before at least we had the jury which has been removed as the malaysian public are incapable to arriving at the truth

sorry error: as the malysian public were said to be stupid and incapable of deciding the truth