Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow H1N1 ok but dying from H1N1 not ok

H1N1 ok but dying from H1N1 not ok PDF Print
Sunday, 16 August 2009 10:13

By Karen Lee

I really shook my head in disbelief when I heard that ‘hotspots’ for H1N1 might be announced. This is typical third world mentality.

I wonder why in other developed nations, qualified medical doctors are the ones giving announcements and details about H1N1 but in our country, politicians are the ones making the announcements. I wonder if they even know what they are dealing with.

I have a son who is only 5 and he is a chronic bronchitis sufferer. We live in Kota Kemuning and we experience hazy conditions EVERYDAY. My son’s life is at stake! And so are many other asthmatic patients, chronic bronchitis patients, young children with low immune systems etc.

Each day I search all the papers hoping to get some leads as to how I can build as many defence mechanisms as I can for my son …. And all I get is the feeling like I am searching for answers in a dark room, totally helpless and in despair.

Then, one good Samaritan gave me a very important lead which might perhaps save my son’s life and I am sharing this with as many people as I can.

Not all who gets H1N1 gets pneumonia BUT all who died of H1N1 gets pneumonia.

So, we should focus on how we can prevent pneumonia if we get H1N1 ….. not how to prevent H1N1.

For those in the high risk group, getting the pneumococcal vaccination is one of the defense mechanisms we could use against dying from H1N1. You might still get H1N1 but at least you have a 30% lower risk of dying from H1N1.

Studies have shown here (http://www.latimes.com/features/health/la-sci-pneumonia4-2009aug04,0,6872284.storyhttp://www.digitaljournal.com/article/276994, http://www.readingeagle.com/article.aspx?id=151859) that 30% of H1N1 pneumonia related deaths are due to Streptococcus pneumoniae. Getting yourself vaccinated means you have eliminated 30% of the possible risk of dying from H1N1 pneumonia.

Of course, that does not mean you will not get H1N1 but at least you will not die of it … that’s what everyone would prefer. It’s really not about being afraid of getting H1N1, it’s more about dying from it ....

So if the government is serious in preventing H1N1 deaths, all those in the high risk group should get the pneumococcal vaccination. Also, please ensure that all clinics are able to administer this vaccination to adults as well and not only to the children ….

[MT Admin - You can also check H1N1 updates in Malaysia from http://myhealth-matters.blogspot.com a blog by Dr. David Quek, the current President of the Malaysian Medical Association]

written by jhlee, August 16, 2009 10:24:14
Thanks for the info. I think you have hit the nail right on the head. I see that our government is not really dealing with this problem and rather trying to keep things status quo or hiding the true situation. It is our lives at stake and we should have more preventive measures as well as more communication on how we can prevent this from spreading and more importantly as pointed out above, how do keep ourselves safe even if we contract the virus.
written by NSTPravda, August 16, 2009 10:28:33
Ah you have just caught us right between appearances and substance lah!
While in other nations, qualified medical doctors are the ones giving announcements and details about H1N1, in our country, politicians are the ones making the announcements because our politicians know everything (so they wish us to think) and must control everything from your toilets to your bedrooms, practiced as JAIS. Appearances must be kept up to impress everyone, especially foreign tourists (who we consider as stupid) and themselves, and substance can be spinned away.... so semua-nya OK!
smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by onnetline, August 16, 2009 10:53:41
For 52 years now, we still have Prime Ministers' appointing idiots or morons to help manage the country. What a joke !

And worst of all, we have a 1Malaysia corrupted racist liar and murder suspect as a Prime Minister !

Malaysians, let's vote these racist pariahs out whenever possible !
written by SiHangChai, August 16, 2009 11:24:15
This really tell us whether Muhiyddin really graduated with a degree in the 1st place. We have a PM and a DPM with their degrees really questionable. We have no clue why want to name H1N1 hotspots? These are not Pakatan hotspots, and or accident hotspots, stupid DPM. We are talking about viruses which can be spread easily even to your own jamban. Can you talk kock-sense or not, Muhiyddin?????
written by Badrol, August 16, 2009 12:47:09
And the latest news about HiNi that I just heard is that the government is contemplating imposing a fine of RM10,000 to anyone with flu who did not confine himself. I wonder from whose screwed up mind came up with this idea. Next they could fine RM10,000 to anyone who farts with a foul smell unless it is with the fragrance of dior, chanel or aramis.
written by CBP, August 16, 2009 13:29:53
shhh, from now on, work hard, earn enuff, go other places to live. dun know why i will have this thought everytime i log in to MT.
written by Badrol, August 16, 2009 14:39:26
drabdulwahid,

Thank you for your views on the matter, but I still think that in malaysia under the present regime, fining the rakyat has become a source of revenue and not a deterrent. RM 10,000 is an absurd figure ... maybe RM100 is acceptable. Already the person is suffering from flu and the government still wants to burden him financially too?!!
written by Lipanbara, August 16, 2009 16:48:49
What Karen Lee is trying to say..govt will continue saying they are smarter than Rakyat in making the decision. In fact they blamed rakyat for not taking this matter seriously! Want to know how smart they are? They ask US to stay away from the crowding places, yet govt still organise events for public..with Permatang pasir election around the corner..more events will be held...
written by Lipanbara, August 16, 2009 16:54:09
By the way, mainstream media quoted Minister of Health saying that 5 million people may be infected as estimated by WHO. This news already made known much ealier, but only now he is willing to push the panic button, and disclose to public. How responsible govt we have today.DPM, wish your grandchildren get this H1N1...see how frantic you would be
written by born2reign, August 16, 2009 19:58:54
Karen Lee,
Flu virus mutates continuously and constantly. After avian flu, JE virus, what happens when there is another new virus outbreak come 2010? Another vaccination? This is a myth that vaccination PREVENTS outbreak, vaccination is the CAUSE of outbreak. What is vaccination anyway, if not to introduce the virus directly into our bloodstream (bypassing our skin and mucus defense system) and wait for the immune system to produce antibodies for this virus? Cheaper to just stand next to someone with flu. Vaccination is like bypassing the airport luggage scan and immigration checks and allowing a foreign matter direct access to invade our country.

I.Vaccinations reduce our immunity in many important ways:
1)Vaccines contain many chemicals and heavy metals, like mercury and aluminum, which are in-themselves immuno-suppressing. Mercury actually causes changes in the lymphocyte activity and decreases lymphocyte viability.

2)Vaccines contain foreign tissues and foreign DNA/RNA which act to suppress the immune system via graft-vs-host rejection phenomena.

3)Vaccines alter our T-cell helper/suppressor ratios ... just like those seen with AIDS. This ratio is a key indicator of a proper functioning immune system.

4)Vaccines alter the metabolic activity of PMNs and reduce their chemotaxic abilities. PMNs are our body's defenses against pathogenic bacteria and viruses.

5)Vaccines suppress our immunity merely buy over-taxing our immune system with foreign material, heavy metals, pathogens and viruses. The heavy metals slow down our immune system, while the viruses set up shop to grow and divide. It is like being chained and handcuffed before swimming.

6)Vaccines clog our lymphatic system and lymph nodes with large protein molecules which have not been adequately broken down by our digestive processes, since vaccines by pass digestion with injections. This is why vaccines are linked to allergies, because they contain large proteins which as circulating immune complexes (CICs) or "klinkers" which cause our body to become allergic.

7)Vaccines deplete our body of vital immune-enhancing nutrients, like vitamin C, A and zinc, which are needed for a strong immune system. It is nutrients like these that primes our immune system, feeds the white blood cells and macrophages and allows them to function optimally.

smilies/cool.gifVaccines are neurotoxic and slow the level of nervous transmission, and communications to the brain and other tissues. Now we know that some lymphocytes communicate directly with the brain through a complex set of neurotransmitters. Altering these factors will also depress our immunity.

"I never saw cancer in an un-vaccinated person."
Dr W B Clarke, circa 1909

Yet, Dr Claussen's studies revealed that vaccinations [any vaccination] can cause increases in Juvenile-onset diabetes, too. Now one theory said that the antigenic structure of the measles/mumps virus was similar to the antigenic structure of the beta cells (which produce insulin) in the pancreas. So when our body makes antibodies to fight off measles virus, those antibodies attack the pancreatic beta cells, too. Viola diabetes!

II.Links of Vaccines to AIDS
Buttram and Hoffman state, "Indirect immunofluorescence evaluation of T-lymphocytes from blood samples taken ... after vaccination revealed a temporary drop ... in the helper/suppressor ratio after vaccination." What that means is that immediately after vaccines are given our blood "looks" like the blood of and AIDS patient.

III.True Immunity: Where Does it Come From? Nutrition!
Science has glossed over the most valuable point of health, ... nutrition.
What is it that boosts our immune system and gives one a vibrant healthy life? ... nutrition.
What is it that allows one to over -come the most devastating diseases known to mankind? ... Nutrition.
What is the key factor for the recovery of disease? ... Nutrition.
What is needed for the body to heal itself? ... Nutrition.
What key factor prevents disease? ... Nutrition.
What is missing from allopathic medicine today? ... Nutrition!
It is nutrition and only nutrition which boosts our immune system and helps the body defend itself from foreign pathogens. Herbs, foods, nutrients and vitamin supplements are the tour-de-force of our immunity and it is virtually ignored by medical science in favor of drugs (chemicals).

One can speculate many reasons why medical science has chosen to ignore this most important aspect of our health ... perhaps, because there is no profit in broccoli and carrots.

Read this health article at http://www.mercola.com/article...ession.htm
written by Amzek, August 16, 2009 20:19:55
H1N1 virus specifically attacks the lungs which may eventually result in deaths from lungs related symptom ie pneumonia.

We cannot kill the virus. We can either avoid getting the virus by avoiding places where the virus may be present, or build up our immune system to fight off the virus if it should get into our body.

It is now too late to blame the government which should have done more earlier to curb the spread of the virus.

Strengthening our immune system: Take sufficient vitamins C and D daily. Take lots of fresh fruits and vegetables daily besides other healthy foods such as milk and eggs (of course).

Drink lots of warm water (air kosong), 6-8 glasses as minimum daily.

To increase absorbtion of oxygen by our body, take lingzhi, or if it is to costly, garlic. Lingzhi has the best ability to to this followed substantially behind by garlic.
written by sltemp, August 16, 2009 22:12:25
While nobody is panicking (yet) over H1N1, the government has a duty to provide true and accurate reports to the people to alert the people. To say that people in non-affected areas will be less vigilant is pure nonsense, not when death is the result.

Reporting hotspots will alert people in those areas to stop frequenting public areas and reduce the incidents of infection. This is more important as hotspots pose immediate threat to lives.

While it is said that maintaining health is the best defense, it is not guaranteed to ward off H1N1. Therefore, early treatment with anti-viral drugs such as Tamiflu is vital before the immune system is overwhelmed by the virus.

H1N1 is NOT airborne but transmitted through water droplets emitted by infected persons. Face masks can stop infected persons from spreading the virus but will not stop anyone from contracting H1N1.

Someone has a cough and/or runny nose should wear a face mask to prevent saliva and/or mucus from ejected when they cough or sneeze. In the current situation, anyone who has flu symptoms should not go out to public areas.

If someone touches any surface contaminated with the H1N1 virus and later touch their mouth or nose, they will probably get infected by the virus. Therefore, washing our hands with sanitizer or soap is more effective to prevent contracting H1N1 than using face masks.
written by sydput, August 16, 2009 22:24:31
tamiflu has some serious side effects and not reccomended for children.
Just when that seriousness of its side effects is made known, our ministry states that all those suspected of H1n1 will be given a shot. Just shows our incompetence at the top.
written by Ben, August 17, 2009 00:54:45
Now that most of us are in agreement that the gomen is not capable of handling the H1N1 pandemic, can we move on and help ourselves? Or do you prefer to leave your fate to ignorance?

Go to this website http://www.h1n1.gov.sg/and read how we can take our own precautions to cap the death toll which has been steadily rising compared to our neighbours in ASEAN, a reflection of poor management of this pandemic. We hope you do get infected with H1N1 but if you do, don't panic, use the knowledge you have received and act accordingly. Although WHO of UN said it is not deadly and developed nations should be able to manage and control it unlike undevelop countries where there is a lack of resources and supplies. At the rate Malaysia death toll is rising geometrically, it is forseeable that it can only get worse, so be prepared.
written by Ben, August 17, 2009 00:56:00
Sorry, it should read, "we hope you do not get infected with H1N1...."
written by Ben, August 17, 2009 01:31:13
Somebody must have realized that the MOH have failed to issue a standard operating procedure [url= http://www.moh.gov.my/MohPorta...oad&id=523 in dealing with the flow of patients at hospitals and this improvement is welcome albeit a little too late. But liek they say better late than never. Now can we ask that the health minister resign? We need a person who can do the job and manager it instead of reacting to the crisis. Another Malaysian dead because of H1N1 is one too many.
written by Ben, August 17, 2009 01:31:46
Sorry the link again. http://www.moh.gov.my/MohPorta...oad&id=523