Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow RM250,000 for a Negeri Sembilan Datukship

RM250,000 for a Negeri Sembilan Datukship PDF Print
Friday, 14 August 2009 16:21

In 2004, Malaysia Today wrote two articles about how for RM250,000 you could buy a Datukship from Negeri Sembilan. The Negeri Palace subsequently made a police report against me and the police came to my house to confiscate my computer. I was also orderd to report to Bukit Aman for interrogation. I challenged the police to charge me in court where I would reveal my evidence of Datukships being sold for RM250,000. They decided to drop the charges, just in case.

Also read: The Chinese penchant for Datukships

'I was awarded datukship in 1991'

Malaysian Mirror, 14 August 2009

Malaysian Association of Tour and Travel Agents (Matta) president Joshua Peter Tan finally cleared the air over his datukship when he produced documents to prove that he had indeed been awarded a Negri Sembilan datukship in 1991.

robin tan.jpgAt a media conference yesterday, Tan produced the papers, including the list of prominent people in Negri Sembilan who received awards up to the year 2001/2002 which included his name as one of the recipients of the Darjah Dato’ Setia Negeri Sembilan (DSNS) award which bears the title “Datuk”. (Right - Star image)

According to the Star, Tan also said he went to the Negri Sembilan state secretariat yesterday to meet the officer who issued the July 15 letter which stated that he was never bestowed a datukship.

According to him, the secretariat said they had made a technical error.

Blame detractors in Matta

“The letter was made based on the fact that they looked into their files and did not find anything about me in the past seven years. They did not go further to search documents dated 20 years back,” he said.

Tan also showed reporters present, a framed letter issued by the state secretariat dated July 4, 1991 which showed the conferment of his title and a photograph of the inauguration ceremony.

However, he did not put the blame on the state secretariat but lashed out at the group of 16 Matta members whom he felt were out to topple him from his presidency.

Last week, a newspaper queried Tan on his title, which he claimed was from the Negri Sembilan state government and that he had the letter to verify it.

The authenticity of Tan’s position as Matta president was also being questioned after it was alleged that the association’s membership rolls used in the June 27 annual general meeting and elections were tainted with dubious members.

It resulted in a split in Matta’s leadership with Tan maintaining that he was the rightful president until the Registrar of Societies completed its investigations into the matter.

Comments (34)Add Comment
written by DezMalaysia, August 14, 2009 16:38:56
Maybe this what they (Chinese Datuks who bought it) think...

"With a quarter million title, medal & a certificate, my fart is gonna smell better than other ordinary yellow men !"
agree 205
written by loosecannon, August 14, 2009 16:42:52
Honestly I don't see why the royal families in Malaysia bothers to beg for projects from the government when they could make millions selling datuk and Tan Sri titles which is in so high demand. Better than getting APs even. Even at RM500,000 apiece, it will sell like hot cakes. After all, who says that they cannot sell these titles anyway. I say let them turn it into a commercial business. In exchange, they will forgo relying on financial aids from the rakyat. Killing two birds with one single stone, a win-win for all.
agree 231
written by Kathy, August 14, 2009 16:51:33
If I had 250k to spend I certainly won't be out shopping for a title. I'll probably buy a new car, a new set of golf clubs and go to Oz on a golfing holiday. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Msiasky, August 14, 2009 17:02:37
Correct me if I'm wrong.
RM250,000 for a Datukship.
Since BN got so many Datuk; from here we know how rich these Datuk are.
written by wongnoball, August 14, 2009 17:11:25
To Chinese and many Malaysian.....>>> Datuk = Corruption = MACC = All that is Wrong with the Entire Royalty.

Say what you want but after Perak Fiasco, lets hope Barisan Rakyat come up with some new titles that is not associated with Regim Ganas Kejam Bunuh UMNO-BN, Agong or Sultan. Those Barisan Rakyat who got title from Sultan Perak should just hand it back and say, it INSULT my DIGNITY!!....the same to those other Munafik Sultan and illegal Sultan like N9 previously. What use title, when Allah see you on your deeds??...Yet some still think Allah is Blind like this Tun Dr, May 13 Munafik!!
written by storm62, August 14, 2009 17:17:22
soon a "datukship" in Malaysia will cost more than a PHD cert.

but i've heard of Doctorates selling for below rm100,000.00

can anybody confirm this?
written by Mama Juwie, August 14, 2009 18:09:56
storm62,

Someone has offered me a PhD certificate for RM40,000. The problem is, the degree is from an unknown online university, most probably a diploma mill.

The best way to check whether the "so-called" academic institution is genuine or bogus is to check its website address, that it must have either .ac or .edu behind its name.

In the US, honorary titles are prohibited because it causes inequality between citizens. In the UK, titles like Sir and Lord are scarce because there is only one Ruler that can confer such title, unlike Malaysia. The Prime Minister himself/herself or Cabinet members are not given Sir or Lord automatically, even after retirement.

In Malaysia (sigh...), you will have people with long extended title like Tan Sri Datuk Seri Prof. Ir. Dr. Haji XXXX XXXXX. For what??? It's quite mouthful, isn't it? And the funny fact is, most Malaysians like it or not will drool when they see long titles thinking that they are heaven sent or something.

When you are born, you are nameless. When you die, you are alone down there.
agree 185
written by cheekhiaw, August 14, 2009 18:12:03
RM250,000 for the right to squat next to some high-end thieves may be a good deal...

written by cheekhiaw, August 14, 2009 18:14:04
Sorry, RM250,000 for the right to squat next to some high-end thieves, liars and murderers may be more than just a good deal. May also be safer, at least you don't get murdered.

written by arazak, August 14, 2009 18:36:12
Even though these people paid RM250,000 for a "Datukship", soon it will be "a dime a dozen"! If you stay at Brisdale Hotel at Jln Tuanku Abdul Rahman during the UMNO convention, open the window and throw a small stone outside the hotel. You are bound to hear "aduh!" from an UMNO Datuk.

Similarly, if you do the same thing at Corus Hotel (formerly Ming Court)during the MCA General Assembly, you will hear, "aiyahh". . ., that means you have hit an MCA Datuk.

There are too many Datuks running around that you have to address everybody at the Hotel lobby as "Datuk"!

It reminds me that when I was a child in a tiny fishing village in Malacca, I used to throw scraps of bread into the brackish water at the mouth of a river. There are too many "belukang" fish with gaping mouth waiting for the bread scraps. Today's ubiquitous "Datuks" reminds me of the "belukangs"!

You know, sometimes instead of throwing bread scarps, I do throw stones at them too! And yes, the "belukang" do made some sound when the stones hit them!

Idioms:
A dime a dozen, means: Overly abundant; commonplace.(Source:The Free Dictionary by Farlex)
written by malsia1206, August 14, 2009 19:19:04
I remember reading your earlier write-up on Datukship award. That the price is different depending on which State Datukship a person is able to pay. But the awarding higher-up authorities have always been denying the kick-backs exist. Just like denying a married couple never have sex on their honeymoon night. Come to think of it, the rate of such Datuks being conferred in Malaysia during the past few yesrs have made such titles seemingly so cheap nowadays. One day, we shall have plenty of Malaysian Datins who are no better than whores whom you pay for their sexual services because they can afford to pay for these awards from their oldest profession. A Datuk has no real significance now. In reality, it cheapens your image and credibilty.
written by johnT, August 14, 2009 19:56:48
RM 250k is considere cheap!!!!! With the DatukShip you can make more than RM 250k!!!!! I wonder If I can get a bank loan to get it or not?
written by lynn, August 14, 2009 20:14:50
RPK or anyone knows whether it is seditious to refuse to recognise these titles?

I mean if the guy bought it with money, it really means he did not really deserve it. Are we compelled by law to address him/her that number of syllables?

Short of getting a big tight slap on the face, I guess, if one is scraping & bowing like a peasant simpleton in the presence of these so-called "bought" titled men, can we just address them politely in a civil manner as plain Mr or Madam?

Many years ago, some datuk asked me, have you eaten Maggi instant noodles? yes.
Have you drank Nescafe instant coffee? yes.
Fancy becoming an instant Datin? w t f?
Aiyah, marry me & u become Instant Datin lor.
written by Justice Bao, August 14, 2009 20:27:06

What is the market price for Tun, Tan Sri, Dato Sri or Can get Raja ah ?

Hope I can get the prices for these titles. Doing marketing soon lah - selling title
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by cheemengwong, August 14, 2009 21:04:47
How about a fake doctorate? Many businessman especially those in academic businesses including kindergarten also buying like crazy!
written by merchant222, August 14, 2009 21:19:00
That is why in our 'community', we always joke by asking questions like
"Eh, Lakto, Boh Lai ah?"(Hokkien means, 'Hey, Dato didn't come ah?'). The answer then would be "Eh, Lakto Boh Lai, tapit Chittok Lai" while smiling at the waiter wiping the table for us.

In Hokkien, it literally means...'Hey, Dato didn't come but that fella Wiping Table(CHIT-TOK) one came' So, in Bolehland, the awards of Datoships and all the fcuking other good gracious titles means nothing NO MORE! Like Tan Sris means "TAN SI"(waiting to die in Hokkien).

Well, like all these years, we know for a fact that "when you throw a stone into a crowd, you will hit a Dato", TRUE or false??? You ask yourselves. I think I can qualify for that radio contest.....what call it huh? RUMOUR or TRUE RUMOUR is it? Ha Ha Ha, Hee Hee Hee, Lakto?, 89 percent of them not fit to be Lakto la!
written by merchant222, August 14, 2009 21:36:15
Tang Si Hang(Waiting for the JAMBAN in cantonese), the ex-exco-member's brother-in-law(I think one so called The Late Lakto Yip, I donno whether brader-in-law, cousin-in-law or fren's brother's wife's sister's fren's crony's sister's uncle or what lah) oso kena Laktoshit what. Or maybe he kena "Laktoshit" becos of MCA or Toyol Umno's kotek-tion, but that fella's 'CABLE' to THE TOYOL very strong one because of the TANG SEE HANG.

So, when PR take over Selangor, their 'All Hell Break Loose' came true!

If that fella can kena Lakto, and like his many other friends, you can imagine when we go for morning walk in the Taman Rakyat Hill(Klang), every 5 minutes, you have to greet a "LAKTO"; unfortunately CHIT-TOK is not around because there are no tables there to WIPE!
written by slimbrowser, August 14, 2009 21:43:21
I want to buy the title of the Sultan of Perak. How much do that cost? If it's too expensive, I'll wait until the birthday of the agong to get the discounts.
written by Rozlan, August 14, 2009 22:00:44
During Dynasty Qing of China dying years,title such as magistrates were bought by rich illiterate tycoons..Dynasty Qing had gone down in history.What left is only Forbidden City as reminder of their existence..

So up to the Malay Royals now to reform for their own good.If they dont,they will face similar fate as Dynasty Qing.

I know UMNO my words will be consider "derhaka".Even the Mufti Perak also will think similar way
written by onnetline, August 14, 2009 22:20:49
What is new about ' Latukship ' being sold for monetary gains ?

Known these ' sales ' for years now !
written by talk2stop, August 14, 2009 22:31:29
In Australia, you too can buy certificates, Diplomas and PhD. Trust me. I did it. We all do. It is just that Malaysia do it a different way. That does not mean it is the wrong way.
The only different is that the fees you pay in Australia is much cheaper but you need hardwork. In Malaysia the fees is much higher but need no work. So what is the big deal.
Certificates and PhD are like orgasm you don't have it fake it.
written by banzai, August 14, 2009 23:45:05
Go to Pasar Malam. Trow a stone at the crowd. Sure to hit a Dato.
Too many Dato, Datin in Malaysia.
My neibourhood Dato's got his house flash with RED paint because he owe
AH LONG money.
written by goman2k3, August 15, 2009 01:29:49
I predict by 2020 they will be more Datuk, Tan Sri, Datuk Seri in Malaysia than people without any title!!!!
written by Spear Bing, August 15, 2009 01:33:38
Malaysian tycoons /businessmen yearning for Datukships are either suffering from inferiority or superiority complex. Pure and simple.

For the lack of understanding the real nature of who we are and our life's purpose, the karmic consequences will befall on them, and they will continue to suffer - mentally and spiritually.
written by gas, August 15, 2009 01:50:55
"Tun" in Bidayuh is "Fox
". Is it so grand to be addressed as fox? Maybe, because fox is regarded as cunning, and therefore, it is grand to be called "cunning Fox".
written by freewilly2, August 15, 2009 02:54:40
as recent as a few weeks ago a few of the Tangkak gang 'ah longs' were arrested but the news wasnt in the mainstream, one of them is a datuk. i am wondering when he comes out will he be upgrading to tan sri. the first tan sri ah long from tangkak. a good example to emulate for the young generation of tangkak town.
written by macho, August 15, 2009 08:05:01
Normally a title is an honour bestowed upon someone who deserve it. It should be scarce so only those that truly deserve it will get it. In Malaysia a title gives that person a feeling of superiority and this made them arrogant and wanted to be given special treatment. And more important this title helps them to advance in their business. I am not saying that all of them behave like this but I am saying that this is the norm and those truly deserving are the exception. If you dont believe just ask any man on the street. This is the state we are in. Malaysia Boleh!
written by fan73, August 15, 2009 08:36:35

after reading through, I did notice that

1st this datuk claim he got it from Selangor.

Selangor guys checks it, cannot found record

to cover face, he show up his proof of datukship.... way back... that is actual from N9.

I see your point!

written by PeacefulMalaysia, August 15, 2009 12:11:58
CAN SOMEONE HELP ME
I NEED A DATUK-SHIT ohhhh sorry
DATUK-SHIP
URGENTLY
I CAN PAY RM251,000 SLIGHTLY HIGHER THEN THE GOING RATE OF RM250,000
I JUST LOVE THE AIR WHEN BEING CALLED A DATUK
THE SALUTES
THE RESPECT FROM THE POLICE AND THE AUTHORITIES
AND THE MANY OTHER BENEFITS
JUST IN CASE YOU ARE IN LOCK-UP U GET PRIVILEDGES LIKE kfC
(PROVIDED YOU ARE NOT PKR)
IF YOU ARE PKR SORRY LAH

WHAT A FCUKING JOKE ALL YOU FCUKING LATUK'S
KISS MY ASSS
written by AtanSian, August 15, 2009 16:01:55
My chinese flend say, "bayah satu kali tidak apa,saya kena 4 nombor ekor boleh beli. Tetapi dia tahun tahun mau say bayah lagi, Birthday lah, dia punya bini birthday lah..... mana boeh tahan.
Ta mau title "datok".
written by SiHangChai, August 15, 2009 22:32:17
Big deal. Tan SRi, Dauk, JPs etc. All these are rewarded to mostly undeserved people who never contribute to any society except making their own money. CEOs, Chairman of companies... what have they done???? NOthing@! Instead, just show-off by publishing in big advertisement. Malaysia's titles are no value even if these are how to be presented. Soon or later, we will be like in India where they chunked-out millions of undergraduates each year but with no substance in quality.
written by DontPlayGod, August 15, 2009 23:07:48
I remembered what I heard said of the late Tan Sri Khir Johari, a former minister under the Tunku Abdul Rahman, that he turned down awards of Datuk's, etc. The reason going round then was that he wanted to be with the people, the ordinary Malaysians, Chinese, Malays, Indians, and what have you, and to do that, he thought it best not to be called Datuk's, etc.

Of course, it was only very late in life that he finally agreed to accept the award of the Tan Sri.
written by Bigjoe99, August 16, 2009 08:40:42
My friend was given Datuk for just taking care of girlfriends of the top people..He said he wished he had bought the Datukship instead and did not have to be chauffered for the many many out of control women in their lives...
written by Eskay Lim, August 16, 2009 21:53:50
250K for a datuk title is very reasonable. If I have that amount of money to throw, I'll surely go for it. Having an opportunity to rub-shoulders with members of our high-society of "wealth-grabbers", why not? Maybe I'll get a golden chance of a life-time to share some spoils of thievery or robbery of the nation's vast natural resources with the right connections. A lucky strike is all that I need, to make the 250k donation worthwhile. Henceforth, to live in a world of perpetual plenty and happiness. I'll also be seen sitting in the front rows during ceremonies where all the financial goodies are being thrown at. Who knows, more opportunities of getting more "jackpots"