Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Just shooting the breeze

Just shooting the breeze PDF Print
Thursday, 13 August 2009 16:50

My objectives remain the same. My mission and vision have not changed. I still want to see Malaysians transform into an informed voting population who may vote for either Barisan Nasional or Pakatan Rakyat, I don’t really care which, but they do so fully aware of why they are doing so.

Five years ago, today, Malaysia Today was launched. Yes, that’s right; Malaysia Today was born on 13 August 2004.

Why 13 August 2004, you might ask. Well, first of all, 13 August 2004 was Friday the 13th and I just love to tempt fate.

I mean, many consider Friday the 13th as a bad fungshui day and they would never start anything on a Friday the 13th. Hey, I’m not joking. If you start something on Friday the 13th you may suffer bad luck such as getting arrested a few times or getting detained under the Internal Security Act or getting sued many times or something like that.

Hmm…..come to think of it, all that did happen to me.

Anyway, back in the old days in England many would not even come out of their homes on Friday the 13th. They would stay indoors until the cock crows to announce the arrival of Saturday the 14th.

Of course, this is merely old wives’ tales and superstition. And to prove this is unfounded superstition they laid the keel of a ship on Friday the 13th. They launched the completed ship on Friday the 13th. They named the ship ‘Friday the 13th’. The ship set sail on its maiden voyage on Friday the 13th. This was so that they can prove that the Friday the 13th taboo is mere hogwash and unfounded superstition.

The ship sailed away and was never seen again.

Some say Friday the 13th is associated with the Last Supper, which was held on Friday and that there were 13 people at that supper, Jesus and his 12 disciples. That is why the number 13 is considered an unlucky number and Friday the 13th unluckier still. But then if you were to read the book The Thirteenth Apostle by Michel Benoit it talks about there being 13 disciples at that Last Supper, the owner of the house being the 13th, which means the Last Supper had 14 and not 13 people.

I wonder why no Christians have made police reports or organised protest demonstrations. This is clearly ‘insulting’ Christianity, especially when the book says that Jesus was actually propagating a return to the correct Jewish faith and that it is the Nazarenes and not the Catholics who hold true to the Jewish religion of Jesus.

Anyway, this book is a work of fiction although very close to real history. It is a sort of dramatised version of real events. I recommend it to those who want to mess up their mind, like what has happened to mine. Be warned though, you read this book at your own peril, especially Muslims, as there is a short reference to Muhammad and about how he got his verses from a ‘Jewish’ Nazarene priest. The name of this Jewish Nazarene priest is not mentioned in the book but one can suspect it could have been Warakah, the cousin of Muhammad’s wife, Khatijah.

Warakah, however, is reported to have been a Coptic Christian. At that time the Nazarenes had to seek the safety of the Arabian Peninsular, as they were classified as deviants and would be put to death if they remained in Christendom. The Sirah and Hadith talk a lot about the interaction between the pagan Arabs, Muhammad included in the days before the revelation, and the Coptic Christians or Nazarenes. The Koran, in fact, makes many references to the Nazarenes who are accepted by Islam as true ‘People of the Book’.

This book also talks about how Muhammad’s verses were compiled at the time of Osman and that they called it the Koran. This shatters the Muslim belief that the verses of the Koran came to Muhammad through the Angel Gabriel. So, as I said, be warned that you sail into uncharted territory if you choose to read this book, both for Christians as well as Muslims, as it will shake the very foundation of your beliefs.

Okay, enough digressing. The issue being discussed today is that Malaysia Today was launched on Friday the 13th in August 2004. And we chose this day not because of the Last Supper but because this was the day Anwar Ibrahim was supposed to have been released from prison. But the court postponed the hearing and instead he was released about two weeks later on 2 September 2004.

One of the first articles I wrote for Malaysia Today was the story about Anwar being released with a two-one verdict in his favour. I mentioned the name of the one judge who would rule in opposition to Anwar’s release.

A couple of days later I received a phone call from one of Anwar’s lawyers who requested to meet. He had just come out from meeting Anwar in the Sungai Buloh Prison.

He told me that Anwar knew about that article and was very unhappy. In fact, all the lawyers were also unhappy because they do not believe Anwar will ever see freedom. I told this lawyer that once I publish something I would never retract that article. The article stays even how unhappy Anwar may be.

Well, on 2 September 2004 Anwar was released as what I had written. That same day I received a phone call that Anwar wanted to see me. But I refused to go and see him. The next day they phoned again but I still refused to go and see Anwar. On the third day, Datuk Kamarul phoned and requested that I go and meet Anwar. He is leaving for Germany, Datuk Kamarul said, and he wants to meet me before he leaves.

I always give Datuk Kamarul ‘face’ so for his sake I went to meet Anwar. Datuk Kamarul was waiting outside Anwar’s house when I arrived and he brought me in to meet Anwar.

Alamak! Susah sungguh nak jumpa anak raja ni,” said Anwar. “Kena banyak kali panggil baru datang.”

I gave Anwar a very cold look and replied, “I thought you are angry with me for writing that you are going to be freed.”

Datuk Kamarul added, “I told you that you are going to be freed. So is what Pet wrote correct or not?” Datuk Kamarul wanted to rub it in.

Anwar explained that he was worried what I had written may be construed as contempt of court and that they could arrest me and charge me for that. He added that the Chief Justice actually tried, even up to the eleventh hour, to get the decision reversed. That is why the hearing started late. However, since the story of Anwar’s release was already all over the Internet and that the decision was two-one in favour of Anwar, the judges did not dare amend their judgement, which had already been written.

Anyway, back to the 2nd of September, the day of Anwar’s release.

As soon as word broke that Anwar had been released there were cheers and jubilation outside the Palace of Justice in Putrajaya. Hardly had the noise subsided when I received a phone call from the BBC. The BBC too had heard that Anwar had been released and they wanted to know what my next move was.

I was at that time the Director of the Free Anwar Campaign and the webmaster of freeanwar.com. The BBC wanted to know now that Anwar has been released and there is no longer a need for a Free Anwar Campaign what am I going to do next?

It was a live phone interview and my reply was, “It took six years to secure Anwar’s release. We no longer need a Free Anwar Campaign now that Anwar is free. But Malaysians are not yet free. Malaysians are still imprisoned. What took us six years to secure Anwar’s release may take us 60 years to see Malaysians being freed from imprisonment. I may never see this in my lifetime but at least I can plant the seeds of the ‘Free Malaysians Campaign’, which may happen long after I have left this world. But at least my grandchildren will benefit even though I will never live to see it.”

“What do you mean exactly by a ‘Free Malaysians Campaign’?” asked the BBC.

“Malaysians are being shackled. They are not being allowed to think. They are being imprisoned in their minds. We need to free Malaysians from the mental bondage that they are currently being subjected to. And this is what I mean by a ‘Free Malaysians Campaign’. Malaysia Today’s mission and vision is to teach Malaysians how to think and show Malaysians how to rid themselves of the shackles that are imprisoning their minds. Only when Malaysians dare think, question and challenge will they be truly free of this mental bondage.”

The BBC interview continued and I explained that the recent general election in March 2004 demonstrated that Malaysians are being kept in the dark about many things. That was why they voted the way they did in March 2004, giving Barisan Nasional more than 90% of the seats. Malaysians need to know the truth. Barisan Nasional can still form the government but it should not be with more than 90% of the seats. It should not even be with a two-thirds majority. At the most the ruling party, whoever that may be, must be given only 55% of the seats while the opposition must control 45% of the seats.

In short, we should see a two-party system emerge where the ruling party and the opposition have 55%-45% of the seats respectively. And maybe every two or three elections we switch parties so that the opposition can try its hand as the ruling party while the ruling party is sent into the opposition aisle for two or three terms to learn what it is like to be the opposition.

A two-party system will certainly be beneficial to Malaysia, as we will no longer see the hegemony of one party for more than 50 years like now. Furthermore, when these parties know that the voters are not going to give them a clear two-thirds majority but will instead swing from one party to another every two or three elections these politicians will behave and not take the voters for granted any longer. Imagine two parties falling over one another in trying to please us and to win our votes. They would practically bow in humility and offer themselves as our servants, which is what it should actually be like.

I am just shooting the breeze here of course, on the Fifth Anniversary of Malaysia Today’s ‘founding’ on 13 August 2004, Friday the 13th. Much water has passed under the bridge since. But my objectives remain the same. My mission and vision have not changed. I still want to see Malaysians transform into an informed voting population who may vote for either Barisan Nasional or Pakatan Rakyat, I don’t really care which, but they do so fully aware of why they are doing so.

This is a revolution. But it is a mental revolution. Free your minds. Remove the shackles. Break out of this mental bondage that you have been subjected to for more than 50 years. Become an informed voting population. And treat voting as not just your right but also your duty. Join us in achieving the aspirations of a ‘Free Malaysians Campaign’.

Comments (54)Add Comment
written by NSTPravda, August 13, 2009 17:03:23
.... and so it is, remember 813 folks,Bart Yat Sum, a good auspicious Cina kui number and we repeat: 813 This is a revolution. But it is a mental revolution. 813, Free your minds. Remove the shackles. Break out of this mental bondage that you have been subjected to for more than 50 years. 813, Become an informed voting population. And treat voting as not just your right but also your duty. Join us in achieving the aspirations of a ‘Free Malaysians Campaign’, remember 813. Let this be your catch phrase for Freedom from Tyranny!!!!
written by Kathy, August 13, 2009 17:07:36
Happy birthday, Malaysia Today, and thank you, RPK, for enlightening your readers. May you achieve what you set out to do, free Malaysians from the shackles clapped on by UMNO aided and abetted by MCA, SUPP, Gerakan, MIC and the Sarawak and Sabah parties. You may have to start another FREE ANWAR CAMPAIGN soon though.
agree 117
written by Hanif07, August 13, 2009 17:15:05
Congratulations RPK for Malaysia Today 5th birthday. Thank you for all you done and sacrifice for us Malaysian. YES I support your noble intention for "Free Malaysians Campaign" and thank you again Sir.
agree 151
written by Mr Smith, August 13, 2009 17:17:18
"Some say Friday the 13th is associated with the Last Supper,.."

No Pete, the last supper was held on Holy Thursday, one day before he was crucified on Good Friday.
written by lab76820, August 13, 2009 17:17:46
Yes Uncle Pete,

Let's work together, whether in a big leap or even a tiny step, but moved ahead towards achieving this as Malaysians and nothing else. And may u be free too! God Bless!
written by kclim, August 13, 2009 17:22:30
Dear RPK

Thank you very much on behalf of my children for the sake of their future.
Pinnochio had Jimmy the cricket as his conscience.
Here in Malaysia we have you honourable RPK as the conscience of the nation.
Please continue to prick at the conscience of the old folks in this country while opening the eyes of the younger generation. We may yet see changes within our lifetime, I sincerely hope and pray.
written by Reno, August 13, 2009 17:26:09
HAPPY BIRTHDAY MALAYSIA TODAY

May the spirit of Malaysia Today lives on forever in our hearts.

Pete, U have made a difference in our lives/perception on things in this country...!

Hats off to u...
written by SamSan, August 13, 2009 17:26:12
Pete, Khir Toyo,Mukhriz, grandson of Sikandar Kutty, Patinggi Taib, Semi Value, OTK and OKT and all other AMENO /BN warlords want to perpetuate BN / AMENO rule as the single most dominant party untill the time comes for Allah Allmighty to call for Judgement day. Only AMENO /BN will want the privielge of answering to ALLah on all their trangressions on humanity. Until then nobody else has the right to trangress and commit crimes on humanity except AMENO /BN. Malaysia Boleh!
written by Oscar Winner, August 13, 2009 17:31:36

Pls count me in. I will continue to get others to take part in this “Free Malaysians Campaign.” We, as anak bangsa Malaysia, are the boss, not UMNO tyrants and robbers who think they own this land. Long Live MT!
written by eeyaw, August 13, 2009 17:31:51
Pete, MT has really awaken the political animal in me, in believing that there is HOPE for Malaysia afterall, and the answer is right at the front of alot of other avenues, that is "Malaysia Today".

HAPPY FIFTH ANNIVERSARY MT!!!
written by Raja Petra, August 13, 2009 17:31:59
Mr Smith, you are of course right. My mistake is I am looking at things from an 'Islamic perspective' where the evening of Thursday is considered Friday (malam Jumaat). Anyway The Last Supper was held on the evening of preparation for the Jewish Passover, a very holy time for the Jewish nation in remembrance of when God spared the Jews from the plague of death on every firstborn child in Egypt. It is here that Jesus makes the prediction that Peter will deny knowing Him three times before the rooster crows that morning. This means The Last Supper actually overlaps between Thursday and Friday when the cock will crow. Anyway, I go along with what you say that The Last Supper was held on Thursday. No argument from me.
written by hiiijack, August 13, 2009 17:37:13
Congratulations my dear RPK and happy birthday to Malaysia Today(RPK baby).Long live RPK.
written by BurnTan, August 13, 2009 17:40:13
Thank you Malaysia Today and thank you RPK!
Keep up the good job!
written by kclim, August 13, 2009 17:46:26
Interestingly supper in this land of ours can actually start after sundownand after dinner on a thursday night till the wee hours of friday morning just before breakfast and just before sunrise! It was said that Jesus died at around 9am friday morning.
written by hellosunshine, August 13, 2009 17:46:42
Before MT, all Malaysians were like mushrooms being kept in the dark by BN. Fed full of bullshit and rubbish by BN. MT opened up a small window of light little by little and now the mushrooms can see all the dirty shit shoveled in by the BN pirates. What a healthy breath of fresh can do for the nation! Keep letting in more light and refreshing air of hope for the rakyat, RPK. smilies/wink.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by confuseus, August 13, 2009 17:53:38
"Malaysians are being shackled. They are not being allowed to think. They are being imprisoned in their minds. We need to free Malaysians from the mental bondage that they are currently being subjected to. And this is what I mean by a ‘Free Malaysians Campaign’. Malaysia Today’s mission and vision is to teach Malaysians how to think and show Malaysians how to rid themselves of the shackles that are imprisoning their minds. Only when Malaysians dare think, question and challenge will they be truly free of this mental bondage.”

My sentiments exactly. Now, people are the boss and I dont give a hoot about the politicians but Pet, you are one tough cookie.

I am very proud to be associated with you, YM.
Congratulations and Happy Aniversary MT.

EX BERSIH steering committee, EX SOPO Activist and currently a CORPORATE ACTIVIST.

Confuseus says "JOKERS, you days are numbered !!!"
written by 80srocker, August 13, 2009 17:58:08
Congratulations, Happy Birthday and thank you, RPK for being the voice against oppression. I would hate to think how'd the results of GE-12 would've been without you.

Anyway, forgive me for sidetracking, I love history. Friday 13th is a good date in my personal opinion. Come to think of it, you couldn't have started this blog on a better date. I think it's good fate.

Historically, Friday 13th was actually, I quote from 13: The Story of the World's Most Popular Superstition by Nathaniel Lachenmeyer:

The Knights Templar were a monastic military order founded in Jerusalem in 1118 C.E., whose mission was to protect Christian pilgrims during the Crusades. Over the next two centuries, the Knights Templar became extraordinarily powerful and wealthy. Threatened by that power and eager to acquire their wealth, King Philip secretly ordered the mass arrest of all the Knights Templar in France on Friday, October 13, 1307 - Friday the 13th

So you see, it's a date when oppression was set forth to kill off opposition. The Knights Templar (I'm not defending them or the Crusades) were arrested and tortured to extract confessions to trumped charges of sodomy, devil worship, urinating on the cross, heresy, and all sorts of other ridiculous charges. But in truth, it was because King Philip was heavily in debt to the Knights and could not repay.

Sound familiar?

Again, thanks, am praying for your long life and safety. Salam.
written by willove, August 13, 2009 18:08:57
Happy 5th Birthday, MT! My Homepage forever.
I have awaken, because of MT, and now I'm leading the charge to free Malaysians in my own capacity. Although I am just a normal person, but I believe if everyone thinks like me then it will eventually become a force to be reckoned with.
Thank you MT! Thank you YM RPK! From the bottom of my heart, and on behalf of my family, especially my children. Hopefully in their lifetime Malaysia will be a truly free and democratic country.
written by johntyc, August 13, 2009 18:10:57
Two-party system is good.

But first, BN must go! 52 years already. Enough chances given.
written by Fist of Asia, August 13, 2009 18:14:18
Happy Birthday Malaysia Today and Happy Anniversary RPK..
5 years ago I stumbled upon your webbie whilst I was super homesick at Perth.
Thanks for opening my eyes, and that of millions of Malaysians.
written by Lembing, August 13, 2009 18:59:23
YES, That day August 13th is really a bad luck day BUT ONLY for the BN GOvernment..
written by Mr Smith, August 13, 2009 19:12:41
Your knowledge of Christianity is remarkable. I think you know more about our religion than many Christians do!!
You have helped 'conscientize' many people that rituals, garments,fasting, donations do not please God but how one lead his/her life.
You have done more for religion than many ulamaks.
May God Bless you and your family.
written by Raja Petra, August 13, 2009 19:41:21
Dear talk2stop, you forgot 10% of those who comment in Blogs but do nothing else. Ring a bell?
written by ABU SAYAB, August 13, 2009 19:42:13
Pete salute to you!
Dear MT readers,free your minds and remove the shackles please start spreading this piece of news and get your friends and relatives to vote BN out once and for all.Explain to them all the happenings that are not reported by the MSM.
If Pakatan comes to power and doesn't keep its promises we can always vote back BN into power the next GE, then the Rakyat would be freed and be the boss!
I have managed to convince a few dozens hard core supporters of BN to support Pakatan since 1999 and still continuing.I trust you can the same...hopefuly one day the Rakyat of all races can really shout.. Merdeka!Merdeka! Merdeka!
written by penangite, August 13, 2009 20:59:19
haha I have that book. I have read it a long time ago. I think in that book, the word Assalammualaikum was simply put as 'Salam Aleikom'. Father Nil was a great, inquisitive scholar. I wish we have many Father Nils in Malaysia, only then can the Free Malaysians Campaign succeed.
written by Steven Tan, August 13, 2009 21:04:17
Dear YM RPK,

‘Free Malaysians Campaign’

Don't worry, this day will become reality during your time and our time.. It's just matter of time...Till then, we just need do our part without making so much noise.

I have very strong feeling that all our brothers and sisters regardless of our race, religion, language and skin colour WON'T let you down and this time around....together we will finished them off and send them exactly where these MORONS are belong.

Mark my word, IT WILL HAPPEN and we only "WILL GO" after witnessing this transformation and after we've created and make sure we've formed a better Malaysia for our next generation to live in harmony and peacefully as a genuine Malaysians.

Thank you smilies/smiley.gif
written by chongmlim, August 13, 2009 22:09:17
Happy 5th Birthday Malaysia Today!

RPK -- thanks for having the vision 5 years ago, and thanks for still having the drive & motivation today. MLK started with "I have a Dream..."

On this 5th Birthday, may your dream and the dream of All Malaysians be a reality soon!!

-ANAK BANGSA MALAYSIA
written by commonfolk, August 13, 2009 22:24:05
THANK YOU MT.
YES, vote wisely, vote not the corrupt.
written by mowadoha, August 13, 2009 22:25:53
Happy Birthday to ....

written by Semut Jantan, August 13, 2009 22:57:20
Dear Mr. Smith,

Counting from sunset to sunset, Thursday evening (the last supper) is considered Friday.
written by johnT, August 13, 2009 23:24:01
Dear RPK

Terimakasih atas pengorbanan RPK kepada seluruh rakyat Malaysia. RPK boleh memilih jalan mudah dengan masuk Bee End dan dapat duit dan jawatan menteri. Tetapi demi keadilan RPK menolak semua itu dan memilih jalan yang sukar.

Thanks RPK.
written by Fuminari, August 13, 2009 23:27:06
happy birthday malaysia today,u are god sent as far as malaysian are concerned!we need the two party system so that the rakyat can be the real boss of this land n not that bunch of thieves n bandits from umno be end who hide behind the racial curtain to achieve their own self gain agenda for their own families n cronies!!lets create another tsunami to bury them for good.
written by cheekhiaw, August 13, 2009 23:27:34
In Malaysia, the objective should not only be to turn idiot voters into informed voters. It is also to stop giving idiot voters more voting rights than informed ones.

written by justinlian, August 13, 2009 23:28:47
Im very sure your wishes will be answered and you will stil live to see it.
Things changes every now and then.
Whatever goes up, must come down.
Thats nature.
Keep your fingers crossed.
written by Lim Lim, August 13, 2009 23:31:57
13th aug 2004 was a bad day for those umno be end thieves n bandits but a good day for all malaysian!happy birthday malaysiatoday!!
written by Heaven8402, August 13, 2009 23:46:52
Happy Birthday Malaysia Today. Long live Malaysia Today!!!
written by bikerzon, August 13, 2009 23:46:56
Happy Birthday Malaysia Today!
This will be our struggle!
written by Heaven8402, August 13, 2009 23:47:50
Long Live Raja Petra Kamarudin!!! Hidup RPK! Hidup RPK!
written by non conformist, August 13, 2009 23:52:51
"Some say Friday the 13th is associated with the Last Supper, which was held on Friday ..... "

Supposing the Lord Supper was held on Friday evening, then Jesus Christ was crucified on the next day, i.e. Saturday, and was placed in the tomb in the evening. There He remained THREE DAYS and THREE NIGHTS in the tomb, according to His own words. Then when would the glorious resurrection be?

That is just a classic example of willful ignorance, speculation and superstition - by the religious, as well as the critics
written by magickriver, August 14, 2009 00:31:32
HAPPY 5TH ANNIVERSARY, MALAYSIA TODAY!!!!!

Pete, my personal gratitude and profound admiration for all the work you've put in on behalf of a Free Malaysia. In 5 years you have achieved, through this news portal, what no one could have imagined possible just prior to GE12. Almost singlehandedly you have taken on the behemoth of prejudice, ignorance, arrogance and greed - and it looks like you';re still way ahead of the game. I look forward greatly to the day Anwar gets installed PM... and you and the amazing Marina can return to your beloved Malaysia to a resounding heroes' welcome.

INFINITE BLESSINGS & FULL-SPECTRUM LOVE!
written by amoker, August 14, 2009 01:20:11
Aisay, that book is factually wrong even on that premise. The makan makan happen on Thursday. On Friday, Jesus was flogged and tortured and nailed. These writters now mix both facts and fiction. One must know a lot to distint.

Anyway, keep it up Bro. Dun get jailed again ok.
written by Ben, August 14, 2009 02:05:58
For... he's a jolly good fellow, for he's a jolly good fellow, for he's a joly good felloooooooow, which nobody can deny! Happy 5th birthday MT! I am so happy, I gave away all 2000 of the car stickers FOC!
written by educationist, August 14, 2009 05:30:57
Yes, my dear RPK, one year after the 308 tsunami, hopes of seeing the development of a more free, just, fair and democractic society is receding fast.
But it will be a case of 'padan muka mu' if the PR becomes a footnote in our nation's political history soon.
Even that grand old man of Malaysian opposition, Kit Siang has acknowledged that the PR leaders in Selangor has taken just 1 1/2 years to acquire the arrogance that the BN leadership displayed after 50 years.
But, no, we and you , RPK in particular must continue to hope.
Change, we can
Change, we must!!
written by Aria, August 14, 2009 06:09:15
Malaysia still has a long way to go to get rid of all their current mentality and outlook before Malaysia can have improvement in politics. Yesterday while out with my friends, the topic came up of Malaysia being free from suppression due to racism. The conversation became very sick indeed, the discussion diverted to about how the Chinese will take over, and how it would be better to be suppressed by the Malays then the Chinese!.

What’s wrong with Malaysians? Do they like to be suppressed? Do they prefer to be screwed by one race then the other? Why should anyone be screwed by any race?

There are problems in the Malaysian mentality that has to be worked out. I blame it on UMNO being in power for ever, so people don’t see anything else, and they are scared of what will happen with change. This is because Malaysians have never seen change. They come up with sayings like - It is better a known devil than an unknown devil! I prefer a know devil screwing me than a unknown devil?.
Raja Petra, you have a huge task of educating these Malaysians; good luck.
written by Admiral Tojo, August 14, 2009 09:57:25
HAPPY BIRTHDAY MALAYSIA TODAY. THE JOURNEY TO FREE THE SLAVES HAVE JUST BEGUN. MANY MORE SLAVES TO BE LIBERATED.

Have a peasant day Pete,

written by Admiral Tojo, August 14, 2009 09:58:20
Correction, Have a pleasant day Pete.

written by jaz, August 14, 2009 10:00:20
Free Malaysians, or die trying.
written by graha, August 14, 2009 10:21:18
Y.M. Raja, If I may add. The Prophet p.b.u.h could not read nor write and so what was revealed to him through Gabriel the Archangel was recited to the companion and script Zaid, to be put down in writing on parchments. The other companions also memorized The Quran by heart. The later Khalifah and companion, Osman's role was to merely collect and compile them as he and the other companions remaining were fearful of the loss of The Quran due to death as war casulties of many companions who had committed The Quran to memory. So this is not so earth shattering to ordinary Muslims who know the basics of The Quran. This is a good example of writings that are factually inaccurate, written by authors outside Islam, which many Muslims with shallow knowledge of their own religion tend to believe.
written by Conan Chung, August 14, 2009 12:01:33
WELL SINCE WE'RE GOING TO TALK ABOUT MENTAL REVOLUTION, ITS GONNA COME DOWN TO EDUCATION - JUST LIKE WAT PETE IS TRYING HERE. (BTW, HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY MALAYSIA-TODAY)

SINCE WE CANNOT DO ANYTHING IN OUR PUBLIC SCHOOLS AND CAN'T EXPECT ANYTHING FROM PRO-GOV MEDIA, ALL US NORMAL PEOPLE CAN ONLY RELY ON INTERNET AND 'WORD OF MOUTH' TO SELL PETE'S CONCEPT. I MEAN HOW ELSE CAN THE 1 MILLION OR SO MT READERS SPREAD THE MESSAGE TO THE OTHER 26 MILLION? (OK MINUS HALF FOR VOTERS)
thats the least us normal people can do.

AFTER WE GOT BN DOWN TO ITS KNEES, WE'RE GONNA GRAB PAKATAN RAKYAT BY THE BALLS AND MAKE THEM 'SERVE' US LIKE THEY SHOULD. (IF THE 'BN VIRUS' IS GOING TO SPREAD TO PR THEN ITS JUST ANOTHER BN. THINK ANIMAL FARM, FROM HUMAN OPPRESSORS TO PIG). WHILE WE'RE AT IT, WE THE PEOPLE SHOULD NEGOTIATE THE AMENDMENT/ANNULMENT OF VARIOUS LAWS - ISA, FREEDOM TO GATHER, PRESS ACT, AND WHATEVER ACT THAT RESTRICTS THE FREEDOM OF THE PEOPLE. THEN, WE GO ARD SOLVING OUR OTHER ISSUES - POLICE, JUDICIARY, MACC, EXECUTIVE INTO DISTINCTIVE, INDEPENDENT BODIES. ITS A LONG WAY, AND ITS NOT GONNA CHANGE EASILY... AND EVEN IF THE REVOLUTION DOES COME, THERE IS ALWAYS THE RISK OF SOME PARTIES HIJACKING THE IDEA AND PERVERTING IT.

IN ORDER TO PREVENT THAT, HAVING AN UN-AMENDABLE, WRITTEN DOCUMENT PERTAINING ALL THE KEY IDEAS OF THE MALAYSIAN PEOPLE'S MENTAL REVOLUTION IS NECESSARY. LIST OUT OUR GOALS. MAKE OUR INTENDED CHAMPION (SO FAR PAKATAN RAKYAT IS ALL WE HAVE) SIGN IT AND MAKE IT AVAILABLE FOR VIEWING TO THE ENTIRE WORLD. MAKE IT AN UNBREAKABLE PROMISE - I'M SURE THESE SMALL STEPS TAKEN CAN EVENTUALLY LEAD TO OUR INTENDED REVOLUTION - TRUE DOWN TO ITS LAST PEN STROKE.

WELL COMRADE PETE, THERE U HAVE IT... PAKATAN MIGHT BE OUR CHAMPION AGAINST BeeN BUT THERE IS NO FAIL-SAFE TO PROTECT US FROM OUR SUPPOSED CHAMPION. I HOPE YOU CAN LEAD THE MARCH IN NEGOTIATING WITH THE CURRENT OPPOSITION SO THAT THEY WON'T LOSE THEMSELVES AFTER DISPLACING BeeN, VICE VERSA. YOU ARE PERFECT FOR THE JOB - INTELLIGENT, PIOUS, JUST AND MALAY (YES, WE NEED A MALAY CHAMPION OF SUBSTANTIAL STANDING AND INFLUENCE TO CHAMPION THE PEOPLE'S AGENDA. PUT ANOTHER TO THE JOB AND HE'LL BE SENT BACK TO HIS COUNTRY OF ORIGIN BE IT IN MONGOLIA.)
FOR THIS UP-COMING DAUNTING TASK AND THE SACRIFICE YOU MADE SO FAR, I SALUTE YOU.

COMRADE IN ARMS
written by teo siew chin, August 14, 2009 12:42:32
Happy belated Birthday MT !
You have achieved much in just 5 short years.
Shoot for the stars!
We are with you all the way.
written by Panca Indera, August 15, 2009 00:10:56
Dear RPK and MT
You cannot be going far off the straight path or doing the wrong thing, as long you keep these in mind.

45.26] Say: Allah gives you life, then He makes you die, then will He gather you to the day of resurrection wherein is no doubt, but most people do not know.
[45.27] And Allah's is the kingdom of the heavens and the earth; and on the day when the hour shall come to pass, on that day shall they perish who say false things.
[45.28] And you shall see every nation kneeling down; every nation shall be called to its book: today you shall be rewarded for what you did.
[45.29] This is Our book that speaks against you with justice; surely We wrote what you did,
[45.30] Then as to those who believed and did good, their Lord will make them enter into His mercy; that is the manifest achievement.
[45.31] As to those who disbelieved: What! were not My communications recited to you? But you were proud and you were a guilty people.
[45.32] And when it was said, Surely the promise of Allah is true and as for the hour, there is no doubt about it, you said: We do not know what the hour is; we do not think (that it will come to pass) save a passing thought, and we are not at all sure.
[45.33] And the evil (consequences) of what they did shall become manifest to them and that which they mocked shall encompass them.
[45.34] And it shall be said: Today We forsake you as you neglected the meeting of this day of yours and your abode is the fire, and there are not for you any helpers:
[45.35] That is because you took the communications of Allah for a jest and the life of this world deceived you. So on that day they shall not be brought forth from it, nor shall they be granted goodwill.
[45.36] Therefore to Allah is due (all) praise, the Lord of the heavens and the Lord of the earth, the Lord of the worlds.
[45.37] And to Him belongs greatness in the heavens and the earth, and He is the Mighty, the Wise.
May ALLah keeps you on the right path and guide all the time. smilies/cool.gif
written by minds, August 15, 2009 03:16:37
HAPPY BIRTHDAY MALAYSIA TODAY
WISH YOUR DREAM COME TRUE BUT NOT IN 60 YEARS
MUST BE IN NEXT G.E
written by noyawns, August 15, 2009 19:54:32
Thank you, Pete, for this incredible effort to Free Malaysians for the generations to come. Pls keep on shootin for the stars!