Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Utusan reporter says he thought ultra vires means ‘to insult’

Utusan reporter says he thought ultra vires means ‘to insult’ PDF Print
Wednesday, 12 August 2009 16:58

By Asrul Hadi Abdullah Sani, The Malaysian Insider

Utusan Malaysia reporter Mohd Nizam Mohd Yatim told the High Court today that he thought the phrase “ultra vires” contained in a press release issued by Karpal Singh meant the DAP man was insulting the Perak Sultan.

Mohd Nizam, the prosecution’s first witness in Karpal’s sedition trial, was subjected to a rigorous cross-examination by defence counsel Jagdeep Singh Deo, and appeared rattled by the lawyer’s questions.

At one point the Utusan Malaysia reporter did not appear to even know what Karpal Singh was being charged with.

The reporter was also unable to show a clear understanding of the barrage of questions by Jagdeep on the four-page press statement distributed by Karpal during a press conference on Feb 6 this year.

Based on a report written by him and published by the newspaper, Mohd Nizam had been put on the witness stand by the prosecution to show that Karpal had committed sedition.

By questioning him over his understanding of what transpired during Karpal's press conference, the defence was attempting to prove he was an unreliable witness.

The DAP chairman and Bukit Gelugor MP was charged with sedition on March 17 for saying Datuk Seri Nizar Jamaluddin's removal as Perak mentri besar by Sultan Azlan Shah could be questioned in a court of law.

The veteran lawyer-politician was charged in the Sessions Court in KL before judge Mohamad Sekeri Mamat under Section 4(1)(b) of the Sedition Act 1948.

Karpal is further accused of several other seditious statements related to the entire Perak constitutional crisis which began two months ago.

He is accused of committing the crime during a press conference at his law firm here on Feb 6.

During cross-examination, Jagdeep had asked the 38-year-old reporter: “Do you agree that his (Karpal) view on the constitution is sought after?”

Mohd Nizam: “I am not sure.”

Jagdeep: “Do you agree that he (Karpal) is known as a smart laywer?”

Mohd Nizam: “I am not sure.”

Jagdeep: “If you still do not know after eight years working then you should start doing your work properly.”

Jagdeep then proceeded to ask him if he understood the press release since it was in English.

Mohd Nizam: “I only understand it in general and not thoroughly.”

Jagdeep then asked the reporter if he agreed that what was said in the press conference was only an opinion of the constitutional crisis in Perak.

“I only report and do not give opinion,” Mohd Nizam replied.

The answer appeared to irritate Jagdeep who accused Mohd Nizam of being insincere.

Jagdeep then told Mohd Nizam to read part of the press release to the court.

Mohd Nizam: “Although the orders have been confirmed by the Sultan. If the decision is ultra vires then the decision can be adjudicated by the court.”

Jagdeep then asked Nizam to explain what ultra vires means to the court.

Nizam looking confused and replied: “To insult.”

Jagdeep then told Mohd Nizam that his misunderstanding of the word had caused chaos in the country because the word actually means “beyond the powers”.

Comments (53)Add Comment
written by Kampong, August 12, 2009 17:06:31
A product of our Malaysian learning institution that has no basic understanding of English and no logical thinking.

Yeah, you can sue me for insulting your race and religion, you hell destined crooks.
agree 147
written by hellosunshine, August 12, 2009 17:09:06
That's what you get in kangaroo courts. Dumbass witnesses and missing witnesses. That reflects on the competency of the prosecution and the gomen apparatus. All can't be relied on, even to do a frame up job
written by Kathy, August 12, 2009 17:12:02
If the situation regarding the judiciary in Malaysia weren't so dire I would be splitting my sides laughing. As it is I can only sigh and say "What do you expect. It can only happen in Malaysia." This is rapidly becoming a common occurrence in our country.
written by arazak, August 12, 2009 17:20:17
Oh my goodness. . .! he does not even know what is ultra vires?

Imagine, this is the quality of reporters they have in this racist newspaper!

Nasib baik dia tak cakap “ultra vires” tu “Ultraman”!
agree 129
written by Flex65, August 12, 2009 17:25:27
Ultra Vires is a strain of virus that is similar to the H1N1 but more stupid.
written by Vivarium, August 12, 2009 17:27:33
Now he had wished he was never born. There will be many more such " Nizam's " to amuse us.
If the next question to this Nizam had been :
What is the difference between "prostitution " and "constitution " ?
The answer would have been " the pro is swapped with con " !!!
written by OVERLORD, August 12, 2009 17:32:24
Jagdeep: Do you know what is "ultra vires"?
Nizam : Errr....virus yang terlampau kut....sama dengan H1N1 virus....
written by Vivarium, August 12, 2009 17:37:43
Forrest Gump - borderline mental retardation, and there are many.
written by loosecannon, August 12, 2009 17:48:20
This is the kind of idiots and goons running Utusan.
written by advocatusdiaboli, August 12, 2009 17:52:01
bodohnya. Utusan Monyet reporters really mangkuk hayun fellas lah. Go and study proper English lah moron.
written by Badaksumbu, August 12, 2009 17:55:08
ultr vires means H2N2
written by unomalaysia, August 12, 2009 17:56:02
This Utusan Mampus bonehead also no speeka England.... Hey MM Tahi, you now have a blood brother.
written by NSTPravda, August 12, 2009 17:56:21
Wah if ultra vires means extreme virus i.e. insulting the sultan, the sine die must mean mati sini, mens rea means belakang jantan, i.e. sodomy, mea culpa means mee in a cup. Now that's speaking England by Ugutan Reporter that's fed on NEP diet, so latin is late datin? Semua-nya OK!
written by Wudan, August 12, 2009 17:58:44
Ultra Vires is a Latin phrase. I don't blame Mohd Nizam for not knowing what it means. But the AG and the police are the biggest idiots for initiating the sedition charge based on the evidences they have.

Now all your witnesses sound like morons. Mohd Nizam, macam mana sekarang?
written by 80srocker, August 12, 2009 17:59:47
I wrote the comments below to the article "Utusan atau Ugutan Melayu". It's still relevant. Kutusan probably went to mental institutions and gave the patients a notepad and pencil each to write, then made them into their articles!

Years ago, there was a late night forum show on TV. The discussion that night centered on the underground music scene in Malaysia. FYI: An "underground band" means it is not supported by any music label, and although "underground" sounds scary, it doesn't have anything to do with satanism per se.

Anyway, the panelists consisted of a music promoter, a well-known local band member, and a journalist from Kutusan.

Throughout the program, the Kutusan journalist kept spitting nothing but negativity against underground music (he's been doing that in the paper too). After a long, arduous pressing by the 2 music men the "journalist" finally cracked and admitted that he DIDN'T know what underground music really is!

I rest my case.
written by malsia1206, August 12, 2009 18:09:53
All said and done, this speaks volume of the professional reporting standards of Utusan Malaysia as a mass media publication. The sad thing is this is no longer a joke taken from one of RPK's write-up in Malaysia Today. This is for real. This publication must be truly the mother of all media in Malaysia only in so far it is no better than the reading material for kindergarten kids.
written by johntyc, August 12, 2009 18:15:51
Itulah, asyik nak kenakan orang! Tak faham pun nak beri komen. Malukan diri sendiri je. Memang teruk utusan.
written by Krepot, August 12, 2009 18:25:43
Mohd Nizam Mohd Yatim is what Mahathir referred to as "the product of inbreeding" in his book, the Malay Dilemma.
written by Commonsenses, August 12, 2009 18:27:06
What do u expect from Utusan, they always twist and turn and caught themselves in a bigger shit. Dun expect the kampung boy to learn english, if latin worse still.

Utusan are bunch of melayu jokers publishing newspapers.
written by arazak, August 12, 2009 18:31:15
80srocker,

You can still forgive if it a half-past 6 kUtusan journalist who does not know what is "underground music" and making a mockery of himself. Remember during the Anwar - Sabri Chik debate? One professor kangkong doesn't even know what is IPP (independent Power Plant)! Man. . ., we are not talking about some half-past 6 Kutusan journalist here, we are talking about the Head of a University and an ex-Biro Tata Negara strongman!

I am still wondering why are they still arrogant despite their capabilities (or rather incapabilities)!
written by 80srocker, August 12, 2009 18:35:40
arazak, thanks for the info. I missed that debate, unfortunately.
written by bexe, August 12, 2009 18:42:44
The Judge should have thrown out the case there and then!
written by Sutha, August 12, 2009 18:47:06
Doesn't this fact speak for itself?

.....That we have morons at the Utusan!

.....Morons from United Morons' National Organisation
written by malgal, August 12, 2009 19:01:20
good that buffoonery gets exposed at last. there is a day for everything.
written by TURTLEMAN, August 12, 2009 19:01:23
Ultra Vires means something like Ultraman.Go read then get knowledge then only you write or report you stupid dumb ass.Write or report wat people say ok Dont write wat you think %$%&&^**( i dont know how to screw you la , see now i can get the right word to screw you so i will go and read to get it ok)
written by mikewang, August 12, 2009 19:47:39
YB Karpal should sue Utusan for loss of reputation as a result of journalistic negligence.

How can we have a reporter who does not understand English well attending a PC in English?
I don't understand why people are still buying such low grade journalistic trash !
written by us marshall, August 12, 2009 19:49:55
just goes on to prove the quality of reporters utusan malaysia has. period!!!!!
written by gondrong, August 12, 2009 19:54:43
This reporter should be charged because of his stupidity...Another product from UMNO...And people that charge Karpal also moron...People that read and believe what the reporter wrote also moron...Mr Bean can take this as precedent study for his next movie..hehehe
written by eagle22, August 12, 2009 20:11:27
Why lah .. that Kutusan fella so dumb. It's not that he didn't know the meaning of "ultra vires" (I also didn't know till i ******d).

But taking witness stand for Karpal's hearing without knowing who is his defending lawyers is the biggest mistake. Karpal was represented by eight lawyers.Someone all of them law GURUs...i think they eat,sleep,drink.... with law books. Don't lah just listen to the DPP and straight jump to the witness stand.

Now ... you knowlah... better be careful... don't play play with that TIGER.

My advise, next time Kutusan kind of fellas facing Karpals team... make sure .. you prepare .. even "GORENG PISANG" or "PISANG GORENG" issue. If you don't even know how to interpret this, gone ... you ll be GORENGed to maximum.
written by Ghifarix, August 12, 2009 20:43:43
Well I'll be damned, this is the quality of journalist we have as the Gomen mouth piece. Look at the mischief this imbecile caused the people, these are the sloganeering jokers Utusan and Berita Harian have in their employ.Padan muka engkau he is exposed to the nation as a stupidy.
Now it is tax payers footing the bill for this kangaroo court worst yet the Sultan if truly concern should endeavor to stop this trial and save his name sake.
written by densemy, August 12, 2009 20:44:33
written by Wudan, August 12, 2009 17:58:44
Ultra Vires is a Latin phrase. I don't blame Mohd Nizam for not knowing what it means.

This guy is a journalist, words are the tools of his trade. If he doesnt know the meaning of a word, either check it out or dont use it

Wudan, your apologistic statements are the sort of thing that encourages incompetence
written by lamakawan, August 12, 2009 21:01:45
Utusan reporter mohd. Nizam is a hypocrite. he is being put in as a scapegoat by Utusan to create chaos for Kapal singh. it is quite unlikely that he does not know the meaning of ultra vires. He simply retorted " means insult."
The BN leadership of today is all out to create confusion of Pakatan loyalists among the public. They want to create a bad image of pakatan leaders so that the public can swing their support back to BN.
The BN leadership is very cruel and wretched.
written by Wudan, August 12, 2009 21:17:44

Wudan, your apologistic statements are the sort of thing that encourages incompetence
-------------------------------------------

My dear densemy, please read the context of my comment again carefully. Do I sound apologistic? Can you spot the little tinge of sarcasm there?
written by Bigdawg, August 12, 2009 21:20:15
Go and re-learn english from one of numerous kindies around KL. Go in mornings,
and report in afternoons.

Don't forget to bring along beg sekolah and botol nan-nan.
written by nanakassim, August 12, 2009 21:23:52
written by arazak, August 12, 2009 18:31:15

...One professor kangkong doesn't even know what is IPP (independent Power Plant)...

arazak, just to put the record right, IPP stands for Independent Power Producer.
written by Engineer, August 12, 2009 21:26:09
OMG, I also misunderstood the meaning of ultra vires.

I tawt ultra vires is ultraman's wife.
written by Fedup, August 12, 2009 21:30:23
helo all bros

Pls dont look down on UM /BH reporters. They r just heeding calls by BN to hit and hit hard at PR leaders at all cost be it thru clever ways or stupid ways.

One Malaysia
written by Fedup, August 12, 2009 21:36:34
After wat had happened in the courk today....oops COURT today, all the prosecution witnesses will apply for selsema ultra vires (H1N1 oops... SELSEMA BABI UM AS NAMED BY RICE YATIM) mc as Azman told them so as not to be goreng by Jadgeep
written by JaguhKampung, August 12, 2009 22:37:30
So now we know why Utusan and BH is so blatant in their reporting. They get stupid people to be their journalist. OMG, ultra vires = insulting. And they still want to stop English language in maths and science. Takpa la. Let them continue, PR will win hands down if BN have more people like that. Totally brainless.
written by JaguhKampung, August 12, 2009 22:40:29
If their journalists are stupid, it's even more stupid to buy their papers....
written by SiHangChai, August 12, 2009 23:14:49
You thought????? Stupid idiot Utusan reporter, everything also you thought. Then I also can say I thought you write so that you want to sodomise saiful also. What is wrong if Karpal is to question a Sultan? Sultan is also human, Sultan also needs to listen, Sultan also makes mistake and sometimes, a Sultan also can be as stupid as everyone. WHo say Sultan can't be questioned, or be insulted? Is every SUltan is good sultan? In history, we have very bad Sultans in the past. Are you telling that everyone of us to be like that Hang Tuah, the traitor to Melaka state whom many Malays once thought to be a hero? Pls be more rationale in writing, especially Utusan Melayu. Don't write or report kock stories.
written by SamSan, August 12, 2009 23:52:12
The real culprit who desecrated the noble position and powers of our esteemed constitutional monarch is none other than Che Det and his AMENO baru which is very remote and in now way reflects the original true and compassionate UMNO which was created by our founding fathers and Bapa Merdeka. This present AMENO regime is a fake syaitan regime that has upstaged the original true and ever compassionate value based original pristine UMNO.
written by fireduck, August 13, 2009 00:03:37
ROTFLMAO!! This has got to get in the Hall of Fame (or Shame) for the best laugh! It so funny. And the prosecution's first witness. Omigosh, it gets funnier when you really think about it. Muahahahahahahahaha!!!!! smilies/cheesy.gif
written by smeagrooo, August 13, 2009 00:30:25
If Utusan continues to churn out crap like fanning racial sentiments, i think in no time they will hv to run big time contests like giving away cars to woo readers or punters to increase their sales. Who would want to buy crap like NST, MMail nowadays?
written by Davy McChester, August 13, 2009 00:33:00
It is very frightening should Mohd Nizam represent the cream of the government media. He almost got Kirpal physically attacked by UMNO hypocritical mob at the parliament ground.The UMNO controlled media should be charged for incitement and sedition instead.
written by Windchime, August 13, 2009 00:49:28
C'mon la u all, this ultra vires means virus which are made by ultra man la! This utusan fellow did not know only mah. Guess he did not have time to watch the ultra man show on TV la...! Pity him.
written by MalaysianFirst, August 13, 2009 01:10:49
It's quite obvious that I'm on your watch list as I noticed some far more ridiculous comments get posted and mine you have systematically deleted.

I'm flattered.

written by Daryl, August 13, 2009 01:21:26
LOL
In this day and age you would think someone like him could have ****** the word or ask a attorney to explain that word. Maybe, Utusan Moron is not really racist but just dumb and misunderstood. Please forgive me for insulting you retarted guys in Utusan Moron because we need to give the handicap something to do. I think I like BN because they are providing employment for the retarded as well.
LOL
written by Sutha, August 13, 2009 01:31:58
If Ultra Vires is "INSULT", Intra Vires must be "DISGRACE".

Utusan, you are an INTRA VIRES to the nation and more so to your racist malays. By the way, have you forwarded your new words to Dewan Bahasa dan Pustaka for inclusion into Kamus Dewan Edisi Kelima. Bahasa Jiwa Bangsa.
written by timberguy, August 13, 2009 05:02:18
Ha Ha Ha.not suprise,this is the quality of editor and reporter at Utusan.No wonder Lee Kuan Yew first move when he was elected as Prime |Minister of Singapore is to ban UTUSAN.The no one instigator.

Good luck to you Najib.Dont bluff the Malaysia.You have to choose either to promote one Malaysia or Malay supermacy chaimpion by UTUSAN.You cannot have both.
written by Cobweb76, August 13, 2009 07:52:32
Ultraman is my hero. Please don't insult him. smilies/wink.gif
written by Orang Muda, August 13, 2009 09:34:57
The Kelantan Pas has called upon Ultraman to protect the state from being taken over by UMNO/BN. View this dikir barat Ultraman song.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZVlsaxvJKNc
written by C360, August 13, 2009 16:43:55
Ini lah orang yang tak nak belajar bahasa inggeris, tak faham bahasa inggeris.