Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow How they prostitute Islam for political gains

How they prostitute Islam for political gains PDF Print
Thursday, 13 August 2009 00:00

So, what is the issue here? Is the issue Islam? Is the issue about eradicating sin? Is the issue about not allowing vice in Malay neighbourhoods? Is Umno outraged that beer is being sold in ‘Malay’ Shah Alam? What is really the issue?

There is a controversy sweeping Selangor state. Well, actually there are many controversies sweeping the state. But this particular controversy I am talking about involves the matter of the confiscation of beer.

As explained by the EXCO Member in charge of local government, Ronnie Liu, the confiscation was a mistake, an error of judgment of sorts, and the beer was ultimately returned to the owner the same day with an apology attached.

Furthermore, explained Ronnie, you need a licence to sell liquor. But beer does not come under the classification of liquor. So you do not need a licence to sell beer and therefore the government can’t confiscate beer even if the premises that is selling it does not have a liquor licence. This is not the law that Pakatan Rakyat made. This is the law that the Barisan Nasional government made.

But Umno is not about to allow the matter to end there. They want to organise a protest demonstration and they demand that PAS join them in this demonstration as proof that the Islamic party is committed to its Islamic agenda. Basically, Umno wants to pressure the Pakatan Rakyat state government into reversing its policy on ‘allowing’ beer to be sold in Selangor and it wants PAS to unite with Umno in propagating this stand.

The impression being created is that Umno is opposed to beer being sold in Selangor. But only today is it opposed to the sale of beer. For 51 years, when Selangor was under Umno, it was not opposed to the sale of beer. It is only opposed to the sale of beer now that it no longer rules the state.

Hasan Ali, the man behind the secret talks with Umno soon after the 8 March 2008 general election, has of course jumped onto the bandwagon in ‘defence’ of Islam. He wants Selangor to ban the sale of liquor and beer in the state, or at least in Malay-majority neighbourhoods or townships like Shah Alam.

That is all well and fine. I am certainly in support of eradicating immoral activities. And I will support not only Muslims but also Jews, Christians, Hindus, Buddhists and whatnot to see this happen.

But this is not what is behind the brouhaha. The issue is not about eradicating vice. It is about trying to embarrass the Pakatan Rakyat state government and in the same process create a rift between PAS and its other partners, DAP and PKR.

First of all, how would we define Malay-majority townships? What percentage of the population would have to be Malay before it is classified as Malay-majority neighbourhoods or townships? Malays make up about 51% of the population of Selangor. So would that particular neighbourhood or township have to have at least a 90% population to be classified as Malay-majority? Or is 70% a more realistic percentage since it would be almost impossible to find a township with a 90% Malay-majority population?

This is something Umno and its Trojan Horse in PAS, Hasan Ali, did not define. So the issue of what constitutes a Malay-majority township is very hazy at this stage. Maybe they should first define this and after that place signboards at the entrance of these townships that say “Malay-majority constituency” so that people would be aware of it.

Anda sekarang berada di dalam kawasan majoriti Melayu”, would probably be what the signboard says. Then the Indians and Chinese could demand the same for their Indian- and Chinese-majority constituencies as well. And with that we can forget the 1Malaysia bullshit because the entire Selangor will have signboards declaring which townships are Malay-majority, Chinese-majority and Indian-majority.

In the classified Indian-majority areas they can then ban the sale of beef since this is taboo to the Indians. I don’t know what we can ban in Chinese-majority areas other than the volume on the mosque PA system to avoid waking up the Chinese from their sleep at 5.30am.

To arbitrary declare that Shah Alam is Malay-majority and therefore the sale of beer should be banned in that township is not good enough. Clear guidelines must be provided so that people would be aware what constitutes a Malay-majority area. Then a law must be passed in Parliament to make it illegal to sell beer in these ‘gazzeted’ Malay-majority areas where the population touches whatever percentage constitutes a Malay-majority area.

Terengganu is by far a Malay-majority state. It has a 98% or more Malay population. But in 1999, when the opposition ruled the state, the PAS President who was also the Menteri Besar of Terengganu, first summoned the non-Muslims for a meeting before imposing a ban on anything that Islam viewed as forbidden.

In the meeting, the representatives from the non-Muslim community said that liquor should not be banned but the state can ban gambling as the non-Muslims considered this a social problem and detrimental to the wellbeing of society.

So gambling was banned in Terengganu but liquor was not. And this was basically what the non-Muslims, not the Muslims, had wanted. Of course, PAS was whacked for banning gambling although this proposal came from the non-Muslims. But liquor was not banned in spite of the fact the Muslims viewed liquor a bigger vice than gambling -- ibu kepada semua maksiat.

Kelantan too had banned gambling a decade earlier although liquor can still be found in the state, until today, as can pork. For that matter, pigs could not be slaughtered in Kelantan in the old days when the state was under Umno. When PAS took over Kelantan in 1990 they allowed the slaughter of pigs in the state and no longer did you need to ‘import’ pork from the other states.

This shows that PAS can, if it wished to, look at things in a more rational manner. It is only when one or two personalities try to throw the cat amongst the pigeons when all hell breaks loose. But these people are not doing things in the interest of Islam. They just want to create chaos in the opposition so that Umno can take back Selangor from Pakatan Rakyat.

Okay, let us assume that Umno is sincere about defending Islam. There is another ‘Malay-majority’ neighbourhood in Selangor, Subang. In fact, Subang was developed by a Malay-controlled company, Sime Darby. Sime Darby is Malay through and through.

And one high-powered Umno man linked to Daim Zainuddin owns Holiday Villa in Subang. Holiday Villa not only sells liquor but also has a disco, pub, bar and whatnot where you not only can get drunk but can also pick up women as well. Holiday Villa also has a massage parlour well stocked with women who, for the right price, will drop their panties and give you a good screw.

So, we are talking about more than just liquor here. We are talking about being able to fuck your brains out in a Malay-owned hotel, owned by someone very high up in Umno and linked to Daim plus many other key people in Umno, in an area developed by one of the largest government-linked property companies headed by a whole bunch of Malays.

So, what is the issue here? Is the issue Islam? Is the issue about eradicating sin? Is the issue about not allowing vice in Malay neighbourhoods? Is Umno outraged that beer is being sold in ‘Malay’ Shah Alam? What is really the issue?

The issue is simple, really. It is about trying to create a fight between PAS and its two partners in Pakatan Rakyat. And Islam is being used as the platform in trying to achieve this. They are just prostituting Islam. And that is what Islam has been reduced to, a prostitute in the game of ‘let’s try to take back Selangor like we did Perak’.

Hasan Ali: 'Ripples' will strengthen PR Selangor

Written by Melody Song, The Edge  

Selangor PAS state commissioner Datuk Dr Hasan Ali said there were no tensions within the state Pakatan Rakyat (PR) coalition over the alcohol issue.

He cited a survey in local Malay-language daily Sinar Harian which revealed that 74% of those polled disagreed that the recent spate of arguments had caused cracks in the coalition.

"PR Selangor will remain intact," he said. "These 'ripples' and minor disturbances will only serve to strengthen our relationship.

"We are all educated grownups and wise enough to differentiate between policy decisions and personal issues," he said when asked if he and fellow state exco member Ronnie Liu faced any tension between them.

Hasan added that he would not be intimidated by threats of disciplinary action to be taken against him for calling for Liu's resignation.

"For the sake of upholding my principles, Islamic laws and related rules, I am prepared to face any action from PR leadership, even if it means being asked to resign from my post as state exco member," he said.

"I don't know why I've been threatened with disciplinary action," Hassan said. "Perhaps (Tony) Pua feels that my 'sin' against the coalition is too great.

"Selangor PAS thinks PR is on the right track when it comes to dealing with issues in the state," he said.

On Friday, Selangor DAP deputy chairman Tony Pua called for PR leadership to set up a disciplinary committee against Hasan for seeking the removal of DAP's Liu as the local government committee chairman.

Liu had allegedly overstepped his boundaries when he asked the Shah Alam City Council to return the 70 cans of beer that were "illegally seized" from a 7-Eleven outlet in Section 8 on July 29.

Hasan said the outlet in question is no longer selling alcohol.

"Yesterday the store manager told me alcohol sales contribute to less than 1% of total daily sales, so they have decided to stop selling the beverages.

"I was told during the Barisan Nasional government's time the residents of Section 8 had already made requests to stop the convenience store from selling beer, but no action was taken.

"They are pleased with Selangor PAS' suggestion," he said.

Hassan added he will lead an expedition tonight with Jabatan Agama Islam Selangor (JAIS) to check 7-Eleven outlets in Shah Alam whether Selangor Menteri Besar Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim's suggestions of self-regulation of the sale of alcohol have paid off.

Khalid announced that as of today 10 7-Eleven outlets in Shah Alam have stopped selling alcoholic beverages. Seven others sell to non-Muslims only by demand as the beverages are no longer in public display. - 12 August 2009

Comments (69)Add Comment
written by storm62, August 13, 2009 02:16:50
soon Muslims will be barred from going and working at Genting Highlands.

By the way, Genting Highlands is in Pahang, home state of the umno pm and a malay majority state....why the hell they have a casino up there all this while?
agree 507
written by 80srocker, August 13, 2009 02:28:56
Dear YM,

Thanks for giving your thoughts on this issue of using Islam in vain. As a convert, I do get questioned many times on what the authorities namely UMNO, JAIS, JAKIM did "in the name of Islam". I've even come across a few non-Muslims who think that they shouldn't eat pork or consume alcoholic drinks in front of me, based on what those departments did.

Another comment that I always hear is "You're lucky as a Muslim, you can marry 4 women." After I told them that's not what Islam taught us, there are many conditions to met before you could marry another. No. 1: You need the incumbent wife's consent. Their replies, "Oh. But I see some Muslims doing that. Having sugarbabies and all." "Who?" I asked. "The politicians, Dato's..."

Salam.
agree 263
written by mob1900, August 13, 2009 02:33:43

Reject Barisan Najis’s manipulation of religion & racial issues to prosecute genuine representatives of the Rakyat because once these representatives are gone, we’ll have no more voices!
agree 422
written by anon, August 13, 2009 02:35:34
Good write up Pete.
I guess Petaling Street will have a signboard saying...you are now entering Chinese Territory. Pork and beer are served. And in Brickfields ... you are now entering Indian Territory. Beer is legal in these territories. Cheers.

So much for 1 Malaysia. 1 Malaysia my a**e. Who they trying to kid? 1 Malaysia then now 'Malay majority' area. There's 1 Malaysia for you.

Even the tourist can see through this facade of 1 Malaysia.
agree 263
written by anon, August 13, 2009 02:44:00
Reminds me when my bro-in-law came here and could not find a single place in PD ( around where he was staying ) that sold beer. Visit Malaysia ... and you will give up drinking. You will be too tired to look for one in 1 Malaysia.

Next, only halal food in malay majority places. You Chinese and Indians entepreneurs who are outside Petaling Street and Brickfields, think of an alternative.
written by Cash Money, August 13, 2009 02:50:07
The Quran excepts the the Bible and the Old Testament.Isa(Christ) himself tranformed water into wine.So air-anggur oklah Melayu.

written by zs1230, August 13, 2009 02:51:33
Permatang Pasir by-election is just around the corner. I hope PAS would know what to do to people like Hasan. He probably has nothing better to do than to label every territory according to the race majority.
written by Wakeupmsia, August 13, 2009 03:04:59
This Dogtor Hassna has to go. He's proven time and again a TROJAN HORSE. PAS has to act.......and act fast before this half-man.half dog destroys PAS. YAB Khalid Samad seems to be more capable to Head PAS SELANGOR.
agree 182
written by LFLee, August 13, 2009 03:06:38
For many of us MT readers, we know this is Monkey show again from UMNO.

But for many out there who don't read MT, and just glance through the title of the newspaper from Main Stream Media, they going to think PAS is extremist again - and rest assure the newspaper (especially Chinese newspaper) will make it a big deal -- PAS = extremist = No Pork = No Alcohol = No Sex =...

Arrh... it is already hard to get rid of BN/UMNO when everything is under their control. And now add some rats from PAS to join force with UMNO, it only gets harder. Seeing how BN/UMNO have to manipulate online survey to show people are supporting ISA - this government is getting crazy and you can imagine it will use everything trick possible to stay in power.
written by LFLee, August 13, 2009 03:10:01
btw, Pete, I am sure there will be a lot more Chinese visiting Holiday Villa after reading this post. Are you sure you are not getting commission from them by advertising for them?
agree 121
written by taishan, August 13, 2009 03:16:49
Ah.... and about the ex-IGP who's Genting boss - hard core gambling.
written by schizonoid, August 13, 2009 03:19:35
Lulusan darjah 6 pun boleh mengetahui rancangan jahat BN.
Mastermind bodoh!
written by mowadoha, August 13, 2009 03:34:33
Dear RPK, thank you for your continued enlightenment and stay safe.

agree 141
written by Proarte, August 13, 2009 04:27:32
Hassan Ali said:
"Yesterday the store manager told me alcohol sales contribute to less than 1% of total daily sales".

If beer sales represent less than 1% of total sales and it is reasonable to assume that at most 10% of these sales will be to Muslims, then simple Maths tells us that 99.9% of sales to Muslims is non-alcohol based. So what is Hassan Ali getting so excited about?

The answer lies in his further comments:

"Hassan added he will lead an expedition tonight with Jabatan Agama Islam Selangor (JAIS) to check 7-Eleven outlets in Shah Alam"

JAIS is an UMNO outfit to regulate and control the lives of Malays and illegally have been trying extend their dirty tentacles on non-Muslims. It is there to give UMNO an 'Islamic' face. It is another prostitute UMNO organisation. Well, well, it is no surprise that Hassan Ali, another UMNO prostitute is leading this 'Cangkul Angin' expedition. It is disrespectful of the rigths of non-Muslims but hell do they care. This is 'Ketuanan Islam' and 'Ketuanan Melayu' rearing its ugly head.

Why doesn't Hassan Ali lead an expedition with JAIS to well known drug addict hangouts in Shah Alam and help rehabilitate these people and try to identify the suppliers? Crime and drug addiction go hand in hand but then PDRM,UMNO politicians and drug warlords have a cosy relationship so I am afraid the real issue of drug addiction amongst the mostly Malay youth will never be resolved if there is no political will to get rid of the problem. But then Malays are easily fooled, so cosmetic gestures like Hassan Ali's 'Beer Sandiwara' is there to con the Malays that something is being done.
agree 191
written by educationist, August 13, 2009 05:34:51
And the UMNOputras have trojan horses like that moron Hasan to help further their agenda!
Nik aziz is on record as saying he has no problem with the DAP insulting Islam, for they know not what is right.
This is a religous man with a broad perspective, the DAP will not intentionally insult Islam, they based their remarks on the issue at hand.
But the UMNOputras themselves!
That's a different story.
RPK has given us several examples - use of the ISA, endemic corruption in the police , JPJ , land office and immigration services, selling liqour on MAS and other GLCs
So who's prostit**** Islam for political gains?
written by James Loh, August 13, 2009 06:33:16
Sunway lagoon hotel: SPA - blow job cost RM100
Sungai Besi Highway, Mint Hotel - sexual intercourse RM160
I dare PAS leader - Hassan Ali to ban prostitution.
agree 143
written by James Loh, August 13, 2009 06:37:20
PETE why is Datuk Hassan Ali still in PAS. Can PAS leaders ban him from joining PAS? Is Hadi Awang still cohort with Hassan ali?
written by yuenthiam, August 13, 2009 07:18:35
This Hasan Ali guy says he would not be intimidated by others while he goes around the state initimidating and harassing shops doing business for a honest living. Voters, please be aware of this trojan horse in PR who is trying to destabalize the Selangor government!
written by AlwaysFair, August 13, 2009 07:31:19
If the PR leaders are aware Hassan is a trojan horse why don't they take this opportunity to sack him? If they continue allowing traitors in their midst then they are asking for more trouble.

I think the PR leaders are too soft in discipline. In fact PAS should take action against him because he is from their party but as usual they just tolerate it since even the leaders themselves are tainted.
written by Ghifarix, August 13, 2009 07:36:06
Anything from UMNO ain't good, UMNO made Hassan Ali before he embraced PAS. He is as arrogant a trouble maker as any of the mischievous UMNO War Lords.
What he fails to note is, that the Rakyat are no respecter of persons save a few and Hassan Ali ain't one of them. We must teach him this soon. Get out! cross the flipping floor if you may Hassan Ali, you are now deemed an Enemy of change. Go back to UMNO do not PAS go, do not use Islam. Joining UMNO/BN is worst than a non-Muslim selling beer. UMNO benefits from Carlsberg why he never raise this up?
Everywhere in the world Governments are restricting the sale of alcohol so don't pretend that you are saving Muslims even those waging war against Islam are doing much more for their population.
written by Fatcat, August 13, 2009 07:36:50
RPK, i admire you for your courage and determination... I wish you all the best, the rakyat will prevail. i will speak out for the sake of our future generations.. who will surely be the ones to pay dearly for our mistakes.
written by Aria, August 13, 2009 08:00:46
BN is up to its dirty tricks again. I have respect for the Muslims and if they prefer not to have alcohol sold in Shah Alam , I have no problems. Look, for me it is not a problem to go down to the next suburb to pick up some liquor. What is the real issue here? Raja Petra has told us the root cause for this alcohol issue.

Umno wants to organise a protest demonstration !! Wow, this I would like to see – FRU shooting tear gas and water cannon lased with poison. Please, bring it on Umno. If the FRU and police don’t do anything it will clearly without doubt show the double standards of the law.

The Malay people should understand that Umno is using the Malays. One of the things that Umno is telling the Malays is that they will loose their ‘privileges’. What a load of rubbish, look at the Malay people are they all rich? No! Why is that? This is because the privileges are only for a few people that have Umno connections. Most (I would say 80%) of the Malay people are just hard working people like all other races. There is enough money in Malaysia to bring the living standard of everyone in Malaysia much higher. The problem is corruptions are taking most of our money away and mismanagement of projects and suppression of the other races.

What effects will suppressing the other races have on Malaysia? It means that 40% of Malaysians are not being allowed to reach their full potential. Look at it this way, if you have a car and you loose 40% of its power how fast do you think it will be able to run? The government does not have to suppress the other races to show that the Malay people are better off. This is very wrong and it is not good for anyone in Malaysia. If Malaysia is able to function at 100% by not suppressing the Indian and Chinese, but just helping Malays reach their full potential that would be the best for this country. This way the Malays don’t loose the privileges and the other races are not suppressed.
I look at Malaysia and I can see that it has not grown to its full potential. How do we improve Malaysia? We have to change this very racist government. PKR may have its problems but it is not so racist (Pas like how RPK say is really not as bad as Umno). We simply just got to keep improving the government. It will not happen over night, but we will be heading the right way slowly. BN is taking us the wrong way, which is by suppressing and stifling the growth of Malaysia. Don’t say a know devil is better than an unknown devil, it is silly. This devil is leading us down to hell and it won’t be long before we get there. We have to make a decisive step now for change.
written by Bigjoe99, August 13, 2009 08:02:37
RPK, what does your grapevine say about the guy who started this Hassan Ali, ex-UMNO guy. He is very fishy if you asked me. Look at what happened in Kampung Buah Pala - does Hassan Ali not sound like the Sugumaran guy? Its also smells classic Najib, behind the backside kind of move...
written by NSTPravda, August 13, 2009 08:57:28
RPK, you are terribly wrong about them prostituting Islam for political gains. They are only prostituting Islam and politics for monetary gains starting right from the top. So don't confuse the means with the end, lah. Rasuah-sayang eh!
written by budaktapah, August 13, 2009 09:30:33
haha, I like this one. "I don’t know what we can ban in Chinese-majority areas other than the volume on the mosque PA system to avoid waking up the Chinese from their sleep at 5.30am." Coz remembered that one joke about the Chinese. If we dumped a Chinese at some foreign place with only his shirt and pants, we need not worry, coz the Chinese will surely live and not die out of hunger, coz the Chinese will basically eat anything.
written by truthbespoken, August 13, 2009 09:45:11
fake PAS man Hasan Ali. UMNO is written all over him. He belongs to corrupt UMNO. PAS, don't waste more time with him, let him go, just push him over if he refuses.
written by SimpleSoul, August 13, 2009 09:59:25
Can Hasan Ali and UMNO also ban Malay undergraduates to travel overseas for education. Its so easy to get beers over there. LEt them just stay here and not be exposed to alcohol.

written by Running Sardines, August 13, 2009 10:07:17
Dear RPK

At this rate this BeEnd are splitting the unity among many races in Malaysia, it seems like we have to live as in a zoo in order to co-exist between various races. Yeah ... like in a zoo. One enclosure for the zebras, another enclosure for the lions, one enclosure for the buffalos etc. But who are the zoo keepers since we cannot get to mix with one another without serious consequences ? So we will all eventually 'die' because of this nonsense by BeEnd.

I don't think stopping the sale of beer can prevent/stop Muslim from drinking beer. Someone commented that it is the our heart/conscious that prevents such acts. And I think those lies or coverup by the politicians are any time far worse than any beer drinking sin.
written by arazak, August 13, 2009 10:15:00
Did anybody saw Hassan Ali and Zulkifli Nordin during the 1/8 anti-ISA march?

No. I don’t think so. . ., these UMNO Trojans are not with the people. Issues like the draconian law that inflicted cruelty to the people are not important to them. For them, the important issues are the ones that will create animosity between races and between the Pakatan coalitions.

Do we still need these two UMNO Trojans?
written by Kuku Burung, August 13, 2009 10:34:01
To make Selangor stable and strong, first ban the Trojan horse Hassan Ali. The fella who had a secret talk with UMNO and eying the position of MB, is a thorn in the flesh for PR and PAS itself.
written by Wisdom above, August 13, 2009 10:44:30
You summarised it very well , very thorough !
...The issue is simple, really. It is about trying to create a fight between PAS and its two partners in Pakatan Rakyat..etc etc ..
Thanks a Million for the WISDOM & REVELATION displayed !
Syabas to all! Saya Anak Bangsa Malaysia.
written by Admiral Tojo, August 13, 2009 10:45:25
Enough proof of the hypocrisy of UMNO. They do not comprehend at all on what ISLAM is all about. Munafeeqs in action - UMNO.

written by chiongguo, August 13, 2009 10:51:48
Look at hassan ali's nose. It is huge and such individuals will resort to convenient means. Large nose is good but too large as compared with the lips is a good sign of untrustworthiness.

There is another addiction that the malay/muslim community face and i.e. drugs. After I learned acupuncture I had wanted to use acupuncture to help people overcome their addiction. I did some basic research and even spoke with researchers on the problem of addiction in the malay/muslim community. What I had found was really surprising. In the early years of research into this problem one research paper by an academic found that the chinese were the majority in the drug addiction. A similar study by pemadam for the similar year found that malay/muslims were by far the majority. It was surprising because the academic found it fit to fudge the data so that the malay/muslim looked good. Subsequent studies, one after another, found that malay/muslims were addicted to hard drugs, glue, paint solvent etc.

As studies had shown in developed countries the incidences of AIDS coincided with use of recreational and hard drugs. This also meant that by far the largest number of people with aids in malaysia is again the malay/muslim.

This hassan ali is swatting flies that are not there while mosquitoes bite him all over.

written by OVERLORD, August 13, 2009 11:06:27
I would like to quote Tok Guru's statement from Bernama as food for thought.
Datuk Nik Abdul Aziz Nik Mat has no objection to DAP leaders hurling insults at Islam.
He said this was because the party was not Islamic and probably, had shallow understanding of the religion.
However, the PAS spiritual leader blamed Muslim leaders who rejected Islamic teachings to the extent of polluting the religion and caused non-Muslims to misinterpret its holy teachings.

I find this very refreshing coming from a respected leader of the Muslim community....if only we have more leaders like him....he remains the last bastion to keep PAS honest on the road to Putrajaya....without him, I fear the party would succumb to self-implosion perpetrated by wolves in sheep clothing from within the party....

written by Davy McChester, August 13, 2009 12:05:13
Pete: The country needs leaders like you who will have more impact on the Muslim Diaspora. They need to understand "no man is an island". Here we have politicians who are clearly out to narrow peoples thinking and isolate them further and create more disunity. You have put it so well :UMNO agenda is to break up the Selangor BR coalition and take over the State. Nothing is so haram as UMNO. UMNO is acting like a clogged heart that has refused to take long term medication for a true recovery. It is on a verge of having a massive heart attack
written by DontPlayGod, August 13, 2009 12:18:31
If its not a problem for a non-Muslim to pick up his cans of beer from a neighbouring non-Muslim majority taman, so is it also not a problem for a Muslim to pick up his cans of beer from a neighbouring taman. Sheeesh!

Next, this trojan horse from UMNO, Hassan Ali will call for the banning of gaming shops outlets(4D) in Muslim-majority areas. Next, unisex hair saloons should also be banned. Next, women in Muslim-majority areas should wear the tudung, in respect of the majority of the residents there, next cinemas should not screen movies with Christian/Buddhist/Hindus themes in Muslim-majority areas...... Hassan Ali, please don't stop at only beer, else you'll be labelled a hypocrite. Start your Islamization work now!!!!

Islamization a la Taliban Afhanistan and Taliban Pakistan has finally arrived.

What an idiot!!!
written by KotaDamansara73, August 13, 2009 12:24:40
Malays need other people like stupid HAssan Ali to control their life.

When will Malays fight for freedom of religion?????

We are wasting our time fighting and bitching about religion. Please do something good with our life. Invent something that can help the society.
written by mykantree, August 13, 2009 13:15:35
What RPK wrote pertaining to this beer issue is actually plain for all to see. It is beyond belief that one can believe that this Hassan Ali or the UMNO allied NGOs supported the ban for what they professed.It is nothing but pure politics;to put PR on the defensive.And as also stated by RPK, UMNO and their goons are experts at blatantly prostituting their religious faiths, their moral and political values and beliefs.

When will all right minded Malaysians wake up to this?

written by densemy, August 13, 2009 13:50:18
What UMNO miss out on in the brains and commonsense department they make up for by being as cunning as shit-house rats
written by densemy, August 13, 2009 13:57:05
The bottom line is that if muslims do not wish to buy and consume alcohol then its a simple task to walk straight past the alcohol shelves

They dont need some control freak using religion as his excuse to control what everyone does. It is their right to decide what they will and will not do.

Why should the rest of the world be inconvenienced by the desperation by muslims to control everything

What controlling muslims are terrified of is that other muslims will start to think for themselves and see right through the hoax that keeps the elite in control
written by Reno, August 13, 2009 14:01:16
Pete, Can u write an open letter to Hadi Awang so that he gives us an overview on his opinion with such issues blowing up…? I mean does he support this type of garbage…? If he does not support this kind of actions, then he should come forth and say it… and for god sakes, get rid of the Trojan horse before he does more damage.

Maybe he is not taking any action against Hassan because he needs him for his future “unity talks” with UMNO. Tuan Guru is not going to be around forever u know…

I guess this is the reason why PAS would still hangs on to liabilities like this Hassan fella…

And for UMNO… they have Johor, Melaka, Pahang, Negeri9 and so forth… why not implement in states under their own care… why “sibuk” in other people’s state…???
written by lakian, August 13, 2009 14:03:26
Beer is the fermentation from wheat.Wheat flour make bread,biscuit,cake and so on.I suggest Idiot Ha San forbid muslim to consume every wheat products.I wander if a muslim is lost in the juncle without any food left for days,and happened there is a wild boar right infront of him,will he slaughter and eat it?I am quite sure he will make a forgiving pray to the Allah and start the following action.
In my area,I can easily see malay boys drived 20 to 50 miles away to get beer and drink just by the roadside.I have even malay friends took pork and commented that oh very nice.
written by BurnTan, August 13, 2009 14:13:17
Who is actually headed PAS? What Nik Aziz say about Hassan Ali? I remember Nik Aziz said he will not interfere the Selangor liquor selling issue. If Nik didn't do something about his man, then don't blame me to blame PAS for this banning. I will not blame UMNO for this like most of you did.
written by Raizzen, August 13, 2009 14:18:39
Here's a slightly different angle on the view of things.

While sacking Hassan Ali will put smiles on PR supporters' faces, the real problem lies with the timing. If PAS were to do it now, we all know how AMNO is gonna spin the matter like there's no tomorrow. After all, liquor consumptions and matters surrounding it are forbidden in Islam, well generally speaking. Any Muslim/Malays, no matter how shallow can tell it.

Banning it on the other hand, will require meticulous studies and deep understanding of Islam. Its not just for any Tom, Dick and Harry to call. Let alone the corrupted AMNO as*holes.

And to be fair, I think PAS should also listen to what Hassan has to say. Lets not rush to a decision. What PR needs to do now is to learn how to SHUT UP FOR A WHILE. We've got bigger battlefields to cover.

Permatang Pasir for instance.
written by Taikohtai, August 13, 2009 14:19:40
I believe over 90% of Malaysia's diplomats are Malays, hence Muslims. As alcohol is permitted in most overseas countries, these diplomats tend to follow what Romans do when in Rome. Hence, partaking alcohol becomes part and parcel of the 'job', especially when entertaining guests at their official residences in foreign lands.
I challenge Najis and BN to highlight the actual current situation if they want to start preaching about Islam and Islamic values. Don't tell me that BN muslims are exempted from practising Islam when they are in non-muslim countries and are permitted to Yam Seng to the last drop!?
written by jaz, August 13, 2009 14:25:16
I guess Petaling Street will have a signboard saying...you are now entering Chinese Territory. Pork and beer are served.

Muslims, KEEP OUT.
Muslims, Enter at your own risk. You are warned.
written by DanDan, August 13, 2009 14:49:37
Thanks Pete for the above write up. Now I have an additional place to go for my booze and some screwing. But then I'll be only lining up the pockets of the high-
powered man from Amno. On 2nd thought, no-lah. I better stick to my present lubang.
written by sampalee, August 13, 2009 14:56:06
Do not play play with Islam.Many reasons is given for the exit of Pak Lah,when I knew in my very heart,he is finished when he launched Islam Had-hari.He has soiled the purity and holiness of Islam by tagging it for an umno agenda.
On the same note,the hassan guy will received the same fate.As a muslim,does he not know that Allah knows ALL,including the schemes with umno.Pas have the experience of running kelantan and trenggannu and have the depth of experience to deal with moles[unless to top leadership is also infiltrated.
YB Ronnie also have friend in Pas to know him as a selfless person who respected All religions.They must stand by him and clear his name within Pas,which the hassan guy want to tarnish.
I have predicted much earlier this hassan guy will cause trouble with pakatan.As it is now,pakatan should send him as an observer to umno controlled state and allow him to report to the rakyat the unislamic ways of umno.He should also lead teams to visit holiday villa as suggested by RPK.Muslim are not stupid and it is time to expose this hassan guy in his nakedness.
written by DanDan, August 13, 2009 14:58:23
How about the malays making tapai for consumption? The fermented rice (tapai) is also alcoholic in nature. Is TAPAI halal for the muslim?
written by IbnAbdHalim, August 13, 2009 15:15:57
The Selangor State PAS Commissioner is "pakar motivasi". No one challenges his credentials, he's good at that, but when comes to politics he's no 'pakar'. He's a green horn. Is he really a Trojan Horse? I doubt. I think he's only trying to satisfy his selfish needs. After all he's human. By right he should be in UMNO.
written by Tom n Jerry, August 13, 2009 15:16:18
Hypocrit UMNO should be buried as soon as possible;its a cancer thst can never be cured;so the only way is for it to die fast & if possible immediately;LOL
written by Tom n Jerry, August 13, 2009 15:18:20
Beer has always been beer;but today beer is not to be sold in convenient stores;yesterday it was sold;so what is the big fuss about;Umno already in power for almost the past 50 years;why now suddenly beer is illegal;maybe babi is more legal;LOL
written by Oscar Winner, August 13, 2009 15:28:47
This Hassan guy must be dispelled from PAS asap. He is obviously working on tearing PR asunder, and at the same time making non-malays, especially chinese hate the beer ban and hate PR as well. In so doing, UMNO hopes to regain the chinese votes and get 2/3 majority in 13GE. He is not about to join UMNO any moment now since his "job" is not yet completed. Once sacked, he will immediately join UMNO where his heart actually belongs. I hope PAS will act without further delay
written by Tom n Jerry, August 13, 2009 15:30:43
Everything seems haram to so called muslims but the reality is there is no such thing as halal;its only a word created to deceive the people;when did Allah haraMKAN BABI AND ARAK;ANY ANSWERS!lONG AGO EVERYONE ATE EVERYTHING THAT COMES THEIR WAY;ONLY LATER THEY CAME UPO WITH PUASA BECAUSE THERE WAS FAMINE AND FOOD WAS HARD TRO COME BY;SO EATING GOT TO BE RATIONED!tHAts why decrease from 3 meals to 2;savings all the way;and good for economy too;good for heaLTH ALSO;EVERYONE SHOULD TRY;EVEN BUDDHISTS AND CHRISTIANS DO IT TOO;WE ARE ALL HUMAN ANYWAY;AND IT IS IN OUR HUMAN NATURE TO EXPERIENCE HUNGER AND HENCE PRACTISE COMPASSION!
written by BurnTan, August 13, 2009 15:37:02
Err... latest news...Hassan and Ronnie shaking hand already. Now they both agreed that shop can still sell liquor in "Muslim majority" area to non-muslim, but just can't display it on shelves. Non-muslim customers who wish to buy liquor need to ask the store assistant and they will then bring it our from hidden store.
written by Canadian in kl, August 13, 2009 15:52:33
I think someone should take this a step further. All Hotels and Malaysia Airlines should stop selling alcohol as well!

Let's see what happens to all the tourists, watch them head for Indonesia (which has the largest Muslim population in the world) but does not have a pickle up it's ass!!!!
written by Diz, August 13, 2009 18:35:17
I might be wrong here, but I thought the Koran (at least the English translation I read) stipulates that you are not allowed to pray when drunk. There's no injunction against handling liquor (or even imbibing moderately) but you should guard against intoxication. Canadian's point is valid - does this mean that Malays cannot be employed in any service/tourism sector where they might come into physical contact with booze. Must say, I always feel peeved when I see the checkout girls in Bangsar Village slipping on the plastic gloves to pass my wine through the radar. Totally ridiculous!
written by ctm999, August 13, 2009 21:02:42
Why is this pre-occupation with alcohol in Malaysia. In my class I have 3 Muslim classmates from China, 2 from Iran and 1 from Nigeria. My Nigerian Muslim friend goes clubbing and drink hard liquor like it is mineral water. One of the Iranian also eat in a non-halal Chinese restaurant. When I point it out to her that even if she order beef, it has not been slaughter in the halal way. On top of that it is cook in the same wok that is used to cook pork. She just shrug her shoulder, and say "I didn't know, so what's the bid deal". End of story. On the other hand the Muslims from China are more observant of Islam's requirement.

So when are Muslims in Malaysia be as liberal and open-minded as my friends from Nigeria and Iran?
written by cheekhiaw, August 13, 2009 23:33:45
Prostituting religions for personal gains is not new to history, it is their history. Unless one is a Tacitus Boy...

written by jowkg, August 14, 2009 00:50:56
I feel sorry for my Muslim Brothers... you guys don't get to taste the delicious " Bak kut teh", Tim Sum, Char siew and what not made of the delicious pork.... but look at the bright side.. u can have 4 wives! hehehe
written by amoker, August 14, 2009 01:46:15
What a hypocrite that Hassan is. If he could just talk to 7 eleven and not force MBSA people to confiscate, he could have got the same result. Porah
written by Fart Fart Wah, August 14, 2009 02:12:24
Tell Hassan to go to TNB during the month of Rhamadan...see the female execs cooking for buka puasa during working time...
Tell Hassan to go with Jais and do a protest DEMO at how they bring in food through another behind stores and eat in secret places...

Make a demo in front of TNB ...why are they sleeping int he stores during work hours and not working....

tELL HASSAN ALI TO take Jakim and Jais and go to the golf clubs and see how many GLC execs will be there during the puasa playing gold and drinking...Go make a demo...I will not tell you which golf club...go find yourself you bloody hypocrites...

AND ALL THE WHILE WHEN BARISAN WAS IN SELANGOR AND 7 11 OR 7 12 WAS SELLING BEER THE LAST 30 YEARS...NO SOUND....PORDAH JAIS AND HASSAN

written by cabearth, August 14, 2009 10:26:27
I, Abdul Rahman Abdul Talib aka Tulang Besi, the owner of www.malaysiawaves.com, unequivocally agree 100% with what Raja Petra has written in this article.

Hasan Ali is just trying to ride the wave to destabilize PR government in Selangor. That's all.

The beer issue is just crap although i do agree if shops frequented by youths be banned from selling liquor to control underage drinking.

I also have written how the liquor industry is working with UMNO in every elections and that UMNO gains the most from the country's liquor industry.
written by anon, August 14, 2009 13:04:36
Now I get the answer. These damn stupid shitheads with minds like this - how can I expect them to care for the Malays in that kampong?

Yes this is the right place to vent my anger. Bird brained BN has neglected their own kind - more serious is when I pulled them out of the abyss, these UMNO nincompoops kicked them back in again.

Now I get it. You UMNO buggers do not really want these kampong people to be educated do you? All my time was not wasted you damn skunks - the Malays I taught are not stupid ... their voice will be heard one day.

Like I said, why did that BN woman from Gemas need so many bodyguards when she came ( I was there at that time ) to the place where I was teaching these Malays? She was bloody afraid of the people there. She too knows that they are not completely ignorant and that they are gradually realizing that United Malay National Organization ie. UMNO is made up of nothing but a bunch of greedy uncouth selfish arrogant morons.

http://www.anonpartisan.********.com

Imagine spending so much time trying to help Malays - this keling helped them and those other kind of Malays ruined it all - take your Math & Science in BM and shove it you damn useless UM?NO
written by anon, August 14, 2009 13:06:47
sorry Pete, I spent so much time trying to help these Malays then come these other kind of Malays and in a day did all the damage to their own kind.
www.anonpartisan.********.com
written by slimbrowser, August 14, 2009 14:08:35
In one swoop, they manage to stop selling of beer in "muslim majority" area. They even made statements about how that is so wrong in as far as muslim is concerned. They have all the political will and might to do this.

If they are so right and strong, why have they been so weak in getting rid of corruption, or doing the right thing for Perak, have the royal commission of inquiry for Teoh, which I think are more pressing. Rather than picking on 7-eleven for selling beer all in the name of Islam.

written by Francis, August 14, 2009 16:07:02
"I was told during the Barisan Nasional government's time the residents of Section 8 had already made requests to stop the convenience store from selling beer, but no action was taken".

Now, Dr. Hassan Ali has chickened out and compromised with Ronnie Liu fearing loss of his position and benefits should he be called to the disciplinary committee to explain his call for the resignation.

He has also set a precedence using the above quote to his advantage blaming the people of Section 8 and bringing loss of income to several 7 Eleven shops in the area. One fine day there will be a call to stop selling sweets which only earn them 0.02 sen per sweet and Dr Hassan Ali is going to approve it (because his grand daughter does not eat chocolates). And for that the Malay population is going to ratify his action.

How foolish of the shopowners (7 Eleven) to refrain from selling beer stating that the sale of beer is only 1% of the daily total sales. If selling of beer is not haram why stop selling?

written by DezMalaysia, August 14, 2009 16:17:45
And one high-powered Umno man linked to Daim Zainuddin owns Holiday Villa in Subang. Holiday Villa not only sells liquor but also has a disco, pub, bar and whatnot where you not only can get drunk but can also pick up women as well. Holiday Villa also has a massage parlour well stocked with women who, for the right price, will drop their panties and give you a good screw.

Yes ! There's a good vice den there... Heloo Hassan Ali, where are you !???