Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Traitors are all along the street

Traitors are all along the street PDF Print
Tuesday, 11 August 2009 16:07

Meanwhile, DAP adviser Lim Kit Siang, Selangor state executive councillor Ronnie Liu and Penang Chief Minister's Chief of Staff Jeff Ooi are labelled as “anti-Islam”. It does not need a reason at all and sometimes, the reason given is weird.

By TAY TIAN YAN/ Translated by SOONG PHUI JEE/ Sin Chew Daily

The words “reactionist” and “traitor” can frequently be seen recently. It is a bit frightening.

It might be many reactionists and traitors walking beside you along the street. But what actually are they reacting against? And what have they betrayed? I have no idea either.

Opposition leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim has been painted as a traitor to Malays. Anwar has been tagged by Utusan Malaysia and some people even want a rally to fight back the “traitor”.

Meanwhile, DAP adviser Lim Kit Siang, Selangor state executive councillor Ronnie Liu and Penang Chief Minister's Chief of Staff Jeff Ooi are labelled as “anti-Islam”. It does not need a reason at all and sometimes, the reason given is weird. For example, Liu was attacked for overturning the seizure of beers from a convenience store by council officials enforcing Islamic directives.

"Such a classification does not comply with the 'One Malaysia' spirit."

Such controversial words could always be heard in the old times and old society as they were the simplest language applicable to the agricultural society last time.

In such a society with simple thinking, anyone who was labelled as “reactionist” and “traitor” would be categorised as a person not of the same clan, a villain that should not be accepted by the society, as well as the country.

However, as time passes, there is a growing problem with such adjectives after the democratisation of society and the popularisation of knowledge.

Modern people started to understand that a society is an organisation of different groups. Different people have different thoughts and interest orientations.

BN and Pakatan Rakyat have their own governing ideas, policies and measures. It should be accepted as the philosophy of harmonious but different.

Different organisations with different thoughts can survive together and compete with each other. But it is not necessary to mutually defame.

No one can call himself or herself the representative of a particular racial group or religion and paint the other side as a “traitor” or “reactionist”.

Such a classification does not comply with the “One Malaysia” spirit. The act of cutting out the compositions of the country and classify them does not suit a mature society either.

The first Prime Minister of Malaysia Tunku Abdul Rahman pursued the road of moderation during his time. He respected the interests of Chinese and maintained a good relation with Chinese in order to build a country of unity and progressive. It showed that he was modern in terms of his morals, mind and wisdom.

However, in the eyes of some extreme nationalists, he was regarded as a “traitor”.

Half a century later, no one remembers those extreme nationalists or agrees with their practices. However, we will not forget about Tunku’s spirit and contributions.

Traitors and reactionists are not worth mentioning at all.

written by rpremkumar2u, August 11, 2009 16:22:59
There is a situation in Malaysian politics: Whosoever is against UMNO is anti Islam and a traitor to Malays & UMNO alone is the true protector of the Malays. Cosmetic Dentist makes a huge mansion- MACC says squat. To bring it up is to risk being sued and served summons in legislative assembly grounds.. mysterious blogs spring up.. PM says to 'relevant' authorities go for the chase. I thought we Malaysians were tired of this type of cat&mouse games and there was a message last on March8. UMNO dont insult our intelligence. Gerakan & Mca is shit scared of you. We the rakyat are not.
written by joeawk, August 11, 2009 16:23:24
I am not a muslim and I am glad that I am not. I am glad that I am not, not because Islam is bad but many muslims are a disgrace to Islam. They claim to fight for Islam but the truth is that they are a disgrace to islam.

Read Utusan Malaysia, read Berita Harian, listen to the lies of UMNO leaders. They came out of the mouth of Muslims and if they are representative of muslim in Malaysia. I believe Islam can do without them. Every word that spewed out of the mouth of Muhidin desecrates Islam.

Who is anti Islam? Muslims can better tell us.
agree 122
written by shamadz72, August 11, 2009 16:34:28
In Jeff Ooi's case. He is the one who uttered the stupid comment on JIM out of his ignorance. So don't blame your enemy when you are the one who give them bullet. Even after making that mistake, he still think he is too big to apologize for the mistake that clearly made by him. Can't he learn from Anwar who is much2 bigger than him that it is nothing wrong at all to ask for a sincere apology when you make a mistake.
disagree 35
written by verifunny, August 11, 2009 16:46:03
What is anti-Islam huh? Being a christian, taoist, buddhist, hindu, singh and etc.

What is traitor? In the first place, Islam is not originated from Malaysia. You got to be at the origin of Islam to be called a traitor.

Islam doesn't teach people to point finger and accuses others of treason. In the first place, what treason charges can there be for being anti-Islam? None. You are either a believer or non-believer.

The only charge you can have on someone if he/she spreads fault words about Islam. Actual, you are free to say anything. What will happen to you depends on how a society is built. For example, if you go Pakistxx or Indxx to spread Christianity, you might just evaporate from this earth.

Instead of working on racial reconcillation and harmony, Umnono and BeEnd are spreading lies to ignorant Muslims to be brave to vote against the Opposition parties. I hope that there are very little ignorant Malays out there. I hope that Malays out there can see who is the evil party.

Every Malaysian must understand the simple logic that no co-operation between races will drag the progress of the Nation further back and maybe more debts in a capitalism world.

written by Bigjoe99, August 11, 2009 16:52:24
Is it me or is there something different. I know Sin Chew is not owned by BN but I don't remember them ever supporting the opposition. Here they are actually supporting DAP and Anwar. Even more important, not a single mention of the fact Jeff Ooi made a pretty big mistake..

Are the rats abandoning the sinking ship that is UMNO/BN
written by SocratesI, August 11, 2009 17:22:28

Only the Neaderthals in Barisan Najis would evolve backwards and start being overly simplistic, and deviously & cunningly so, to serve their brand of divisive, racist separationist politics of destruction. The real traitors to the Rakyat of Malaysia are those in the Barisan Najis, the UMNOputras who greedily amass corrupt fortunes and takes food out of the Rakyat's mouths.

These Barisan Najis traitors who plunder Malaysia and take all of Malaysia's Allah given riches as their own, are the real traitors, traitors to the Rakyat, traitors to the human race, and traitors to their religion, Islam, and traitors to Allah.
written by budakindia, August 11, 2009 18:33:28
In Malaysia, oppositions are always labelled as anti-Islam, unpatriotic, traitors and many more. The same game you play in kindergarten. UMNO never grows out of that for the last 50 years. Already a retard for a child. smilies/grin.gif
written by Proarte, August 11, 2009 19:15:26
Is UMNO anti-Bhuddist for not allowing the Mazu statue to be erected?

Is PAS anti- Christian, Bhuddist, Hindu for wanting to ban alcohol in Shah Alam?

Are they 'traitors' to the concept of BANGSA MALAYSIA?
written by lynn, August 11, 2009 21:46:54
Look, all these nonsense, petty issues like beer ban, abbatoir, traitor-namecalling, the whole idea is to bring down the state governments of Penang & Selangor.

The corrupt hands are working overtime to ensure that they will bring down these 2 PR-governed states by hook or by crook, by fair or foul means, by force if necessary.

Do you remember how they dragged Perak State Speaker Sivakumar out of the Assembly by sheer brute force & installed a new Speaker? It's like instant noodles, instant coffee, instant astronaut, instant bolehism, instant Speaker, and this is Bolehland, rendered a disgusting, lawless country, anything is possible, these men, they will cling on to power at any costs.

Glad you are far far away, RPK. If you fall into their hands, gosh, I am going down on the most powerful position in the world, ie. on my knees, to pray that you live.
written by AlwaysFair, August 11, 2009 22:21:19
I find it ridiculous for Anwar to be called a traitor!! What had he done that is wrong? He formed the opposition party against the govt and provided the people with an alternative govt that is justice based and not race-based which is found to be very attractive by many people who were marginalised for 50 years.

He is also the most outstanding, articulate and charismatic leader today.
Why must he be branded a traitor, when you people have committed so many heinous acts towards him that a lesser man would have migrated.

He was imprisoned on trumped charges for 6 years and was once beaten badly, now when he regains popularity again he is hounded for sodomy when there were no evidence. Don't you think it is unislamic to slander a person for a fictitious crime? Don't you think it is evil to slander him by the accuser swearing in a mosque for more authenticy?

Compared to what he did , what you are doing is totally unfair and downright evil.You think the rakyat as well as Allah is fooled by this?

Please don't harm an innocent man just because of your lust for power or you might find the Allah you profess abandon you totally if He has not done so already.
written by Ghifarix, August 11, 2009 22:38:39
TAY TIAN YAN, Please la,stop being pretentious,try not to insult our intelligence.
You politicians and arm chair journalist think that we the Rakyat are mere mortals with little or no understanding of our own society and the folks we live with everyday.
We all came together for a purpose yet within our hearts we all know that tolerance for each other will be tested after all we worked in the past and we walked off many a times.
I am very angry with Hassan Ali's and Zul Nordin's ways and means and I too feel that they acted without due consideration and the wisdom of their timing and emotional hysteria suggest that these two really can't cut it. Jeff Ooi Ronnie Liu contentious behavior are about the same-they gave vent to the deep seated intolerance we all know we all have for each other. The fact is we need change and that change can only be realized if only we change ourselves. We are talking about building a nation here not a party otherwise one might as well assume you all have done your part, I can say the same for UMNO/BN they build their party but they hate each other guts. This can't go on and when Gomen officials step out, their behavior and what and how they say things reflect POLICY, you get my drift. Zul Hassan Ooi and Liu frightens the hell out of the Rakyat on both sides of the divide and gave breathing space to our worst enemy UMNO/BM.
The problems with most of our politicians in Pakatan is that we want to get the better of each community or group we conveniently befriend rather than respect each other space and work for the good of the nation.
We will never achieve what is needed if YOU can't stifle your ideology and recognize that this nation is about differences that needs a little more respect.
written by mikewang, August 11, 2009 22:57:51
I don't think DAP is anti any religion.
The party basically believes in secularism.
written by Sinewy, August 11, 2009 23:11:13
I think the fair minded rakyat just want politicians to run the government fairly and conduct themselves with outmost integrity and humility. A nation is about her people and their living and no one should impose their own standard onto others, especially religion, which should be a personal thing. Nobody should bad mouth others and condemn their human right and liberty. If you don't agree with someone, then have a debaye among yourselves as adult. Why should politicians behave like quarreling small kids??? If like that, how can they be entrusted to rule a country???
written by SiHangChai, August 12, 2009 00:19:15
so what those facking idiots mind so much about DAP leaders being anti-Islam? It is their rights. We have UMNO and PAS who are anti-Chinese, anti-Christ, anti-Hinduism and anti-Buddhism, so.. so.. soo? It is those Muslims who are so insecure whi have started calling everyone anti-Islam, or they themselves who called themselves Muslims are the ones who are anti-Islam? In this world, there is only 1 GOD shared by all human. No one has the right to claim Islam is the only religion in this world, so to are Buddhism, Hinduism, etc etc. If someone has claimed so, my next question, have they see God before? If not, don't label people. The only GOD I knew is an ET flying in UFO.