Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Dr M challenges Barisan to retake Selangor and other PR-held states

Dr M challenges Barisan to retake Selangor and other PR-held states PDF Print
Tuesday, 11 August 2009 13:01

(The Star) KUALA LUMPUR: Barisan Nasional can retake Selangor and other Pakatan Rakyat states if it can prove it is a better alternative to the current state governments.

Former Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad said Barisan however should not be complacent and think it could win in the next general election due to Pakatan’s infighting in the recent months.

“If this alternative is not good and we do not deliver on the promises made, the rakyat in disappointment will still choose the opposition. Whether they can govern or not is another matter,” he said after speaking at a forum organised by the Federation of Malay Economic Bodies.

Dr Mahathir, who led the country for 22 years, said the opposition won in five states in the last general election not because the people liked them or thought they could form a better government.

“They won because the people were fed up with the leadership then,” he said.

He echoed Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak’s view that Pakatan might not last because of glaring fundamental differences in their component parties’ ideology and political stances.

“Of course we don’t expect these people to be able to run the country. How can they work together when they have such opposing stands on many issues?” he asked.

He said DAP and PAS were being made use of by PKR adviser Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim to fulfil his dream of becoming prime minister.

“Anwar are using these two parties so that he can succeed. These people are all being made use of by him,” he said.

On the teaching of Science and Mathematics in English, Dr Mahathir warned that Barisan Nasional could stand to lose heavily in the next general election for revising the policy.

Dr Mahathir, who initiated the change to use English for teaching Science and Mathematics, asserted that there were still many parents who wanted to retain the policy.

He also criticised the Government for not taking advantage of computer technology to ensure the success of the policy.

“I have given my suggestions but the Education Ministry did not act on them.

“You can’t teach Science and Mathematics in English with the present teachers because they don’t understand English,” he said.

“You can use computer software which will teach both the students and the teachers.”

written by HamChak, August 11, 2009 13:25:51
The people voted the Opposition Not because of PakLah, lol.
The Raayat were building up their resentment against the Gomen
because of your (Kutty) SICKENING policies. You are a Septic
Racist to the core. Why don't you admit it?
written by jayenjr, August 11, 2009 13:28:11
what makes you think that we - the people - have changed our minds?FYI - we have gotten even more ANGRY since 08/03/08. Why?

1. You & Utusan continue to play on Ketuanan Melayu
2. You are clearly interested in lengthening Empayar Mahathir
3. BN still retains ISA, OSA
4. PDRM, MACC, Judiciary, EC, Royalty - all in UMNO's poket
5. MSM is clearly biased - coupled with racists rhetorics
6. BN Component parties no "bola"
7. Till today, no action taken on VK Lingam episode
8. Teoh Beng Hock
9. The Mongolian Murder Mystery
10. Khir Toyo

Shall I go on? If you think, that just because of a couple of beers we're gonna go back in droves to the "loving" arms of UMNO/BN - sheesh!Come on Mahathir. You didn't survive 22 years without some political savvy. Perhaps you're trying to drive fear & frustration into PR camp....who knows?But you are dumb if you think UMNO/BN can stop the change taking place in Malaysia.
written by biggun129, August 11, 2009 13:28:31
'Change' is what we want, we are Fed Up with the Present BN componets Party, without UMNO, Malaysia will be more Beautiful !
written by verifunny, August 11, 2009 13:49:24
Old man is trying to score points for his son.

He is expecting his son to continue where he fell.

Change for the Rakyat or for your family.....
written by technoboy, August 11, 2009 14:45:38
TDM, didn't you make use of DSAI's popularity to consolidate your power in UMNO when you rope him into UMNO Youth as a young popular Muslim activist. Old fool, our memory is not that short to forget what you have done.
written by jjireh99, August 11, 2009 15:01:35
people chose AAB and BN in 2004 is simply this-everyone was happy to be rid of tdm. When things didn't change, ie. corruption and racists remarks still continued, out BN goes. Plain and simple. Nothing to do with the capability of AAB or BN. Everyone that I talked to up till today doesn't want BN ever again to rule Malaysia. FYI, DSAI is still a better choice to lead Malaysia! I am a chinese and all my chinese friends say so. So, we are not racists! Period. Go on, continue to thump the race card issue and you all will regret it, that I'm sure. Sheesh......
written by budakindia, August 11, 2009 15:28:36
through back doors and throwing several bodies out from the window. We all knew that Dr. M. smilies/grin.gif
written by arazak, August 11, 2009 15:46:00
Toon Kutty said, “Anwar are using these two parties so that he can succeed. These people are all being made use of by him”.
----------------------------------------------------------

Dear Toon Kutty,

What about you? For 22 years you have been using MCA, MIC, Gerakan, PPP,and all the other parties based on races. On top of that, with your own personal agenda, you have been using the AG Office, ACA, PDRM, Election Commission and all the government's apparatus. Hell. . ., you even used the peoples' money to bail out your son's and your cronies from bad business!

So please don't talk about Anwar using this and using that. . .!

If you want to know, we the rakyaat, wouldn't mind if Anwar uses us to kick out the UMNO/BN regime. We would be very glad and willingly to do that for him! Anytime and anything for Anwar, no problem. . .!

Have you got that in your thick, old senile skull?
written by Ghifarix, August 11, 2009 16:06:40
This Ole man still think we were after Budwee. Call it now if you think so Maha-Phaoun. You really think that because there's a quarrel in the home anyone can just move in. Senile OLE man. What promise UMNO/BN have to offer after 59 years, We're still hating, UMNO/BN spongers are still at the trough lapping up the country resources, poverty amongst the races are increasing and the Malays suffer more per capita. We have an over aged gangster running the police force as it were his personal gang. Now the defense minister want's to build a Racist UMNO militia. Now you want to lay the blame for the PKFZ ripoff on the contractor as if those gomen MCA gangs couldn't tell the difference from a false claim and outright thieving. Try a snap election if you think Rakyat stupid la...Bengong
written by alarcarte, August 11, 2009 16:40:37
If this alternative is not good and we do not deliver on the promises made, the rakyat in disappointment will still choose the opposition. Whether they can govern or not is another matter...

TDM, You are absolutely right!! As long as there are politicians living in 24 Million mini Istana and flaunt their wealth and no matter how they said their income derived from legitimate business, I don't give a damn!!

I will vote for the PIG even if P.R. put up a PIG as candidate if all corruption and abuse of Power by B.N. are not eliminated.
written by Vic, August 11, 2009 16:57:05
No sportsmanship and sour losers are all what UMNO is. I have not come across a country where the ruling party spent time and money big time to retake the state. BN is so immature. In most country, after an election the candidates move on to fulfill their election pledges and promises by serving the people. What we read here daily is takeovers, frog hopping, conspiracies, scandal after scandal etc, etc. No wonder the prostitute don’t trust politicians and I am going to second them all the way.
Is this what the people or should I say what I get from their/my elected representatives? It is full of shits. The present government has no credibility. They spent most of their time plotting to be in power. What do common citizens like me, benefit? Look at our economy, FDI has fallen sharply. Investors have no confident in this cowboy system. Our education is shit worst. How to build a 1Malaysia, when everyday you read in the news papers and heard in the news our shit leaders bickering and bickering about NEP, Kris wavering, quotas, races, religions. Where are the role models? Where are the leads by example leaders? These politicians are nothing but criminal. Their integrity has gone to the dogs.
written by lakian, August 11, 2009 16:57:59
Its not the matter of whose is bad whose is worse,its absolutely needed CHANGE!
written by ktn_satayman, August 11, 2009 17:08:43
Errrr TDM have you forgotten something like 'Mahathir Mudah Lupa'and the crocodile tears falling from your eyes.
written by Vic, August 11, 2009 17:30:05
Is PRK given any chance, I mean without interference to fulfill their election promises so that we the people can fairly judge their sincerity to serve, which include all BN supporters? Is the same courtesy "challenges" spoken by our most respected TDM given to the newly elected representatives once called "the opposition"? Did the losers of the election behave as an honorable respected citizen in abiding by the election results, respecting the voter’s choice? The answers are clear, need I elaborate.
I am piss. How do you all out there feel? When your elected reps is not respected and treated like dogs and pigs by the PDRM, the MACC, the AG, the Judges and any authorities they can secured. BN and UMNO are shitting all over us. They are spitting on our face telling all voters of the once opposition to go fly kite. They have hands on our balls. They don’t need us. They can rule by force. Oh boy man I am ready piss.
written by C360, August 11, 2009 17:40:52
And would one expect the people of Selangor to restore to power the Sand Mining Thieves and their political cohorts, depriving state agencies of the revenues necessary to support the proper running of the agencies ? Depriving the state of revenues to implement rakyat-mesra policies and helping the lower income and opportunity-lacking groups within the state of Selangor ?

The answer is simply NO!

BN had 50 years to do the right thing. IT DID NOT !!
written by MSIABOLEH, August 11, 2009 19:38:02
“You can use computer software which will teach both the students and the teachers"

Chepet! Oh! Chepet!

If you can use computer software, why the fcuk do you need the teachers for??? The teachers learn together gether with the students??? The students might as well do home studies!!!! Just get rid of the stupid teachers! Get it!!!
written by Waif, August 11, 2009 21:25:20
"He said DAP and PAS were being made use of by PKR adviser Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim to fulfil his dream of becoming prime minister"
Yep,Mamak,you are right.He learn it from you.You use MIC and MCA and others for 22 years to do all your dirty jobs
written by ganbing, August 11, 2009 22:56:15
Dr Mahathir, who led the country for 22 years, said the opposition won in five states in the last general election not because the people liked them or thought they could form a better government.

“They won because the people were fed up with the leadership then,” he said.“They won because the people were fed up with the leadership then,” he (Mahathir) said.

What's the difference old chap? There are no angels in politics so people vote for the lesser devil. And BN is by far still the bigger devil? Understand?

So your theory that people voted for Pakatan because they were fed up with BN is trite. It explains nothing.
written by mowadoha, August 12, 2009 00:55:27
written by CPY, August 12, 2009 14:02:59
P*****k betul Mahathir! BN can only take these states by tricks!