Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow Fraudulent Defenders of Our Faith

Fraudulent Defenders of Our Faith PDF Print
Monday, 10 August 2009 00:22

There is nothing Islamic about a society infested with corruption, dehumanized by poverty, and riddled with injustices.  It would be the height of hypocrisy, and mock our great faith to boot, for Khairy and Khir Toyo to claim the mantle of Islamic leadership if they are a part of the state apparatus that allows these evils to continue.

M. Bakri Musa

With Ramadan soon upon us, Muslims everywhere are caught up in a heightened sense of spirituality.  That is the good news.

Take last Thursday evening, for example.  The San Jose, California, masjid was inundated with believers staying late into the night.  It was the 15th of Shaaban, an especially blessed time in the Muslim calendar.  Shaaban is the month before Ramadan, and serves as a ‘warm-up’ to it.  As my Imam Ilyas noted wryly in his Friday khutba, what struck him was that many that evening had never before set foot on the premises.  That is the bad news.

Malays too are struck by this wave of religious fervor with the impending arrival of Ramadan.  Thus the recent local governmental agency raid on a 7-Eleven store in Selangor, stripping the store of its beer inventory.  Never mind that the store had been selling that beverage for decades without any harassment from the authorities.

Then there was UMNO Youth leader Khairy Jamaluddin calling on his PAS counterpart to ‘unite’ against DAP (and thus Pakatan) for allegedly ‘insulting’ Islam.  Not to be outdone, Khir Toyo, a fellow ‘fighter’ in UMNO Youth, chided PAS for not standing up to the Pakatan state government’s ‘insulting’ Islam by ordering the beer loot be returned to the store.

It turned out that the local agency had no authority to conduct such a raid.  Alas, observing the niceties of the law has never been a strong point with these Malaysian jihadist wannabes.

Our Malaysian jihadists may consider themselves ‘modern’ and of a different breed.  After all Khairy has been to Oxford while Khir is a trained dentist.  Alas they are ‘modern’ only in their outward appearances, what with their fancy suits and palatial bungalows.  In mindset and attitude however, they are no different from those madrasah-educated, disheveled bearded Talibans dwelling high in the caves of Afghanistan.

More to the point, I am not all assured that these overzealous ‘defenders’ of Islam are doing our faith any favor.  On the contrary, these fraudulent defenders of our faith are smearing the image of Islam.

As my Imam Ilyas rightly pointed out on noting the large crowd at the masjid on the evening of 15th Shaaban, while he was pleased with the turnout he gently reminded us that it is far more important to do the many little “good” gestures required of us by our faith all the time than be focused on doing the spectacular ultra religious deeds during Ramadan.

For example, it is much more important to be generous throughout the year rather than making a highly publicized generous donation during Ramadan.  On another level, there is no point for us to live a life of vice and corruption and then once a year undertake a Hajj or umrah in an attempt to ‘cleanse’ ourselves.

If the average citizen could see through the hollowness of such ‘pious’ gestures, rest assured that Almighty Allah would have minimal difficulty figuring out the hoax.

The late Zakaria Mat Deros, a former railway guard turned fabulously wealthy politician with the obscenely ostentatious bungalow squatting amidst the squalor of the Malay kampong in Port Kelang, was a prime example.  He was accompanied on one of his frequent umrahs by no less than the head of Islam Hadhari, then Prime Minister Abdullah Badawi.

I wish that characters like Mat Deros were the exception; unfortunately they are the norm.  Consider that self-admitted adulterer Razak Baginda.  Not only did he try to cleanse himself religiously by visiting (yes, ‘visiting’ is the appropriate term) Mecca, he went on to ‘purify’ himself by going to Oxford.  Presumably he thinks that a doctorate from that august institution would purify him in the eyes of the secular crowd.

I wonder how Razak Baginda felt when he undertook his umrah knowing that a young girl his daughter’s age was blown up to smithereens as a consequence of his philandering.  Did he offer any prayers for the soul of his former lover and for her still grieving family?  Charity and generosity after all are one of the pillars of our faith.

These Malays should heed the advice of my young but wise Imam.  They should instead focus on being ‘good’ in their every day existence instead of trying to display their piety in dramatic ways during special occasions.

The central injunction of our Quran – Amal makruf, Nahi mungkar (Command good, forbid evil) – should be our daily creed.  Frequent trips to Mecca, glamorous iftar parties during Ramadan, and having a surau as part of your palatial mansion will not make up for your ignoring this elemental and recurring Quranic refrain.

I wish that Khairy Jamaluddin and Khir Toyo, being young and the future leaders of UMNO, as well as others would address the gross injustices perpetrated on our citizens, the corruption that is infesting our society, and the poverty that blights far too many Malaysians, instead of being unnecessarily obsessed with 7-Eleven stores selling beer.  In the same vein I do not see Khairy, Khir and others of their ilk being outraged at UMNO stalwarts serving on the boards of Carlsberg and the Genting casino company.

The pair’s selective outrage baffles me.  Or stated differently, I, like others, readily see through their hoax.

There is nothing Islamic about a society infested with corruption, dehumanized by poverty, and riddled with injustices.  It would be the height of hypocrisy, and mock our great faith to boot, for Khairy and Khir Toyo to claim the mantle of Islamic leadership if they are a part of the state apparatus that allows these evils to continue.

Comments (39)Add Comment
written by tkahyap, August 10, 2009 00:26:58
mr bakri please tell us who are the umno guys in the carlsberg and genting board. gonna make a good reading/uproar!
agree 144
written by cheekhiaw, August 10, 2009 00:36:24
For a long time in history, the defenders of many faiths were merely thieves, liars and murderers. This case is no different.
agree 123
written by raven1958, August 10, 2009 00:46:24
Bakri for the Malays here it's all about glamour and money now even if it means killing and then going off on a Umrah holiday that's how shallow they are Your fellow doctor colleague, Mahathir made certain of that The country actually died in 1969 attempts at reviving it may not be successful

written by Oscar Winner, August 10, 2009 00:51:30
Pls allow to share the "IF I WERE GOD" series:

IF I WERE GOD: I would place beer, naked women/children, heroin and hard cash in front of my disciples to test their piousness. Heck, the farther I place these items, the more these disciples seem to yearn for them. The more the young girls and women cover themselves, the more rapes/incest occur. Now it seems I have so-called “apostles” who act like god and take away those things or impose certain laws, and yet I still see my disciples indulged in alcohol consumption(like some muslim staff in Carlsberg or Guiness Anchor), rapes, incest, corruption (eg UMNO goons), robberies, and heroin addiction.

What’s the matter with me, the GOD??

-They don’t understand my teachings?
-They think I don’t exist?
-They think I can’t protect my religion?
-They think they are better than me?
-They think they can take over my place?

It has to be "all of the above”
written by johntyc, August 10, 2009 01:11:23
No use tell them about this! Donkeys are like KJ, Toyol, and others from arm nor. Guided by money dangling in front of them. OK I overreacted. I apologize because I shouldn't have compared the donkeys with KJ, Toyol and others. Again I'm so sorry.
written by truthbespoken, August 10, 2009 01:15:57
Khairy and Khir Toyo - muslims they may be but they are more of a
politician currently making use of religion to achieve their selfish ends whenever it suits them. These category of people are nothing more than emerging UMNO-groomed sectarian politicians.
written by renoir, August 10, 2009 01:29:21
> these fraudulent defenders of our faith are smearing the image of Islam.]]

"Fraudalent" is certainly a good description. For example, while one might disagree much with the Tun, there IS a kernel of truth when he said this about Khairy's unethical practices in the recent UMNO Youth elections:

"They picked as their leader someone who was found guilty of using money and other inducements in his effort to get elected as the head of Umno Youth…Never before has a person who has been acknowledged as corrupt by the party disciplinary board, by the party and the public being elected and hailed as the leader..."

So much for this Oxford pretender's call to "defend" Islam.
written by CBP, August 10, 2009 01:32:13
Same, i used to bribe to get order when i'm in sales last time, especially GLC & government account, as long as "offer" is arranged, case is closed, be it on puasa or not. Frankly speaking, i did not like it, but there is no way if i dun do that. So i'm doing my sales job happily here in Singapore, just follow the policy, regulation n the best effort.

Dun just slammed khairy n toyo, be fair, from the officer when i'm getting my driving license ( something essential ), 99% of police i'v met......etc. all corrupted.

Like i always say, i dun agree Islam is extreme, it is always the people that " practice " it which is the problem. Again, Islam fail to achieve it's purpose in Malaysia.
written by 80srocker, August 10, 2009 04:34:32
Throughout the ages there have been many false prophets in any faith. The difference here though, is the leaders of an entire country practicing it openly and unabashedly. So the writer's observation of them being akin to the Taliban is spot on.

While crime's rising, job opportunities are decreasing, the economy failing, these people choose to seek even more unscrupulous ways to maintain their power. Worst of all, by playing the religious and racial cards. What about us, the rakyat? Does the govt want us to eat grass for breakfast, lunch and dinner, plus all the snack times in between?

Where's MCA and MIC now if you're really the champions of the Chinese and Indians, while UMNO's rampaging all over town and lapsing into their pre-GE12 habits? At least PR is trying their earnest to unite all Malaysians as MALAYSIANS!

Malaysia Boleh, indeed.
written by 80srocker, August 10, 2009 04:50:33
P.S. Add rising A(H1N1) cases and deaths to the list.

P.P.S. Don't flame me, but it's written that these are the signs of the End Times.
written by wongnoball, August 10, 2009 06:34:20
We Know Until there is Freedom from ISA, Press and Religion those in Power will continue to Abuse their Power to Abuse Islam in the name of Defending Islam which have survived 600 years without Regim Ganas kejam bunuh Retard UMNO Thanks to the Internet and falling local paper sales, we might as well burn down their printing press for Insulting Islam if you ask me bagi Bakar NSTP, Star, Nanyang, Utusan and above all RTM Rotten Tipu Malaysia
written by arazak, August 10, 2009 07:27:43
It is just baffling to see that Khir Toyol touting himself to be the champion of Islam while at the same time indulged into corruption and stealing the peoples’ money.

Khir Toyol represents the typical UMNO leader. . ., claiming to be pious and champion of Islam while at the same time indulge into corruption and thievery! Than at the end of the year, they make their trips to Makkah to cleanse themselves.

Hey, they even buy apartments in Makkah for them and their cronies to stay during their once a year corruption and thieving cleansing rituals!
written by NSTPravda, August 10, 2009 07:33:06
You said that there is nothing Islamic about a society infested with corruption, dehumanized by poverty, and riddled with injustices. But we think you are a bit too harsh lah. We are introducing harsh laws to curb these opposition corruptions, dehumanized by poverty, and riddled these renegades with injustices. We in bUMNO slime in perfection, personified by our beloved Slime Minister Najis the Innocent. He represents the best of our Qur'an sworned, Rasuah friendly, C4 tested, ethically challenged slime that your tax money can buy lah.
written by sonofmalaysia, August 10, 2009 07:36:14
The tragic thing to Malay Muslim is that once a Malay Muslim become UMNO member, he turns into a thug and a hypocrite, doing great harm to their bangsa and agama while pretending to be the their fervent champion and defender ! They lost all decency . Most UMNO people are very good a that.

The grand master who started this is none other than MAhatahi! One or two more generation of this kind of politicians, Malay bangsa will be like Paletinian, or Zimbabween or the Burmese Rohingya!
written by Chokma, August 10, 2009 09:01:34
We are asking too much from people like KJ and Toyo. Things they defend are money in their pockets and power in hand while the only thing they eliminate is money in our pocket. They will do whatever it takes to achieve these goals. The only way to make Malaysia a better place for all is to eliminate BN by voting them out. Shall we?
written by Mr Bean, August 10, 2009 09:20:57
A great report, what more to say.
written by Angela Ooi, August 10, 2009 09:36:22
UMNO has taught me about this great religion but fornification, booze, corruption unjustified practices like 'ketuanan melayu', etc.
written by chrisyong, August 10, 2009 09:55:15
just because they are Malays or UMNOputras do not mean they are Muslims. I really wonder why are KJ and Toyo are not ashamed? Do they really in their hearts honour and respect their god, if so why they did what they did??? How can KJ face Toyo and vice versa and both trying to proclaim they are Muslims and defending Islam. I pray for god's wrath to be upon people who dishonoured his name and honour!
written by malgal, August 10, 2009 10:39:10
righteousness is measured by God's calibration, not man's.
the outward mantle is a mere blowing in the wind.
oh well.
written by Susanna, August 10, 2009 10:57:40
They are not defenders of God. They are defending themselves hiding behind God. They have no fear of God. That is why I keep laughing at their remarks. They are jokers of the faith la...
written by Aria, August 10, 2009 11:07:58
Khir and khairy are both rich young punks who a power hungry, they will stop at nothing to get noticed by UMNO leaders. One of them will probably become Malaysia's prime minister, if UMNO is not wiped off.

We need leaders who have certain moral standards and education levels. Malaysia political problems are because 90% of our leaders are poorly educated and have low morals. Not much use trying to put the fear of god in these low life's.
written by Rock, August 10, 2009 11:08:48
I'm not sure but i wish someone can confirm this; KJ was seen half-drunk in one of the 5 star hotel in the night where MU players were there.
written by Sinewy, August 10, 2009 11:18:32
Those poor contractors and developers were asked to pay millions in contribution during the last GE and when that joker failed to rule the state again, these people were left to suffer...and this joker wants to talk about religion..
written by Xerxes, August 10, 2009 11:40:56
"....UMNO stalwarts serving on the boards of Carlsberg and the Genting casino company...."

And I recall that great article by RPK about the father writing to his son of the contradiction with their faith when he pointed out that MAS has many Malay stewards and stewardesses serving wine and liquor to the passengers.

Likewise, Carlsberg, Magnum, Tanjung, Genting and thier like pays huge taxes to the Govt. which are used to build places of worship, pay the salaries of civil servants who are mainly Malay Muslims and even the state Muftis. I always wonder how they reconcile all these. They created a huge issue over a few cans of beer yet closed both eyes to these overtly violation of the religious teachings. I am no religious expert and would love to hear from someone how these are justified.
written by chiongguo, August 10, 2009 11:42:26
A politician's thoughts, actions and words are never an expression of their knowledge or conviction but an expression of what the voter's wanted. However in malaysia we have politicians believing in deceit and devious means to create the most havoc and distruption to the government that they had lost to. If they can't use events to destabilise the government they create and orchestrated events. Kj and khir's antics are not expression of their education or background but of their ill and evil intentions.

The rakyat must see through these deceptions and send them a message that we will not stand for such gutter politics in the next general election.

written by MAGELLAN, August 10, 2009 12:52:01
tkahyap, there are 2 muslims that sit on the Genting board of directors, one is the deputy chairman and the other is the executive director. both UMNo supporters. go figure out who they are? Bakri highlighted a great story today, what I would like to add is, can anyone answer me why, during Khir Toyo's time as MB of Selangor no raids were conducted on 711. Both him and Khairy always take advantage of the situation, they are merely political stooges of UMNO trying to look good. I hope the general public is wise to see through the SHIT that these two *******s profess.
written by Steven Ong, August 10, 2009 13:08:37
Yes Bakri, you are right . They are hypocrites of the worse kind, Satan in sheep's clothing. If one thinks that one's sins could be cleanse and forgiven year by year, ones head need to be examine closely.
Repentance is for once and forever. Who do you think you are trying to fool?
After all have be said, all the problems with Muslims, has a reveal done on its founder - Muhammad? Did he really have more than 13 wives?
written by Davy McChester, August 10, 2009 15:26:38
The issue is all about acquiring power through accelerated means and hypocrisy is very handy to blind already herd mentality followers.Put everything on the table for a debate they would be shocked to learn everything indirectly has a touch of being "haram". This is beyond the thinking power of little Napoleons and yet they dare to tread on such issues.No man is an island so is any religion today. A good place for this half wit to reside would be Saudi Arabia. In Malaysia,we need also get the approval of the aborigines -the jakuns and sakai.And forgetting the tuah guzzling Ibans ,Dayaks,Muruts.Kadazans. They are part of the equation. This Dr.moron should learn,or inculcate,teach, how to control desires whether it is beer drinking,incest,rape .etc. He can start by helping the dadah addicts.
written by sydput, August 10, 2009 15:31:35
Selangor MB datuk Khald, we salute you for upholding the law.
For those who are on the side of the syariah crowd, look no further than afghanistan, somalia, saudi arabia and Pakistan autonomous region, where women are tortured and killed at the smallest excuses.
And the great prophet mohamed was said to have saved young girls from being buried alive during his time. These zealots are back using the prophets name to kill women again.
This proves that today's islam is the pagan religion prophet mohamed was up against during his time.
written by malaysian, August 10, 2009 17:05:28
A simply brilliant article!!!

Religious hypocrits ought to be put down like rabid dogs!
written by aeromaverick, August 10, 2009 18:07:28
San Jose, California.... it is.... smilies/grin.gif
written by Vivarium, August 10, 2009 18:46:48
God is able to differentiate between Islam and the made-in-Malaysia "Islam" professed by the Umno malay elites. The invincible arms of GOD will catch up with them one fine day, so worry not. No amount of Mecca-cleansing could rid off their sins.
written by Mama Juwie, August 10, 2009 19:10:47
Dear Majlis Agama Islam in all the states in Malaysia,

Here is a list of Malaysian Muslims who are directly involved in the admin and management of 'haram' activities. These people are there simply because of the Bumiputera policy and quota. Please make your Fatwa about it or else you guys are nothing but UMNO ball-lickers.

1) Berjaya Corporation Berhad
Core activities include gambling and lottery management

Board Members: Dato' Azlan Meah Bin HJ Ahmed Meah
Tan Sri Datuk Abdul Rahim Bin Haji Din
Dato' Suleiman Bin Mohd Noor
Dato' Hj Mohd Yusoff Bin Jaafar
Mohd Zain Bin Ahmad
Datuk Seri Panglima Mohd Annuar Bin Zaini

2) Genting Group
Business activities include gaming and casino

Deputy Chairman - Tun Mohammed Hanif bin Omar
Board Members: Tan Sri Mohd Amin bin Osman
Dato' Paduka Nik Hashim bin Nik Yusoff

3) Guinness Anchor Berhad
Brewery and alcoholic drinks manufacturer

Board member: Dato’ Jaffar Indot
written by Davy McChester, August 10, 2009 21:22:06
Hypocrisy is always attached to shallow minds whose disease spreads like wild fire to the mindless streets thugs with head bends and banners as though God cannot see the hypocrisy.
written by Ghifarix, August 10, 2009 21:29:19
Fire in their belly-almost everything they touch is harram.
This article is right in context and pertinent too, this have been Nik Azziz argument all along. I can't stand the hypocrisy and the false pretense when others associate UMNO as a defender of Islam even the Palaces have failed where defending Islam or its key components e.g. Justice Truth and universal brotherhood. UMNO has gone past redemption and it will be un-Islamic to aid this party. Remember Datuk Mazlan? well he performed Umrah and Haj as often as he played gulf and as regular as he summoned the sadistic Bohmoh Mona Fendi and her devils. The Irony is, you wouldn't find a mango on a coconut tree. They are all the same. And Nik Azziz position will benefit Muslim as much as non-Muslims. These morons spend tens of millions visiting Mecca and Medina when they might have feared better in the sight of Allah had they turn and feed house and educate the poor Malaysians they left with the illusion of the NEP.
written by KotaDamansara73, August 10, 2009 22:02:37
AS long as UMNO has leaders like Khairy and Khir, whom brains are located at their ass, you won't see much progress in a Malay society.

I can sense the frustration that Ronnie Liu has to fight everyday, responding politely to stupid people like Hassan Ali and many more HIDUP! MELAYU! fanatic Malays, whom can't accept a Chinese as the person who is in charge of the Housing Development portfolio.

Please don't blame Stupid Hassan Ali for being stupid. Because he is really stupider than the stupidest.
written by Spear Bing, August 11, 2009 01:53:42
KJ and Khir Toyo still think Malaysians are nimcompoos, not realizing themselves that they are so full of falsehoods, hoaxes, false pretensions and hypocrisies.

written by born2reign, August 11, 2009 13:13:05
The head of Islam in Malaysia is not our Agong nor Sultans.

The double-heads are Khairy and Toyol, for our UMNO govt has effectively elected defacto leaders of Islam, Kahiry and Toyol.

And most of the Muslims love racism and fear their Allah cannot feed them without NEP. That's why Muslims are keeping quiet and looking another way.

written by jaz, August 11, 2009 14:51:19
Hypocrites, each and everyone of them...