Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow An overwhelming majority will definitely vote for a new IGP

An overwhelming majority will definitely vote for a new IGP PDF Print
Friday, 07 August 2009 19:08

Take a secret poll among the 2,000 top police officers from ASP upwards and an overwhelming majority will definitely vote for a new IGP

Lim Kit Siang

Will the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak, recommend to the Yang di Pertuan Agong another extension of tenure for Tan Sri Musa Hassan as Inspector-General of Police from next month?

I have said that there are over a hundred reasons why Musa should not have another extension of his tenure as IGP and nobody, whether Musa himself or the Home Minister, Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein, dare to throw a challenge to me to list out the 100 reasons to subject them to public scrutiny and judgment whether they are weighty and substantive enough to have a bearing on the decision as to who should be the No. 1 Policeman in the country from next month.

I have no personal axe to grind against Musa and am acting purely in the national interests, to roll back the tide of crime in the past five years which Musa had failed to do as well as to inject the Malaysian police force with the adrenaline, dynamism and a reinvigorated sense of purpose that only a new police chief could evoke in another attempt to scale the goal to become an efficient, incorruptible, professional world-class police force respected internationally for its competence, ability and success to fulfill the three core police functions to keep crime low, eradicate corruption and protect human rights.

I do not have a candidate to be the new IGP but I believe Malaysians as well as the 100,000-strong police force just cannot believe that the present batch of police leadership are so short of leadership material that the Prime Minister cannot find a single one from the topmost 100 Police officers of Deputy IGP, CPs, DCPs, SACs I and II to qualify to be the new IGP.

I have no doubt that if the issue of whether the country needs a new IGP is put to a referendum in the country or the police force, the result will be an overwhelming “yes” for a new IGP.

Of course, if there is a referendum among the top 2,000 police officers from ASP upwards, it would have to be a secret poll to get the true and authentic voice and vote of the overwhelming majority for a new IGP.

If more reasons are needed to buttress the case for a new IGP, they can be found in the various opinion polls on the Home Ministry website since last month – where 9,729 persons or 97% of 10,060 respondents polled from 20th to 28th July 2009 felt unsafe because of the high crime rate, with only 1% or 89 respondents felt safe and 2% or 242 respondents in the “uncertain” category.

In the same poll, 95% or 8,883 out of 9,319 respondents felt that the safety of the people was not guaranteed as compared to 3% or 248 respondents who felt it was still guaranteed, with 2% or 188 respondents in the “uncertain” category.

To the question whether the government has done its best to ensure that the safety of the people was at the best level, 94% or 8,743 out of 9,261 respondents replied in the negative; 2% or 185 respondents replied in the positive with 4% or 333 persons “uncertain”.

A total of 78% or 7,366 out of 9,406 respondents disagreed with the statement that crime was a global issue and that Malaysia was not the only country faced with the increasing crime rate, while 18% or 1,659 persons agreed with it, with 4% or 831 respondents “uncertain”.

How can the top police officer who had served for three years as IGP, including a two-year extension of his tenure, ask for a renewal as IGP with such disastrous record and abysmal vote of no confidence as illustrated by the Home Ministry’s own website polls?

The latest opinion poll on the Home Ministry website regarding the Internal Security Act, which went up on Wednesday night is another crippling vote of no confidence in Musa as IGP.

As at 1.30 pm today, a total of 6,614 people had participated in the poll, with 5,779 or 87% of the respondents dismiss it as “draconian law”, while 10% or 666 respondents accept it as “preventive law” with 3% or 169 persons “uncertain”.

From the poll, 91% or 6,117 out of 6,752 respondents want the ISA repealed, 9% or 610 respondents want it retained with amendments while 25 were “confused”.

On the question whether respondents were aware that “United States and Great Britain have their own preventive laws. ISA is one of the acts referred to by them”, 57% or 3,369 out of 5,932 respondents clicked “Yes, I know”, 40% or 2,365 respondents answered “This means nothing to me” with 3% or 198 respondents in the “I do not know” category.

All the Home Ministry website polls in the past weeks highlight one imperative – there must be a new start for the police force under a new Inspector General of Police to begin the concept of democratic policing and rewrite the very mission and vision of the police, not to be the protectors of the government regime but to be the friends and protectors of the people, the rights of citizens and the rule law, and ensure the safety and security of all.

written by 80srocker, August 07, 2009 19:21:11
Can I start calling the PDRM Polis Di-Rasuah Malaysia? Their only good at robbing migrant workers and asking "nak settle tak?".
written by HenryTan67, August 07, 2009 20:42:02
QUOTE:
On the question whether respondents were aware that “United States and Great Britain have their own preventive laws. ISA is one of the acts referred to by them”, 57% or 3,369 out of 5,932 respondents *****ed “Yes, I know”, 40% or 2,365 respondents answered “This means nothing to me” with 3% or 198 respondents in the “I do not know” category.

The USA & Great Britain, are great countries, and their leaders are genuine in practicing real democracy. Preventive laws in these countries are used against real threats, not against their own rakyat or against oppossing politicians. But on the other hand, here in Malaysia, although we would also call a great country that we love so dearly, is governed by corrupt leaders that behave like gangsters and thugs. The leaders here blantantly disregards the rule of law and the true spirit of democracy, and practice POLITICAL GANGSTERISM. So tell me, how are we to even come close to comparing those countries with Malaysia.
written by Caretaker_y, August 07, 2009 20:49:30
The last extension for Musa(IGP)included one of reasons by him was to finish-off the gansgters/criminal issue in Sarawak. Was any of those syndicates under his territorial protection, if not, they surely have to go.

Musa have not been impartial as far as the Mongolian model(Altantuya) murder case was concerned, he is covering-up the murder(shot & C4ed)of Altantuya for someone high up there(as under Bala's S/D, Najib the PM himself). That's why Najib have to agree to his(Musa's) request for extension or he may let the cat out of the bag who is really responsible for the murder of the Mongolian girl.(It is like I said earlier, "I scratch your back, you scratch my back" obligation)

There are definitely a number of suitable personnel who can step into his shoes, & yet he(Musa) is desperately holding on.

It is time he must go with so many negatives against his terms as IGP.

So be a gentleman like our Tun Mahathir, step down when the time is already ripe for 'pecen' & go jalan jalan around the world with all your accumulated assets.
written by cheekhiaw, August 07, 2009 21:38:17
What we want is Inspector General of Police, not Inspector Golongan Pencuri!
written by Spear Bing, August 07, 2009 23:23:47
Does anyone know why the recent court case involving the ex-Director of Criminal Investigation, Ramli Yusof was dismissed?

His lawyer was Shafee Abdullah, the wannabe A-G and buddy of him, also a buddy of IGP, also a buddy of Najib.

Does anyone suspect that Ramli Yusof will spill the beans should he be charged and found guilty of using the helicopter services to survey his land in Sabah?

Obviously, Ramli has scanned all the skeletons of the IGP in the closet.

Could it be " I scratch your back and you scratch mine" strategy?
written by sydput, August 07, 2009 23:24:19
What we need is a women IGP. compasionate and thoughtful.
written by BUTEK, August 08, 2009 01:05:27
Aiyah LIM KIT SIANG don't talk shit laa...

this man is really loved by MCA, GERAKAN,DAP and chinese gangsters... without him a lot of farking chinese gangster will stay in jail... with money they can easily bribe this farking IgP....

Cina lagi mau bohong... macam lanc*u.....
smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif
written by lunas oh lunaih, August 08, 2009 01:05:56
Read this..another tower gone down...Again in TERENGGANU

http://www.mampat.********.com/
written by lunas oh lunaih, August 08, 2009 01:07:49
http://www.mampat.********.com/
written by lunas oh lunaih, August 08, 2009 01:09:22
mampat ******** com

Sorry guys,why cant the word ******** somes out????
written by Highway16, August 08, 2009 01:55:56
Its not that they can't find a suitable candidate.

They can't find the "right" candidate that can cover up their crimes and works well with Ah Longs.

written by AlwaysFair, August 08, 2009 02:14:00
The reason we have rotten leaders like him is because the ruling regime only care about their own survival and even someone who cannot meet his KPI is allowed to carry on only because they are on the same political divide.
written by educationist, August 08, 2009 04:37:01
I have cast my 'vote' many times against any extension of the current IGP's contract.
But I know it is an exercise in futility.
That keris boss of his has recommended his contract be extended.
And why not?
He has carried the UMNOputras instructions to the letter, violating totally any semblance of neutrality in the Perak state assembly fiascos and all the politically motivated actions of the police force against opposition to them.
Yet I still want to state my stand!
written by NSTPravda, August 08, 2009 08:25:45
An overwhelming majority will definitely vote for a new IGP
Question: Do we really new a new PIG IGP?
What we need is a regime change....
Rasuah sayang eh!
smilies/smiley.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by Ghifarix, August 08, 2009 08:38:29
This man is like a snake that swallowed a porcupine-he can't sleep
They will compete with the number of offenses to charge him with too.
The positive gain though is that crime in Malaysia will take a nose dive, it will plunge faster than the stock market like a comet. I do believe PDRM sincerely want's to get on with professional policing instead of witch hunting and internal politicking. As it is, everyone keeps looking over their shoulders while they keep tabs on the harram they commit to prove that they are on the dark side. I pity them; when they are off duty they find that the public do not appreciate them they way we use to- not since the morons assaulted Anwar near death yet continues to fabricate crimes against him. Just look at CCD Ramli victimization, how they went after him. Setailah kami Dato Ramli.
written by ToeJam, August 08, 2009 09:01:23

......the present batch of police leadership are so short of leadership material that the Prime Minister cannot find a single one from the topmost 100 Police officers of Deputy IGP, CPs, DCPs, SACs I and II to qualify to be the new IGP...

Dear Malaysian Police Officers who hold the rank of Deputy IGP, CPs and DCPs,

Do you know that our PM has insulted you? He is implying that none of you have the capability or integrity to be a IGP and hence he needs to extend the appointment of the current one.

If you one of these officers holding these senior ranks, please vote below (Agree or Disagree) with our PM's implication. Thanks
written by hellosunshine, August 08, 2009 09:46:23
Musa would have been unceremoniously sacked for dereliction of duty and poor performance in the corporate world. Only in Malaysia can questionable characters be appointed in top positions in the enforcement agencies. Heck, even as PM too. smilies/tongue.gif
written by ROBERTNGTG, August 08, 2009 09:48:46
Take a secret poll among the 2,000 top police officers from ASP upwards and an overwhelming majority will definitely vote for a new IGP

SO, MOST OF THE ASPS ARE CURSING THIS MFKR??? ANYWAY, IF WE HV GE 13 NOW, THE
SAME OVERWHELMING MAJORITY WILL DEFINITELY VOTE FOR A NEW GOMEN
written by ultraman, August 08, 2009 10:11:05
If there is a vote againstIGP,
Count me in and my 10 friends= 11 votes IGP OUT!!!
written by my oumrie, August 08, 2009 14:56:47
1st August 2009, lots of traffic jams in suburbs because of unlawful driving and inconsiderate parking of cars. Why? No police around. Why? Police concentrated on crushing the demonstration. Why? To please the ruling executive that they are doing their job of crushing dissent from ordinary citizens. Why? Apparently, peaceful demonstration prevent traders from plying their trade. Why? Shoppers couldn't get to town. Why? Police had several road blocks to stop them. Why? In case Shoppers are dissenters in disguise. PTOOOUUUIII!
written by Susanna, August 08, 2009 15:38:46
What else except to cover up misdeeds?