Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Why I don’t need the NEP

Why I don’t need the NEP PDF Print
Friday, 07 August 2009 17:53

As I said, I would hate it if people say my success is because I happen to have been born Malay. I would prefer people say I am successful because I am smart. Why can’t other Malays share my pride? Why can’t other Malays take on Malaysians not of Malay ethnicity and fight them on a level playing field?

It was more than 30 years or so ago, back in 1977. My Terengganu based company had tendered for the Ministry of Finance contract to supply marine engines to the Fisheries Department of the Ministry of Agriculture. The Minister of Finance then was Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah and the Minister of Agriculture, Sharif Ahmad

It was a RM30 million tender. At today’s purchasing power I really don’t know what that would be but I suppose we can easily multiply that by five. The biggest contract I had ever secured before that was for a value of RM750,000 -- so RM30 million was certainly a great leap forwards.

The tender committee met, chaired by Tengku Razaleigh. I, of course, had my eyes and ears in that meeting room, as I always do until this very day. And the decision of the tender committee was to award the entire contract to UMW, which was then headed by Eric Chia, with Datuk Dr Mokhzani Abdul Rahim as one of its Directors.

Invariably, Dr Mokhzani was a high profile and well-known Malay personality while I was a young unknown punk doing business in a remote fishing village called Kuala Terengganu.  UMW was a star of the Malaysian corporate world with links not only to various Ministers but also all the way up to the Prime Minister. It was the only Malaysian company that enjoyed a Japanese government guarantee on all its purchases made from Japan on credit.

My company was a mere RM10,000 paid-up capital papa-mama outfit.

The tender committee allowed every member of the committee to have his say. Then the Minister spoke. The RM30 million contract would be awarded to the more stable and reliable UMW.

Then the Secretary spoke up. He was a short unassuming man.  In a crowd he would probably blend with the wallpaper and go unnoticed. He was a hardcore ABIM member. He refuses to meet contractors and businessmen. If you made an appointment to see him he would never say yes and you would be left waiting months for the appointment to be confirmed. If you tried to gatecrash his office and attempt to get in without an appointment he would shout at you to get out of his office, like what I personally discovered.

This ABIM man, Secretary of the tender committee, spoke up. He said that the government should not give the entire contract to one company. There should not be any monopoly. At least two companies should be awarded the contract. UMW is offering Mitsubishi. This small papa-mama outfit in Terengganu is offering Yanmar. Give both these companies the contract.

Yes, said the Minister. But the Terengganu company’s price is higher. UMW is cheaper by 7%.

What if we negotiate with the Terengganu company and ask them to reduce their price, suggested the Secretary of the tender committee. Only if they can match UMW’s price will we give them the contract.

Okay, ask them to reduce their price and offer them 30% of the contract, ruled the Minister.

Why 30%, the very stubborn Secretary asked. By now my ‘eyes and ears’ in that meeting room was absolutely amused and quite puzzled as to why the Secretary, who did not know me from Adam, would go out on a limb to oppose his Minister in favour of me.

Okay, then give UMW and this Terengganu company 50:50. Each company will get RM15 million. But the Terengganu company will have to first reduce its price and match UMW’s offer. If not then UMW gets the entire contract.

I received a call from my ‘eyes and ears’ who told me what happened. Great, so I will soon be called and asked to reduce my price. And if I reduce it by 7% then I will get half the contract. A few days later that was exactly what happened. And as to why this ABIM man, the Secretary of the tender committee, fought for me I do not know until today. I can only assume it is because he wanted to do the right thing. He was, after all, an ABIM member and someone who holds Islam as his guiding principle. I am sure he too was equally surprised as to how come I offered a 7% discount, which ‘coincidentally’ brought our price down to exactly what UMW was offering.

Anyway, UMW and my company each got half the RM30 million contract. But whether we will really get RM15 million worth of orders in the end was left to be seen. The contract was a two-year contract. But the amount would all depend on which engines the fishermen chose.

UMW brought in RM6 million worth of engines, confident that they can sell all. I had less then RM1 million in stock and would have to contact Singapore and Indonesia in the event I needed more. But which brand will the fishermen choose? Yanmar or Mitsubishi?

UMW started giving away a few engines free of charge so that the fishermen could try them out. They were hoping that this would be a great endorsement for their Mitsubishi engines whereby more fishermen would demand their brand. They even gave all these fishermen who agreed to try out their engines ‘cash rewards’. And they of course got to keep the engines as well.

I realised that UMW was an aggressive company -- always has been -- and they would probably sweep the market. I could not afford to do what UMW was doing so I went back to Yanmar and negotiated two free engines from them so that we could do what UMW was doing. Yanmar agreed.

I went to meet two of those fishermen who had received free Mitsubishi engines from UMW and offered them these Yanmar engines, also free of charge. But the condition was, they would have to first sabotage their Mitsubishi engines in the middle of the sea and get rescued by the Fisheries Department.

Invariably, when word spread throughout the fishing villages that two brand new Mitsubishi engines broke down in the middle of the sea and the two boats spent the whole night drifting aimlessly and had to be towed back to port, no one wanted to touch Mitsubishis.

UMW was stuck with unsold Mitsubishis worth RM6 million. My RM15 million contract ended up as a RM30 million contract because UMW could not sell anything. And I laughed all the way to the bank, the double pleasure of defeating the great UMW at its own game.

Now, at this stage, you may be asking what the point of this whole story is. Simple really. I won. UMW lost. No matter how much bigger, powerful and influential they may have been, I still beat them. And I beat them not because I had contacts with the Minister or Prime Minister like UMW. I beat them not because of the NEP. I beat them not because I bribed the government officers and politicians. I beat them not because I was an Umno member. I beat them not because I am Malay. I beat them because I was more devious and dirty than those devious and dirty people in UMW.

I would hate it if people say that I won the RM30 million contact because I am Malay or because of the NEP or because I am an Umno member or whatever. That would be implying I am not really that smart but was given a crutch or handicap. Even a blind man can walk on the streets if you hold his hand and guide him along. I would like to believe that I won the contract because, while I knew UMW had friends in high places, I kept tabs on what they were doing by infiltrating the Ministry of Finance tender committee with my spies. And because of this I was able to monitor what my enemies were doing.

After getting the contract I had to ensure that UMW did not get any orders. And to ensure this I sabotaged their engines on the high sea and gave Mitsubishi a bad name. After that they could not even give away those engines free let alone sell them. And this is not because I am Malay or because of the NEP or whatever.

I am opposed to the NEP in its present form -- that is no secret. However, I do feel that a special poverty alleviation programme must replace it so that the have-nots and less fortunate can be assisted. But I don’t believe the Malays need special protection and handicaps to win the game. I, for one, resent it if someone says my success is attributed to the fact I happen to be born Malay. This is the same as saying if I was not born Malay I would be a failure.

Who says we Malays are weak and stupid and that we need crutches? I beat the biggest and most powerful Chinese public company called UMW back in 1977. And I beat them using their own strategy. And UMW is not the only big company I whacked. Fusan fishing net company got whacked by me. Pernas got whacked by me. Shamlin got whacked by me. The Bank Pertanian trading company, can’t remember its name now, got whacked by me. I took on the big boys, those with loads of money and political connections, and beat them. And it is not because I am Malay or because of the NEP. I would honestly like to believe it is because I have brains.

As I said, I would hate it if people say my success is because I happen to have been born Malay. I would prefer people say I am successful because I am smart. Why can’t other Malays share my pride? Why can’t other Malays take on Malaysians not of Malay ethnicity and fight them on a level playing field? It is so much more satisfying when you win that way rather than you engage in a boxing match with an opponent whose hands are tied behind his back and a blindfold over his eyes. Anyone can win that type of contest.

Comments (74)Add Comment
written by cheekymate, August 07, 2009 18:07:24
We should now start a campaign against the NEP. SAY NO TO NEP.
Stand proud and be a true Malaysian. Throw away your crutches, please.
agree 278
written by gaman, August 07, 2009 18:11:18
If 30% of the Malay population in Malaysia thinks and acts like you, Pete, I wonder how my country Malaysia will look like today....
agree 286
written by pinsysu, August 07, 2009 18:13:13
if other Malays share your pride & your brains, UMNO wud be irrelevant long time ago & MM won't iron-fist ruled the nation for 22 long yrs. once you set ppl free it wud be damn difficult to control them. that's not wat UMNO want. remember wat the British did with the Chinese ppl using opium. U get ppl addicted and they'll be forever controlled by u.
agree 155
written by malsia1206, August 07, 2009 18:23:15
If old fat Papa is si generous with the goodies handouts, why bother to stay smart? They're yours for the asking. I would not mind Tun M to come back as the PM if he directs Datin Rafidah to issue 1000 APs for me each year. When Barisan (UMNO) pampers and showers you with all the luxuries year-in, year-out, who really cares and needs to work?
disagree 16
written by 80srocker, August 07, 2009 18:24:27
First and foremost, my congratulations to you, YM. That was a masterstroke of genius to use their tactics back against them.

Firstly, I must say that all poor Malay brethren I spoke to had never even heard of the NEP or Dasar Ekonomi Baru. "Apa tu DEB? Aku bertani 20 lebih tahun, 1 sen pun tak dapat," they would collectively say. It's just an instrument to benefit UMNO's cronies. But when it comes to election time, only then would they keep harping on NEP being beneficial to Malays. Then MCA and MIC will coordinately attack it, calling for equal rights for all races too, but as we know, it's all just "wayang". The same goes for "Ketuanan".

Secondly, the NEP is the government way of dumbing down us, the Malay middle- and lower-income community. It's saddening. Read "KELING BALIK INDIA" in MT and the kind of trash Utusan spouts. There are so many local university graduates who can hardly speak fluent English. Even sadder is that there is a quite a large number who buys into UMNO's "Ketuanan".
agree 123
written by educationist, August 07, 2009 18:25:40
Yes, no rational rakyat will oppose to any special poverty alleviation scheme for the poor.
BUt lt it be for all who needs it, and not on a racial basis.
Hey! Pete, congrats though belated! Good to hear of your exploits against UMW, but you must fill us up with the other details as well.
written by Kampong, August 07, 2009 18:33:10
Oh dear Pete, you are dirty and scheming and evil. Exactly what it takes to be successful in business.

You look around in the Malaysia corporate world nowadays, you would avoid any entities with "Bumiputra" and "Islam" in their names. These companies have a record of big time screwups, and people have associated them with incompetence rightly or wrongly. That's exactly what NEP has done to the Malays. A competent Malay is very unfairly stereotyped b'cause most people would assume he didn't make it on his own.
written by wongnoball, August 07, 2009 18:42:41
Now what tips/suggestion to bring regim ganas Kejam Bunuh Racist UMNO-BN down and still live to tell grand children?? A coordinated Bank withdrawal??
written by Aria, August 07, 2009 18:48:38
Unless a race has an handicap then that race would need assistance. I don't believe any one race in Malaysia is stupid or needs a handicap. One race may be more hard working then the other, or lazy, or smarter. But, in all races there is the smart, lazy and hard working, just the proportions may be different.
The government is just using the NEP to get more votes from the Malay people. If they really think there is a problem with the Malay race they should come up with ideas to fix it and not by creating a handicap.
written by talk2stop, August 07, 2009 18:49:42
I would think calling NEP cruthes is an understatement. Let's not kid ourselves NEP is no cruthes by now after 30 years. To me it is more like a wheel chair. Give them another 30 years I'll have to call it a death bed. Go ahead continue the NEP and see what's going to happen. Me? NEP is more a free steriod to the non bumis.
written by malsia1206, August 07, 2009 18:52:02
We should all go ask Khir Toyo. He's the best person to know and answer RPK on this topic.
written by parsona, August 07, 2009 18:58:58
Its all about marketing. We all here know you don't need the NEP. We know the NEP is a crutch, an embarassment, but the problem is that the kampung malays and the uneducated does not. It has been marketed to them as a right, a special privilege. This has been drilled into their heads with the best marketing tool available, the mainstream media. To fight this plague, we need to either market our side better or to cripple their marketing methods. I'd say we need to form a movement to push towards removing the Utusan group. Bombard it with lawsuits, pinch their staff, create internal disturbance inside the organization, whatever.

/end keyboard warrior rant
written by eeyaw, August 07, 2009 19:01:54
Pete, Sorry to blow you bubble but you are not 100% one race. smilies/grin.gif
written by Raja Petra, August 07, 2009 19:47:32
Dear eeyaw, no problem, I love a good blow job.
written by Ben, August 07, 2009 20:36:41
Boss you are right, thats what I have been telling all my Malay friends. NEP is a crutch you don't need. But they prefer to depend on armno for handouts. You see what happened to Norza now, an accountant. Surely he could have done very well on his own but he chose to take what he thought was the shortcut. At first it seems that way, invited to sit as director in so many GLC board. Now he is paying a ridiculous price, almost inhumane. Hope the others will not follow in his footsteps
written by drabdulwahid, August 07, 2009 20:54:41
bros who want to migrate,

don't migrate, instead take action and kick those god forsaken BN out of office. let us build this land for you and me, for everyone.

if you run away you are a nobody. nobody here(msia), and nobody there(overseas). if you stay and fight for change, at least vote, if you are scared of going down to streets or no effort to campaign. vote for change. vote for PR. then the future will remember, that we brought change for them and showed them that we gave them their future.

remember fellas, that we looked back, and there was a speck of thought that says, " WTH did the people back then were thinking voting these people into power." they lost to racism. dont you lose too.

i remind you that the greener pastures that you see out there were once bare land, empty, dry. those lands once bore racism out of their guts. but they fought it. they gave the land freedom and properity. they made it possible for you to share the land of freedom and prosperity. they built their future, you went and look and share.

this is one in century opportunity to build our own future. the light has been sparked. lets build this fire of change so that it will burn the tyranny and protect the weak.

Amen
written by LFLee, August 07, 2009 20:55:53
So, pete, after earning 30millions, you retired? smilies/grin.gif

written by Pakyeh, August 07, 2009 21:21:39
NEP in what the Socialist and Communist call "redistribution of wealth". Wealth when monopolised by the Chinese alone is a TNT bomb resipi for May 13, or the storming of the Bastile in the French Revolution.
NEP was abused by Dr Mahathief to enrich the ruling elite which was not the original vision of Tun Razak.

RPK is not aware that the ABIM guy who helped him get the contract is actually applying the NEP, by asking the contract be split.

I am all for NEP(redistribution of wealth) for the poor of all races.

However the Banking sistem is perpetuating Capitalism(the rich/Bankers are made richer,while the poor is made poorer.

Read more "Kafirnomics Vs Islamnomics" at...

http://warongpakyeh.********.com
written by cheekhiaw, August 07, 2009 21:24:05
Why can’t other Malays share my pride? Why can’t other Malays take on Malaysians not of Malay ethnicity and fight them on a level playing field?
---
That's because most people would rather forego pride if they can get away with stealing or daylight robbery. And in this country they actually can!
written by anban, August 07, 2009 21:24:43
Hi pete, i beg to differ...if there is not NEP, you may not have been shortlisted for the 15million contract at the first place right smilies/smiley.gif. there may be a good chance it might have gone to a chinese company.

i am not saying i am a pro NEP as NEP today just provides the Malays with fish but it doesnt teach them how to catch the fishes. a new NEP should be targetted to the poor of all races and should be designed in such a way to train them to be competitive
written by lamepug, August 07, 2009 21:26:58
all people want "senang" (easy) jobs by "cetak" (copy). the brain use to "mimpi pagi" (day dream) only. "monkey see, monkey do"
written by johntyc, August 07, 2009 21:32:49
Don't worry. Malays like you are on the rise.
written by Loh, August 07, 2009 21:39:29
///Who says we Malays are weak and stupid and that we need crutches?///-- RPK

Mahathir did.
written by snailriver, August 07, 2009 21:51:35
That is what RPK is made of.....and that is why he is the legendary RPK !
Long live prince of Bugis.

May all your enemies rot and burn in hell. Muthafukers !!!

Take care chief
written by mowadoha, August 07, 2009 22:09:15
So our respected RPK must be proud to be Anak Bangsa Malaysia. Agree?

written by Qcumber, August 07, 2009 22:21:58
I tell you la... the ruling party purposely dowan the Malay to become smart. They rather the Malay remain backward so that they the ruling party can have a reason to fight for their rights and stay relevant.

If the ruling party is sincere in improving the Malay, how come after 51 years of ruling, the Malay are still not at par with others? UMNO have failed the Malay. That's how I see it.
written by Daryl, August 07, 2009 22:25:58
Say no to NEP but yest to poverty eradication because than politicians do not carry that much influence over these poor people every five years may it be BN or PR in the future.
written by SOMUCFUN, August 07, 2009 22:27:58
RPK, you can be our minister of trade in the next government! Let's prosper as a nation should be!
written by hellosunshine, August 07, 2009 22:41:07
You crafty old bugger, you are sending a message to those bastards in blue and the umnoputras, Sting's (Police) song "Every move you make, every step you take. I'll be watching you." Watching thru your many spies planted in peace hill and Putrajaya, that is. Keep it up, mate. smilies/wink.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by jalong, August 07, 2009 22:47:18
I don't know about you Pete, but just ask our dear Tun, the fearless doctor and the rest of the leadership. They'll tell you the Malay mind is a weak one that needs to be assisted and supported. They have been helped since Merdeka but they just don't seem to catch on. That is the justification of the continued need for the NEP. These feeble minds can't even handle the usage of the word 'Allah' in a non Quranic context. They will be confused! So you can argue all day long that you are smart or smarter but you will never convince the Malaysian leaders including the rulers. Sorry pal. If you frame your success in an Islamic or Muslim first and Malay second you might gain some traction.
written by InEffective, August 07, 2009 22:57:31
now i could use RPK talents to set my competitive strategy because i clearly am not succeeding.
written by Sam W, August 07, 2009 23:18:54
UMNo needs the NEP.
umno makes the malays think they need the NEP.
The malays then really believe they need the NEP.
As umno is the defender of the NEP,
the malays think they need umno.
umno then remains in power forever.

Elementary.

Also,

If you can get things the easy way, why make it difficult by working hard for it? What does it matter what the others think. Especially the pendatangs. In the beginnning it may hurt your pride (if you have an left) that you don't work for anything in your life, but have it handed to your you on a silver platter, but after a while, it is not so bad, and after a longer while it becomes your birth right.

Elementary 2.

written by lynn, August 07, 2009 23:24:01
Ah ha, YM RPK, all this while, as suspected, YOU are a genius.
It's okay, even if you are scum, devious, scheming, or worse, as long as you don't have sex with umno, you will always have our lifelong support.

Come to think of it, Malaysia would be very very fortunate if you can be PM for at least one term. The people who will benefit most handsomely will be the poor. The only problem we have is, most of the poor are so downtrodden, defeated, brainless, and unable to think, chances are they will vote bn to screw their lives up permanently. Along with the rest of us, collateral damage.
written by lynn, August 07, 2009 23:26:51
lampard, you know how to count or not?

RM30 million contract, maybe Pete made 10%, that is only RM3 million. You think he got all the engines for FREE from the supplier? How cud that be possible even in Bodohland cum Bolehland? Nothing is free here except air & endless abuses from the bn govt.
written by lynn, August 07, 2009 23:30:18

what is the name of this ABIM man from the tender committee?
what a wonderful soul & such brilliance - to share out the contract instead of giving all away to just one party as what dr M has been doing to us all these decades.

malaysians are really no-brains society - look at maxis - after making a huge sum, the biggest shareholder is coming back for 2nd round. And the law allows him to come back for second scoop, malaysia is really fcuked-up and it deserves all that fcuking & sodomising its citizens are enjoying.
written by alarcarte, August 07, 2009 23:51:02
Unfortunately the truth is there are too many crutches for the Malays and too many handicaps for the non Malays.

I worked in an MNC in the eighties and I saw some useless colleagues of mine got promoted ahead of me all because of I belong to the wrong race, to pacify me the "Orang Putih" boss give me good increment and explain to me that they are forced to do it and ask for my understanding. I became the Malay manager assistant and handle all daily routine work while they clocked out early to play golf even during working hours.

One even told me point blank that he is a manager all because he is a Malay, and another got promoted to human resource manager because he is some kind of youth leader in one of UMNO's branch.

Yes, it is so damn insulting to you brother RPK and also to some of my Malay class mates in my class who beat me hands down in their studies and in subjects like Add Maths and English during the late sixties. I really sympathize with you RPK and also my Malays friends.

I also happened to meet a Malay guy in Latin America who was an I.T. manager in Gringo consulate, he speaks Spanish fluently and married a Latina and told me he will never come back to Malaysia due to this reason, for this I salute him! We had some fun time drinking beer (a crate of beer to be exact) together in a boat while fishing, he told me "I can never drink beer publicly back in Malaysia, if I do that the Malays in Malaysia will screw me."

written by rpremkumar2u, August 07, 2009 23:52:15
Substance of a thriller
written by sydput, August 07, 2009 23:55:04
Pete is as dirty is business as Dr M is in politics.
written by Raja Petra, August 07, 2009 23:57:05
Dear anban, in 1977 there was no Bumiputra priority for tenders above RM10 million. This tender was for RM30 million. Only two companies tendered, UMW and me, because all the others (Caterpillar, Cummins, MTU, etc.) could not meet the specifications. The specs were 22HP and 33HP and Yanmar and Mitsubishi were the only two who manufactured those models.

It has nothing to do with being Bumiputra.
written by johnT, August 08, 2009 00:13:06
Dear RPK, In your earlier article a years ago if I am not wrong you are driving a Mitsubishi Car. Did u sold that car in 1977?
Talking about bussiness maybe you are smart because you have half British blood from your mother compare to Mamak Kuti who have half Indian blood.
written by chebella, August 08, 2009 01:12:07
i think that abim guy insist that u get 50% of the contract because u r a malay la

giving 100% to UMW who is owned by a chinese fella is not acceptable to him

i thot that is NEP in action
written by drabdulwahid, August 08, 2009 01:16:48
spread the words about some real change, about NEA. New Economic Agenda. Rich Malays dont need crutches. the honest ones can work their sweat out on their own and the robbers has looted enough for 9 generations.

the poor malays need crutches. the poor chinese need crutches. the poor indians need cruthes. the poor ibans kadazans dayaks need crutches. the poor need crutches so that they can get out of the pit of poverty and share the benefits of this nation's wealth. that is what NEA is about. it is about getting the poor out and eradicate the disease called poverty in this country.

NEP has failed. NEP is the reason for racism in this country. NEP is the reason why malays are poor. the reason why their children didnot get into uni. the reason why their salary is peanuts. the reason why they are being lied upon day in day out by MSM and UMNO.

vote PR, and you will get a better economic policy. vote PR and help for the low income earners will be for real. business will prosper. everyone will benefit. the new PR government will implement programs to create opportunities for those who needs them. they will get them irregardless of race or religion or political inclination. get rid of NEP, embrace NEA, and see real change for you and your children.
written by KotaDamansara73, August 08, 2009 01:41:46
I don't see any justice in the tender at all. I still see NEP at work because ABIM guy decide that it should be shared. Instead of evaluating the engines, they just blindly let you play dirty and bribe the fisherman to sabotage UMW.

IN my perception, you have cooperated with ABIM to sabotage UMW. If it is trully justified, the more reliable and better engine should be used. And it should be evaluated properly. Not just let the fisherman support one engine over the other because the fisherman are malays who sided with RPK who is also a Malay. So the fisherman is more than willing to sabotage UMW engines.

If the Chinese were to ask the Malay fisherman to sabotage a Malay company engine, then I think they would relunctant to do it, unless they hate the Malay company so much.

Telling the Stupid Malaysians, that sabotaging your rival business is a justified way to do business is a sign of a very unprogressive mindset which is typical among the Malays.
written by Raja Petra, August 08, 2009 02:20:34
Dear KotaDamansara73, I can see that you know nothing about how the system works. The technical evaluation was already done and the final shortlist were the ones sent to the tender committee. Then the feedback from the Fisheries Dept was obtained and the Fisheries Dept responded that Yanmar was the preferred engine. Then the spare parts and service were evaluated and Yanmar was proven to be better because they had a factory in Shah Alam while Mitsubishi was assembled in Japan and had no service and spare parts backup in Malaysia. Then the new government circular came out the the government must not buy from ONE supplier but from at lest THREE suppliers.

KotaDamansara73, before commenting do your homework first. Sheesh!
written by Raja Petra, August 08, 2009 02:22:37
Dear chebella, I think you are right. They should have disqualified me since I am Malay.
written by pakasia, August 08, 2009 04:46:34
if they were to be no NEP since 1957, I strongly believe they are more successful Malays than now! The present system only benefit the few and breed the wrong quality.
written by James Loh, August 08, 2009 05:19:36
I've seen a lot of talented Malay while studying oversea. They're intelligent, aggressive, etc. What about our beloved Yasmin Ahmad? Isn't she the best creative director for the whole South East Asia. Even Singapore government admire her work. Also, the professor that's currenly work at Singapore and Indonesia. I forgot his name. Lastly, we're all Malaysian and it's time for Malay to rise up. You need to tell UMNO stop demonizing Malay.

Raja Petra you should excuse KotaDamansara73 for his igorant comment. He's making a judgement based on your article. Overall, you're right that you beat UMW at their own game. I only wish Malaysia government would allow talented Malay without any connection rise up. I think it's corruption that's stopping the talented Malay achieving their goal. Am I right?

Lastly, as a Chinese Malaysian I would love to see more Malay company succeed too. Malay is the majority population of this country. Thus, if they succeed this mean I've more job opportunity. I want to come back to Malaysia but job opportunity is not too bright. Maybe they won't work me to death like typical china man company.
written by freerpk, August 08, 2009 08:11:21
Yes dear RPK, you hit the nail on the head. There are intelligent & rich Malays all over the world and they made it without any crutches or bailouts. Unfortunately it is harder to find in their own country of Malaysia. Who needs to work hard or crack their brains if everything is on the platter.....and if you look into history you will realise that this will lead to the downfall of the empire like the Roman empire that lasted a 1000 years
written by The dragonheart, August 08, 2009 08:17:50
If YM RPK is not a Malay, I don't think he will be shortlisted on the first place. And I don't think the short ABIM man would stand up to divide the the cake if YM RPK is not a Malay and a Muslim. Suppose if all the fishermen were not malays, I don't think YM RPK would won the dirty game. This is my two cent thinking... sorry to offend anyone.
written by Badrol, August 08, 2009 09:39:00
RPK, with your experience in infiltrating, the eyes and ears, and all those 'spy vs spy' thing, why not you set up a CIA/MI6 unit in Pakatan. At least you can keep tab of all the Pakatan Aduns and MPs behaviour. They have been rather naughty lately, especially those in Selangor and Penang.
written by cantab, August 08, 2009 09:49:13
Yes, RPK, you have brains judging from this interesting story. But in the local universities, I am surprised that many have no brains despite having a PhD. Even though their PhDs are from the UK/US/Australia etc, many could not even speak English well, let alone write. (Guess their PhD dissertations were written by someone else!) That's why they do not have many journal publications. However, simply because they are Malays and because of NEP, they are easily promoted to Associate Professors and Professors without knowing what they could profess academically! Ask they to try to apply to work with the Singapore University and my hunch is, they will not even be accepted as tutors. Anyway, I strongly agree with you that "a special poverty alleviation programme must replace it so that the have-nots and less fortunate can be assisted", while maintaining that in the universities, the promotion consideration should solely be based on meritocracy and not be coloured by the one's colour.
written by sydput, August 08, 2009 10:16:42
You still need to be a bumi to participate in governemtn tenders,or have a Ministry of finance bumi company license.
In RPK's case, ISUZU malaysia distributor does not have one, and needed RPK to act as a broker/agent for this particular case.
So RPk still benefit from having NEP, NO?
written by Davy McChester, August 08, 2009 10:21:00
And many become the laughing stock in an Ali-Baba arrangement and the real enterprising ones have to bear the pressure from the 3rd & 4th factor,which is within and the circles outside. It is a terrible ordeal as the pull is all directions and in the end there is not much to take home.And this is repeated throughout with a "you rub my back and I rub your back" sharing formula. God is not remembered as it is assumed he is resting with one eye closed
written by choong, August 08, 2009 12:30:18

Based on the NEP doctrine, you are actually a blip, an exception. so technically, you should be a statistical error. Otherwise, if the likes of you are proven to be the norm, they know NEP doctrine is faulty.

Anyhow, whether you are Malay or not, the real challenge to succeed is yourself. I know of Malay friends who succeed without resorting to help from the government. This is purely because they can.
written by tom73my, August 08, 2009 12:36:36
I think the key message is, after 30 years of spoon feeding, NEP does not help Malay at all to compete, not only locally, but more importantly, globally. I work in a global company and I can already see a trend that Malays tend to occupy local jobs, while Chinese are more competitive at regional and global level. Of course to get regional/ global jobs, a Malaysian has to compete with Americans, Europeans, Singaporeans, Indians, Chinese Chinese. From this trend, it is reasonable to predict that if the Malays still refuse to accept globalisation, and still do not change their narrow mindset, it is the Malays who will lose out in the long term. Worse, all Malaysians will lose out. The Malays will drag down Malaysia. My dear Malay friends, are you not worried?
written by Nick V, August 08, 2009 12:54:52
I enjoyed your sharing. You are actually quite cunning. The reason you are who you are is because you have self-respect and self-worth. Malays have been pit against the non-Malays by so called leaders. If only all of us understand that ALL of us are struggling out there to make a living in spite of these policies which discriminate and in effect has handicapped majority of the Malaysians (Malay, Chinese and Indians alike) while only fulfilling the aspirations of a few racists opportunistic leaders and their followers. This includes all the opportunistic Malay, Chinese and Indian business cronies aligned to a blatantly racist UMNO-BN government. And that’s why Malaysia is still only Malaya in reality.
written by roadbarra, August 08, 2009 13:49:53
Life in Malaysia was nothing like the 60s. Various races were more united and mingled easily no thanks to the current politics of divide and rule. We all grew up with the promise of a new future and good leaders. Sadly this isn't happening.
written by pakasia, August 08, 2009 15:01:02
NEP like any other socialist program, it will weaken the social system by breeding less competent class of social group. Khir Toyo, Musa Hassan, PM's Nazri and many other half past six ministers from BN are one such example.

They are many great competitive and intelligent Malays are rising in our land, please let them lead our future!
written by ROBERTNGTG, August 08, 2009 15:46:40
As I said, I would hate it if people say my success is because I happen to have been born Malay. I would prefer people say I am successful because I am smart. Why can’t other Malays share my pride? Why can’t other Malays take on Malaysians not of Malay ethnicity and fight them on a level playing field?

I KNOW AN ELECTRICIAN WHO IS A MALAY GUY. HE'S VERY COMPETITIVE, HARDWORKING AND SINCERE. FOR MANY YEARS, I ONLY CALL HIM AND NO OTHER PERSON. THE REASON: HE DOES A GOOD JOB, AND DONT DEPEND ON GOMEN CONTRACTS. WE HV BECOME GOOD FRIENDS OVER THE YEARS AND I HV ABSOLUTE TRUST IN HIM AND HIS PRICING. I HV NO QUALMS FOR THE NEP TO SUCH MALAYS. IT IS THE CRONIES WHO DRAIN AND SIPHON THE NATION'S COFFERS IN THE FORM OF INSTANT RM MILLIONS FOR DOING NOTHING THAT WE SHOULD BE AGAINST.
written by KotaDamansara73, August 08, 2009 18:38:42

If Yanmar engine is such a reliable and qualified engine, why do you need to bribe the Malay fisherman to sabotage the UMW engines?
written by KotaDamansara73, August 08, 2009 18:40:24

Your article is totally misleading.
written by KotaDamansara73, August 08, 2009 18:42:51
Your article emphasize on how proud you are in sabotaging Mitsubishi engine. But not how good the Yanmar engine is.
written by jason, August 08, 2009 18:52:38
Hi Pete, I always thought THAT Raja Petra was from Trengganu. Does United Bando ring a bell. The company that supplied you the fishing nets to the fishery dept. Wow!. Never thought you are the same guy. Only realised after reading your article. Hey Pete, FYI United Bando was actually a Shamelin subsidiary. This is a really small world, isn't it?. Looking forward to helping you bring down this corrupted BN. Take good care.
written by Badrol, August 08, 2009 19:34:52
Stupid Kotadamansara73, it's not a question of being proud of sabotaging Mitsubishi engine. I'm also proud of RPK (being proud of) sabotaging the likes of Eric Chia. I hope he can do the same to Vincent Tan.
written by pakasia, August 08, 2009 20:07:21
Eric Chia is one of the many runners of Tun Mahathir.
written by Samanyan, August 08, 2009 20:44:00

I have a great deal of admiration for you. But, sometimes I find your logic a little 'out of sync'. Without the NEP there would not have been a ghost of chance for you to participate and win in that tender exercise with just a RM. 10,000 paid up company. On a level playing field there would have been another 30 bids put in along with yours. In the jostling of that crowd, you my friend, would have been drowned out. Bye the way, I am not chinese. I am an Indian.

written by dumbfounded, August 08, 2009 21:07:16
Off the top of my head, I can name a few Malays I admire. You, Art, Zaid Ibrahim, Bakri Musa, Malik Imtiaz, Tengku Razaleigh, Yasmin, Haris, Mahathir. Ok so I don't particularly like Mahathir. But no one can deny he's got brains. Too bad he chose to be on the dark side. Shame. And I wonder why Tengku is still sticking around in UMNO. But who am I to understand a prince politician?
written by Wisdom above, August 08, 2009 23:00:05
...while I was a young unknown punk doing business..
You planned in depths and did market research extremely well.
You used strategy to undermine your high ended competitors.
UMW is a " NEP " company . Yours is your hands & legs.
You strategise well & execute your plans sharply.

My salute to you as you are gifted in your own ways.
Saya Anak Bangsa Malaysia.
written by Raja Petra, August 09, 2009 16:38:43
KotaDamansara73, if you don't know then ask. Don't simply comment. It makes you look very stupid.

1) In 1977, tenders above RM10 million are international tenders and open too all.
2) For tenders above RM10 million there is no Bumiputera priority, just like in Class A contracts (Bumis are Class F).
3) The technical evaluation and short-listing is done by the Fisheries Department based on sea trials.
4) The short-listed tenderers are sent to Treasury for final consideration.
5) Out of more than 12, only 2 were short-listed, UMW and my company. The other 10 did not meet the technical specifications.
6) My company was NOT Bumiputera because my wife and my Chinese partner were also Directors - 2 Chinese versus 1 Malay.
7) The government ruling was that a contract must NOT be given to 1 company but at least to 3 companies to ensure there is no monopoly.
8 ) Yanmar had more than 40 service centers and spare parts depots all over Malaysia (mainly in fishing villages). Mitsubishi had only one, at UMW's office in Shah Alam and there was no spare parts back-up so they had to canibalise in the event they needed spare parts.
9) Yanmar had been around since the 1950s and had a factory assembling the engines in Malaysia (in Shah Alam) while Mitsubishi had just come in (imported).
10) Priority must be given to local assembled/manufactured products over imported products.

So, see how stupid your comments now look when you comment just to whack me but without understanding the system. Are your comments a reflection of your brain?
written by KotaDamansara73, August 09, 2009 20:28:11
It doesn't matter whether I am stupid, racist or ****ing *******.

The question still remains, if Yanmar engine is that good, why do you still need to bribe the Malay fisherman to sabotage Mitsubishi engine. Why do you still need to sabotage? That is rather an odd practice at any time in the entire human history.
written by agnostikos, August 10, 2009 00:11:14
KotaDamansara73, it was UMW that played dirty first, using its money power. Read the original post. Once someone plays dirty all bets are off. Every businessman understands that.
written by BurnTan, August 10, 2009 13:33:46
To use dirty tricks like this to won a 30m contract is againts the Islamic teaching isn't it? Would you consider yourself as munafiq muslim as well?
written by Johan Mohriz, August 10, 2009 17:14:16
Dude, regardless of your unethical ways, I doubt you would have gotten the contract if it weren't for NEP.