Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Significant adrenaline test not conducted, says chemist

Significant adrenaline test not conducted, says chemist PDF Print
Thursday, 06 August 2009 18:16
By Syed Jaymal Zahiid, The Malaysian Insider

Government chemist Zaraiha Awang said an adrenaline test that could have determined if Teoh Beng Hock had been under stress at the time of death was not conducted during the autopsy.

The result of the test is significant because it could be an indicator that Teoh was pushed if he was under stress.

Lawyer Gobind Singh Deo, who is representing Teoh's family, argued before the inquest that the level of adrenaline content in the deceased's blood could have indicated if he was panicking prior to his death but the test was not conducted because the police had not instructed Zaraiha to do so.

Zaraiha , the seventh witness at the inquest into Teoh’s death, however, said that as a chemist it was not her duty to perform the test and that her scope was only limited to conducting tests to determine if there were traces of poison, which included dangerous drugs and alcohol, in Teoh's body. None were found.

The chemist was grilled by Gobind who insisted that Zaraiha , with 12 years’ experience as a toxicologist, and with the political implications of the case, should have taken the case more seriously and could have asked other experts to perform the adrenaline test.

Zaraiha admitted that though it was possible for other relevant experts to have performed the adrenaline test, none was conducted.

The cross-examination this morning of Zaraiha became a heated affair when the lawyer leading the government's team, Tan Hock Chuan, objected to Gobind using the word "pushed", arguing that he was already making conclusions when it was yet to be determined what caused Teoh's death.

READ MORE HERE: http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/

written by johntyc, August 06, 2009 18:54:09
grasping fist/hands(of deceased) likely caused by intense stress.
written by raven1958, August 06, 2009 19:16:27
So adrenaline test not done...case buang ke? Chemist betul-betul tak boleh pakai...

Looks like, in future, chemist/toxicology tests also must get second opinion from independant source...
written by educationist, August 06, 2009 19:49:32
Is this adrenaline test only thought of recently?
Could not the test be done after Beng Hock's body was released to the family?
We shall now never know what the test may show.
written by Anti Relon, August 06, 2009 20:06:13
Are you stupid or what? You are supposed to test for every casue of death.
written by ibabonma, August 06, 2009 20:32:14
Adrenaline? ..... We just can guess what is the outcome of this inquest.... HE WAS KILLED BY UNSEEN HANDS!

written by Stupid me, August 06, 2009 20:35:22
Is the purpose of this inquest to find out the truth ? If so why is Mr Tan so protective of whoever ? Just let any word be used and the conclusion will be made at the end of the inquest. His sole purpose should be to assist in arriving at the truth. Am I right ? Correct me if I am wrong.
written by 80srocker, August 06, 2009 20:59:48
"...the lawyer leading the government's team, Tan Hock Chuan, objected to Gobind using the word "pushed", arguing that he was already making conclusions when it was yet to be determined what caused Teoh's death."

Well, excuuuussseee me! The MACC said TBH committed suicide even BEFORE the police said he jumped. And the police said he jumped even BEFORE the inquest is complete.
written by aplus, August 06, 2009 21:10:31
Why is MI vaguely reporting this?

As if, out of the blue, she was voluntarily giving a new piece of information. Or was she giving that arising out of a question posed by an individual in the hearing? If so, who posed that question?

The way it is being reported, I can't help assuming that she had volunteered. So what does that mean if she had volunteered?
written by aplus, August 06, 2009 21:19:06
Sorry, my oversight. It was from a question posed by Gobind Deo.
written by Sabahfan, August 06, 2009 21:47:07
COMMON GUYS.... THE CHEMIST IS NOT STUPID....

SHE WAS GIVEN INSTRUCTION, DO THIS TEST ONLY,

NOT THE REST, WE DONT WANT THE REAL ANSWERS.....

SHE WAS ALREADY UNDER INSTRUCTION TO MESS UP WITH THE INVESTIGATIONS...
written by mikewang, August 06, 2009 23:17:45
"The cross-examination this morning of Zaraiha became a heated affair when the lawyer leading the government's team, Tan Hock Chuan, objected to Gobind using the word "pushed", arguing that he was already making conclusions when it was yet to be determined what caused Teoh's death."

I agree with Mr Tan.
Teoh wasn't pushed.
But rather he was held by his belt outside the window by several burly men.
His cheap worn out belt broke and that caused him to fall to his death.

Verdict ?
Cheap fake belt is the cause of his fall.
1 Malaysia boleh!
written by Enforcer, August 07, 2009 00:34:25
It's so bloody obvious that the police are trying to cover up things by giving instructions to all concern on what SHOULD and SHOULD NOT be done in their course of work!
Bro Gobind, the invertigators have given you the answer. They have been instructed to only do certain things. This is clearly against the law to pre-determine certain actions!
written by BUTEK, August 07, 2009 01:27:17
NO NEED FOR ADRENALINE TEST MAA... ITU CINA SULAH MATI, KASI PEGI MATI LAA... DIA SULAH BUNUH DIRI... ORANG CINA MEMANG ITU MACAM, KALO TAKUT KE, HUTANG ALONG, PUTUS CINTA KE... DIORANG MESTI MAU BUNUH DIRI PUNYER.... HA!HA!

MCM YG PEGAWAI SPR KATA... CINA BODOH... BAHAS MELAYU PUN TALAK PAHAM... MCM LANC*U...
written by emcube, August 07, 2009 04:51:35

BUTEK, you are one hell of a racist. Grow up. We want to build a nation here,.. in the age of globalisation, we need to be together in solidarity. Not be divided.

written by born2reign, August 07, 2009 11:55:34
This DNA testing is like a student getting a UiTM degree but cannot read, write, count or analyse. Total waste of time and resources. At least the UiTM graduate can still be a domestic maid in Singapore or Phillipines one day.