Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Guan Eng says JIM not extremist, advises Jeff to retract

Guan Eng says JIM not extremist, advises Jeff to retract PDF Print
Thursday, 06 August 2009 15:54

(Suara Keadilan) - Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng said he does not consider the Jemaah Islah Malaysia as an extremist outfit, encouraging his chief of staff Jeff Ooi to retract recent comments allegedly made against the group.

According to news reports Jeff – the Jelutong MP -  had asked for the resignation of PKR’s Mohd Razali Abdullah from the Penang Municipal Council because of his association with the JIM.

The JIM is an Islamic missionary organisation.

His comments outraged the Penang Muslim community, with 27 non-governmental organisations submitting a joint memorandum to demand an apology and Jeff’s resignation on Wednesday.

This was followed by a similar memorandum from the Penang PKR Youth.

Comments (32)Add Comment
written by Wisdom above, August 06, 2009 16:07:08
REMEMBER always consult & discuss with your MUSLIM brothers if in DOUBT.
SLOW to talk is considered MATURITY !
Be HUMBLE & just apologise .
JUST say SO SORRY & A THOUSAND Apologies !
Next time ,Say only what are positive and constructive.
Saya Anak Bangsa Malaysia.
written by Jan, August 06, 2009 16:11:03
Whenever non muslims see anything connected to Jemaah Islamiyah automatically we connect bombs and terrorists to it and I suppose Ooi is no exception. Of course we now know we are wrong but I hope those connected to such organisations will come out to educate us about yourselves and we will try to learn more about your goodselves.
written by Braino, August 06, 2009 16:12:18
PR should learn to resolve matter in a democratic and courteous manner and avoid public outcry that can tarnish the reputation and trust in the PR led government. The ultimate aim is to stay united and focus on the coalition's vision to be the next Federal government. PR partners needs to learn to settle differences in a mature and cautious manner as not to cause uneasiness to other PR partners. All differences must be settle internally and in the spirit of the general good of the coalition and the future of Malaysia.

Each party should allow their respective leader to settle sensitive issues. My proposal would be the secretary general of each party to sit down and trash out areas of concern and effective measures to ensure a more cohesive and united front.

Pakatan Rakyat interest must be above all individual party interest.
written by Badaksumbu, August 06, 2009 16:14:05
Talk & argue in moderation! why creating problem?--YBs or not YBs nothing is parmenant, all what you people got are borrowed some for longer time some shorter ones

written by Bigjoe99, August 06, 2009 16:20:08
Hmm Either jeff or LGE is goofing on this...Better be Jeff that screw up...Just apologise and take your lump and fight another day...
written by Ghifarix, August 06, 2009 16:31:30

Jeff Ooi,consider the Jemaah Islah Malaysia as an extremist outfit. Wow! You have Hassan Ali behaving intoxicated and Jeff Ooi acting extreme.
Musk UMNO la!
Racism in Malaysia indeed runs in the veins not even the reformers are spared of this nasty devise. Yes DEVISE; and we can't help it except we find new blood. They use all sorts of paraphernalia to effect their dislikes and non is spared from this racist mentality inculcated for so long. This nation is reek with haters and they hail from every corner. The time have come where the Rakyat show less tolerance for these haters whilst we respect each other space.
written by babakl, August 06, 2009 16:51:10
Heh Jeff, this time you are wrong. Do not be like the umno guy who made reporton malaysiakini thinking malaysiakini or any other sounds like that is the same. Check the facts first then take the right action. Go apologise and carry on your work.
written by vox populi, August 06, 2009 17:17:09
Jeff,
Apologise now. What are you waiting for?
It takes a great man to admit he is wrong and apologise. The sooner the better.

written by sampalee, August 06, 2009 17:26:31
LGE,you have grown up and is now a leader of the nation and not just Dap.Our pm should take lesson from you.
written by Kampong, August 06, 2009 17:58:42
Jeff, do what Obama did, invite them and talk things over with some beer. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif

Oops, I think I just insulted some religious type. My bad.
written by DCCH, August 06, 2009 18:10:13
Jeff Ooi is not anti-malay. I have seen him speaks in public many times. In fact he speaks very fluent malay and goes out of his way to understand the Malays. I am willing to pardon him and vote for him again. Jeff, apologise and carry on your work.
written by Catharsis, August 06, 2009 18:53:24
AM I RIGHT TO SUGGEST THIS- Looks like there is trend here- PKR lawmakers seem to talk and make decisions without the proper research, restraint and the due balanced thought processes..................
written by Rock, August 06, 2009 19:18:44
Just too bad we have an islamphobia idiot and islam basher becomes an MP. I bet,he does not need JIM members votes him anymore. If these bodoh sombong becomes one of federal government MP he would send every JIM and equivalent to `Guatanamo'. Bloody senseless chauvinist pig! Learn something good from MCA and Gerakan MPs who knew how to 'jaga' kawan-kawan feelings. Baru satu kali jadi MP sudah kurang ajar.
written by Rock, August 06, 2009 19:20:34
Anyway i still vote for PR minus him
written by Catharsis, August 06, 2009 19:25:03
If we take out that FOOT OF HIS FROM HIS MOUTH- point him to some research materials and enrol him is some CRITICAL THINKING COURSEs Jeff will be thinking and acting more balanced in future- DO YOU AGREE?
written by lampard, August 06, 2009 20:43:10
First it was May 13, 1969. Then came the son claiming to bath his Keris with Chinese blood, then the Hisamsomething kiss his keris and then...Now Jeff Ooi join the fray!

Guys, while UMNO scream racist remarks, how come I don't see Malays calling him a racist pig, babi jahanam? And I wonder why Jeff is put in such limelight! WTF!
written by parsona, August 06, 2009 21:04:39
LGE went to prison defending a Malay girl. If you can call him a racist, you're the biggest idiot in Malaysia. Please name me any Malay politician who went to jail to defend a non-malay.
written by zza11, August 06, 2009 21:47:01
To those who knew the various muslim organisation in Malaysia hearing this guy calling JIM an extremist organisation is a real joke. It clearly shows that this guy is a complete idoit on the subject. It is like calling pussycat a fierce little tiger. (Just an anology I don't mean JIM is a pussycat)
written by Daryl, August 06, 2009 22:22:41
Jeff
Please reach out to them and make peace. Harsh words do not solve problems. We need PR and do away with dumb politicians. PR is under the bright light so please please please give rakyat Malaysia a hope for the next PRU.
written by alpha100, August 06, 2009 22:51:03
To be able to say "sorry" when one is wrong is a sign of maturity.
written by Logger123, August 07, 2009 00:10:16
This is a big error of judgement by Jeff Ooi. He shoots his mouth without first checking his facts.

And secondly, does the demand for an apology from the Muslims sound as arrogant as the demand for an apology from PKR by LGE over the MPSP issue? Will Jeff apologise as did PKR?

Grow up PR. You have to be bigger than BN.
written by Logger123, August 07, 2009 00:19:03
The comment by Jan is that of an unthinking person. To equate the word "Jemaah Islamiyah" to terrorism. What were you thinking of?

In that same vein, would you fault muslims for saying that pork eaters are dirty people, seeing that pigs are dirty in the teachings of muslims?

Or people with AL in their names to be potential terrorists too? smilies/shocked.gif
written by ajip, August 07, 2009 01:06:17
ini jeff cinapek cum cinakui patut dicampak dalam tong sampah
written by honeylemon, August 07, 2009 02:20:40
Ini Jeff Ooi is a complete idiot racist.

Apologize pun tak mau. Retraction of statement pun tak sincere.

Tapi dia punya gang of the Defenders of Arak & Pig (DAP) senang-senang saja mintak orang apologize la.. resign laa..

Now, take back your shit.
written by honeylemon, August 07, 2009 02:44:03
Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA) provides technical cooperation and other forms of aid promoting economic and social development in developing countries ...http://www.jica.go.jp/english/ JICA has nothing to do with JI.

Malaysian JICA website http://jica.org.my/ (nothing to do with JI also)

JI also stands for Journal of Immunology http://www.jimmunol.org/ , also have NOTHING to do with indonesian-JI.

Jeff Ooi, now you clear ahh ? I advice that you should mix more with people of other races. Dont just stick with your dim-sum gang. (Some JIM guys were busy taking all the troubles marching against ISA in KL while you and gangs in Penang and Subang were busy tucking dim-sum into your big mouth)

Aiiyyaa Jeff aa.. I understand aah you cannot suck your own cock. But dont suck your own foot aa.. Ciaa lat...
written by maisur, August 07, 2009 07:43:12
what a lame excuse. you went to the jail once for defending a malay girl (politically motivated???) and you are considered a non-racist regardless of your current racist acts?

PIG kedah? kg buah pala? darshan singh khaira? man having four wives?

think again
written by mikewang, August 07, 2009 09:31:33
Jeff,

There is a big difference between apologising and retracting the statement.
Have you forgotten how to apologise?

When you've wronged others, say "sorry."
You don't just retract the statement.