Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Hassan’s beef with beer: Time for Pakatan to crack the whip

Hassan’s beef with beer: Time for Pakatan to crack the whip PDF Print
Thursday, 06 August 2009 14:36

The suspicion that Hassan was trying to upstage his own party mates – including Shah Alam MP Khalid Samad – cannot be denied. In fact, it is quite widespread.

By Wong Choon Mei, Suara Keadilan

Given the uproar over Hassan Ali’s call to his Selangor exco colleague Ronnie Liu to be stripped of his local government portfolio, perhaps it is time for the top Pakatan Rakyat leadership, especially PAS, to speak up on the matter and even issue a reprimand as a deterrent if found to be necessary.

There is already growing frustration that the Pakatan Rakyat will always be held back from achieving its true potential – not because of ideological differences but because of  the gaps between the leaders in terms of their adoption and understanding of the type of new politics needed to transform Malaysia after 52 years of Umno-BN rule.

All three partners want and should insist on keeping promises made to their respective constituents. But at the same time, they must also remember they promised voters to do so in a totally different style from Umno-BN.

The Pakatan has promised it will not play the racial card, it has promised equality to all ethnic groups. However, this can only be achieved if they don’t use the religious card – as Hassan has tried to do.

A month or so ago, PKR vice-president Azmin Ali also incurred controversy for the coalition when he criticised certain exco members. But the basis for his argument was on their performance at work, WITHOUT religious or racial overtones.

Subsequently, an independent poll commissioned by Menteri Besar Khalid Ibrahim found an impressive 64 percent approval rating for his administration, and the well-respected Azmin has had the grace to stop his attacks.

What is Hassan’s intention?

But within PAS, there is growing unhappiness with Hassan, the party’s state commissioner who kicked up a ruckus on Tuesday, calling for a ban on beer sales in Shah Alam. Sadly, he didn’t stop there but went on to attack Ronnie.

The suspicion that Hassan was trying to upstage his own party mates – including Shah Alam MP Khalid Samad – cannot be denied. In fact, it is quite widespread.

Khalid Samad has already denounced Hassan’s actions, stressing that he did not have the approval of the state liaison committee to make statements with such far-reaching consequences.

So why did Hassan do what he did? Was he just protecting the Islam religion – which bans alcohol? But this is a culture that PAS has always been trying to promote, what new resolve could Hassan add to the party’s cause by his maverick and unpleasant conduct?

Did Hassan harbour any ulterior motive? Was he trying to please Umno as many, many observers suspect? Indeed, what was Hassan’s intention, what was he thinking of?

These questions are very important and Pakatan leaders should not accept tepid excuses from him. Hassan is an experienced politician, who knows full well there are many other avenues for him to air his grievances including at state exco meetings. Why did he not opt to do so?

As state commissioner for his party, Hassan has reportedly coveted the Menteri Besar post. He was among the prime movers looking to match PAS with Umno in the aftermath of the March 2008 general election.

But party president Hadi Awang has already stated very clearly, PAS will remain in Pakatan. This is something that Hadi now needs to make sure that all other PAS members, especially those like Hassan, fully understand.

Otherwise, it will set the Pakatan back in the esteem of voters.

It will also set back Menteri Besar Khalid Ibrahim’s state government, which has finally found its footing. Praises are starting to ring in. This result must be protected by the top Pakatan leadership, the performance must be nurtured to ensure excellence is achieved.

2013 is less than three years away. Prime Minister Najib Razak is likely to call for a general election much earlier than that.

Perhaps it is time to remove the kid gloves and start cracking the whip. Sadly, there are no two ways about it – either you are with the Pakatan or you are not. And this extends to ALL members – regardless of individual affiliation to PKR, PAS or DAP.

Only then, watchers say, can the Pakatan truly forge ahead!

Comments (30)Add Comment
written by DreamLady, August 06, 2009 14:54:09
Hassan Ali, you are not sincere as far as I have been informed by reliable sources in Shah Alam. Since a year ago, you have been working very hard to worm your way into the trojan horse from UMNO to deceive, and to topple PR state of Selangor by means of suble infiltration through civil servants who are still loyal to UMNO regime.

You can deny, you can swear, but everybody in Selangor knows your intention: You want to take over the reign from Tan Sri Khalid. Hassan, your appetite is enormously gigantic!!!

Harapkan pagar, pagar makan padi, SHAM ON YOU, Hassan!!!
agree 170
written by AuntyG, August 06, 2009 14:55:44
PR has too many loose cannons, and mavericks, and weak team players. At least BeEnd understands teamwork and never hantam each other in public. If PR refuse to learn teamwork from BeEnd, at least learn from ManchesterUnited lah .... Duh!!
written by chin, August 06, 2009 15:06:01
ACTUALLY , PKR should do something about this Zulkfli Nordin guy.

If PKR is serious about keeping the Pakatan Rakyat pact safe, this guy should go even if it does means losing a seat. Chalk it up to poor judgment, a lesson for the next GE.

As for PAS, it has an identity problem.
written by chin, August 06, 2009 15:08:13
ACTUALLY, Pakatan should sack all individuals regardless of race if they practice race politics.

Action speaks louder than words.
written by rocky, August 06, 2009 15:14:17
hassan should explain his stand on the waste management that was proposed at 40/30/30. did he support or push for it or against it. Let your voice be heard on that as well Hassan.
written by Jan, August 06, 2009 15:16:06
This Hasan Ali simply has no idea how much goodwill PAS has lost among the non muslims towards PAS. Sometimes I wonder if he's working covertly for BN. He, Zul Nordin and Ibrahim Ali should not be allowed to stand for the next election, at least not under PAS or PKR.
written by JJays, August 06, 2009 15:21:12
One question for Hassan 3 Suku.

He want to beer to be banned in majority muslim area. Fine. We agree.
How you as 3 Suku want or can control muslim teenages buying CONDOM from 7-11 outlet's.

Can you suggest that, any muslim wanted to bye CONDOM must show Surat Nikah? Because for muslim it's Zina. Serious offence.

You better explain this serious offence first, before talking about Beer.
I have seen so many many times in 7-11 outlet's, the muslim teenages buying CONDOM.

I have every reason to call you Hassan 3 Suku.
written by Bigjoe99, August 06, 2009 15:28:29
By all means crack the whip BUT with reason. Make Hassan prove that banning alcohol is Islamic law and not just a broad paint brush that its Islamic.. He is talking law not public spiritness...
written by IbnAbdHalim, August 06, 2009 15:30:50
Has he become a thorn in the flesh for PAS? Well. PAS must act swift for GE 13 isn't far away. And PR must do something if not it will drift away come next GE.
written by Wisdom above, August 06, 2009 15:44:31
Did Hassan harbour any ulterior motive?
Was he trying to please Umno as many, many observers suspect?
This GUY is a negative Leader & he never give POSITIVE SOLUTIONS at all ?
Almost everything he suggested were negative & confrontational ?
He should give way to other Positive thining PAS Leaders to lead PAS Selangor .
Saya Anak Bangsa Malaysia.
written by mob1900, August 06, 2009 15:56:05
The infiltration of Barisan Najis 'sleeper agents' in PR has begun. These agents should be weeded out and left to rot if PR are to weather this or soon Hassan Ali will determine what colour of underwear we should be wearing each day!
written by Ghifarix, August 06, 2009 15:57:29
Hassan, why continue to such a pain in the Arse? You can never be a good Muslim let alone good example if you continue to be this mischievous. Your beef isn't with alcohol it is with the fact that you feel you should be the MB. You have no idea what team spirit or unity is all about- its just about you Doctor Hassan Ali. Why not contain your nafs and allow the peoples gomen to govern. Indeed,it can't please everyone but for a supposedly educated elected official as yourself one would expect your reasoning and tact. I was once a great respecter of you, now I am doubtful. You seem willing to jeopardize a good thing. Why are you holding the Selangor Administration at ransom at a time when it have on its heels an adversary who will kill to return at the helm. Have you not scrutinized the reasons behind Teo's death or is it that, it probably matters not to you. We will reject you as there are much intelligent candidates PAS have to offer.
written by A MI, August 06, 2009 15:59:55
1) Even countries l;ike Iran and Pakistan have problems with people promoting ideologies akin to Hassan's. Malaysia is a muti-ethinic country!

I have a question? Hassan do you respect the sensitivities of Malaysians belonging to other faiths? Ever heard of ...‘Do unto your neighbour as you would have them do unto you?’ Guess not. It is always ME ME ME with people like you.

I am convinced this "beer sensation" is part of Najis's dirty Plan B to break-up Selangor state goverment just like the stunt he pulled in Perak. I am just curious what was used to entice Hassan or does he too have skeletons in his closet just like the frogs in Perak?
written by Bloodhound, August 06, 2009 17:45:21
Another potential Trojan horse that needs to be shadowed and monitored closely in order to prevent any unpleasant surprises arising!

When ego overstretches loyalty, there's only one outcome to look forward to. Be prepared to nib the rot in the bud because there can be no turning back once the horse has bolted.....as in the case of Perak!
written by Richard Lo, August 06, 2009 17:58:09
Totally agree. If component parties cannot even agree amongst themselves in running the 4 states, how can the voters trust PR in governing the country. Component parties of PR need to pull up their socks and pull it up fast! Rules for PR to observe now:

1. Use your brains to government not emotion
2. Leave race and religion out of policy matters
3. Be transparent and come clean
4. Serve the people and not yourselves
5. Have respect for the law and people will respect you. Don't be like UMNO/BN.
written by thirdeye, August 06, 2009 18:01:57
What is there to prevent Muslims from coming to non Muslim majority areas to buy beer or equivalent? Hassan looking for VERY CHEAP publicity or is he ..... a BeEnd agent??? If Muslims are sincere of this matter then educate their children and explain why alcohol is prohibited. NOT banning it.

There are many Buddist and Hindus who dont eat beef. Nobody to stop them BUT still they dont consume the meat. Why? Education.

Banning dont work. It never does. It only brings it underground!!!
written by Admiral Tojo, August 06, 2009 18:13:10
Perhaps a Halal Hub and a Haram Hub. Then again this will not solve any problem as the Haram Hub will attract UMNO fellas.

written by Aria, August 06, 2009 18:29:33
Time to weed out the miss fits of PKR. PKR must get its act together at least 18 months before the general elections or else BN will not let the rakyat muda lupa.
Anwar being the party leader must take the bull by the horns now.
written by Siregar, August 06, 2009 18:31:36
Aiyah! Mat Hassan mau jadi MB lah. Minta Mat Hassan masuk UMNO saja. Selesai masalah.
written by my2cents, August 06, 2009 19:12:26
Hassan. Take your personal agendas and shaft it up you ass. I don't minced my words. I mean it. Your call for a beer ban in muslim majority areas is hereby REJECTED!
written by Vasily, August 06, 2009 20:37:45
Hassan, you cabron, you think you're so holy...ok fine you die and go to heaven, fine. Fcuk the 'bidadari' all nightlog fromdust till down....eat..fcuk..shit!!...but for me definitely go to hell...but just think like this, before I go to Hell, please don't fcuk-up my dream to get better Malaysia....!!!
written by KotaDamansara73, August 06, 2009 20:48:51
Please dont' blame Hassan for stupidity. Because he is born with his brain located at his ass. A stupid fellow.
written by lampard, August 06, 2009 20:49:02
WTF,
Go ban beer la, then go on to ban Genting Casino, kick Carlsberg, Anchor, and all out of the country you hypocrite pricks! Deputy Chairman of Genting, Tun Hanif Omar, Carlsberg brewery, 35% mulim malay staff.. so what's the difference working in a pig abbatoir? suck this dumb sses! Cakap tak serupa bikin!
written by pakasia, August 06, 2009 22:57:05
"Don't teach old dog new tricks."

Hassan wants to have a stake in the sin profit like what UMNO loves to do.

Really want to cut off the sin business??? haha.... Not in the next 1000 years.

If all closed, the underworld will grow and the govt revenue drop like hell.

Hassan is smart, call the ban and 'let's talk business', meanwhile he looks holy.
written by Mirage, August 06, 2009 22:58:11
He is a UMNO Trooper...........
written by Mirage, August 06, 2009 22:59:07
and a racist..
written by Sendirimahuingat, August 06, 2009 23:21:11
Hassan is well know by all selangor people as trojan horse. Zul Nordin one more idot he forget how hwn can win. no wonder BN drop the election petision againts him
written by jchew, August 06, 2009 23:31:14
Banned this and that does not help! If a muslim does not want to drink, he or she will not drink no mattr what. However if a muslim wants to drink, no matter what he or she will not how and where to get the drinks.
Do not be a hypocrite - to those who want to ban this and that, the minute you are out of Malaysia; you are the first one and the strip clubs with alchololic drinks in your orange juce! So do not be a hypocrite!
written by jchew, August 06, 2009 23:32:25
type - not how = Know how
written by Enforcer, August 07, 2009 01:11:38
To the HEADS of team PR! Hear the RAKYAT well and clear!
PUT A STOP GAG ORDER TO ALL MEMBERS of PR to never mention RACE OR RELIGION ever again IN or OUT from duty!
Those who disobey should be dispel from the coalition with no regards to rank!
Here we are working hard and spreading the word and action for CHANGE come GE13 and there these blokes are showing disunity!
HEAR US RAKYAT, ONCE AND FOR ALL,," WE ARE ALL MALAYSIANS IRRESPECTIVE OF RACE OR RELIGION" GET IT!!!