Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Malaysia mulls internet filter

Malaysia mulls internet filter PDF Print
Thursday, 06 August 2009 14:33

(Reuters) - MALAYSIA is considering the establishment of an Internet filter, similar to China's abandoned 'Green Dam' project, a source familiar with the process told Reuters on Thursday.

News of the proposal emerged within days of police arresting nearly 600 opposition supporters at a weekend rally denouncing a government that has ruled this Southeast Asian country for 51 years.

A vibrant Internet culture has contributed to political challenges facing the government, which tightly controls mainstream media and has used sedition laws and imprisonment without trial to prosecute a blogger.

'They (the government) are looking to tweak the technical and legal details of implementing this Internet filter, setting the stage for its implementation late this year or next year,' said the source, who declined to be identified.

No one from the government was available for comment.

Malaysia plans to double home Internet penetration to 50 per cent by the end of next year with a new broadband project.

New Information, Communication and Culture Minister Rais Yatim, whose ministry issued the tender, also plans to secure control over the content and monitoring division of Malaysia's Internet regulator, a second source said.

'The minister wants to focus more on enforcement in the coming year,' the source said.

Malaysia, with a population of 27 million, attracted foreign technology companies such as Microsoft Corp and Cisco Systems to invest and guaranteed that the government would not impose controls on the Internet.

Ms Rais said last month that wider broadband access required more regulation.

'With the good comes the bad through the broadband over the Internet,' he said. 'We will introduce certain measures to overcome the bad.'

written by Ken Liew, August 06, 2009 14:36:26
OK.. a democracy country country is applying a filter... sounds more like Republic now.

Might as well clame us as republic then.. then we can learn the China government way...

On the other hand.. Learn from China of DEATH punishment once caught of corruption.
written by rocky, August 06, 2009 14:56:57
fools. they tried to join the internet bandwagon but they couldn't fight back with facts as they are so used to spinning and controlling the information. Now they want to block. go ahead la but the truth will prevail. this action just shows the govt is scared of the truth and have lots to hide

UMNO/BN is desperate and and unable to face the truth. what kind of Muslims are these in UMNO who dare not face the truth.
written by densemy, August 06, 2009 15:21:51
More Bans... and i'll give you the same answer. Try educating ignorant gullible people about the dangers of such scams

In Malaysia greed dominates and commonsense goes out the window. Its no wonder Malaysians are so gullible when it comes to get rich scams

But of course its more important to concentrate education on more esoteric topics instead of real life day-to-day issues that are important to everyone
written by Sinewy, August 06, 2009 15:22:14
Rais yatim, don't use my taxes to do your dirty job in suppressing my human right, liberty and freedom...damn you. Use the taxes to serve the needs of the rakyat and not your follies in enriching your cronies and suppressing dissents and opposing views about your UMNO/BN government...Rais yatim, I used to have some respect for you that you will be a fair minded and logical politician but now you have proven to be just another racist warlords in UMNO fighting for political survival with racist stands and dubious act like internet filtering..what the heck you are worst than communist china..
written by gorshan, August 06, 2009 15:51:15
lebih besar buka mulut, lebih bodoh nampak.

their only agenda will be to filter out the truth, no more no less. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by uxzee, August 06, 2009 15:59:49
This government is desperate and will do anything to protect UMNO and BN.
written by A MI, August 06, 2009 16:05:49
What people say about a PhD as permanenet head damage applies to Mr Beras here. Or did his mother drop him on his head?

Wonderful idea you bozo we can create another Iran or Afghanistan in SE Asia
written by arazak, August 06, 2009 16:09:14
Rais said; 'We will introduce certain measures to overcome the bad.'
---------------------------------------------

Yeah right. . .! The rakyaat is also doing certain measure to overcome the bad UMNO/BN regime government. We will kick them out in the next GE!
written by shissun, August 06, 2009 17:47:31
This Rais Swine Flue really not using his brain when talking. Banning internet will make Intel & others big companies transfer their operations (manufacturing and service hubs) to our neighbors. If that happens, we all can cari kerja at UEM and Utusan Malaysia only.
written by varvoom, August 06, 2009 17:55:24
no worries..we use proxy servers to get round it...hehe
written by Kampong, August 06, 2009 18:00:57
While, at least the Chinese are very tech savvy. The morons over here can't find their own balls in cyberspace. Witness the jokers during the Althatuya trial.
written by johntyc, August 06, 2009 18:13:51
Looks like our UmnoBN government is they're adopting every bad qualities from dictatorship, authoritarian, communism, nazism, fascism, far right and many more. (I self censored my typings)

GOOD! They fall faster this way.
written by C360, August 06, 2009 20:02:22
BRING IT ON !

And we, the rakyat will show you why the "Green Dam" failed.

AND PLEASE DONT USE WASTE PUBLIC FUNDS ON A KNOWN FAILURE !
written by 80srocker, August 06, 2009 20:32:12
Oh, after the GE, they said, we're going to allow freedom of voice. Yeah, yeah, another flip-flop. Everything has to be of advantage to them otherwise it's ban this and that. Sure, ban lah. See what we'll do to you. Only know how to follow examples of dictators: Hitler, Stalin, Mussolini, etc.

And to paraphrase Semi Value earlier, isn't this going to chase away investors? In Hokkien we say, "Chui kong, lampa song" (mouth talk, balls syok).

FIGHT THE POWER!
written by lynn, August 06, 2009 22:22:26
The corrupt govt is tightening the noose around our necks - it is trying to curtail our access to the truth & to our freedom of choice.

Yeh, vote bn, okay? Why don't most of these bn voters go and do a mass suicide? Instead of a mass demonstration?
written by mikewang, August 06, 2009 23:41:27
Don't waste your time, Rais.
I've tunneled through the great wall of China easily with a simple anonymous proxy server readily found with ****** search.

Internet is not built to be censored.
Not in China and certainly not in Malaysia.
written by aeromaverick, August 07, 2009 00:04:59
Signs of extreme desperation.
written by AlwaysFair, August 07, 2009 00:15:34
Yes when communist countries like China are opening up we are going backwards to be like them. Maybe because you got so much "DIRT" to cover-up? If not why worry about the internet? Sorry-la your censorship will not be successful because the truth always prevail.
written by bumiku, August 07, 2009 00:22:39
BUT they have already started...

everyone try accessing this site:
http://www.gutteruncensored.com/

you would notice it cannot be access..

now, try with an internet proxy and see the result..
(eg. http://www.hidemyass.com/)

Amazing, isn't it?... yes, the internet censorship HAS started.. weather you like it or not!!
written by ROBERTNGTG, August 07, 2009 09:03:59
'With the good comes the bad through the broadband over the Internet,' he said. 'We will introduce certain measures to overcome the bad.'

ANAK YATIM, BUT YOU BLOKES ARE THE WORST AND UGLIEST. SO, FIRST PRIORITY IS TO SHUT DOWN MT???