Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Hisham: Video tarnishing police image

Hisham: Video tarnishing police image PDF Print
Thursday, 06 August 2009 14:28

(The Star) - The Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission (SKMM) has been asked to act decisively against those involved in uploading a video clip on the Internet which purportedly shows the police assaulting a detainee.

Home Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Tun Hussein said stern action must be taken against those responsible to serve as a lesson to others.

“I view the uploading of this slanderous and malicious video clip very seriously as it has tarnished the credibility and image of the police.

“This is a very irresponsible act perpetrated by unscrupulous people whose only concern is their own self-interest. They have no care about the effect of their action on society at large,” he said in a statement yesterday.

He lamented that the use of cyberspace to spread malicious lies and slander in the country was fast getting out of hand.

“It shows how low their morals and mentality are. They use websites as platforms to spread lies and tarnish the image of those they dislike,” Hishammuddin said while reminding the people not to be easily misled by lies and slander on the Internet.

He also hit out at the Opposition for being silent on the matter, saying that it should come forward to correct the situation.

“By remaining silent, it is as if the Opposition is condoning the actions of these bloggers. It never comes forward to tell these people that their actions are wrong.

“It is clear that it is not fighting to uphold the truth. It is also not trying to channel accurate information to society. Instead, many of the issues and problems faced by the people are manipulated for personal interest,” he said.

Comments (37)Add Comment
written by DreamLady, August 06, 2009 14:42:47
Hisham, how do you explain to the public Kugan was murdered in the police lock-up by the 11 police suspects who have yet to be reprimanded??? Are you going to tell us that Kugan's episode is another make-belief story cooked up by the opposition???

Hisham, if your father is still alive, he would have disowned you for being such a heartless, inconsiderate, insensitive, self-centre devil in disguise!!!!
agree 145
written by Cinakelate, August 06, 2009 14:44:42
Woi Krismudin, when is the PDRM got squiky clean image? Infact the image is getting worst by the day. When did the police got the right to "bantai" the suspect? You expect DSAI to come and defend the police when he had a 1st hand experience with the police? With IGP somemore? Now you want to blame people for the police brutality. Remember LGE was jail when a girl was rape? Now that you are the home minister, do something to clean the image. Start with the IGP. Or else you go home.
agree 114
written by NSTPravda, August 06, 2009 14:45:43
The Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission (SKMM) has been asked to act decisively against those involved in uploading a video clip on the Internet which purportedly shows the police assaulting a detainee.

Yeah! too much publicity of polis brutality might scar our precious but rather stupid tourists!

Rasuah sayang eh!
Semua-nya OK!
smilies/smiley.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by Delima25, August 06, 2009 14:53:39
Home Minister,
While you are condemning the people who post what you perceive to be lies on the Internet, have you condemned all those government linked newspapers which practises selected censorship when it comes to printing. All the little bits of errors of the Opposition parties are magnified while big mind-blowing news of murder by C4, deletion of entry records by Immigration , disappearance of witnesses, obvious robbery of the peoples' money by UMNO theives seem not to be worth a mention. What have you got to say?

Also I notices these irresponsible people posted pictures of you with a beer in your hand, pictures of your Boss's son with girls in both arms etc. Please sue them so that you can clear your name. Or are you such a kind and understanding Muslim who forgives those who has wronged you . Or else are you keeping quite and hoping that it will go away after some time.

Please do Malaysian a favour by lifting your Keris one more time. However this time use it to cut off your tongue so that you can no longer utter lies and spew hatred at other races.
written by rocky, August 06, 2009 14:55:10
those who have seen this video and think this is police or MACC, please check your eyes and ears. Clearly it is a bunch of security guy and no way that guy is Toeh beng Hock. It looks like an indonesian guy and the issue sounds like he tried to disturb someone's wife.

off course this is good excuse for all to blame the internet. police should investigate and bring to book those who whacked the guy and they are the ones who caused damage to the police reputation.

Kerismuddin - what about Kugan. can you investigate that and show as much anger as in this case. let me remind you that in Kugan case, one life was lost!!!
written by IbnAbdHalim, August 06, 2009 15:19:00
Hey! Kerismuddin I suggest that you go back to school and learn your ABC again. I seems that you didn't do well in your previous lessons in school. Suppose the public will think you're a moron of some sort.

If uploading the video clip is considered irresponsible, what about the police actions? Do we condone such brutality by the police? What if you are the subject in this matter? Will you praise the police for such acts?

Do you consider uploading the clips exposing the brutality of the men in uniform as spreading malicious lies and slander in the country? Where exactly is your gray matter? Is it in your skull or somewhere else?
written by chin, August 06, 2009 15:20:42
How about disciplining the cops in the video instead. Like fire them? You know?

It will be a pleasant surprise if the Home Minister actually did something about Home. Like making public servant accountable for their actions, duh... like breaking the law or incompetence or making questionable decisions that result in the government losing a LOT OF REVENUE or racist practice.

Hey we paid their salaries, can't we expect some sort of minimum standard?

written by Jan, August 06, 2009 15:20:47
This video probably tarnished the image of the police but their reputation is already in tatters the way they behaved. Their reputation will get even worse if the current head is allowed to stay on.
written by chin, August 06, 2009 15:26:37
I hope this idiot NEVER get to be PM!

Burrrrrr.....
written by arazak, August 06, 2009 15:28:42
I read what he said as this;
“It shows how low their morals and mentality are. They use RTM, TV3, Utusan Malaysia, Berita Harian and the Star as platforms to spread lies and tarnish the image of those they dislike,” Hisaputin said while reminding the people not to be easily misled by lies and slander on the mainstream media.

Anyway Hisaputin,

The police image had been tarnished even before the uploading of the video clip on the youtube. . .! Do your homework and ask the people in the streets to find out how lowly the public regarded the police and MACC, please!

The Jalan Alor prostitutes have more respect from the people!

And please don’t blame others if the people do not respect you and your tarnished apparatus! They did their own "self-inflicted" damage much too often. . .!
written by pinsysu, August 06, 2009 15:34:13
juz kick the BN gomen out !!!
written by Aizad 234, August 06, 2009 15:44:45
Yes, for sure they used websites as platforms. where else? Utusan? duh.... smilies/cheesy.gif
written by orangbukit, August 06, 2009 15:45:02
Typical reaction from our dim-wit minister.

He should have asked the police to investigate the content of the video and bring those righteous "heroes" to book. That way, he clears the police and get the guilty ones.

Instead, he tell MCMC to investigate the whistle-blower.

Really dumb. Then again, his reaction is so predictable....
written by lamakawan, August 06, 2009 15:46:51
Home minister says video tarnish police image. He accuses opposition for being silent!!
What do you want opposition to do, kerismuddin? Manhandle the culprit as you do with Teoh, and if possible dump the culprit in a rubbish bin?
You are the government and you cannot get rid of this menace of people tarnishing image of police! What are you good for in government? You want the opposition to arrest the culprit? Then you use the isa to arrest the opposition?
It is solely your responsibility to maintain law and order in the country. If you cannot maintain peace, then please do not blame it on opposition for not siding with you!!
written by ez24get, August 06, 2009 16:01:00
Hisham,
If you are a human being do you condone the acts of those bullies in the video? Never mind they are not the police or MACC but at least you should condemn the senseless inhumane act done by a group of people over another human being. Instead you are sore and angry on the person who uploaded the video clips. Is the video uploading action worst than the inhumane beatings that the poor guy in the video got from his beaters?

Why don't you investigate the actual perpetrators of violence instead of the person who upload the video?
written by mob1900, August 06, 2009 16:02:07
written by Aduh, August 06, 2009 16:13:24
Better to shut up. The more you open your literally big mouth, the more the rakyat disbelieves and hates you as it glaringly confirms further your 'kata tak serupa bikin'
written by InEffective, August 06, 2009 16:14:56
i feel the HM has much bigger problems to worry about :
- custodial killings and killer-cops running around free to torture, maim, and kill again.
- tens of thousands of legitimate malaysians who have been racially denied their papers and documents
- escalating crimes that you can't even leave your parents or wives and sisters un-escorted in shopping malls etc.

Its strongly recommended that our dysfunctional HM start delivering some verifiable priority results. (chasing internet movies is not a priority)
written by Bigjoe99, August 06, 2009 16:16:55
Hold on a minute. While its clear the video is not Teoh, the more important fact is whether the video is real or not.. It appear real so why firstly shouldn't Hishamuddin do his job first and have the case investigated first BEFORE asking someone else to do their job?
written by Bigjoe99, August 06, 2009 16:25:58
Khalid Ibrahim is really making a name for himself.. Anyone that think they can dislodge him from MB can forget it. He really been showing leadership quality.. Its ALL up to him to decide and he should only do so when he can be made a Cabinet Minister maybe even Finance Minister/DPM...
written by Kathy, August 06, 2009 16:42:44
I thought the Police image had already been tarnished a long time ago? smilies/grin.gif
written by Hakim Joe, August 06, 2009 17:14:11
Video tarnishing police image?
You don't need us to do that cos you guys are perfectly capable of tarnishing your image by yourselves!

written by Taufique, August 06, 2009 18:00:56
I was just about to say the same thing as Hakim Joe above.
Hishamuddin, how thick of a skull do you have? The public's perception of the pigs changed long long ago, and yet you refuse to admit it?
written by Engineer, August 06, 2009 18:07:38
Nothing tarnishes a country's image more than an old man taped having oral sex in a country that forbids and returned successfully in politics unpunished.
written by lakian, August 06, 2009 18:32:53
Whelther it tarnish or not the police suppose to investigate and conclusion should be drawn.Don't just ignore if the video clip is true.Screw you a.s.s. IGP,Hinsham give us an answer.
written by MNor, August 06, 2009 19:11:38
Hishammuddinn we dont need video at all. Police are already noted with their notorious standing. Kita ni meludah ke langit.Whether we like it or not, thats what we/they are.
written by bexe, August 06, 2009 19:13:48
Another leadership breakdown
Decent, intelligent, responsible leadership would be to take the tapes and investigate the crime being perpetrated. Another short-sighted, irresponsible way by shooting the messenger.
written by Semut Jantan, August 06, 2009 19:57:38
Please DO NOT tarnish the GOOD IMAGE of our police force. Porah! They have image, what image? Hey, Home Minister, tidur kah?

PDRM = Pariah Dogs Running Mad!!! That is the image I have of them, and a million others.

written by Semut Jantan, August 06, 2009 20:25:35
If there would be another one, I hope the next person to suffer demise in the hands of PDRM, MACC or any bullshiit of such (illegal) organisations will be a son from a Dato' Seri or Tan Seri or Tun Seri (all laughable titles anyway, shiok sendiri) from UMNO.

Then only would they feel it when their own suffers demise. But not other people's child, husband, husband-to-be, father, uncle, etc.
written by aplus, August 06, 2009 21:51:58
No, it doesn't look like the Police. Most Malaysians have eyes and there's nothing to worry about. So chill out.

Contrary to your way of thinking, we are not all that interested on who uploaded the video, because that's secondary. But more important, on who perpetrated those heineous acts of brutality. Shouldn't the arrest of those "men" has a higher priority than the act of uploading? Nowhere in your comments you mentioning about those "men".

You are so worked up to the extent of missing the whole point, aren't you Mr. Home Minister?
written by Sabahfan, August 06, 2009 21:53:22
kerishangpudting... is really making his father rotate like a turbo charge engine in his grave.... he heh e

hey stupid umno govt, I upload a video about UMNO in the utube almost every day.... what u gonna do about it aaah?
written by AlwaysFair, August 07, 2009 00:25:16
"""I view the uploading of this slanderous and malicious video clip very seriously as it has tarnished the credibility and image of the police."""

You are a totally irresponsible leader because you only care about REPUTATION but not about CRIME. You care so much about the reputation of the police than about the victim who was beaten up?

That shows you have a culture of cover-ups and don't like truths to be exposed. If I were you I would apologise for the police brutish behaviour if it was a real video recording and punish the offenders who beat up the victim, rather than try to proscecute the exposer.

I would take the opportunity to clean up the police and their image rather than become angry. Or maybe you are trying to say everthing under you is perfect and above critism?
If you cannot take some criticisms don't be a leader.
written by AlwaysFair, August 07, 2009 00:29:32
"""Home Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Tun Hussein said stern action must be taken against those responsible to serve as a lesson to others."""

I think what you are doing is unwarranted and you are a very vengeful person. If you cannot take some critism or expose such as this you are definitely not fit to be a leader.

written by Enforcer, August 07, 2009 00:46:31
Hei minister, there's two issues here.
Firstly, has the PRDM any image at all from the very beginning!
Secondly, are you condoning these actions by the PRDM and saying that it's not happening!
Just answer yes or no!
written by est, August 07, 2009 08:53:08
1. The truth will prevail. There is no need to be distressed about people tarnishing your image if you are clean and clear. It is only when you are all tainted or that you are sometime clean and sometimes tainted that you get distressed about attempt to tarnish your image. The fact that you are distressed at a slight push showed that you ain't that clean after all.

2. PDRM should be focussing on doing things right and be independent. If you ain't doing these all these while then you ought to be doing so right from now. If you continue to try to cover your trail by all these unscrupulous means, public opinion of you is not going to get better with time. One thing for sure is that its going to deteriorate further over time. And you can be assured that its going to deteriorate at an accelerated rate by all counts.
written by Highway16, August 07, 2009 09:06:50
I don't think uploading the video should the cause for an investigation.
The investigation should be on the bunch of bullies battering, stepping on a defenseless victim. What a bunch cowards. The identities of the bullies were shown, so why don't the Police get those bullies, instead of trying to find who uploaded the video.
written by Dominic, August 07, 2009 11:16:07
Hisham,its not who posted it that matter. Its the content that matter ! Are you saying after seeing those clips right infront of your `2 2` eyes,you still couldnt see the seriousness and urgency to bring those responsible to book ? If that is so, PLEASE PACK AND GO,YOU ARE NOT FIT TO BE THE HOME MINISTRY ! Tend to the kambing and lembu back in the kampung,thats more fitting !