Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow H1N1: Fatalistic Attitude of Government Disappointing ....

H1N1: Fatalistic Attitude of Government Disappointing .... PDF Print
Thursday, 06 August 2009 11:51

By NGS

I refer to the recent press statement by Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yasin who stated that “Even if I am Health Minister, I cannot guarantee your safety” regarding the novel influenza, H1N1. The flu has thus far claimed 13 lives. Although it has a predilection for the infirm, immuno-compromised, in the pregnant and those with underlying diseases, the patients who have died thus far in Malaysia does not reflect this scenario. 

The symptoms of novel H1N1 flu virus are similar to the symptoms of seasonal flu which include fever, cough, sore throat, runny or stuffy nose, body aches, headache, chills and fatigue including diarrhea and vomiting. In seasonal flu, risk factors are similar except that in novel influenza H1N1, patients aged 65 and above appear to be protected. But as evidenced in Malaysia, H1N1 has killed patients in the age range of 6 to 51 years with the majority being less then 30 years old. This “common cold” kills. And it kills the young - meaning healthy young adults who generally take flu less seriously.

The DPM and the Health Ministry has taken this entire disease lightly, just like what they did with dengue. H1N1 had been festering in Mexico for probably months if not years as a result of poor hygienic standards and surveillance before it blew out in the open in April this year causing the country to shut down. By June it had killed 80 people with almost 80% of deaths being in the range of 20 to 50 years with most of the deaths being between ages 20-29 years. By July the death toll stood at 125.

The Mexicans at that point in time could not differentiate how many of these deaths were actually attributed to seasonal flu as compared to the novel H1N1. They really didn’t know what hit them in the beginning. But since then the WHO and CDC (Center for Disease Control, US) have stepped in and issued various guidelines to stop this virus in its tracks. Malaysia has the benefit of hindsight and must use it effectively.

In its latest bulletin, the CDC has clearly outlined the role of early diagnosis clinically and also with the help of Rapid Influenza Diagnostic Tests (RIDT) which have varying degrees of sensitivities but a high degree of specificity. These tests only tell you whether you have Influenza A or B. Period. It has it’s limitations but it helps the frontline doctor, the General Practitioner (GP), thus far largely ignored by the Ministry of Health, to come to a diagnosis as results are available within 30 minutes.  

The CDC has issued a very common sense approach to treating the disease. If the test is positive and the patient’s symptoms don’t improve with usual anti-flu measures and there has been a history of contact and/or is at high risk, antivirals such as Tamiflu and Relenza which kill the bug are prescribed. If there is a need for additional testing then the far more accurate but expensive real-time reverse transcriptase-polymerase chain reaction (rRT-PCR) test for the virus is carried out.  

But what we witness in Malaysia is an MOH policy where victims are to be sent to Government General Hospitals, specifically Sungai Buloh Hospital, based only on clinical suspicion. We would be no better than the Mexicans in April when they too didn’t have a clue as to whether it was seasonal or novel H1N1. Logistically, our government health infrastructure will not be able to handle the thousands of young, worried, flu patients who flock to emergency departments throughout the country wanting to know whether they have H1N1 when clearly testing by the Ministry’s IMR is limited to only 200 cases a day.

There are a lot of patients who are going to have their diagnoses missed who may develop the virus’s dreaded respiratory complications if this is allowed to carry on. The Ministry’s hospitals should be reserved for serious cases. Tan Sri Muhyiddin must re-look the Ministry’s policies and rein in the help of the thousands of GPs or Government Health Clinics to whom many of these patients first flock to. He has to quickly move now to make available at least the RIDTs and antiviral medication to these frontline doctors. Failure to respond effectively is going to cost this nation more deaths than it necessarily should. 

written by MalayMail, August 06, 2009 11:58:41
Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yasin who stated that....
“Even if I am Health Minister, I cannot guarantee your safety”
do you think he can provide the good education system to our children as the Education Minister? Malaysia Boleh!
Is he qualify to be the Education Minister or because he is strong in UMNO?
written by Ocassey, August 06, 2009 12:22:06
"PATIENTS 65 AND ABOVE" appear to be protected from the effects of HINI !! HACK! That means TDM escapes the pesticides that descends from the "heavens" !WHOA! WHOA !.... He cannot protect his younger descendents, descendents'descendents, too!! THERE ARE THINGS ON EARTH THAT REALLY ALL THE ILL-GOTTEN MONEY IN THE WORLD CANNOT BUY !!!
written by justinlian, August 06, 2009 12:28:21
The health ministry has taken too lightly on the flu.
This H1N1 is just another common flu, no doubt about it and can be cure
But if the person has some other sickness, it will kill.
written by Ocassey, August 06, 2009 12:37:34
Check this out, got it from an Ausy SMS....." there is a special strain of virus that is more deadly than the H1N1. It afflicts most married men causing restricted mobility, speech impairement, extreme stress,hinh BP, and uncontrolled fits of rage. there is no cure in sight and may stay with the victim forever.It is known as B1N1 !!!
written by devious17, August 06, 2009 12:38:10
Death relating to H1N1 is being reported on a daily basis and the health ministry is unable to do anything about it except to advertise how to properly clean ones hands!

Take a look at KLGH, its like a congregation of runny noses while being treated by non-commited doctors and nurse wannabes. I actually saw a nurse removing a box of mask from the counter as everyone there is taking taking several as if the nurse paid for it or something.

Till date we have 13 deaths and I am here wondering how many more to go..........
written by righttruthspeaks, August 06, 2009 13:07:09
It is time this useless bn government take some proactive action.

Educate school children to avoid crowded places.

Issue face masks to school children daily.

Teach them hygiene.

Yet I doubt this Babi Najis (BN) will do anthing until it is way late.

Sack that Malaysian Criminal Association "health" minister NOW !!!!
written by asguard, August 06, 2009 14:04:59
They are not willing to do or take more proactive measures or its because malaysia has a lot of tidak apa attitude doctors specially at the government hospitals!
written by clarity, August 06, 2009 14:28:00
We are not talking about guarantee. We are talking about complacency. For months, we have heard that everything is under control. Question is if that's the case, why is thesituation so critical? Is it still under control? The World Health has estimayed our country to reach a mllion cases. How did they do that? Does the govt. tell the people? Well then let me tell you. The estimation is based on millions going for the HAj and become infected. So what happens when they return??
written by orangbukit, August 06, 2009 16:05:47
Look's like all the BeEnd leaders brains are being comsumed by a recently discovered intelligence degenerative virus. More and more stupid statements/comments coming out with each passing day.

Keep up the good work, virus!
written by Running Sardines, August 06, 2009 16:28:10
During the NIPAH and SARS incidents, I thought we handled the cases poorly. But this H1N1 case demonstrated that we are even more unprepared although we can refer to other countries.

From what I know, this H1N1 can probably kill 0.4% ~ 0.5% of a nation population. And maybe we will see some crazy comments from BeEnd leaders like "Let the weak perish" after they have run out of ideas to contain the spread of this virus.

Closing schools will not slow down the spread of virus as the schools are not closed simultaneously i.e. imagine a child that still goes to school but having siblings that are quarantined at home due to their schools already confirmed with H1N1. Definitely this child can bring back the virus to those that are being quarantined. Not to mention the aircon places like supermarkets, fast food joints, banks etc.

I support the suggestions of this article to enlist the GPs with RIDT kits as frontline detection plus the Government should seriously do something with the haze now as it will definitely increase URTI cases, making it hard to spot the difference between them and H1N1.
written by zandi, August 06, 2009 19:17:48
...testing by the Ministry’s IMR is limited to only 200 cases a day

Why the limit in testing? Why the fatalistic attitude of the Govt??? The answer is obvious...based on what's really happening in Malaysia.

Yes, the govt hospitals run limited tests per day. They will only test you for H1N1 if they see you are critically ill and probably dying from H1N1... I was at a govt hosp yesterday, where they set up a so-called 'screening' counter which merely check patients' temperature. If u only have some flu symptoms, they will just refer you to an MO or one of the very very few doctors to get the normal medicine for flu. Testing for H1N1 is only done in Govt hospital, and to my knowledge, is NOT done in private clinic or by a GP (as far as East Msia is concerned). Why only by Govt Hospitals and limited to 200 per day, one may ask??? Obviously because of the high cost of running the test. I've been told that it cost RM1000 (RM One thousand only) per patient to run the complete test. So, if you only have mild symptoms of flu, better don't waste your time queuing up for 2 to 4 hours at the govt hospitals hoping to be tested. They will only test you if they see that you are dying.

So, are we still surprised at the DPM's statement? This is a gangster-run bolehland afterall! Do you think the Govt cares??! Yeah, if you still believe in the tooth fairy! So many are dropping (falling!)dead in (police/MACC) custody! Do you think the BN Govt cares if we die from H1N1???! Like hell they do! The BN Govt is more concern about counting the costs and lining their pockets, rather than preserving the life of Malaysians! So don't look to the Govt to protect us from H1N1. We are better off taking care of ourselves...
written by binkah1, August 06, 2009 19:40:52
In Sarawak the problem is even more acute when only today a local tablot confirmed that the State Government Hospital are not equips with the proper equipments to test the disease. To add salt to the wound, this information only comes about after all these weeks of assurance by the DCM Dr. George Chan on the State prepareness to counter the disease. George owes the Sarawak people an apology and have alot to explain with regards to this issue.
written by 80srocker, August 06, 2009 20:25:21
I guess he means he's busy getting "serviced" like the previous Health Minister, and don't want to be disturbed by the public's suffering...

FIGHT THE POWER!
written by 80srocker, August 06, 2009 20:55:16
Oh yes, I forgot! He doesn't want to be disturbed unless H1N1 afflicts someone important in the UMNO ranks. Malaysia Boleh!
written by Kathy, August 07, 2009 00:22:20
Medical authorities in Sarawak have advised those with flu symptoms to go to the nearest hospital for tests. A certain gentleman did just that when he had flu symptoms. However, on arrival at the hospital he was told to go to the Poliklinik. He did just that, but at the Poliklinik he was told to go to a private doctor as they did not have the wherewithal to run tests for H1NI flu. He went to a private doctor who said he too did not have the wherewithal to do the tests and advised him to go to the hospital. Being a very patient man he went back to the hospital where he was re-directed to the Poliklinik where he was told again that they didn't have the means to run the tests. Finally, his patience snapped (and about time, too). He left and immediately rang up a local newspaper to relate his run-around tale! This indifferent attitude of our Health Ministry is totally irresponsible.
written by SiHangChai, August 08, 2009 22:38:41
If you put a person like current Health Minister who knows nothing but politiking with his boss, OTK, the nation will be disaster. The best Health Mnister is still the real doctor, DR Chua Soi Lek. And for goodness sake, sack this Datuk Liow from the portfolio.