Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Media Statement by Tony Pua, DAP National Publicity Secretary and MP for Petaling Jaya Utara

Media Statement by Tony Pua, DAP National Publicity Secretary and MP for Petaling Jaya Utara PDF Print
Tuesday, 04 August 2009 16:47

Selangor Exco Dr Hassan Ali should stop acting like he's an UMNO Menteri Besar, and start acting like he's part of Pakatan Rakyat which upholds the rule of law

Dr Hassan Ali's open rebuke of fellow state executive councillor, Ronnie Liu who is in-charge of local government is not only uncalled for by going against the spirit of Pakatan Rakyat, he is openly tresspassing the rule of law both in Selangor and in Malaysia.

As a member of the Pakatan Rakyat state government under the leadership of Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim, Dr Hassan Ali should resolve this matter with fellow executive councillors during the state Exco or Pakatan Rakyat meetings.  Any decision arrived at during these meetings, based on the principles of justice, accountability and transparency should be adhered to in the spirit of a coalition government.  No attempt shall be made to unilaterally impose one's views in the state government's policies.

What is worst and totally unjustifiable is that Dr Hassan Ali has openly rebuked Ronnie for carrying out his duties and responsibilities diligently.

But in doing so, Dr Hassan Ali has essentially called for the laws of Malaysia to be trampled upon indiscriminately.

Firstly, there are no laws in Malaysia that prevents vendors from selling alcoholic drinks.  Hence any raid and confiscation of liquor from stores is illegal, assuming of course that all necessary taxes and duties have been paid for.

Secondly, the local councils are not empowered to raid such stores to enforce laws which doesn't exist or to act on behalf of any Islamic enactments in the state.

Local councils conducting such raids will only lead to the state government being sued for breaching the laws of the land, resulting in unnecessary compensation to the aggrieved parties.  Hence any decision to return the illegally seized goods to their respective owners is absolutely correct and must be upheld.

In issuing this statement, we are not promoting the consumption of alcholic drinks nor are we going against the Islamic enactment which prohibits Muslims from such consumption.  Instead we seek to protect the rights of the Malaysian minorities and seek reasonable measures to be implemented to achieve the objective of all parties and such reasonableness cannot be achieved via indiscriminate raids and blanket bans.

Tony Pua

National Publicity Secretary
Democratic Action Party

Comments (49)Add Comment
written by densemy, August 04, 2009 16:53:59
Hear Hear for Tony Pua
agree 138
written by garuda, August 04, 2009 16:55:47
In the end UMNO is smart for it has planted many in the state for its own gain, we are as fools as we underestimate UMNO, our biggest mistake.
There is nothing UMNO wont do for power,,wake up all of you out there as we still are in denial
agree 123
written by Richfyf, August 04, 2009 17:16:59
I know for certain. Beer have two types , Bottle beer and can beer do not need license, That is why coffeeshop and 7-eleven can sell them. Draft beer need license. That is why you can see food court selling bottle and can beer but not draft beer. Why is the ruling so.. I dont know. But that is the Malaysian law.

License for alcohol drinks is a common practice world wide. Even in USA you need license to sell beer. In fact the license is more strict in Australia then in malaysia.

But license alone cannot prevent alcohol abuse!. its been proven that even if you hang someone who sells drugs it still have not stop drug abuse in our country.

I have no solution but maybe a suggestion of early education would help. Its all have to do with human attitude... but then if a man in police custody can die of drug overdose.. we wonder how did the drugs managed to get into the police station!!!!
written by joeawk, August 04, 2009 17:20:20
Consuming alcohol maybe a sin but no big sin. there are many more serious sins and they are mostly unseen sins, such as ill feelings, greed, anger and much more.

If I were to call him a muslim buruk, he will run amok, but then, what should I call him, consider that he show little depth in matters of sins.

written by Bigjoe99, August 04, 2009 17:25:42
It does not matter what you say Tony. You can put an UMNO T-shirt on this guy and you won't be able to tell the difference. This guy is a traditional Malay political war lord that fills the rank of UMNO. He does not get it, does not understand it and only getting rid of him is the only solution he understand - just like most of UMNO/BN...
disagree 16
written by temenggong, August 04, 2009 17:46:22
Tony Pua has been mild, because Hassan Ali has called for no-sale of beers in 'muslim areas'. What the hell is that? Selangor is the main beer producing state.

The Selangor govt should ask Pas to nominate some other representative to sit in the Ex-Co in place of Hassan Ali.

In my view Hassan Ali is behaving like a drunken muslim!
disagree 18
agree 127
written by Sudahlah tu, August 04, 2009 17:52:16
sudah 52 tahun , kami dibesarkan melalui saluran kezaliman umno yang diaturhalus supaya persengketaan perkuaman tetap didendam. Kami semua sudah ditanam dengan sikap perkuaman dan kesangsian kaum lain dari bangku sekolah lagi .....
mereka yang menjadi anjing jalanan umno diberi latihan yang lebih berbau perkauman serta kebenciaan terhadap warna dengan lebih kuat sehingga mereka akan menyalak apabila diperintah ......adakala tidak diperintah pun mereka menyalak ..hingga melibatkan kematian ....
Kami hanya akan dapat membebaskan bangsa MALAYSIAKU melalui saluran SUARA RAKYAT yang berpadu ...bererti mari kita semua mula mendidik generasi muda kita serta anak-anak kita sendiri tentang MALAYSIAKU .....bukannya warna ...
BUDAYA MALAYSIAKU akan mudah tercapai nanti .... pengorbanan setiap individu rakyat MALAYSIAKU penting dan mungkin tidak hidup sampai melihat kejayaan yang bakal dikecapi.....
bukan mudah untuk mengubah haluan menghentikan kezaliman umno yang kini kebal dan tidak berperikemanusiaan .... kita , rakyat MALAYSIAKU akan mendidik semua generasi muda MALAYSIAKU untuk berpegang teguh akan kepercayaan kebebasan MALAYSIAKU dan menghentikan semua hantaran anak-anak kita sendiri ke kandang kezaliman umno supaya tiada bakal kita dijadikan anjing jalanan umno.
Perjuangan jati yang memakan masa yang panjang , akan tetapi berbaloi demi bangsa MALAYSIAKU.
written by StevenMax, August 04, 2009 18:08:17
Carlsberg and Guiness Anchor is located in Selangor. They sell, deliver, supply and distribute their "alcoholic beers" from Selangor. So, if this Dr. Hassan wants to stop sale in Selangor, please kick out Carlsberg and Guiness from Selangor first. If he can't, don't blame the retailers from selling it to non-Muslims. In any event I don't think the retailers would be so stupid to sell beers to Muslims. Dr. Hassan's statement seem to suggest that Muslim buy beer in Selangor and if that is so he should start educating the Muslim first to stop buying beer. Don't blame the retailers for selling beers to non-Muslims. I don't think Muslim is that weak to be tempted to buy beer. True Muslim don't buy beer, ok, Dr. Hassan?
agree 110
written by greenarrow, August 04, 2009 18:10:24
Then better shutdown.should stop taking from this Manufacturers Muslim Minded Government like to poke fun & hit on Bizness now find fault with Alchohol drinking.is there any better matters far more important to care for the Rakyat? Pork seller and Pig Farmers also paid Taxes to Federal Government.so what are this 'Federal Government' is doing? Can they manage this country? This Masked Federal Government spent Billion Ringgit on Billboards * Campaigns of Anti Smoking.yet they still collecting Tax Revenue from the Tobacco manufacturers.what kind of managing is that?
written by savemalaysia, August 04, 2009 18:40:29
This Khinzir Hassan Ali may think that he is the Messenger sent down by Allah!
Dont sell liquor in muslim area is like dont place the fish near the cat or place a naked women near a man. If the cat eat the fish or the man rape the naked women, this so-called "faithful" muslims like Hassan Ali will blame the fish & the naked women.
Hassan Ali, if you or your muslims brother do not possess the faith that required by Allah, pls dont called yourself a Muslim.
disagree 17
written by Mirage, August 04, 2009 18:43:00
The problem with this ppl who are xtreme on their views abt most things from liquor to rape and theft should take a step back and see who and what contributes to all this and what actually went wrong. Remember when there was sex education and they taught how to use condoms? These are the same ppl who objected. I dont have dwell very deep into everything but
1. How many HIV ppl are malay?
2. How many of the rape cases are Malays?
3. How many of the incest are Malays?
4. How many of the snatch thieves are Malays?
5. How many of the corruption involves Malays? esp in the Goverment!!
6. How many orgy sessions which involve drugs are Malays?

The problem stem from lack of understanding of human needs which cannot be force. You force the muslims not to drink, gamble, have affairs, cheat etc and what happens? They drink secretly , gamble secretly, have affairs that later turn to become their second wife etc. Now how can close proximity not happen in order for them to have second wife?? Not possible and yet they dont allow close proximity but allow second wife......Go to any massage parlour and the Malays are also part of the massage community. Is that wrong? I believe so if it is viewed from that angle but to the person who commits this, its only his urge...hence he is not wrong. But when someone else of the muslim faith does the same they cruxify him. Its just a case of being a hypocrite of the highest order.
written by maisur, August 04, 2009 18:43:55
agree with robertngtg

hassan ali should discuss this matter during the exco meeting

but hey, was that not what DAP fellas did in kedah when they made a press conference threatening to pull out from the state govt? and what they did to the johari guy from PKR in penang? and recently what jeff ooi did to the razali guy from PKR in penang as well?

hassan ali must have learnt this bad habit from DAP... bad boy!
written by StevenMax, August 04, 2009 18:56:36
Dearest Maisur (if u r reading this). If the 7-11 is selling to Muslim, then take action only against that 7-11. If you see Muslim buying it, you should, as a GOOD Muslim, should go to that Muslim, apprehend him and send him to JAKIM or JAIS, educate him and send him to syariah court. Whip or lash him whatever you want on him. Don't just see, talk and do nothing. Don't make it a blanket ban on every retailers who mostly do not sell to Muslim. As a GOOD Muslim, it is your religious duty to educate your fellow Muslims and not only talk no action. You see your problem??? Just because it is a majority Muslim area, the minority has to compromise this and that. Is it fair? For your info, Selangor truly reflects Malaysian Malaysia, a mix culture internationally recognized. It is not illegal to consumer alcohol for non-muslims. Well, you can always migrate to a Taliban country. No one is stopping you. In fact, you have my moral support. For your info, your much beloved MAS still serve alcohol and the stewardess serving it is still a Malay Muslim. Please screw MAS and make it a headline, will ya?. Double standard? I bet you won't. The minority tolerates, so does the majority. The majority must also tolerate. Is 2-ways and not 1-way. Sekian, terima kasih.
written by mikewang, August 04, 2009 19:24:24
Tony is correct.
No authority should act in contrary to the laws of this country.

On a side note, our Bapa Malaysia once remarked that beer is not liquor.
It is a soft drink.
That is why a liquor license is not required for its sale.
written by 80srocker, August 04, 2009 19:36:46
Listen here to a Muslim, MBSA. If a Muslim drinks alcohol, them go after him/her lah. Why do you have to create draconian blanket laws like this and disturb other people's rights? Have you forgotten what our Nabi PBUH taught us? Or you never read the Quran? Or have you been reading the Satanic Bible instead? Stop being silly. Stop giving Islam a bad name.
written by obewan, August 04, 2009 19:48:31
Why should non muslims have to go somewhere else (further) to purchase beer which is perfectly legal even if the majority of the population in Shah Alam (or any where in Malaysia)choses not to purchase or consume it. Why can't the muslims practise their faith like everybody else; do what you feel you must or want to, without depriving others of their basic right/freedom to freely do what is allowed within the law of the land and the law of their "Gods". And the muslims wonder why people intuitively associate Islam with fanaticism, terrorism and extremism.
written by cabearth, August 04, 2009 19:49:38
True, the reason why bottle and can beer can be sold in restaurants and shops in Malaysia is because they fall under the jurisdiction of the Local Government.

Since their alcohol content is less than 8.8%, they do not fall under the Federal Laws.

So, in the case of MPSA, they have decided to enforce the a law in respecting the wishes of the majority of the residents.

That all convenient stores, muslim restaurants and groceries stores should not be selling alcohols in Muslim majority areas.

Furthermore, the stricter rules does not apply to Chinese restaurants or restaurants owned by non muslims or any other types of premises.

Simple as that.
written by cabearth, August 04, 2009 19:50:19
I, however, do agree that Hasan Ali should discuss this meeting at the exco meeting and not make a public issue out of it.

written by StevenMax, August 04, 2009 20:01:46
Dearest Maisur, wow. You talk like a "seperatist". You now want to segregate and seperate Shah Alam from the rest of Selangor. Wow again. You are also equating a Muslim to a child under 10? What an insult to the Muslims. I agree enforcement is part of education, so please send the alcohol-consuming Muslim to Syariah and stop enforcing it against the non-muslim. So, what if Shah Alam and the certain Sections are 70% Muslims?? Shah Alam is part of Malaysia for all Malaysians, mind you. So stop trying to seperate Shah Alam from the rest of Selangor and Malaysia. By the way, which majority are you referring to? BN/UMNO? Never mind. I have my answer. Thanks for your most "brilliant" answer. By the way, Singapore do rear pigs. Thank you for your "education" about what your Islam is. I believe there is also a "mad cow disease", so "pigs" and "cows" also got disease and unclean. You see, we don't complain about certain people eating beef although it is also religiously sensitive to many Malaysians. We tolerate and accept.
written by Proarte, August 04, 2009 21:32:57
Hassan Ali is working for UMNO, there is no doubt about that. He did not deny that he had discussions with the former MB Toyo with a view to PAS supporting BN to keep it in power in Selangor after March 08. So we know the moral character of this man. So it is not surprising that he comes up with this cheap comment.

The fact remains what is a 'Muslim area'? There should be no 'NO Go' areas in Malaysia. There is freedom of movement in Malaysia.

What about Muslims who feel that drinking alcohol is permissable in moderate quantities and can cite medical literature to prove the health benefits of alcohol in small quantities? Are we going to be a progressive nation based on knowledge or be mentally shackled by atavistic notions of morality?

Muhammed married his youngest wife Ayesha when she was 6. The Hadiths inform us that he had sexual intercourse with her when she was 9. I very much doubt that Muhammed's sexual life with his 11 wives raised many eyebrows 1400 years ago in the desert sands of Arabia. There were different concepts of sexual morality and the rights of women compared to modern times.

In 2009 in Malaysia,if Muhammed did what he did to Ayesha, he would be flogged and given a long prison sentence. The point I am trying to make is that, talking about the banning of alcohol in 'Muslim' areas is too simplistic even though the aim is to appear to be following 'Islamic values'. Islamic values have changed throughout the ages and the Muhammed example is a case in point.

Anwar Ibrahim talked about Pakatan's commitment to freedom of worship and freedom of conscience during the recent 'Najib's 100 Days' forum. How can a Muslim exercise his 'freedom of conscience' if Hassan Ali's ban of alcohol in 'Muslim areas' comes into effect? What about the rights of non-Muslims who live in 'Muslim areas' to buy alcohol? How can their rights be curtailed?

Anyway, this whole issue is a Sandiwara as we know alcohol abuse is not a big problem amongst Muslim youth. The real issue is Drug Addiction and I wonder why Hassan Ali does not focus on this. Another important 'Muslim issue' is unemployment and lack of good education. Hassan Ali should focus on this as well.

Hassan Ali belongs to the Hadi faction of PAS who are UMNO trojans. Their purpose is to cause problems for Pakatan and what better way than to use race and religion to divide people. These characters should be rounded up and 'quarantined'. If they create more problems they should be told in no uncertain terms, to use Tok Aziz's words, ' Pergi Jahanamlah' and be expelled from Pakatan.
written by Caretaker_y, August 04, 2009 21:50:42
Pakatan Rakyat(PR), do not forget in order to have the full support of Malaysian of ALL races, you cannot afford to have extremist from Creed, Colour or Status trying to force their Creed, Colour or Status on to the multi racial, religious & classes of Rakyats intertwined together. What one race or colour believes in should not be forced into the others.

Who does Hassan Ali think he is? god or Demon? He has shown disrespect to the present Selangor MB. He should be chastised & shown the back door out of PR.
He could be the UMNO devil in disguise to break-up the Barisan Alternative. So watch him carefully, he should be sacked when enough evidences are gathered.

Do not not forget the Selangor state umno chairman, najib, have not abandon his demonic plans yet, the death & murder of Saudara Teoh Beng Hock, just managed to divert his underhand dirty tactics to seize power & rule Selangor State again. He & his cronies(goons) are definitely sore-losers & sour grapes.

So beware of the najib demon & the disgruntled assemblymen!

written by smeagrooo, August 04, 2009 21:51:15
this Dr. needs a brain transplant!

Pahang in under BN, so he should go tell Najis to ban Genting Resort from running a casino. Sin la! OH but muslims cant enter mah. So no worries. Same logic la stupid Dr. Muslims cant drink booze, so why worry? If they still drink then it is a sin, so go catch them. Similarly, gambling is a sin, but as long as they dont enter the casino, muslims can still go to genting and enjoy the cool air n other entertainment. The casino is there, doesnt mean u hv to enter la stupid Dr. U also a Dr, u sell drugs right? Doesnt mean u go get urself high on a daily basis, correct ah? Self control la aiyo! No control just take some sleeping pills n knock urself out!

While this Dr is still at "sin", he should tell dubious media stream media esp newspapers to stop running shaddy contest that requires luck for one to win big prizes like The Star Power of 9, where u find ppl buying more papers than what is required on a daily basis just to try their LUCK in winning a car.

written by smeagrooo, August 04, 2009 22:01:23
after rereading what the fuss s about, the Dr says that beer should be ban in muslim majority area to respect their faith. Ok, point accepted. But to me, having some beers in the cooler in 7-11 doesnt like make one tremble at their feet and get a high like say having a bikini clad girl on a front cover magazine displayed freely on the mag racks. I cant remember myself getting a high looking at beer cans or caressing one. Do you?

written by Darth Vader, August 04, 2009 22:14:17
Dear Dr Hassan Ali, just let me ask you this simple question.

Those glue sniffers as you know, gets glue from hardware shop. So to go in tandem with yr thinking, why dont you press the Federal Government to ban all those glue from being sold at the hardware shop? Better still press the government to disallow the import of this glue??? If you succeed, you will get more pahala than barking on beer issue, coz by banning the sale and import of this glue, you will save millions of malaysian youths from being an addict! This is more islamic.
written by parsona, August 04, 2009 22:18:09
Maisur,

Smoking is banned in many places because it is unhealthy, and unfair to those who do not smoke. Selling mild alcohol is not unhealthy to those who do not drink. Any idiot knows why smoking is banned, obviously you are not as enlightened.

Majority are muslims, does that mean you need to ban temples and churches too? If you live in any other country that has people who actually has common sense, and lets say Christians are the majority, would you think it is fair if the selling/distribution of the Quran is banned? Did the prophet ever put a ban on the sale of alcohol?
written by mikewang, August 04, 2009 22:48:04
Very easy to compromise if people use brains instead of emotions.

Just create a special section in the store and put the label (Non-Halal) like they do in most supermarkets.
written by smeagrooo, August 04, 2009 22:55:59
Maisur,

what makes u think those who are buying beers now form the local 7-11 wont go far and wide to buy their favorite drink just like the example u painted on the chinese going to Genting to gamble? It is an addiction. When u r addicted, u do all sorts of things. How to stop the addiction? Rehabilitation. Not blanket ban. Already Msia kena ban local directors in making horror movies, betulkah? Correct me if i m wrong. So what u want them to do? Every movie is on stupid slapstick comedy by saiful apek?
written by harrbm, August 04, 2009 22:59:15
Pardon me if I am shallow but the issue here is not beers, selling beers, buying beers, drinking beers, not drinking beers, looking at beers or whatever beers.It is about Dr.Hassan and Tony Pua. Its about Pakatan unwritten rules and expectations.In this issue, Tony is right. Maisur is not wrong either although arguments against Maisur's views do carry some points. Dr.Hassan ought to discuss the matter as Pakatan or was there a misunderstanding on trivial matter such as selling beers in majority muslim VOTERS areas?
written by Wisdom above, August 04, 2009 23:14:48
Hard Liquor License is under Federal Custom & Excise Department Selangor Branch.
Revenue goes to the Finance Ministry.
From Legal point, Selangor Exco Dr Hassan Ali's suggestion is too vague & shallow, no substance !
His proposal clashed with the Custom & Excise Licensing Rules & Regulations.
Just let him express his views which may back-fired later.
What were the Local Council By- Laws at ISSUE ?
Local councils conducting such raids will only lead to the state government being sued for breaching the laws of the land, .. This is a REAL Problem !
Just bill Dr Hassan Ali in his personal capacity, for any legal suits , since he initiate the confusion?

written by Zym Zym, August 04, 2009 23:15:59
Relaks lah brother. Most malays eat TAPAI right? Well, this tapai consists of alcohol. So why are they being so hypocritical about themselves??? Melayu bukan sahaja "cowards" but BODOH also.
written by truthbespoken, August 04, 2009 23:43:47
"When we drink, we get drunk. When we get drunk,
we fall asleep. When we fall asleep, we commit no sin.
When we commit no sin, we go to heaven. So, let's all
get drunk and go to heaven!" ~ Brian O'Rourke

written by 80srocker, August 05, 2009 00:15:10
Have everyone noticed that no matter how "in line" our messages posted are, they are accompanied by votes that disagree? Hmm... I wonder if some idiot UMNO-BN bastards are reading our posts too. smilies/grin.gif
written by fusion38, August 05, 2009 01:24:01
I disagree Hassan ali to ban ackh in muslim plac.however i support hassan about te problem face by muslim. it must be eradicted. i suggest tat plc like 7 eleven,coffee shop...should lock the storage.only sell to non muslim. compulsory. win-win situation!!!
written by Milo, August 05, 2009 01:39:56
I am not a fan of alcohol, but is banning the answer? And why are Muslims drinking despite it is against the religion? Does the ban extent to army camp where the great majorities are muslims? Even Iran is changing, and people there are rebelling against century-old dogmatism that does not makes sense or are extreme.
Read this article: "Iran: A female revolution"
http://c0122981.cdn.cloudfiles.rackspacecloud.com/090803Azar Majedi.pdf
written by Woman in Malaysia, August 05, 2009 02:17:20
Wow, Hassan, so it has come to this: no alcohol to be sold in majority Muslim areas. What next? No beef to be sold in majority Hindu areas? No mosques in majority non-Muslim areas? Give me a break - leave us alone and just follow the rule of law. By the way, don't insult the Muslims by trying to control every aspect of their lives. They are intelligent enough to know what to do.
written by honeylemon, August 05, 2009 02:57:19
The reason why bottle and can beer can be sold in restaurants and shops in Malaysia is because they fall under the jurisdiction of the Local Government. Since their alcohol content is less than 8.8%, they do not fall under the Federal Laws. So, in the case of MBSA, they have decided to enforce the a ruling in respecting the wishes of the majority of the residents. That all convenient stores, muslim restaurants and groceries stores should not be selling alcohols in Muslim majority areas. Furthermore, the stricter rules DOES NOT APPLY to Chinese restaurants or restaurants owned by non muslims or any other types of premises. As simple as that.Very easy to undertand.

But as usual and expected, in the issues of ARAK and BABI, DAP will be easily highly very agitated. It is not the Rule of LAW issue. If it is the rule of LAW, why there were'nt any noise (or press statement) from DAP on the issue of ILLEGAL abbatoir in Kedah that received eviction notice since the last 15 years and complains from the surrounding community irrespective of race since tens of years?

Dr Hassan was right in asking Ronnie Liu (the massage parlours operator - heading local govt portfolio) to resign. It is normal. DAP used to do that.DAP fellas did somewhat similar stunt in Kedah when they made a press conference threatening to pull out from the state government. And what the Penang DAP did to the Johari guy from PKR in penang? And recently what Jeff Ooi did to the Razali guy from PKR in Penang as well?

What are you made of guys ? Chinese triads members ?
written by honeylemon, August 05, 2009 03:03:54
DAP = Defenders of Alcohol and Pig.
written by ABU SAYAB, August 05, 2009 04:29:42
Dr Hassan Ali, sooneer or later you will jump ship to Barisan Babi (BN).
I will support you if you can ask the goverment to close all the lottery outlets and Genting casino.If you can't don't try to be a smart ass!!
written by maisur, August 05, 2009 05:51:46
dear stevenmax
you obviously never reside anywhere overseas. liquor is not allowed to be sold to the minors ie age 18 and below, not age 10. don't tell me those white boys age 18 and below cannot make an informed decision.

how many times do i have to tell you that the ban only applies to 7-11 etc in muslim majority areas. YOU CAN DRINK UNTIL YOU MABUK TODI! go to tesco shah alam to buy those drinks. if you can spend some time strawling around, you will know that it is much easier for muslims (teenagers esp) to buy alcohol from 7-11 than from tesco. these 7-11 operators will sell anything, even to a baby to make money.

dear parsona,
your comment is the most idiotic comment i ever read so far. if muslims don't plan to ban alcohol or pork to the non-muslims, what makes you think we will ban churches and temples. you must have the thickest skull in this MT. my advice to you, DON'T TALK (TYPE) IF YOU DON'T KNOW WHAT YOU ARE TALKING ABOUT. it makes you look stupid

of course smoking is unhealthy. do you think alcohol is not unhealthy? do you want a statistic about domicile violence related to alcohol? do you want a statistic about how many muslim families broken because of alcohol? do you need a statistic about how many road traffic accidents related to alcohol? Any idiot knows why alcohol should be banned, obviously you are not as enlightened. however, we do not request a blanket ban as we respect the wish of non-muslims to consume alcohol

if you follow new zealand tv advert (obviously you are not), you will know that the government spend more money to discourage people from drinking alcohol than smoking. DO YOU WANT ME TO TELL YOU WHY? use your brain to think first.

you asked did the prophet ban the alcohol sale? gosh...you ignorant moron. the quran clearly states that alcohol is haram for the muslims. means, the sale of alcohol is also haram lah.
written by Wisdom above, August 05, 2009 10:07:56
Just place a WARNING Sign !
AMARAN: ARAK tidak boleh di jual kepada Muslim !
DENDA RM10,000= jika disabit kesalahan !
Is this acceptable to all ?

written by Milo, August 05, 2009 12:47:32
The muslim leaders could be missing the point!

I am for a healthy lifestyle, but banning or forcibly classifying an "item" as forbidden will only makes it more desirable. This is perhaps one reason why Islam is facing this sort of problems everywhere...they force your behavior through religious edicts rather than ching the belief system of these "deviants"!

Look! All the major religions, in particular eastern ones, are expressly against alcohol consumption...BUT they don't force. The buddhists have precepts against alcohol consumption, which are voluntary, not commandments. Buddhists are taught the various bad consequences (bad karma) of breaking any precept, and once converted to this belief system, they VOLUNTARY abstain from such bad habit FOR THEIR OWN GOOD...no forcing involved. If they break the precepts, they accept they have created bad retributive energy and accept the consequence of their action. Muslims who break the Islamic edicts (like abstaining from alcohol consumption) behave this way simply because they DON'T BELIEF what their religion teaches. Those, like maisur, who held strong belief in Islam, will have no problem - even if the sale of alcohol is everywhere. Those muslims who don't belief in the edicts of Islam cannot be stopped alcohol consumption just by banning the sale in their locality. Like the non-muslims, they can always get them elsewhere. Further (and perhaps worst still,If they have lost faith in Islam, they can always resort to other vices if no alcohol is available.

Muslim religious leaders should ask themselves what have they done to create such widespread disbelief among the muslims rather that coming out with more stringent rules. Could it be widespread hypocrisy among the muslim leaders? Or, is it because the edicts were deemed by them to be too extreme and outdated with time?

If the missing ingrediant is "belief & faith", you cannot change behavior by force. Those muslims who drink alcohol don't "believe" in alcohol. They merely don't believe what their religion force upon them. In fact, if you need to use force (while other religions don't need and still get good result), it only strengthen the suspicion of the "deviants" that there are fundamental flaws in the religious teachings. You don't need God to tell you not to poke a knife in your eye to avoid doing so; you just need to know the bad consequence.
written by teo siew chin, August 05, 2009 15:18:19
i still cant figure how banning in a muslim majority area will prevent muslims from walking over to the non-ban area to get their supply.
of course over-indulgence in alchohol is real bad.
maybe should paste pics on the bottles/cans of a hardened liver in multi-color or pics of bruised/dead victims beaten/killed by drunks.
written by teo siew chin, August 05, 2009 15:20:53
Oh by the way. why not start the ban in BN-run states first. smilies/grin.gif