Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow MACC probes lavish lifestyle of Terengganu man

MACC probes lavish lifestyle of Terengganu man PDF Print
Tuesday, 04 August 2009 14:25

(Malaysian Mirror) - He allegedly owns several houses, luxury cars and fishing boats. The Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission believes he is a key player in a well-organised syndicate involving politicans and businessmen. The MACC is now investigating him.

The man is said to be a former municipal president in Terengganu and currently heads a government department in the state, The MACC is investigating if he is working in cahoots with a state assemblyman who was arrested on Sunday.

Sources told The Star that he and the alleged syndicate were involved in the giving out of contracts in exchange for commissions.

They said the MACC were also closing in on several other people, who are expected to be picked up soon for questioning. The sources said the projects involved were worth millions of ringgit.

Remanded to assist probe

In Kemaman, Bernama reported that the assemblyman arrested by the MACC was remanded for five days to assist in investigations of having received bribes from a company.

Also remanded until Aug 7 were two of his friends. The remand order was issued by Kemaman Sessions Court judge Rofiah Mohamad. All three are now being held at the Kemaman police district headquarters.

The assemblyman and his friends were arrested by the MACC at a hotel in Kijal, near here, for demanding bribes of between 10% and 13% of the value of a landscape project worth RM2mil from the company.

The MACC found RM5,000 on the assemblyman. He was alleged to have received RM15,000 from the company.

written by pinsysu, August 04, 2009 14:42:22
wat abt palace khir toyol?!
written by Arubin, August 04, 2009 15:08:23
I'm less curious about how much he stole than what he did to be regarded as disposable by the powers that be.
written by Darth Vader, August 04, 2009 16:40:20
Hello MACC,

The Rakyat wants you to probe the Istana woth 24millions first. Trengganu guy is small fish. We demand to know the killer whale toyol 1st and also Teoh Beng Hock death now.

Also PKFZ scams.

Dont catch ikan bilis lah you idoits!
written by smeagrooo, August 04, 2009 16:44:40
just make sure dont bring him to level 16 ya.
written by InEffective, August 04, 2009 18:25:44
what about the 500mill 'bonus' for buying submarines ?
written by 80srocker, August 04, 2009 19:24:06
Just a sacrificial lamb of UMNO. I'm skeptical if anything comes out from this at all. MACC publicised the identities of the opposition they arrest but not UMNO-BN. Why?

FIGHT THE POWER!
written by fredyeoh, August 04, 2009 19:47:12
Again the kacang putih, ikan bilis story. Not interested.
written by Rozlan, August 05, 2009 09:25:01
Guys,

I could assured you la.That guy was unfortunate.I believe he cannot get along with some top UMNO people.Tha twahy they charege him.YOu see most UMNO leaders did similar crimes yet not many were charge.The late Datuk Zakaria Mat Deros was one example who got away scott free till the end
written by Highway16, August 05, 2009 11:03:35
Hey, what about Toyol and a name with 2 Muhammads?

Why not investigate all MPs?

written by Sabahfan, August 05, 2009 20:19:24
MACC cannot arrest a TOYOL because it is the spirit of a dead child... ha ha ha ha ha