Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Teoh’s family wants apology for Utusan’s ‘bastard’ article

Teoh’s family wants apology for Utusan’s ‘bastard’ article PDF Print
Tuesday, 04 August 2009 00:44

By Wong Choon Mei, Suara Keadilan

benghock37

Even as Prime Minister Najib Razak put on his most sympathetic expression at the recent photo-shoot with the family of the late Teoh Beng Hock, his hand-picked editors were busy running a series of hate articles against the Selangor political officer, whose death has been widely blamed on national graft buster MACC.

And this time the Umno-owned Utusan may gone a step too far by labelling his unborn child a bastard.

The Teohs now want an apology for those boorish and uncouth words.

“This country is ruled by law, not religion. Since the PM has promised to help solve the problem, we will wait for his solution,” Beng Hock’s sister Lee Lan was quoted as saying in the Malaysian Insider.

“If my brother did not die, the question of his child’s surname would not have arisen. Who caused his death?”

“My family and the public want to know the cause of death of Beng Hock, how he was killed, who are the culprits, and who are going to be held responsible for his death. MACC can’t deny their responsibility over Beng Hock’s death as he was a witness they should protect and was in their custody.

“We want the Royal Commission of Inquiry to investigate the cause of death. This is not a political issue. We want the truth. My brother Beng Hock was killed. He did not commit suicide.”

What did Utusan say this time

In its July 28 edition, Utusan ran the article entitled Nasib Melayu di bumi Melayu or Fate of Malays in the Malay land . The translation of the excerpts that the Teohs found insulting and unacceptable were:

“The Wanita MCA chief released a more extreme statement urging the Home Affairs Minister to grant legitimate status to the unborn child carried by Beng Hock’s girlfriend instead of a child born out of wedlock.

“Even though we all know that they were not officially married or had been cohabiting outside of marriage. Which means, the child is still a bastard child or a child born out of wedlock. How many more children born out of wedlock do we want to legitimise?

“Is the Wanita MCA chief aware of how many Malay Muslim girls have become victims (cohabiting with their Muslim or non-Muslim partners, whether forced or voluntarily), giving birth to children out of wedlock who do not carry their fathers’ names?

“Why has the MCA not defended them? Why did MCA not go see the Home Affairs Minister to legitimise these adulterous relationships? Whatever the cause of Beng Hock’s death, illegitimate relationships remain illegitimate, it cannot be legitimised just because of this incident.

“If fate had it that the Gautama Buddha (also Confucius and Lao Tzu) were still living, certainly the action of the Wanita MCA chief would be condemned because Buddha’s teachings (also other religions, especially Islam) forbid cohabitation (adultery) outside of marriage, what more producing a child born out of wedlock.”

The Sham

If his predecessor Abdullah Badawai was known as the sleeping-beauty PM, then Najib can count on being remembered as being the sham PM.

Although he only officially took over only on April 3, he has already frustrated the nation with grand but hollow proclamations, wasted millions of taxpayer’s money on unnecessary public relations and totally destroyed public confidence in the country’s system of governance.

And as if the controversy over Beng Hock’s inquest and the RCI were not enough, he has stirred a fresh hornet’s nest by sanctioning brutal police attacks against an anti-ISA rally on Saturday.

The Internal Security Act is an archaic and foul law long abused by bullies in his Umno-BN coalition to lock-up dissenters and political foes without trial and for indefinite periods of time.

We have no choice but to change or we ourselves will be changed. How many times have Malaysians heard Najib say this. Yet, how many times have Malaysians also seen him totally disregard these words in exchange for quick political fixes and worse still – for reasons as frivolous as saving his own face.

Vanity. Form without Substance. Sound and Fury but no Core. A Priority on Packaging not Reforms. These are but some of the criticisms that have been repeatedly levelled at him.

It is doubtful that Najib can ever regain the advantage nor the trust of Malaysians. But a good way to make some small amends would be to try to keep as many of the promises he made to the Teoh family.

Provided, of course. that he can remember what it was that he said to them – a very humble and down-to-earth family from a small town in Alor Gajah still struggling to come to terms with their sudden and awful loss.

Comments (34)Add Comment
written by Arowana, August 04, 2009 01:01:08
Teoh Beng Hock's justice must always be prevail.

Utusan has even labeled his child as bastard. Let's change the government and see who the real bastards are.

I have even tell my children never to pickup Utusan papers to polish up their Bahasa Malaysia.
agree 197
written by Ahjamal, August 04, 2009 01:05:03
Even most animals have a feeling should one of their group dies. For the editor
of Utusan may be he is no better then the animals. Dont know he has a family or he is not interested in his family. All he knows is to make people angry and let people curse at him. Beside that he is getting a huge bonus of dirty money just hope those dirty money will take care of him.
agree 130
written by hamid, August 04, 2009 01:24:01
“Is the Wanita MCA chief aware of how many Malay Muslim girls have become victims (cohabiting with their Muslim or non-Muslim partners, whether forced or voluntarily), giving birth to children out of wedlock who do not carry their fathers’ names?
If father for the Malay Muslim girls child come forward and declare they're the real father, why not? But don't know this Malay Muslim girls have wide opened her leg for how many guys and i bat even she won be able to identify the real father. So the case is deferent here with Beng Hock.
written by Oscar Winner, August 04, 2009 01:31:02
There will be no justice for TBH as long as Najis is PM, I would like to reiterate. To UMNO and its apparatus, TBH is just another bloke who was expendable, like Atlantuya, just so they can stay in power. There will be more TBH under this wicked regime. The toilet paper editor is bloody heartless in running down even an unborn child, what more those living or dead. Can anyone feel the compassion of Najis or his goons? Why did TBH go see Najis in the first place?? Haven't they smelt enough of najis/shit already??
written by medicshan, August 04, 2009 01:31:17
Will Utusan's Licence ever be withdrawn for their heartless journalism?
written by Proarte, August 04, 2009 01:32:29
Teoh Beng Hock's sister is so right when she says this country is ruled by law and not religion.

Here we have pure evil masquerading as Islamic morality. Calling the child a bastard whose mother Teoh Beng Huat would have married had he not been killed is completely without basis. For goodness sake, he was going to be married the following day after his MACC encounter.

There is no point the editors of Utusan being self righteous and speaking volubly about Islamic values when they bastardise Islam by being wantonly cruel and wicked.

written by Oscar Winner, August 04, 2009 01:32:39
correction : Why did TBH's parents go see Najis in the first place?? Haven't they smelt enough of najis/shit already??
written by Rigi9, August 04, 2009 01:33:39
when you have a BASTARD as a PM & a BITCH as his wife, is it any wonder when stray dogs like the Utusan, PDRM, MACC, etc. have their day ?? Time is right for a complete anhilation of these vermins....

hit the streets....
written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, August 04, 2009 01:46:27
It is really sad and unfortunate for such irresponsible and insensitive journalism in our Malaysian printed media.

Who made them the moral judge? Is this intended to distract the public from the real issue - who killed Teoh - rather than this thrashy comment about somebody's unborn child?

If Teoh didn't die, there would be no basis for the trash.

Now that Teoh had died, the uncouth words are at best an attempt to take our attention away from the real issue while showing that the newspaper report has no class, not savvy, irresponsible, uncouth and unnecessary.

http://proud2bmalaysian.******...nanswered/
written by Daryl, August 04, 2009 01:48:48
UTUSAN MALAYSIA is a bastard child of the company that own it and UMNO. But, no wait a second it is a bastard child of an INCEST relation ship because Utusan is actually UMNO. Yuck dirty we need to send both the jail for life.
written by kooler, August 04, 2009 01:55:12
This unborn child is your child and my child regardless of her parentage. Who cares what the law or Utusan says.
written by 80srocker, August 04, 2009 01:57:25
I was making sarcastic comments about the government and their crony media before this, but it's now gone TOO FAR! Totally no respect for the sanctity of human life. Totally no trace of even a bit of decency. This country is (?) for good if these UMNO-BN shitheads continue to run it! It's gonna 5 long, hellish years to the next election....
written by 80srocker, August 04, 2009 02:07:37
How about those rempit animals who left their baby to die in a public toilets/trash dumpsters/etc.? What do you, Kutusan call THAT???
written by Avanza1, August 04, 2009 02:29:46

How many muslims who hv come to court our local girls/women and then disappear back to their own country in the middle east or south asia? What happen to the babies? Suddenly the poor ladies has their names changed to a Muslim name, believing those 'Mus.... Bas....' would come back and be with them. What happen to the babies? Do they get to be register with the father's name? Poor women got trapped to become a muslim by name and could only marry a muslim. Utusan going to publish any articles on those ' Mus... Bas....s'? Is God happy to get converts in such manner?

Sorry but this is a real case and not a made up story. Ah Tee, VP of MACMA... pls ' jangan jaga tepi kain orang'

written by mowadoha, August 04, 2009 02:35:31
written by educationist, August 04, 2009 05:03:56
In this time and age I wonder how many couples go the wedding altar as virgins?
But why is Beng Hock's unborn child without a father?
It is hypocrites like those scums in Utusan Malaysia that resulted in so many abandoned babies and cases of stillborn babies been stuffed into toilet bowls and rubbish dumps.
The MACC must be brought to account!
Justice for Beng Hock!
written by Urangsabah, August 04, 2009 05:38:32
Where the SINLESS DR REDZUAN TEE.......care to comment Dr.

Maybe someone could dig out some dirt on this Sinless Dr Tee.........If Dr Tee thinks he ver qualify to embrass Teoh family, I think we are also qualify to do the like to him and all other UMNOed people.......

Dr Tee what say you.....you "SINLESS" brainless Dr.I use to think Dr uses their brain, I guess not for a SINLESS DR TEE...
written by Stupid me, August 04, 2009 06:30:06
Dr Tee, you are a shame to where you belong to. If you are able to, remove Tee from your name. Insensitive bast**d you are.
written by nrama, August 04, 2009 06:39:23
I believe this is a diversion to remove focus from the investigation into the cause of Teoh's demise.
written by panca, August 04, 2009 07:01:13
Utusan editors your arguments are about religions and morals and just how much worth are you bunch of craps in that brains of yours - NIL(Brainless and Mindless)

The way you speak is like me showing right in front of your eyes with my centre finger sticking up and I say and accuse you of refusing to see the other two fingers down.
written by Msian Idol3, August 04, 2009 08:38:54
Leading the evil examples is the PM. This is the prerequisite of our PM, Ministers & UMNO leaders -- talk goodness but does the worse for the people. Even lady guest immigration records from Mongolia got erased after she was erased. Clear cut interference & how come MACC/PDRM never investigated this? How to believe such pieces of shit in govt don't smell including Utusan editor.
written by Bigjoe99, August 04, 2009 08:41:49
The picture says a thousand word! The mother IS falling apart in front of him and all Najib could do was look sympathetic to the camera and reporters and not even looking at them directly. The direction of Najib's eyes is the same tell tale signs interoggators look for when they are looking for tell tale signs of lying...
written by freerpk, August 04, 2009 08:46:51
Sorry lah, I don't think in a thousand years you will get any apology. It would be easier to get water out of a stone. As I commented before just tell this child that his/her dad was a hero when he grows up. Tell him & remind him that his/her dad stood for justice & died for it because the real truth will never be known no matter how many inquest or royal commission there is. The real truth is in the person of Teoh Beng Hock
written by lamakawan, August 04, 2009 10:23:00
Let us curse and condemn the wicked editors of Utusan Melayu.
May they go to hell once they died!!!!!!
written by songsar, August 04, 2009 10:43:39
The issue of Beng Hock's child would not have arise if he is still alive. It is inhumane to call the child names as the child is totally innocent.

Can utusan tell us how many of the girls of utusan culture got screwed by the Banglas so much so that the government at one time stopped the issuing of permits to the Banglas. There is a lot of these children running around and what has utusan or whoever say or do anything about? Would someone in power care to give the figures?
written by raven1958, August 04, 2009 10:57:00
Najib's photo op with Teoh's parents has to be a joke.....

Here is a PM who blasted his Mongolian girlfriend who was carrying his unborn child out in the jungles of Puncak Alam....

This Bollywood show organised by Rosmah and her PR company is what is shown to Malaysians.....

Any Malaysian who buys the above picture must also believe that Sharukh Khan should now be given a Tan Sri.....
written by lskong, August 04, 2009 11:00:48
if learning bahasa melayu means having to read this kind of crap utusan and umno ditch out, i should probably send my kids to an independent school and tell them to forget about learning bahasa...
written by sydput, August 04, 2009 11:14:57
It is people like this that makes me so ashame to be malay.
written by quietguy, August 04, 2009 11:38:04
Since Utusan is a Malay language newspaper, I'm guessing they did not actually use the word 'bastard'. What was the actual word they use?
written by Jit Dharma, August 04, 2009 12:23:09
The thundering morality of Utusan does not extend to the obvious
moral failings of their degenerate owners. Going by the principle
of 'it takes one to know one', I'd say that the biggest 'anak haram'
must be UTUSAN BANGSAT.
written by C360, August 04, 2009 17:47:07
Let's send utusan down commercially .. boycott it. Even an unborn child has individual rights and DNA technology can prove his father is his father.

And when he is born, the mother being the legal guardian of that life, recognised by law, can sue the shit out of utusan for defamation, with the support of DNA information.
written by nanyangren, August 04, 2009 21:54:12
Beng Hock Jr is no bastard.

Bastard is define literary as one of mix parentage. Even in engineering terms, a bastard file denotes a mix of cross cut and straight file.

Bastard is define figuratively as someone or something useless, like the small appendage wings on some birds that are called 'bastard wing'.

So, since both Beng Hock jr parents are Chinese, he is not a bastard literally.
Since he is not born yet, his characteristics cannot be determined, so he is neither a bastard figuratively.

So to all the useless people out there who criticise and call others bastards, at least go learn your English or go look in the mirror.
written by Ben, August 05, 2009 00:46:05
The masochistic utusan does it again blaming the rape victim instead of the rapist or in this case the murder victim not the murderer. If he did not kill TBH then he will not have to ask to legitimise his unborn child. The kind Malaysians want to help his family move forward with their lives and wish to help but why utusan is so callous and want to make it difficult? Where does human decency begins and politics stop? Jesus said, "Let he who have no sin cast the first stone." Apologize to the Teoh family for your gross misconduct, utusan, or you shall not be forgiven by Allah.
written by Sabahfan, August 05, 2009 20:27:50
UMNO TAK PANDAI MALU... TABAAAAAALLLLLLL MUKA