Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow BN Has A Good Chance Of Winning Permatang Pasir - Pak Lah

BN Has A Good Chance Of Winning Permatang Pasir - Pak Lah PDF Print
Monday, 03 August 2009 22:26

(Bernama) -- The Barisan Nasional (BN) has a good chance of winning the upcoming Permatang Pasir by-election, said former prime minister Tun Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.

"BN can win the seat but it has to work hard, run a tight campaign and get close to the people," he told reporters after delivering a talk in tribute of the Yayasan Tun Sardon foundation at Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM) here Monday.

He said the people were much wiser now and would be very discerning as to who they wanted as their elected representative.

"I have always said the people cannot be fooled. If they want you, you will get it (but) if they don't want you, that's it, try again," he said.

The seat fell vacant following the death of its assemblyman, Datuk Mohd Hamdan Abdul Rahman, who died of a heart ailment at the National Heart Institute in Kuala Lumpur on Friday.

On the illegal anti-Internal Security Act street demonstrations that happened in Kuala Lumpur on Saturday, Abdullah said the nation's economy could be adversely affected if such protests were allowed to continue.

He said there were many other ways for the people to voice their views on the Act, among them holding discussions, but resorting to street demonstrations was not a suitable method here (Malaysia)

"Hold it (gathering) at a stadium and if the numbers are not many, a small hall will do. But do not act like what happened (on Saturday)," he said, adding that people involved were selfish in that they did not consider whether their actions would inconvenience others.

written by cheekhiaw, August 03, 2009 22:35:08
Sure, who ever said thieves cannot win? Especially if there are enough thieves and fools doing the voting...

written by san amin, August 03, 2009 22:37:13
WHY DIDNT U WIN ANY OF THE SMALL ELECTIONS LAST TIME?
written by Arowana, August 03, 2009 22:41:29
This time BN is going to pour Millions of Rakyat money into this election.

First: To win back from PR and make Najib BN look damn good.
Second: DSAI will lose face in this constituency as stronghold P.Pauh
Thirdly: Major morale Degrading for PR and Penang Government of LGE.

We must make sure we will win BIG this time to tell BN we have not forgotten Beng Hock and Abolish ISA.
written by timberguy, August 03, 2009 22:41:43
I agree with you Pak Lah.Permatang Pasir use to be UMNO stronghold under the leadership of late Dato Hj Adnan,but now the leadership in UMNO Permatang pauh in shamble.Dato jalil is from jalan Baru.He is not recognise as UMNO Ptg Pauh leader.Can zaid hamidi as State Laison UMNO chairman consider allowing Dato Ahmad Saad from Kepala Bukit to contest the seat.
written by onnetline, August 03, 2009 22:42:01
The unpopular flip flop sleepy head have just woke up and trying to be smart at the same time !

What a joke ! smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Justice Bao, August 03, 2009 22:52:32
Hello Pak Lah, if you are so sure that the BN can win the Permatang Pasir by-election, why don't you be the BN candidate to contest in the election as you are so confident. I believe you as a former PM should be able to take this small challenge.

WILL SEE WHAT WILL HAPPEN............... I DARE YOU TO TAKE THE CHALLENGE
written by Richfyf, August 03, 2009 22:52:42
Yes and the famous Khir Toyo last word as MB... ZERO OPPOSITION..... or you can ask your very own son inlaw K.J who says "We will bury Keadilan in Permatang Pauh"....

Sweet dreams Pak Lah...ZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
written by Wisdom above, August 03, 2009 22:54:50
BN will Lose one by One till it "Fade away" like an Old Soldier.
Wait for the Domino effect !
written by mob1900, August 03, 2009 22:59:00
written by Jilo, August 03, 2009 23:01:25
I started a joke....(Tun trying to rehearse but seem to forgotten the remaining).What a burden for mother nature to create such useless elements.
written by mob1900, August 03, 2009 23:05:33
written by mob1900, August 03, 2009 23:07:53
written by Oscar Winner, August 03, 2009 23:10:06
Bodohwi actually said "We will definitely win Permatang Pasir....if I was given enough time to remain as PM. In fact, we would have won all the by-elections since Mar 08 had I remained as PM" WHEN BODOHWI OPENS HIS MOUTH, PLS GET READY TO HAVE A GOOD LAUGH
written by clarity, August 03, 2009 23:21:58
He forgot to mention whether the polie will definitely issue a permit or not for any gathering.
written by Kampong, August 03, 2009 23:37:13
Oh yes, and we can solve our food problem by growing vegetables ourselves. And you are a religious man, really, all your children's contracts are halal.
written by Mirage, August 03, 2009 23:49:38
This from a guy who sleeps on his job and could not win a dang election!!

Go back to sleep and make another statement when you wake up
written by SiHangChai, August 04, 2009 00:08:47
Pak Lah, sleep longer first and then we see whether miracle can happen with this kind of constant bollshooting from UMNO.
written by dumbfounded, August 04, 2009 00:21:47
Hey Sleepy Head, nice to hear from you again.

Agree with ya. BN has a good chance of winning Permatang Pasir by-election. Just like it did every other by-election since the the 2008 political tsunami. What was the phrase? "Insha Allah, kita menang. Every one in the BN campaign is working hard" Or something like that. Do us a favor and go back to gardening and golf.
written by benny loh, August 04, 2009 00:30:35
written by onnetline, August 03, 2009 22:42:01
The unpopular flip flop sleepy head have just woke up and trying to be smart at the same time !

What a joke ! smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
DEI, my friend talk poparly
written by SCOng, August 04, 2009 01:02:02
Err... I tend to agree with PakLah...
BeEnd need to run the campaign well...
More precisely, MONEY CAMPAIGN!!
Like offering voters RM50k per vote...etc
If RM50k not enough, raise further to RM100k, RM150k...
written by VVijay, August 04, 2009 01:07:34
"I have always said the people cannot be fooled", says Pak Lah. Yet Pak Lah fooled the people! On the ISA he did nothing. Now he says it should be abolished! Poodah! Please just go to sleep Pak Lah - you are boring!
written by Arowana, August 04, 2009 01:28:21
This will look like a multi-million war by BN against Anwar and LGE for Najib.

Penang is the best place to embarrass both of them as key leaders in PR.

We will have to be on the offensive mode for Permatang Pasir, for sure.

We will prevail and triumph !!!

written by Stupid me, August 04, 2009 06:33:29
That Hamidi fella can stand for the state seat. Even then he will lose his pants. What about Pa Lah as candidte ?
written by Angela Ooi, August 04, 2009 11:27:21
HEE HAW says the donkey, hehehe!!
written by advocatusdiaboli, August 04, 2009 13:21:26
"Saya pantang dicabar"! Podah nayee. Go back to sleep.zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz...........
written by cllim123, August 04, 2009 14:03:56
BN can win, just like you can stay awake for 10 minutes. Bodoh punya orang, wasted 5 years of our time and chased away investors and squandered 90% parliamentary majority. flip flop. Don't forget, MACC is your doing and a young man is dead.