Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Dr M: Anwar started street demo culture

Dr M: Anwar started street demo culture PDF Print
Monday, 03 August 2009 11:11

(The Star) - Street demonstrations are not part of Malaysian culture, but something that was introduced by PKR leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, said former Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

He said there were other ways to uphold one’s causes.

“Holding a street demonstration is not our culture. It is a culture of Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.

“He is the one who introduced street demonstration,” he told reporters here yesterday.

On the Government’s promise to review the ISA, Dr Mahathir said any amendment to the law should be tailored to the current situation.

“All laws, if need be, should be reviewed and designed according to the current situation. This is because things around us keep changing and it is not suitable if we are still using laws of the 18th century.

“It should be applicable for the present situation,” he added.

Comments (38)Add Comment
written by budakindia, August 03, 2009 11:14:45
You started abusing the ISA, judges fixing, UMNO baru culture. Thanks to you! smilies/smiley.gif
agree 132
written by pillars, August 03, 2009 11:17:32
In Malaysia its the culture of Anwar Ibrahim.
In Thailand its the culture of Thaksin.
In Philippines its the culture of Corazon Aquino.

Its the culture of people who want to have their power back.
Its called 'People's Power' .. get it ???
written by ibabonma, August 03, 2009 11:19:05
Dr M have you forgotten your history? It was started by Umno during the 13Mei Demonstration at Kampung Baru.

written by densemy, August 03, 2009 11:19:14
Maybe that's because you suppressed Malaysians for so long that they were afraid to demonstrate. Then suddenly they were so outraged by your evil actions that they took to the streets to demonstrate... which by the way is their democratic right

But of course, being Malay you just have to find someone to blame for your own problems
written by shissun, August 03, 2009 11:26:49
Razak - started racial politics and Malay supremacy
Mahathir - started corruption and BN domination, nepotism, cronyism. half pass six education system. use ISA for politic
Badawi - sleeping culture
Najib - sex and politics.
written by truthbespoken, August 03, 2009 11:29:00
Mahthir's correct interpretation of Malaysian culture is " to divide and rule".
written by rocky, August 03, 2009 11:30:44
it was not Anwar la. remember Malayan union? what is wrong marching peacefully? nothing. But wait, when PR does it, it is wrong and cause a lot of damage and money. But when UMNO does it like KJ did at KLCC, it is not wrong, not street culture and there are no monetary loss even when the demo was at KLCC. yeah no damage of reputation when done by UMNO.

so bottom line like everything else in Malaysia, UMNO can but others can't, DOUBLE Standard la.
written by FuLinYu, August 03, 2009 11:32:28
Dr M: Anwar started street demo culture

Cause & Effect'lah, Dumbo M!
And, you are the cause.
written by IninegarakU, August 03, 2009 11:34:33
Dont think you are a cleanman...
everyone know abt you old man...
I just cant wait to see PR take over the rulling on next GE and chase over you all...
written by krising1, August 03, 2009 11:36:54
And you doktor Mahathir started the culture of "money politics". If you want some inputs which is the lesser of two evils, please run a poll on your website!
written by kurangfaham, August 03, 2009 11:41:32
hoi! Mamak Mahatahi, adakah awak belajar sejarah, pergi nelajar sejarah dan baru cakap, Bodoh. Mamak mamane pandai punya orang ini tapi mamak mahatahi ini sudah nyanyok dan bodoh,sedang mengira hari nak mampoi.
written by amjoem, August 03, 2009 11:45:28
Perhaps Mamak was a rascal then that he does not know that
UMNO was Born Out of Demonstrations and Illegal Gatherings
written by IbnAbdHalim, August 03, 2009 11:49:04
...and it's your culture that brought Malaysia to the current situation. It's your culture that most of UMNO bigots are corrupt. It's your culture that see Malaysia plunging down in every aspect of life. Yes, it's your culture that Malaysia now has incompetent leaders. Yes, it was you who first built and then destroyed the nation. And all will be corrected when your UMNO, yes, your UMNO is thrown out because before you took over UMNO was not so bad. There's no one to blame except you and those who followed your footsteps.
written by chebella, August 03, 2009 12:12:02
i am thankful for dsai for giving us street demonstration

i cannot say the same for the legacy of excesses,corruption and police state left by the dr M regime

this corrupt government which started with dr M (M for money or MM for minta money) will never change by itself

i look forward to the next street demo calling for the prosecution of dr M for his excesses and abuse of power starting with the royal commission conclusion of the lingam tapes

dont be too cocky dr M

this episode is not closed yet

just stay healthy
written by Ocassey, August 03, 2009 12:12:29
THIS OLD MAN ,
HE WAS (UNO).....1,
HE PLAYED KNICK-KNACK WITH NATIONAL FUNDS,
HE WHACK AND WHACK TO JEWISH BANKS,
GIVE RAKYAT A ONLY A BONE,
THIS OLD MAN IS KORUP TO THE BONE,
(HE WILL SURELY SAYS HE ISN'T) !!
written by arazak, August 03, 2009 12:23:53
Toon Kutty said; “Holding a street demonstration is not our culture. It is a culture of Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.'
-------------------------------------------------------------
MT Readers,
Ha,ha,ha,ha. . ., this hypocrite senile old man is talking cock again!

Look at this video (copy paste on the search window please), he himself is doing street demonstration;

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=psuhBtI1Xl4&feature=channel_page

This is what we said, “cakap tak serupa bikin, bikin tak serupa cakap”!
Once a liar, always a liar. . .!
written by Counterpointer, August 03, 2009 12:26:58
Hey Apanama, sudah lupa ke?

(image borrowed from Tulang Besi)
written by Taikohtai, August 03, 2009 12:32:03
TDM's top 5 cultures:
5: Selective amnesia
4: Lingamgate
3: Megaproject$ to $iphon off commi$$ion$
2: Kill all critics
1: Sodomee
written by Davy McChester, August 03, 2009 12:37:20
This bugger Dr.M is simply a typical political opportunist without any principles whatsoever.Even worse so now because there is a clear sign of progressive senility creeping and spreading all over his puny brains .Street demonstrations are part and parcel of any democratic society. You can see that in all progressive countries ,western,throughout Europe and the Americas including Venezuela and progressive Asian countries from South Korea,Taiwan,Japan,India. Even recently in Iran. What is wrong with this ,especially in Malaysia where the ruling Govt of the day , judiciary ,police no longer accountable to the people. The servants of the people have become the masters. The people need to get back their rightful place in society. The Malaysia's problems today are as a result of so many ill conceived policies during the 22 years of Dr.Evil. He was not the least interested in nation building,which, admittedly,is a slow process but achievable one had he not resorted to quick-get-rich schemes.His diagnose of the symptoms and treatment have been a complete failure. Figuratively speaking he prescribed"quick cures" by dispensing 16 panadols rather than 8 per day. Today, one can see the side effects: the people have lost control of their servants,the government of the day. The people just getting over from 22 years overdose sleep.
written by Msian Idol3, August 03, 2009 12:40:31
Thank god we have Anwar,RPK,PAS & other known & unknown principled malay heros. As a non malay, if not for these category of people we the non malays would be raped off whatever we have in human dignity & materials. Sad to say 95% non malays are vocal but dare not take to the street because UMNO will use excuse to spill blood. Non malays wants to be Msian first & we do not dispute help to any of the less fortunate be they malays, ibans or indians etc. Besides, a large proportion of malays have seen what the disguised championing of malay rights have done to make proxies & super rich UMNO leaders. Hey, I have not forgotten the march in K.Baru by Najis and 1969 bloodshed led by specific UMNO leaders. Until today no one have been brought to justice for shedding blood.
written by ROBERTNGTG, August 03, 2009 13:08:49
Street demonstrations are not part of Malaysian culture, but something that was introduced by PKR leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, said former Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad

WANT US TO REVEAIL WHAT YOU FATHERED??? ZIMBABWE IS WAITING FOR YOU TO CREATE A NEW HISTORY THERE.
written by Come clean, August 03, 2009 13:09:28
Anwar Ibrahim's PR mission is to return the power to the rakyat.What's wrong with that?
written by Kampong, August 03, 2009 13:12:05
"Holding a street demonstration is not our culture. It is a culture of Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim"

Speaking with forked tongue again. What is YOUR culture mamak? Beating up people when they are defenseless? Make up charges just so you can hold on to power? Denying your heritage so you can qualify for the privileges?

YOU started the democrasi movement when you unleashed your dogs on Anwar.
written by HamChak, August 03, 2009 13:38:20
Koret, Anwar started the Street Demo Culture
which is Very Good for BolehLand.
But what Culture did you started?
You forgotten or what?
Let me remind you, You started the famous "Corruption Culture"
(Cronism, Nepotism and ALL the ills of Todays'.
Go and drop dead, la.
written by hellosunshine, August 03, 2009 14:23:02
Anwar started street demo, is it? And you, Mamakthir, started wholesale corruption, cronyism, abuse of power, screwed up our kids' future with your harebrained education system, wasteful mega projects by the billions. I would like to quote you farmer Hogget's famous line at the end of the movie, Babe. "That'll do, Pig. That'll do." smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Dominic, August 03, 2009 14:44:06
DSAI may have started it but who is the creator, old man ? What about those fellow Malaysians who protest for the sake of freedom ? Something which is clearly enshirned in the constitution and yet people like you and all those in power who played havouc. Why dont you just shut up and go do some gardening . Grow some of your favourite flowers which may come in handy when the time come !
written by AlwaysFair, August 03, 2009 14:49:15
“Holding a street demonstration is not our culture. It is a culture of Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.""

By the way Street Demo is Anwar's culture which also happens to be the people's culture. Anwar belongs with the people.His voice is the people's voice.

Your regime's culture is unbridled corruption and power-seeking which happens to be what you want and what the people abhor. Your voice is that of a dictator which the rakyat long ago ceased to listen to.
written by Zym Zym, August 03, 2009 14:58:39
Mahathir Bodoh. Mamek lupa kulit! Orang tua ni dah nyanyuk. the most he has is another 1 yr and 4 months.
written by A MI, August 03, 2009 15:24:51
TDM please remind me again why TAR sent you to prison??
Cakap tak serupa bikin.....
written by francis ngu, August 03, 2009 16:47:57
TDM, History is not on your side anymore, and never has been. For a former PM, he is ignorant of the struggles of Mahatma Ghandi, Martin Luther King, Mandela and Corazon Aquino.

He is not fit to speak about Asian culture and values especially the courageous Asian struggle for freedom, democracy and human rights.

Anwar is late in coming to the Asian scene, but very timely, to marshall the strength of the people against authoritarian and repressive rule, as the nation gets degraded further and further by racism, corruption and cronyism.

Dr. Francis Ngu, Kuching.
written by Everbright, August 03, 2009 17:05:22
C4 (Aminah) was not part of our culture either. Making people disappear (Bala) was not our culture too. Torturing witnesses (Teoh) and pushing them down the 14th floor of a government body definitely not our culture. Only UMNO is practising these filthy actions. Bloody BN!!!
written by JJFoo, August 03, 2009 17:14:55
Peaceful street demonstration is nothing unusual, it is happening all over the world, it is certainly not an outdated 18th century law, street demo is even more necessary especially when channels to uphold one’s causes are severely limited through systematic oppression, in direct contradiction to what the forked tongue Mahathir trying to imply.

Peaceful street demo is a democratic culture, the people's culture. Mahathir over credited Anwar by calling it an Anwar’s culture. Mahathir thought he can fool all the people all the time, ending with him looking like a fool himself. Shhhh…... maybe he don’t know, the only person he is fooling is himself.

written by Kathy, August 03, 2009 17:20:20
“Holding a street demonstration is not our culture. It is a culture of Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim."

I hate it when people say this. What is our culture? To kow-tow to hierarchy rightly or wrongly? Don't disagree with our elders? Don't answer back? I'm afraid this no longer washes today. Things have changed. If things weren't so bad and unjust why would people take to the streets. If Najib could accept the validity of the Opposition and a two-party system, and allowed sensible debates in Parliament, if he had restored the people's faith in the judiciary, the Police and the MACC by allowing them to operate independently of the Executive, then there won't be "mob debates". In the absence of all this one can't blame the Opposition and its supporters for taking to the streets. Remember, the late Aquino Corazon and her supporters took to the streets to oust the Marcos regime because that was the only avenue open to her. If Reagan hadn't allowed Marcos safe asylum in the States he and his family would have been lynched.
written by lobster, August 03, 2009 17:22:23
Oh really Tun? then I want to thank Dato Seri Anwar Ibrahim.
written by kksam, August 03, 2009 17:51:27
street demo? yeah yeah i'm coming where where? I like street demo, i like to exercise my rights for peaceful gathering. If u scared just hide under your wife's armpit la.
written by pelukis, August 03, 2009 18:32:55
Tun Mahathir...'GO AND F_CK YOURSELF'.
written by mikewang, August 03, 2009 18:47:16
Tun was the one who made use of anti-Tunku student demonstrations in University of Malaya way back in 1969 to make a come back in UMNO.

He is getting senile.
written by Mirage, August 03, 2009 21:24:36
And Mahathir, you started "soto mee" culture