Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow If a transaction occurs with land not authorised by the state, has a criminal act been committed?

If a transaction occurs with land not authorised by the state, has a criminal act been committed? PDF Print
Monday, 03 August 2009 07:11

By Naragan N.

In the case of the 6.5 acres sold to the Koperasi Pegawai Kerajaan Pulau Pinang by the Penang State Government, there are clear conditions which state that ‘'tanah yang diberi milik ini tidak boleh dipindah milik, cagar, pajak, pajakan kecil atau sebarang bentuk urusniaga (the land cannot be transferred, mortgaged, pawned, sub-let or used as a business instrument).

The Koperasi has, in violation of these conditions, entered into a joint venture agreement with Nusmetro Sdn Bhd and used the land as a business instrument. It has sold condominium units to be built on that piece of land. Visit http://www.apartment-penang.com/2007/12/oasis-condominium-penang.html.

Since this is not allowed in the conditions of sale, hasn't a criminal act been committed? Lawyers who are familiar with this issue need to comment.

Another point is that, the CM of Penang often comments that if he obstructs the development he will be sued for RM150 million by Nusmetro Ventures (P) Sdn Bhd. But if in the first place the State Government only recognizes Koperasi as the owner and not Nusmetro per the term of the sale, does Nusmetro have locus standi to sue the State Government on this matter? This is another point that Lawyers who read this article and are competent to comment need to comment on.

These are key issues which need to be explored. If the CM does not explore these angles, then I accuse him of utter incompetence – because these are valid perspectives which have significant implications to the critical Kg Buah Pala case on hand now.

He cannot gloss over them as he seems to be doing now.

Comments (11)Add Comment
written by freerpk, August 03, 2009 08:11:07
Ai yah, even if a criminal act has occurred it has still to be proven in court. If the judge doesn't agree then "theoretically" a criminal act hasn't occurred, see, see, see...It all boils down to the court judgement whether a criminal act has occurred...it is not for you or me to say. We don't have a jury system because the government deems us to stupid to be jurors.
written by Kampong, August 03, 2009 08:30:51
The document usually also states "without the permissions of the state authority", as anyone who has purchased any leasehold land would tell you.

You accuse of someone without ANY fact, and you just admit you are not a lawyer, which most of us get already by the sheer ignorance you have demonstrated.

Can I accuse you of being a MIC snakehead by your own screwed up logic?
written by Raizzen, August 03, 2009 08:33:08
No, I think Hindraf needs to grow up.
written by Liberian, August 03, 2009 10:13:02
Please understand the whole shit happens in 2007 when Gerakan was the State Government. That time MCA, Gerakan, MIC and PPP kept silent because there is a policy in BN, when a BN's party is doing a corrupt act others should support. Samy Velu idiot is telling the prensent Government did it and fools like Hindraf and the writer Nargan beleives him. The only thing now the CM can do is like what he said that they can stop the building plan. That also I won't be surprised the BN led Penang City Council in 2007, had already approved the building plan. So, let the CM decide what is best for his citizens.
written by Flex65, August 03, 2009 11:19:07
If this issue cannot be solved. Let just make sure that nobody buy the built condo. All are blaming the the Chinese CM but nobody mention about the malay developer that will not give up their profits. Let see how much they can make if nobody dares to buy the condo.
written by CPY, August 03, 2009 11:59:54
There is a valid point and I hope LGE will consult his lawyers about this. smilies/smiley.gif
written by Taikohtai, August 03, 2009 12:41:34
Dei,

LGE already moving forward with the Kg folks while you are still flogging a dead horse?
written by bluesky, August 05, 2009 10:39:06
Koh Tsu Koon, UMNO, Mahatir..Gearakan..n --amale woke, peh punde...gudhia le kaifan..
written by Lembing, August 05, 2009 16:21:39
My dear NARAGAN

YOU Should also bring the Federal Govt into this case. OR IS IT BECAUSE THAT IT IS EASIER TO RUBBISH NON-BN PARTIES WITHOUT FEAR.

WHY AREN'T YOU ATTACKING THE FEDERAL GOVT ? OR IS IT THAT YOU DON'T HAVE THE GUTS TO FACE THE BN GOVT, YOU BLOODY COWARD.