Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Yes, please sue

Yes, please sue PDF Print
Monday, 03 August 2009 02:48

Yes, please sue. And please show us how the Minister of the Federal Territory computed these losses of RM100 million to RM200 million. And show us your tax records for the last three years to prove that these amounts are legitimate and not bullshit figures.

So who's liable for the RM100 million?
Rocky’s Bru

A question for Lawyers. Before anyone attempts to answer the Q, know the background: Raja Nong Chik told a press conference yesterday that the City could have lost RM100 m - RM200 m as a result of Saturday's anti-ISA demo.

The FT Minister's estimate is bound to raise eyebrows and draw scoffs. But what if it's true?

Can anyone then be held responsible/accountable for the losses and damages?

In this age of transparency and good governance, shouldn't someone claim responsibility?

A lawyer friend of a friend of a friend said the Gerak Mansuh ISA, as the organiser of the demo, is liable. Meaning, I was told, that those who claim to have suffered losses and damages (which may include Sogo and Semua House, which had to close for business on that day; traders and hawkers; the LRT and bus operators; restaurants, etc) could actually sue the NGO.

Really?

Rocky has touched on a very important and relevant issue. As what he asked:

Can anyone then be held responsible/accountable for the losses and damages?

In this age of transparency and good governance, shouldn't someone claim responsibility?

I hope to see the owners of businesses who suffered losses launch legal action against the people behind Saturday’s march. The organisers are not that difficult to identify because they are not ‘underground’. In fact, they are very open and have many times held press conference, made statements, and issued press releases. So it is well documented as to who these people are.

Once the lawyers launch a civil suit on behalf of all the business owners, then the case can be rushed through the courts and the courts can come out with its quick decision and start assessing the damages the organisers will have to pay the business owners.

Of course, in their statement of claim, they will have to include all their statement of accounts to prove what their losses are. They will have to convince the court that on a normal Saturday afternoon they would be assured of a certain sales figure. And the profit on these sales would also have to be shown.

In other words, they would have to prove their losses by way of accounts and documentation. They cannot just claim they lost between RM100 million to RM200 million. They would have to prove this amount. And it can only be proven through historical records, meaning their accounts.

What profit do they normally make on their sales? For sake of argument, say it is 10%. This means they would need to sell RM1 billion to RM2 billion to make RM100 million to RM200 million.

A good way to prove these losses would be to show the court their tax payments for the last three years or so. The businesses that suffered losses would have to show what their declared sales figures were for the last three years or so according to the tax records submitted to the tax department. This would help prove that on one afternoon of two to three hours their sales were RM1 billion to RM2 billion.

In a full day that would be RM2 billion to RM4 billion -- since half a day it is RM1 billion to RM2 billion. Over a year that would come to RM700 billion to RM1,400 billion.

Okay, let’s round it off and take the average of the two. Based on the losses these business suffered on one Saturday afternoon of about two to three hours, their annual sales would have come to approximately RM1,000 billion.

Petronas earns only RM40 billion a year. Half of that is from Terengganu -- RM20 billion. Terengganu gets 5% of that RM20 billion or about RM1 billion a year in the form of royalty. It used to be only RM800 million but since the price of petroleum increased the royalty also increased to RM1 billion a year.

I don’t know whether this is correct because Petronas does not need to show us its accounts. But simple arithmetic tells us that if 5% translates to RM1 billion and if Terengganu produces 50% of the oil and gas, then it would have to be RM1 billion multiplied by 20 multiplied by 2. That comes to RM40 billion.

The largest income earner in this country earns RM40 billion a year. A few shops along one street in Kuala Lumpur earn RM1,000 billion a year. Hey, how not to earn RM1,000 billion if two to three hours of business comes to RM1 billion to RM2 billion? And how not to earn RM1 billion to RM2 billion in just two to three hours if you lose RM100 million to RM200 million in that same period?

Yes, please sue. And please show us how the Minister of the Federal Territory computed these losses of RM100 million to RM200 million. And show us your tax records for the last three years to prove that these amounts are legitimate and not bullshit figures.

I just hope your tax records tally with what you claim or else the tax people are going to grab you by the balls and squeeze hard. The penalty for tax evasion is ten times what you evaded. That is going to come to tens of billions in penalties.

See you in court, soon, I hope.

Comments (66)Add Comment
written by SamSan, August 03, 2009 03:07:05
What about the tax department auditing Khir Toyo for all his illgotten gains. What about all the AMENO warlords who too have similar illgotten gains. Why isn't the tax department chasing them. Or is it that just like PDRM,MACC and Judiciary, the Tax Department also belongs to these warlords.
agree 433
written by mei1, August 03, 2009 03:07:12
we all know they are good at bullshitting, don't we??
agree 301
written by Davy McChester, August 03, 2009 03:13:02
Not that smart to figure it out ! Maybe the minister needs to engage a foreign consultant (tied to UMNO cronies of course, business again )to work out this "too highly complicated matter.What about the public suing the UMNOputras for plundering the public coffers for the last 50 years ? What does all this tell Malaysians ? They are being governed by poor sighted so called educated illiterates so quick to lick their master's rear.
agree 180
written by Cash Money, August 03, 2009 03:20:00
======================================================= ======

In your dreams "Rakyat" no ****er is going to front up. Every family in our forsaken country exposed to "CASH MONEY" someway or rather.
All thanks to the big hearted MAHA FIRUAN who came up with the MALAY DELIMA.
There is no hope corruption is well ingrained and if you fight it be prepared to face the muzik.
There is only one way, we have to pull the root out and it must start from the MAHATHIR MUHAMAD the root course of where we are today. Call it what you like 10%,masuk,rezeki.....it a sickness injected into society by DR Mahathir Muhamad
that has rapidly spread into society that has become a norm.
written by schizonoid, August 03, 2009 03:23:17
This country are runs by 1st degree idiots.
agree 192
written by nesen, August 03, 2009 03:23:19
I think a claim for loss of business is fair...
However who was responsible for the chaos --- the organisers or the authorities
who waded into the peaceful protest?
If not for the massive use of firepower it would have been a good natured rally probably accounting for more sightseers and more business
I think the estimate of losses is subjective but the party to be sued is clear...
written by ABU SAYAB, August 03, 2009 03:53:38
Rocky please stop spinning cock stories for UMNO.
Go and suck Najis...
agree 241
written by Ghostbuster, August 03, 2009 04:06:07
What about people suffering from teargas and water canon? Many were coughing, injured, stressed, if not fainted. This is a lose-lose situation for all.
written by Semut Jantan, August 03, 2009 04:07:19
Growing up in a kampung, I learnt that when a rooster crows at the crack of sun light, the whole kampung's roosters would follow suit upon hearing the first "ooo ooo ooohhh". Sometimes it happened at 1:00AM or 2:00AM which was extremely annoying. Maybe (a silly) one had mistaken a bicycle light as sun light at the wee hours.

UMNO's Minister of the Federal Territory was that silly rooster who saw a crack of sun light at 2:00AM; all other more silly roosters just crow along. The silly head was trying to impress his peers or his boss!

Aren't that the same with MCA, MIC, etc when UMNO crows? What time is it by the way? Time for BN to go. We need to have a good night of sleep, BN please disappear into oblivion. We need a new dawn. We need a new rooster head who knows when to crow, how to lead.

Please make BN history come GE13. Let them crow in Kemunting as a big orchestra choir.
agree 233
written by 80srocker, August 03, 2009 04:36:46
Thanks, YB.

This goes to show just how shallow BN Ministers are. If they want to bullshit, at least do it right lah! smilies/grin.gif
written by kksam, August 03, 2009 05:16:00
sue? No way! some of the shop owners gave us shelter when the FRUs firing tear gas at the people. they only closed down because those stupid FRUs weren't aiming and the possibility of the canister hitting their glass door were real. those cars parked near were hit by the canister as well, in short it's FRUs who should be held responsible!!!! those shops that sells mineral waters were selling like hot cakes! so do we asked them for refund? the BN can spin whatever they want, but truth will always prevail!!!
agree 126
written by Taiping60, August 03, 2009 05:21:51
Yes, Raja Petra is right. If what the FT minister said is true then these shop owners and Sogo must be paying alot of tax. So if they are not paying the huge tax base on their huge profit, then I believe our inland revenue department should do something about it.

If this is not true then FT Minister should retract his silly mistake for trying to mislead the public.
written by Urangsabah, August 03, 2009 05:51:39
who say lost, you ask the supplier of the Acid laced water Supplier of the gas cannister, some ask the comply doing the reapir for the FRU Trucks, Water Cannon.I tell you $1-00 is charge at $1000-00.just ask the $12.5 billion earner from the PKFZ.
written by A MI, August 03, 2009 05:59:44
most BeEnd Minister can hardly put money where their muth is.
Good if more and more ordinary Malaysians can take them to task and sue them. The sad part is the kangaroo courts will work overtime to rule in BeEdn's favour
written by Mama Juwie, August 03, 2009 06:05:05
BN: Masters of deception and exaggeration

Damaged public and private properties: RM1 million
The costs of using police force: RM10 million
Lost of income for business: RM100 million
Lost of freedom of Malaysians: no price tag big enough.

There are some things that money can't buy, for but everything else there's Master Ji (Najib's bomoh).
written by hamid, August 03, 2009 06:07:17
Actually the shoppers should earn from this mass gathering, not lost! People should eat and drink.
written by 1351, August 03, 2009 06:28:10
Increasingly, their stupidity has become a threat to society but on this occasion, that stupidity provides bags of laughs no script writer could ever dream of. Terima-kasih UMNO bin Curi(courtesy of Najib) aka UMNO Bodoh bin Stupid(this moniker goes out to Nazri) and the many variants. And yes Rajah Non Cheat, please sue.

Much has been made of the weekend's walkabout, and from the few hand full of racist pigs who persist in highlighting too few arrest from the "dan lain-lain" denomination, may I take this time to remind the lot of you that an overwhelming majority from the dll's - coupled with votes from their Malay brethren - collectively ensured that UMNO/BN were given marching orders losing 7 out of 8 Parliamentary seats contested in and around the Federal Territory.

It beggars belief UMNO and PDRM persist in exerting a heavy hand on residents of the Klang Valley. Instead of mending fences in anticipation for the future, the bodoh's in UMNO continue to hit hard with no false pretense. It bothers UMNO none that their bad behaviour was on display for the whole world to see - the ISA protest made it to the pages of the NYTimes and Guardian incidently. When will this madness stop ?

I anxiously count down the days when we can once again exercise our civic duty and head to the polls while UMNO remains lackadaisical in formulating a plan to reverse course and claw back the losses. I suspect UMNO doesn't know how(too many self serving corrupt bodoh's will sink UMNO) which is no surprise at all as UMNO and ilks exemplify the worst traits in all of humanity. And the likes of Rocky, that Awang dude, Kadir Jasin and Utusan monkeys will only hasten the next beating that UMNO is due.

Key words come to mind in a congregation that is equal parts bodoh, leka, bangsat and all less condescending. If I were UMNO, I would press the panic button pronto when you consider that party machinery went all out but still couldn't buy an election victory even with hundreds of millions splashed for Kuala Trengganu.

That loss should have been a time for serious reflection, rethink strategies or at least start listening to what MT forums/blogs had to say but NO ; UMNO, PDRM and MACC went on to kill Kugan, Beng Hock and several nameless faces who never made it to the papers.

* Things to ponder for in-coming government.

Now that UMNO won't repeal the ISA, we might as well put it to good use.

Declare emergency rule for the first 48hrs when UMNO is shown the door and within those hours, get ISA detention orders serve on ALL fat cats in UMNO , the AG & IGP, judges etc. Extend that to all minor bodoh's - all who look stupid or act and think stupidly. Cheers all, MAMPUS UMNO.

written by Navigator, August 03, 2009 06:39:13
Sue the police and UMNO also. If they had allowed a peaceful demonstration to go on without making arrests and using the strong arm police tactics, there would be no crisis. Why does the government not allow the march to proceed peacefully. It is the government action that resulted in the crisis. So the government must bear the responsibility of the losses and must be a co-party to the suit.
written by Kampong, August 03, 2009 07:30:12
It's well known that for big "projects", these are the going rates for how much the "able and competent" UMNOPuteras charge to "transfer" their licenses to the real developers. 100mil, 200mil, is very easy to remember for those with fuzzy math.

Looks like our FT minister is so used to these figures so he just blurbed it out without thinking, which is how they usually operate. Just shoot out some figure from their behinds.
written by pakasia, August 03, 2009 07:32:11
RM100 million is nothing compared to the magnitude of

1. PKFZ RM 12.billion scandal.
2. Najib's submarine
3. Khir Toyo's Balinese mansion
written by Bigjoe99, August 03, 2009 07:33:55
I just hope Raja Nong Chik realises why his argument is wrong. The intellectual debate about this was settled long time ago in the US. Public discourse is part of the risk of doing business and businesses does not have a inherent right to be protected from social forces and change.

If Raja Nong Chik does not get it his argument is NOT smart then what we have is a team that Najib think is smart BUT is not really...
written by Dora, August 03, 2009 07:40:36
Ha ha ha........The FT Minister has put his foot in his mouth with that statement. He must now be kicking himself.

Thanks RPK, for enlightening us once again with your 'figures'.
written by Krepot, August 03, 2009 07:49:31
I bet you, before and after the mass demonstration, businesses along those streets had MORE BUSINESS as there were many from outstation and they would have patronized those shops in the area. Cut the bullshit!
written by freerpk, August 03, 2009 07:58:18
I can see it now. they govt has been unsucessful in controlling the demonstrations so far despites the arrests so now they are using the courts to do the job. That means that anybody can sue for loss of business and when it goes to the court you can guess what the verdict will be....hit where it hurts..the pocket. That is how Singapore deals with its opposition...make the courts make them bankrupt.
written by OVERLORD, August 03, 2009 08:01:17
Perhaps the 100,000 protesters should take a class action suit against the police and the government for interrupting a peaceful demonstration and inflicting emotional distress...let's say RM 100,000 each person...u guys do the math....
written by medicshan, August 03, 2009 08:08:05
See how they spin:

No. of protesters: 10,000 it was higher, maybe 100,000

Loss: RM100-200 million (the traders in KL don't mind, mind you)

For the traffic jam that you made KLites suffer, no vote for you, BN.
written by verifunny, August 03, 2009 08:15:09
Hi Pete,

You score yet another goal for Malaysia.

The more they ask, the more they expose themselves.

We should ensure that transparency and professionals are handling this case.

Let the MPs continue to dig this scar until they scream and die "cock" stand.
written by oct, August 03, 2009 08:16:00
Hi Pete. You forget about the Mat Rempit, mata2 and citi penguatkuasa who have forgo their cari makan. They loss more than these businessmen. In the end it leads back to our citi mgmt staff whose kitty is not filled for the day in a shaddy way. It is the unseen money that is loss and not collected by these Amno chiefs that they are complaining. Not the normal business profit. Malaysia boleh style!!!
written by arazak, August 03, 2009 08:38:21
Rocky Brudu is singing to UMNO's tune. . ., it is always money, money and more money! Nothing about the wellbeing and protection of the people against draconian and unjust law.

Rocky Berudu,

If you are concern about losses, go ask Najib where does the money of the rakyaat went; the RM500 million submarine commission and the RM12 billion PKFZ scandal money. Till than don't talk cock about monetary losses to us! We have been robbed by your puppet master UMNO regime far too much and far too long!
written by temenggong, August 03, 2009 08:38:43
FT and Selangor residents voted overwhelmingly for Pakatan. If the traders feel they are being denied profits by the intermittant protest marches, then they should get out to other states!
written by Aria, August 03, 2009 08:41:39
I don't think the shops would have made any loses, if those imbeciles (Police/FRU) did not stir the crowd. Everyone in the rally would have shopped, eaten in the shops etc. With so many people around how can the shop owners say that they made a loses. The only reason why they did not make any money was because the rakyat were shot at with tear gas. Sue the moron's who fired the tear gas and stired the public. Everyone was going about so peacefully, why did the police use such violence? The police have become 'kurang ajar', they are public servants, is this how a servant behaves?
written by Counterpointer, August 03, 2009 08:51:13
NTV7's Edisi 7 ran a poll last Saturday that had me literally ROTFLMAO. They were trying to put the Anti-ISA march in bad light and tried to come out with a stupid Poll that went:

Do street rallies pose an inconvenience to the public?

My first thought was, how do you expect people to vote?

See the results below and enjoy your good laugh:

written by Durnfordi, August 03, 2009 09:09:59
Raja Petra Kamarudin - PANDAI

Raja Nong Chik - BODOH KAYU!!
written by hellosunshine, August 03, 2009 09:27:51
I spoke to some older generation folks on the anti-ISA protest and the bad traffic congestion on last Saturday and it was surprising a few of them blamed the protesters for taking to the streets and that it was not our culture during their days. I had to explain why we had to do it as it was apparent they were only getting the news from the MSM. For those people having access to the internet and real news, please make it a point to spread the real news to all your friends and relatives via emails, when having drinks mamak teh stalls/pubs, workplace, family reunions, especially to the older and younger generations to register and exercise their voting rights in GE13. We need every single vote. Act now. smilies/smiley.gif
written by arazak, August 03, 2009 09:49:32
I saw some videos in youtube showing small tarders selling keropok lekor and other food being destroyed by the acid spray from FRU trucks. Also there was a water vendor whose water tank broke by the gas cannister fired by FRU at random! The demonstrator did not destroy the traders property, the Police with their high-handed tactics did!

So Raja Nong Chik, who is causing problems to businesses?. . .Its the UMNO lapdog Police of course and not the rakyaat demanding for freedom!
written by noqunyvz, August 03, 2009 09:56:15
RM100 to RM200 million losses? True, the question to the FT minister is; How did he came out with the numbers in the first place? Intelligent guessing? Anyway, think of it this way. RM100 to RM200 million, perhaps more, is supposed to be the PROFIT range that those who do business there will get IF the demonstration was not provoked and put to the halt by the authorities.
written by budakindia, August 03, 2009 10:05:57
Err what about those projects which have failed? Can we claim from the government too for the losses? smilies/grin.gif
written by truthbespoken, August 03, 2009 10:13:05
Rocky Bro is not worth mentioning..and I thought the FT Minister could be better..but handling crisis always reveal the stuff leaders are made of..this one has failed too for treating the public as fools!
written by alarcarte, August 03, 2009 10:15:35
If the police didn't interfere and set up road block around the city, I don't think the business will suffer any losses. In fact the opposite will be true.

People will march peacefully and after that, what to do? Shopping and eating in the eateries around the city of course!
written by Chimera, August 03, 2009 10:22:12
the demonstrator would hv march peacefully without creating any disturbance.. the police and the FRU who made a big mess by blocking the roads.. firing tear gas.. n now they r blaming on us.. WTF!
written by apa jadi, August 03, 2009 10:27:12
FT minister =F???Tard Minister?

RPK, he was right 100 ~ 200 million Rupiah. He will sue you for misconstruing his words.
written by Ben, August 03, 2009 10:28:18
I saw on youtube some of the traders complained about their cloth being soiled by the fru indiscriminate water canons. They asked why? Who going to pay for the damages? I guess the person who caused the damages should pay for it, in this case it is the gomen sponsored fru. Maybe gomen also can teach them to aim properly and not harm innocent victims.

As for nongchik attempt to pass the blame and victimised more Malaysians, everyone can see it for what it is; another slanderous project by gomen. Thank you, RPK, for shedding intelligence on a foolish statement.
written by malgal, August 03, 2009 11:13:06
Before 1 aug saturday, how bout the road blocks and bully tactics by polis ? indiscriminate use of gas/water cannons etc ?

If there were no unnecessary impediments, the peaceful demo would have been over and done in a few hours. how far is the istana from the 3 meeting points anyway?

if the kingly gesture was returned, a mere walk to the gates to receive the memo would have been a sweet finish.
written by mikewang, August 03, 2009 11:24:57
Business money were lost because PDRM failed in their constitutional duty to protect those who, according to the spirit and rights granted by the federal constitution, chose to assemble peaceably and without arms.

Instead the police went on a rampage to infringe on the rights of those who chose not to participate by setting up road blocks well before the event.

If the Police had suggested to the organisers to use Merdeka Stadium as a gathering point and allowed them to march from there to Istana Negara, the whole event "on the roads" would have been over in less than an hour.
written by eeyaw, August 03, 2009 11:28:28
The only fair amount that the rally is liable is traffic control by PDRM and cleaning the streets due to littering which is very nominal not the $100-200 million that these idiotic Ministers are yelping about. In fact the businesses had benefited from the rally due to more people coming to the city. It is the PDRM who caused the disruptions to business with their unwarranted actions. Yes, send the bill to PDRM & Home Minister for their personal accounts for incompetence & working beyond their scope of duty.
written by densemy, August 03, 2009 11:35:38
Had it been allowed to be a peaceful demonstration its quite likely the established businesses and many itinerant traders could have done very well out of the day. After all they had a much larger crowd of potential buyers than they might otherwise have had

All the disruption and violence can be traced directly to the Police and the FDU... they were the ones who set up the road blocks and sprayed Malaysians with chemically laced water and tear gas.

All that Malaysians wanted to do was to display by their numbers their widespread outrage at the ISA

Apparently the government's ego is valued at more than RM 200 mill
written by Midvalley, August 03, 2009 11:50:45
Misquote it is 200million rupiah
written by hiro, August 03, 2009 11:57:51
I only want to make 2 points.

1) RM100-200million compared with the billions lost through corruption with no way of fighting back because they arrest you first under ISA seems fair to me

2) The party responsible for the loss are the road blocks that prevent people from coming into, and doing shopping, in the city. And who would that be? The police. So go ask one branch of government to sue another!
written by whlau, August 03, 2009 12:15:12
Cannot blame these brainless ministers. They are so used to corrupt practices to the tune of hundreds of millions and even billions that they have lost touch with the value of money and are numbed to it.

Now they are trying to convince the rakyat that hundreds of millions of ringgit is nothing to shout about!!!
written by ATSaari, August 03, 2009 12:15:46
There you go Raja Nong Chik, smack on your face. If you talk cock full of bullshit you will get it from Raja Petra. As you know there can only be one Raja and that will be Raja Petra Kamaruddin. UMNO's are so used to pushing and bloating up prices. One project that may just cost RM500 million will be pushed up to RM1.5 billion, RM1 billion to be pocketed! Old habits die hard isn't it? Now it is extremely bewildering to find out that for half a day the merchants in JTAR earns a whooping RM2 - RM4 billions wow. I want to quit my 10k a month job to joint the stall operators in and around JTAR/Masjid India selling whatever odds I can sell, probably GMI t'shirts and I'm pretty sure I can earn RM300k per month!

If merchants of JTAR earns RM1,400 billions a year, what about Bukit Bintang, Petaling Street, KLCC and so on, it should be in the figure of ten of trillion per year. BUT where did the money goes to?
written by Badaksumbu, August 03, 2009 12:36:52
Thank you for infomation, no wonder people love the givernment espcially the businesspeople! millions are nothing now, we 've move upwards billions, soon trillions.Whatever you call Ringgit, Dollare Euros-its still clossal.

We should become specialists on our own fields like RPK does, he writes, others may be specialist writing about police brutality, Ministers stupidity, UMNO politicians, so on and so forth-I'm developing one. Tell you all later.
written by sydput, August 03, 2009 14:19:16
Ministers must make themselves relevant maa! Otherwise people think they all shake leg only. Below Minister is mayor of KL, Labuan and Putrajaya.
These ministers and mayor cannot even coordinate timing of traffic light properly. Just go to Putrajaya main boulevard between PM's dept and convention centre. You must wait for several minutes to pass one traffic lights and then have to stop at the next one. Utterly stooopid after using billions on buildings and wsteful bridges ugly.
written by sydput, August 03, 2009 14:22:06
One more thing! I think this Minister meant 100-200 millions lossesdue to overtime claim by our blood sucking police units and cost of replacing their tear gas canisters.
written by AlwaysFair, August 03, 2009 14:32:03
If the police did not create such a pademonium in trying to disperse the crowds they would be having a great party there and probably disperse later to throng the shopping centres.

What a good opportunity LOST by the shops who never seen such big crowds in their streets b4 and the GOLDEN OPPORTUNITY to make Millions in sales was spolit by the police who broke up the crowds by their bullying methods and cause such massive loss of business.

So I ask you who is responsible for the loss?If you had just kept a watchful eye and allowed the procession it would have gone smoothly.

The Thais exercise such great restraint to use force on their people when they invaded the palace and airport for days on end. The govt at least respect the people's voice unlike the despotic one we have over here.
written by hckit, August 03, 2009 15:03:45
without tear gas, water canon and present of FRU and police, shops could have sold many mineral water and cold drink. Shops could have put on banners to support GMI may get free advertisement by CNN , Al Jazeera, BBC...
written by YSLim, August 03, 2009 16:21:08
That is the problem with the Malaysian Ministers all this time. When they open their mouth, it is without "capital" ie talk is cheap. It had been ongoing since long long time ago, why?

1. They think that the Rakyat are idiots and they still think we are.
2. Unfortunately most of Rakyat are idiots but we are getting a little bit clever.
3. Most of the time, journalist questionings are not investigative enough ie. one question will be answered with one answer, no matter how stupid is the answer, there is no follow up on the questioning of the said stupid answer - (hey consider the job done). Why?
4. The ministers will brush aside the subsequent questioning.
5. Or the ministers will answered by questioning the journalist back - like "you know better than me what going around here, why ask me...."
6. Or the subsequent questioning were not published as editors have to toe the line.
7. Or the minister will said "we have to wait for report; I have yet to read the report;we are waiting for cabinet meeting, etc, etc, etc all the "safe answers" - hey, what do you expect, they are politicians, don't want to get into hot soup."
8. And when they are cornered by those questioning, they will start to dig out ISA, OSA, emergency ordinances...., Seditious Act, just to silent those "bugging" them. They really can't stand all the questioning, that is why our parliament always got bell ringing for quorum. They have lots of thing to attend,mind you , like "kenduri, meetings, ceramah, program bersama Rakyat,"
So they you are, the summary of a politician who are without any caliber, without any knowledge, without any "reading of various report", without taking time to think of an issue or analysis. There you go, we have been electing those Members of Parliament, those if given facts, will unable to identify what are th e issues and how to tackle the issues and the solutions. We have those Members of Parliaments in our Cabinet as Ministers.

There you go my Rakyat Malaysia, I just hope that since that we are a little bit clever by now, we should aim to be very clever. Let us start to teach ministers how to think. We have to eliminate them first. They have to have time to study. So don't vote for them, let them study first.
written by mikewang, August 03, 2009 18:12:29
Please look at it this way.

If the Police had done their constitutional duty by legalising the procession thereby not causing mammoth traffic jams all over the city, can you imagine how much impetus can a peaceful crowd of say 500,000 plus spillovers provide to help generate business in downtown KL on a Saturday afternoon?
written by Bigjoe99, August 03, 2009 20:06:08
Business are not guaranteed protection from public discourse. If Business can sue for damages as a result of public discourse, then they can sue the government when the country goes into recession and they loses money...
written by aplus, August 03, 2009 21:15:05
Let's put it this way lah, Rocky Bru. Had the government let the rally proceed unhampered on that day, the traders would have at least doubled their normal every Saturday takings.

You can't be all that stupid to just parroting like them, can you? Please always remember that you have the image of the Malay Mail to look after.
written by Sabahfan, August 03, 2009 22:06:28
so if some small traders also lost business due to damaged by fru and water cannons, they can fight back by voting the UMNO regime to hell !!!
written by SiHangChai, August 04, 2009 00:06:29
As usual, BN polticians talking c0ck as though as they know but at the end they can't substantial their bulshits. A good example of why BN leaders who is full ossholes mentality.
written by Dreamlander, August 04, 2009 00:35:42
First the FT Minister must clarify what is meant by "loss". Loss due to reduced revenue (before deducting cost of sales) or loss of profit arising from the reduced revenue due to the establishment closing during the few affected hours.

Food sellers normally make 30% net profit. Sogo may make about 10% net profit. Let us average out to 20%. This is very good net profit margin.

Compensation is normally payable for lost profit only. At RM100 million (the lower figure) for 5 hours, we get RM20 million per hour. The lost profit will be 20% (as stated above) or equivalent to RM20 million per hour, based on a turnover of RM100 million per hour. In other words, for the 5 hours disrupted by the demonstration, the total revenue for the affected shops in that area is RM500 million.

Maybe the honourable minister is thinking in term of either the Cambodian riel, the Indonesian rupiah or the Vietnamese dong.
written by mmzl, August 04, 2009 00:45:26
Sue the government.
The 20000 peaceful demonstrators should have brought a lot of business to the business in the area. The police ruined it.
written by VVijay, August 04, 2009 00:57:45
Rocky must have had 'too many on the rocks'. What price freedom and liberty? What price denial of my human rights and my rights of association and freedom of movement? What price for the suppression of freedom of speech? Or is this too much a rocky road for one with rocks in his head to understand? What price to be a propoganda pawn? Rocky has made a choice - to support the racists and the facists and uphold a repressive regime which has little respect for human value. Let him be - let him rot in the gutter of sewage journalism.
written by bluesky, August 05, 2009 11:09:03
Police behind all the ruckus and destruction as usual...Agent provocateurs from the Bkt "peace" on top Dataran Merdeka...come on every one knows..thats how UMNO operate..thats how Mahatir used them to disrupt the peceful demos at 98' and 99'...
come on people dont sleep ...u know who is at fault....and most traders at the pasar malam are stinking foreigners..Pakistanis, Banglas and Indons..robbing the locals of the chance to earn!!
written by sykeat, August 07, 2009 00:19:08
RPK remind me of my math teacher, very detail step by step calculation and great example