Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow M'sian newspapers challenged

M'sian newspapers challenged PDF Print
Sunday, 02 August 2009 15:07

'The Internet has been lauded as the medium that actually could change the general election results. The next election, in three or four years time, will be an Internet election,' said Malaysiakini chief editor Steven Gan.

MALAYSIA'S traditional newspapers are facing a serious challenge from online news portals, which are winning a reputation for being fast and more credible than the government-friendly press.

The number of Internet newspapers has mushroomed from one to eight over the past two years, with new titles appearing in Chinese, Malay and English to cater to the multicultural population.

'I don't really trust the newspapers as they are controlled by the government,' says engineer Ryan Kong, 30, as he clicks on the website of pioneer portal Malaysiakini to get his daily dose.

'There are the cost and convenience factors, and I can get today's news today rather than wait until tomorrow for the newspaper,' he said.

Malaysiakini began operating a decade ago, but its competitors now include the popular Malaysian Insider and the latest entrant, the Malaysian Mirror, which was launched last month.

Unlike other countries where the most popular portals churn out celebrity gossip and paparazzi shots, Malaysia's top sites focus on politics, corruption allegations and serious social issues including race relations.

Editors expect a challenging time ahead for mainstream newspapers and television stations which are mostly government-linked, and often viewed with suspicion by the tech-savvy younger crowd.

'There is a credibility crisis with regards to what is written in mainstream media - the level of believability among the people seems to be less,' said Bernama national news agency editorial adviser Azman Ujang.

The rise of online newspapers began with political turmoil in 1998 that saw Mr Anwar Ibrahim sacked as deputy prime minister and jailed on sex and corruption charges widely seen as politically motivated.

Malaysians flocked to the Internet for coverage of his trial, and major political events since then have also triggered spikes in viewership. -- AFP

Rise of news websites and blogs

IN 2008 national elections that saw the opposition - now led by Mr Anwar - make stunning gains, the rise of news websites and blogs was credited as a major factor behind its success.

'The Internet has been lauded as the medium that actually could change the general election results. The next election, in three or four years time, will be an Internet election,' said Malaysiakini chief editor Steven Gan.

'Eventually you will see the Internet as the main medium for the dissemination of news and for other things here, and the traditional media will play a secondary role.' Malaysia's media operates under a publishing permit system, which allows the government to shut down outlets at will.

However, in 1996 it pledged not to censor online content as part of a campaign to promote its information technology sector. Despite occasional raids, bans and government criticism, the online media remain relatively free.

Audit Bureau of Circulations Malaysia said that in the year ending June 2008, average daily newspaper circulation stood at 2.5 million copies, down from 2.54 million copies in the previous year.

Online media, meanwhile, have enjoyed a steady rise in readership, with Malaysiakini saying it attracted 2.0 million unique visitors a month while Malaysian Insider says it drew some 800,000.

Despite their success, online news outlets mostly operate on a modest scale, with often just a handful of journalists working from cramped offices.

Few have yet managed to become profitable.

Mr David Yeoh, managing editor of top-selling English-language daily The Star which has a daily circulation of about 300,000 copies, is optimistic however that online media will not replace newsprint in the near future.

'The generation that is comfortable with the newspaper as a product is still around. It will be at least one generation - at least 30 years - before newspapers can become redundant here,' he said. -- AFP

written by Ben, August 02, 2009 15:21:03
Printed news are, at best, yesterday's news.
written by peter, August 02, 2009 15:27:08
Malaysian what? Newpapers? Are they still being published? If you're still reading bolehland newspapers then you must be in the dino jurrasic period.

Do the wise thing, ditch them for good and spend the money on a good cuppa of coffee. The narcotine will do your brain cells good smilies/grin.gif
written by onnetline, August 02, 2009 15:41:20
Local dailies are largely for Barisan Najis propagandas application.

And mostly lies and bullshit ! ! ! !
written by NSTPravda, August 02, 2009 16:08:03
Of course M'sian newspapers are challenged in all aspects. They are challenged
integity wise, courage wise, credibility wise, spine wise, intellectually and mentally. But then we are only being polite, aren't we?

Rasuah sayang eh!
written by malgal, August 02, 2009 16:34:11
ya, reporting half past six.
today's papers trivialised yesterday's anti isa street party.
reported in star, 5000 marchers.
yah-hello...i estimated 10,000 on my little stretch of street. sogo even more i hear.
slack,one sided, boot licking reporting.
written by Rigi9, August 02, 2009 22:57:53
Ok guys, let's start a boycott of all newspapers from today....please pass on this action to veryone you know. Let's bleed this ****ing bastards.....
written by safetyknob, August 03, 2009 01:16:57
to sidetrack a little ... I used to buy NST every weekend for one single reason - cars, bikes & trucks!!! Only CBT is read while the rest immediately become used sanitary pad wrapper. However, ever since there is the website cbt.com.my, sorry to say to NST that I've stopped being a customer. Regarding the local newspapers, I first found out that we are fed with "highly selective reporting" ever since I started travelling regularly outside the country about 10 years ago. The internet is actually a godsend for those who rarely got exposure outside the Bolehland. Then again just because something is in print & nicely laid out doesn't mean that it is the truth. Knowing how to read is a prerequisite but knowing how to diffentiate between truth & falsehood are an entirely different matter.
written by 80srocker, August 03, 2009 05:19:05
Do I need to spend money to read articles written by half-breeds who don't even have the decency to afford a really important person who passed away some respect? Or dim wits who spin the merciless, cold-blooded killing of a father/husband-to-be into "being incited by racial issues"? Screw u! I'm keeping my RM1.50 to donate to the blind man (1.5 X 30 days = RM45.00).
written by born2reign, August 03, 2009 11:33:22
I buy 2 newspapers a month, that's a 93% drop in paper spending compared to 5 years ago.

To buy papers everday it'll cost per household RM547.50 per year (if you buy only 1 paper daily)
If 30% of Malaysians were to stop reading papers for one year
= 365x 1.50 x 25mil x 30%
= RM4.1 BILLIONS (not millions)

Today our newspaper publications tell us they have to protect the rice bowls of their editors and journalists more than their professional ethics. Because they sold their ethics, today they have to eat rice from a Chinese teacup, let's see if they lose RM4.1 BILLIONS every year how many of them will still have big fat bonuses and overseas trips?

I have already stopped going to Petronas,
stopped putting my money in local banks,
stopped newspapers,
stopped contributing to EPF,
stopped paying taxes, etc

To those who complains everyday that life is hard, no jobs, prices are high, rates are going up, please do sthg to stop your leaks flowing into UMNO's pockets. And please don't be fools and go buy those Amanah Saham stuff! May as well burn your Ringgits.